rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Voodoo Lab Sparkle Drive Mod Overdrive Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 7 customer reviews
Questions about the Voodoo Lab Sparkle Drive Mod Overdrive Pedal?

Questions about the Voodoo Lab Sparkle Drive Mod Overdrive Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from October 17, 2015

    Just what I needed

    I play in a Church band so it's important that my clean sound be warm and pristine.
    I use a tele and I am able to have a large clean sound and mix in a moderate amount of raging distortion in the background which really makes me happy and doesn't alarm the church folk. Sounds great. Exactly what I was looking for.

  • from S.E.TX April 17, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist 25 years guitar

    Awesome value!!!

    I don't understand why this pedal is not much more popular. After the price drop, it's an insane bargain. I bought mine over two years ago at the original price and I feel like it was a steal.
    Made In The U.S.A. and still affordable!
    I love the versatility of this pedal, it goes from 808 to ds1 with two stops in between and sounds as good as or better than the originals.
    I will say it has a midhumped voice that lends itself better to live gigging and practicing than playing alone, in other words, it cuts through a mix well.
    The clean blend is of course, a great feature. There are other overdrive pedals that have this feature as well nowadays, even though I think the original Sparkle Drive was the first. But they are all more expensive that the SPD and many are not Made In The U.S.A.
    Voodoo Labs has also proven to be a great company to deal with should the need arise. My daughter used the registration card as a coloring book so I sent an email asking for a new card and they responded the very next morning informing me that they had taken my information from the email and that my product was registered. They have a 5 year warranty to boot
    Excellent company, excellent product. I don't think I bought it from Sweetwater, but if I was buying it today I would.

  • from Western North Carolina January 22, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Stop looking

    The most important thing I can say is versatility. This is my first voodoo lab effect, but if they are all built to this quality it definitely will not be my last. Pedal is built like a tank and sounds great through my hot rod deluxe. It doesn't take away from the tone of your guitar like some overdrive pedals I've owned, it enhances it. With the switchable mods, you should be able to find that sound your looking for. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a overdrive. Thank you again sweetwater for the excellent service.

  • from Port Charlotte, FL October 15, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarist in a modern country/ southern rock band

    The perfect pedal to get the SRV tone

    The sparkle MOD pedal is a high quality, sturdy pedal with a variety of tones. You may find yourself wanting another one for your pedal board just to tap into more sweet tones! The clean function is what makes this pedal stand out from other overdrives. If you just give the pedal a tiny turn on the 'clean' knob, you will get the SRV tone with ease, even if you are playing with humbuckers. SRV ran a few amps at a time to get that clarity to his tone. This pedal will do that job perfectly without having to run a multi amp setup. This is the holy grail of overdrive tones.

  • from Cabot VT July 14, 2015Music Background:
    Longtime pro, currently gigging 10-15/month

    We all need more pleasant surprises!

    I was ready for a "meh" moment when I plugged in the new Voodoo Lab Sparkle Drive Mod that arrived just two days after placing my order with Jeremy. A Tube Screamer design with a blendable Clean Boost could win fans in a hurry, but respected friends had suggested it was a great idea that never paid off.

    I dropped it into my pedal chain, after the modded Dyna Comp, before the Boss RE20. Flipped the switch on the Egnater Rebel 20, put the 5 position switch on my '98 Telecaster Plus in the middle and started to play. Dialed in some dirt...hmm, sounds nice...good bite, not mushy, decent definition. Aha, let's try the Tone control...brightens up nicely...actually ripping pretty good! OK, what's up with this Clean Boost? YES!!! Varying the amount of boost even in tiny amounts delivered a multitude of tonal diversity. Just a slight clockwise twist and the nasty rip fattened up...keep turning and the dirt takes a back seat to a huge fat tone just perfect for a mellow blues riff.

    It wasn't until the next day that I even considered the 4 position MOD switch. I found myself gravitating toward the mid scoop setting, position 3. On my Tele, through my Egnater (and with my ears of course), it sounded really rich and full, no hint of thin tone one might fear.

    This is a keeper for me! I'll continue to experiment with the location in the pedal chain, particularly once I get my Radial Tonebone back onboard. Even if I hadn't dug the pedal, with Sweetwater's 30 day return policy, Jeremy would have taken good care of me, suggesting another pedal for me to try!

    How can you go wrong with a policy like that?

  • from Cincinnati OHio June 17, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Producer

    Sparkle Drive Mod

    A friend had the Sparkle Drive and I fell in love. Months later I bought this and I'm using it primarily with a Rhodes Piano, it really brings a lot to the table with its versatility. Im a fan

  • from Knoxville, TN September 3, 2015Music Background:
    30 years gigging

    Replacing with a Fulltone OCD

    On paper this pedal has some great features, especially with being able to blend clean and overdriven tones and even use the clean side as a clean boost. I've used this pedal for about two years now, and I rely heavily on the volumes of my boosts, overdrives and distortions, as well as a volume pedal and my guitar's volume knob, to keep my 100 watt Mesa Boogie under control in a practice setting. However, since there is practically nothing on the Boogie's master volume between zero and 100, I'm stuck at either too loud or not loud enough for my distortions to get enough gain because the Sparkle Drive Mod can't compete in volume with my JHS Pack Rat mod or my Wampler Pinnacle Deluxe. There's no headroom at full volume and my Xotic RC Booster right before the Sparkle Drive can't give it any additional output. The RC Booster isn't an overdrive, but sounds better pushing the front end of the amp by itself. I gave a friend my Analogman tube screamer mod, but I wish I had it back, because it smokes the Sparkle Drive.

    The TS-9 sounds are decent, but others do it better. The clean/dirty mix I've found isn't as useful to me as I thought it would be. It does start having some nice gritty breakup when I push it with the RC Booster. The stock TS-9 setting sounds too thin, but there are three more settings, each with increasing amounts of "modern" low end. The first bass boost is best, and you can forget the next two if you're not into that chunka chunka thing.

    So yeah, maybe it's good for you, but it just doesn't play well in my rig. I would urge you to try it out first in conjunction with your other pedals and guitar or a close approximation. I have to wonder what some of the reviewers think about it down the road after they've lived with it a while and the new has worn off. I dunno, maybe it's me, or maybe it's you, Voodoo Labs Sparkle Drive Mod, but I feel like I don't even know you anymore. I thinks it's time to break up.

Questions about the Voodoo Lab Sparkle Drive Mod Overdrive Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway