0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 2

Line 6 Spider IV 15 - Modeling 15W 1x8" Guitar Combo Amp Reviews

4.5 stars based on 48 customer reviews
  • from Salado, Texas July 16, 2016Music Background:
    Seasoned musician - helping others!

    Workhorse

    Compact, versatile, simple to use. A great little amp for a starter or for a seasoned musician.

  • from Rockingham, NC (seriously, no joke) July 9, 2016Music Background:
    Player for fun for years

    I am happy

    I am very pleased with this amp. It sounds great with my Epiphone Les Paul. I'm amazed at the amount of effects it comes with built it. It even has a tuner which is one of my favorite features. I also really like the Reverb and the fact that you can set your own custom channels. I don't see how you could get a better practice amp for the price.

  • from March 20, 2016

    Pleased with purchase

    Bought as gift for 16 yr old. He is very pleased.

  • from March 13, 2016

    Great Amp!

    This amp has the perfect effects for more specifically metal players. And for those of you wondering, yes it can be heard over drums.

  • from October 27, 2015

    Line 6 Spider IV 15

    I'm a beginner with Guitar but do have a little knowledge of Amps,
    This is a great little Amp with a good selection of settings and for a 15w Amp this is surprisingly bloody loud, value for money is really good,
    I'd definitely recommend this Amp for any skill level of guitar player,
    Very happy with this product.

  • from Breckenridge, Co September 16, 2015Music Background:
    13 years in a very active band

    Amazing

    Saying this guitar is the best for your money isn't even saying enough. Because this amp is only a $100 amp and it plays and does every single thing an amp for triple the money can do, probably even more. More than impressed and happy with my purchase.

  • from August 26, 2015

    Great amp for price

    They say it's not enough for stage but I think it is! If you're a rocker or shredder I would highly recommend this gear by the effects that it has but if you're kind if a jazzy tune player it might not be the best!

  • from MARGATE, FL August 12, 2015Music Background:
    Life long musician

    Good,Simple, Easy to Use

    If you want just a straight forward, nice size' portable, powerful practice amp, this would be one of them. You can easily change the factory presets and store what you want in the four channels, without having to jump through the maze of hoops to do so on other amps.
    It seems to have just enough features so you can go ahead and just practice and learn about amp settings without blowing YOUR mind. Other amps I spent more time on learning how to adjust it -then play it.
    It will also become a niche amp when you start to improve or start playing with other players; the sound quality is strong enough and clean enough to find a specific groove that you can use forever. The clean channel looks like it's clean enough to mike.- in case you want to play your classical or acoustic with a little more sound through this amp. I think because of it's 8" speaker it projects just the right amount of mids. I tried the bass all the way up and the mids half way, then just tweak the trebs until you hit the punch you want.
    This little guy will deliver, so don't under estimate the price and size; everybody needs an amp like this in there life at some point. It's also small enough for desk top -for easy reach, or to throw in the back seat and take to a friends house.
    It also has a tuner on board; a lot of other small amps don't have this feature.

    We need all the help we can get right?

  • from Fort Wayne, IN June 24, 2015

    I love My line 6 :)

    I love The Metal channels and its loud considering its only 15 watts :)

  • from OH March 31, 2015Music Background:
    Spent many years in many bands - some very good ... some not so much.

    Great Things Come In Small Packages!

    Its difficult to separate the tremendous service you receive from the folks at Sweetwater from the products you purchase. Rarely, have I seen a business so dedicated to customer satisfaction. You can feel the extra effort the staff makes to be sure your purchase is as pleasurable as possible. Add the free two year warranty Sweetwater offers and it becomes difficult to justify shopping anywhere else.

    Now, about Line 6's Spider IV amplifier. At the time of purchase the Spider IV was priced competitively with the other mini amps in its class, but offer more in its small package.
    Weighing in at about 17 lbs. the Spider has plenty of mass to anchor its surprisingly powerful 8 inch speaker. Powerful enough to be a primary amp for many small hall venues and coupled with true amp modeling output, increases the options with a primary sound system. Yeah, the Spider IV sounds good enough when used in an appropriate setting.
    Though its important to note that its not a high wattage, high dollar tube amp, and shouldn't be expected to perform as one, some of the tube amp modellings are very good especially at lower volume levels. For if the Spider IV has a weakness, it tends to distort ( not in a good way ) at higher gain/volume settings. But to be fair, this is a weakness shared by most amps to some extent, especially true of amps in its class. There is only so much you can demand from a single 8 in., 15 watt speaker.
    The four pre-programmed settings clean, crunch, metal, and insane give a wide variety of sound choices at the touch of a button ( or optional foot pedal ). Care should be exercised when switching though. The volume levels between channels can be extreme - perhaps enough to damage the speaker if not careful. I found it useful to alter the pre-programmed channel volume settings to be more even across channels.
    The ability to alter and save all of the pre-programmed channel settings is a nice feature, letting you decide what sound you want handy.
    The effects are good, not great, but good. They are not going to replace your stomp box or rack mounted effects processors, for instance. But again, you should not expect the same quality from the Spider IV that you would from a single pedal costing many times the price. Still the various flanger, echo and reverb capabilities are a nice touch, especially for those times when a whole array of effects is unavailable or unneeded.
    As for how rugged the Line 6 Spider IV will ultimate be, I do not know. Though with two grandsons lugging them allover ( I bought two ) - I'll eventually find out.
    But for the time being, I couldn't be more pleased with not only the amplifiers, but the service from Sweetwater as well.
    Great job and thanks Jeff!

  • from Marshalltown,ia January 26, 2015Music Background:
    None

    Amp

    This packs a punch

  • from Ohio January 26, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    It's only 15w?!

    Very happy with the range of sound you are able to achieve out of such a small amp! Very loud for it's size as well! And dealing with sweet water for it was great!

  • from Speedwell TN October 20, 2014

    Wonderful!

    I have never had a better experience with online ordering as I have had with Sweetwater.The order was quickly shipped,the packing was great an we even got a phone call to see if everything was satisfactory.The product was even better than we had expected!I would recommend this place all day long!

  • from Evergreen, CO. USA December 31, 2013Music Background:
    Former pro musician, now hobbyist

    This is the PERFECT first amp!

    You simply will not find better bang for your buck than this amp. I bought it for my son who is just starting to play, (and in spite of being 11 years old somehow he discovered and wants to be Angus Young). He can be a guitar hero right out of the box with this thing. The tones from this amp are simply AMAZING. I think back to the crappy first generation solid state amps I played on when I started and payed MORE for, and again I am amazed. Line 6 has found a simple yet graceful way for the beginner to tweak sounds without getting overwhelmed by layers of menus and such. You will not regret buying it, provided that your expectations are realistic. If you need more tweakability, they have bigger better amps that do that. For me the amp cost less than the gas to get to the nearest real music store and back and sounds great, so it is a no-brainer!

  • from January 9, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Amazing Amp

    Amazing quality, amazing features, amazing price.

  • from Tyrone,Pa. January 4, 2013

    Line 6 Spider IV 15

    Great Amp

  • from Texas July 26, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Awesome

    Alright this is a great little amp and I thought it came with other stuff on it but.. Its still awesome!

  • from United States April 8, 2012Music Background:
    Beginner

    Line 6 Spider IV 15 review

    very nice amplifier. for a beginner difficult to get clean effects we normally get on other beginner amplifier..but still great amp with clean effect it has...with metal and insane for metal guitarists, it's awesome...

  • from April 2, 2012

    Sweetwater is the Real Deal!!!

    Sweetwater did what they say they would do, on Time and at Bargain Prices. Keep up the Great Service and Bargain Prices. I am your Customer for Life!!!

  • from Ripley TN March 6, 2012Music Background:
    Beyond beginer but not much.

    Line 6 Spider IV 15

    As a hobby guitarist, and full time student, Deputy Jailor. The Spider IV was ideal for me. I have enough effects where I can make a few minor adjustments and get to playing without having to waste a lot of time trying to sort through all the the available effects on the market.

    I would strongly recommend this amp to everyone.

  • from Middle GA July 16, 2011Music Background:
    Student

    Great little amp

    This is a great little amp - for $100 dollars, you can't beat it! Love the modeling and effects. Was non-plussed with the built-in tuner - it isn't very user friendly, but overall, this is a great little amp for playing anything from the Beach Boys to Judas Priest! Plenty of punch for practicing and for in the house. Would probably work great for small venues. I would definitely recommend this amp.

  • from Dirty South USA May 8, 2011Music Background:
    Drummer by choice, singer for expression, guitarist hobbyist, bass player...ONE MAN BAND

    Spider IV 15

    Bought this amp specifically for goofing off in my music room with. And was totally blown away by it. The four presets it comes with are all great except for the clean channel. It's easy to make and store your own tone. Not to mention when I got mine they were running a free pedal with amp purchase. LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT

  • from Sarasota, FL USA May 6, 2011Music Background:
    Student

    Great amp

    Great amp many effects and great sound.

  • from New Braunfels, Texas. 78130 May 8, 2010Music Background:
    lead guitarist for over 20yrs.

    line 6 15w spider 4

    I PAYED ONE HUNDRED BUCKS FOR THIS AMP AND FOR THE MONEY, I COULDN'T BE HAPPIER!!! GREAT TONE, PUNCHY DISTORTION AND OVER THE DYNAMICS ARE RIGHT ON. THE EFFECTS ARE SOME WHAT HARD TO GET THE RIGHT SOUND OUT OF IF AT ALL, BUT THATS WHY I HAVE FLOOR EFFECTS. GREAT JOB GUYS!!!

  • from Hinton,WV May 17, 2016

    Great Amp!

    The Line 6 Spider IV 15 is a great amp for beginners as well as professionals. With the 4 amp models and 6 Effects, you can find most sounds that you would want. I have played everything from Chet Atkins to Metallica on this amp, and it sounds pretty good. Distortion is not the best, but this is still a good amp. It is very loud for 15 watts, and could easily be heard in a group in a small venue. One of best lower end amps I have used.

  • from Toledo Ohio February 5, 2016

    Spider line 6 amp 15w

    Everything I expected and then some. Great sound, perfect size for practice, and headphone jack for after work!!

  • from Fort Washington, MD January 8, 2015Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Great value

    Nice effects.

  • from Yorktown, In March 19, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Big Amp Sounds

    If your looking for a small amp with big amp sounds, this is the one to buy. With four amp tones and six effects the Line 6 Spider IV 15 offers everything I need.

  • from Cincinnati, Ohio February 25, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Studio Amp

    This amp puts out big sound from a small package. The four amp models each have a great sound and the the reverb, chorus and tremolo effects are sweet. With the FBV Express MKII footswitch controller this is a great package for playing distortion guitar.

  • from Chester, UK April 15, 2012Music Background:
    Beginner

    A star amp for the price

    Ok, first things first, I'm a beginner, so this review is from that perspective. In the UK this amp is around 80, for that price, I wasn't expecting much, maybe a step up from a bundled amp from a beginners guitar 'package'. I did plenty of research, watched YouTube vids and read reviews. The vast majority were positive, but with the comment that this was an amp for rockers and metal players, rather than blues, etc.

    For me, as a beginner, this amp fits the bill nicely. The quality seems fine, buttons are responsive and the various knobs are smooth and without interference. The amp has a good 'feel' to it; not too heavy, but not to lightweight either.

    The amp produces great sounds from its four channels, crunch and metal are very good, insane is good fun, but not really usable (unless you're into thrash, then it's probably fine). The clean channel is, well, clean; not much more to add to that really.

    The six effects are novel, I might use them more effectively as I learn to play different styles, but they sound good and give this amp a whole new dimension, especially with the different channels.

    So, a step up from a bundled amp? Well, the price may be, but the features and the quality I don't see how anyone would want anything else to jam to, unless your room is so huge that you need something more powerful, but I haven't dared take the volume past 50% yet...!

    All in all, a great amp at a great price!

  • from February 10, 2012

    6 Spider

    I bought the amp for my son and he enjoys it

  • from Crystal River florida USA July 9, 2011Music Background:
    guitarist, recording engineer, song writer

    Pretty Darn Good

    I was truly amazed how well this little amp works in my studio. I have also used it in an auditorium along side 2 other guitarists who had much larger amps. they couln't believe how well it kept up.

    A great buy...

  • from Atlanta, GA May 10, 2011Music Background:
    Metalhead

    Line 6 Spider IV 15

    I only wish I would've had one of these babies back in the 1980's, you could have NEVER found anything this good for $100. 2 thumbs up. If your into Hard Rock & Metal....Look no further.

  • from PA January 31, 2016Music Background:
    Beginner

    Line 6 Spider IV 15

    I'm a beginner, amp has great sound and is easy to use. Only negative is when switching back to clean channel form the other channels the echo effect automatically comes on and you have to reset it.

  • from Iowa December 26, 2014Music Background:
    Novice

    Great amp for the cost conscience

    I'm a beginner and the amp really roars.

  • from Boston, MA. USA September 4, 2014Music Background:
    Multi-Instrumentalist, Recording Engineer, Record Producer, performed with many internationally known artists and groups.

    Line 6 IV-15 1X8 15-Watt Modeling Combo

    My 150-Watt Line 6 Vetta 2 had to go into the shop. I only use my amps in the studio. I would take this to a jam session though because it packs plenty of punch. The only downside is the direct out which is used for either headphones or a DI to the console. is lacking in true sound conversion. I wouldn't recommend it for studio work unless you can place a Neumann U-87 and an Audio Technica CS4050 in front of it. Great price for a small amp with (Not bad/Not great) effects.

  • from Stuart, FL November 14, 2013Music Background:
    Part- time Musician for over 30 years

    Line 6 Spider Amp

    This little amp kicks! Love it. Excellent modeling. Also - love the service and delivery from Sweetwater. Their very friendly and courteous. Even though their prices are the much the same as every other place... their value is in their convenience, communication and promptness.

  • from Bowling Green, Ohio October 31, 2013Music Background:
    Guitar player with many years experience.

    Tons of fun!

    I was in the market for a compact amp and did some research and was impressed with the line 6.. When it arrived I straight away pluugged
    her in. It had everything I was looking for and more. I was glued to it
    for some time. This box is not large enough to list all the goodies that
    that come with it, all kinds of sonic pleasure!!! Plenty of power and holds its own when givin' full out volume!. Plenty of extras come with
    this anp on the internet like jam tracks, This is amazing.!! I am well
    satisfied, only one complaint, All the knobs are chrome and a bit hard
    to see where you are at. This is small compaired to the value that you
    get at unbelievable prices!!! If you are in the market for a small combo
    amp look no further. The wow factor is the optional foot switch, takes you through all four channels. All in all, this is a great amp!!

  • from Martinsburg WV July 24, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist Wannbe!

    Does quite alot for it's size

    It is just the right size tone and power for the blues I play!

  • from Raleigh, NC February 3, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    The Virgin

    My first amp ever. Did a fair amount of web research.Also shopped Craig's list and both new and used at stores. Absolutely by far the most and best small practice amp for the money. Since I'm new to playing wired, I haven't yet explored all of its' capabilities. I suspect my rating will go up when I do.

  • from NC June 7, 2016Music Background:
    guitar player since 1987

    better than I anticipated

    After that pesky 'real life' thing depleted my guitar gear to nothing, I finally managed to get a guitar again(Jackson JS22 Dinky bought here at Sweetwater!) and now needed something to get me by until I could 'get a real amp'... well, much to my surprise, this little 15w modeler can kick out some serious volume & gets a variety of tones, from country clean to classic rock to the heaviest death metal. It's only got an 8-inch speaker, so you're not gonna take it to band practice, but for home use, it's more than capable. You can save 4 tones to the amp and it has a few modulation effects plus delay/reverb, so it's not just bone dry, which gives your tones abit of 'flavor'. The headphone out is handy for silent practice as well. For someone who is first starting out(or starting back) or for home practice, it is WELL WORTH the asking price, no question. The manual is a barely useful 5 pages, but you can go on the Line 6 website and download a list of suggested tone settings to get you started, which you can then modify to your own guitar's inherent tone. It won't be my LAST amp, but I now feel like I can take abit more time before I feel like I HAVE to upgrade.

  • from northern, NV December 28, 2015

    Far from my Expectations

    I bought this amp as an starter for my son. I checked everything to make sure it worked. The sound is very good and clear. But the knobs for the equalizer don't seem to do much of anything. Very surprised.
    The Master Volume, Drive and Channel Volume work. But the Channel models leave something to be desired on a few of them. The clean channel Model works well and has a very nice sound. Having bought a larger Spider a few years ago, I was expecting much better. Especially with Line 6's excellent quality and attention to detail. Even the pedal knobs simulators have an horrible sound. I'm surprised how bad it is and actually feel cheated from Line 6. I would rather of gotten an 5 watt tube amp instead. I thought the variety would be better. To put more on my point, I bought an Squier Tele and was expecting this amp to be aces in quality. Instead it's the other way around. Thank you

  • from Hudson Il USA February 18, 2013Music Background:
    Pro bass player student guitar

    great small practice amp with small room posibilities

    has a lot of options not quite use to yet, however this seems to be
    a great little amp well worth the money. Much easer to get around
    than my full sized Fender 100.

  • from Tyler, TX September 30, 2010Music Background:
    50+ years casual instrumentalist on electric and accoustic.

    Line 6 Spider IV 15

    Should go well with the Hard Rock & Heavy Metal crowd. Don't know if
    it would be a 'fit' for the styles of Chet Adkins or George Benson. A demonstration in that genre would make for a much more accurate
    analysis.

  • from January 23, 2016Music Background:
    Live Sound Tech/ Instrument Player

    Well Made

    It works well, did not give me any problem for about a year. Then, when I turned on the insane, there was horrible feedback. Can't Fix It. Now, I only use clean every once in a while. I have now switched to Marshall amplifiers.

  • from northern, NV January 9, 2016

    Please post

    I've spent thousands at Sweetwater over the past few months and over the past few years. I bought this amp as an simple starter for my son. I'd bought an Line 6 a while back and found the amp excellent and excellent in customer service. This amp has 4 channels meant to nail a specific venue of music. The first channel is good. The second ok. But the 3rd and 4th are poorly designed. You can't heart the guitar with it and the style venue is the worst copy I've ever heard. The effects knobs leave a lot to be desired. THey're not responsive until 2/3 turned up. Then when they come in they sound awful. If you don't believe me-here's a better form of proof-my son plays his Telecaster without the amp. I've never left an poor review with Sweetwater, but in true integrity I hope they have the gumption to print this review too. Thank you

  • from Ann Arbor, MI January 27, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Not great for someone looking for a clean sound

    I only used it a couple of times but it wasn't right for me for a few reasons.

    First, it sounds fine for a cheap amp when you use the distortion settings, but the clean sound is not very warm. It's thin and buzzy.

    Second, every time you make a slight adjustment, the volume spikes. You find yourself making a ton of tweaks when you change settings.

    Third, this amp really doesn't like playing at a lower volume.

    I exchanged it for a Roland cube which was a just a bit more, but way simpler, richer, sounds great even turned down and no buzzing.

  • from United States November 13, 2012Music Background:
    Beginner Hobbyist

    I Have This Amp

    Well I bought this amp about 2 years ago. I liked it when I bought it but now as time goes by i'm hating it more and more. I found other amps and now I'm getting more into tube amps and I'm looking to buy one soon. But I guess its okay for beginners :-\

Questions about the Line 6 Spider IV 15 - Modeling 15W 1x8" Guitar Combo Amp?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway