0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

TC Electronic Spark Mini Boost Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 47 customer reviews
Questions about the TC Electronic Spark Mini Boost Pedal?

Questions about the TC Electronic Spark Mini Boost Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Istanbul March 14, 2017Music Background:
    Professional musician

    My main boost pedal

    Once again it is another glorious TC Electronic product. This is my main boost pedal and I love using it. I am using it after distortion effects to raise my volume on solo work. This mini dude is extremely handy when you use the momentary switch you raise your volume to play your 2 seconds solo passage and get back to rhythm as you move your foot off. This beast has more than enough volume so I'm using it on 10 o'clock.

  • from Minnesota March 3, 2017

    Fantastic minI boost. Great momentary switch feature!

    Fantastic boost for solos, tapping parts, coil tap/split , and to give your other pedals a little extra push. Looks fantastic, and is an extremely clean boost up untill about 10db (halfway) then you get a little more dirt which also sounds great. The momentary switch engages after what seems to be only 1.5 seconds and shuts off immediately after letting off, and that's extremely handy for solos and quick burst of needed volume. The only downside to the mini is that there's no battery, but that's hardly a complaint. The small size is great and its very easy to see on a dark stage being white and having a bright LED. The best boost available in my opinion. Paired with sweetwater incredible costumer service you won't be disappointed

  • from Los Angeles CA January 30, 2017

    Simply Amazing

    Easily my favorite pedal! I run a Blackstar amp which has sweet overdrive sounds but this thing just adds another layer to my tone that I did not know my amp and guitar could reach. I was previously using it after my overdrive but I use it mostly to boost the overdrive from my amp. The momentary switch is the best part of this pedal. I am not one for dancing around pedals so this lets me just hold the pedal down for short licks, rifffs, solos, etc., or keep it on for louder parts.

  • from San Antonio Texas January 2, 2017Music Background:
    Beginner Guitar

    TC Spark Mini 20dB Boost

    I like it! It really kicks the sounds up quite a bit!

  • from Sacramento Ca December 4, 2016

    TC Electronic Spark Mini

    TC Electronic Spark Mini is perfect for my setup. If you play single channel amps this gives a great warm signal boost for leads. glad I bought it. and let me say SweetWater is second to none with customer service. Dennis Konicki thank you for the follow up and service I orded it on Friday and recieved it Monday
    with free shipping it dont get better than that folks.

  • from Tennessee November 14, 2016Music Background:
    Primarily church

    Boostastic

    Sweet bliss coming from my amp with this thing. Sounds great on its own as a tone enhancer, and adds a little grit with the right amp settings. I have mine after my ODs and yeah, boost it does. My volume knob is at 9 o clock, so there's plenty me juice packed in this bad boy.

  • from Tucson,AZ October 22, 2016Music Background:
    been playing guitar for 34 years.

    Lots of bang for the buck

    I bought this for a solo boost but quickly realized that the warmth it added to the tone meant it had to be on all the time. Guess I have to buy a second one for the boost.

  • from Texas October 18, 2016Music Background:
    Long Time

    Love This Boost

    Boost without noise-what a concept. TC ROCKS!

  • from September 21, 2016

    Great little pedal

    Easily the best $49 I've spent in a long time.

  • from Texas August 27, 2016Music Background:
    Classical, Bluegrass, Country, Alt-Country, New Acoustic, Celtic.

    Quiet Little Booster

    I saw a review of this booster on YouTube...at this price, I decided to give it a try as it does what I can't do physically, or with a volume pedal--precise volume boost. What truly amazed me was how quiet it is (even plugged into my vintage Fender amp, which is not quiet). You get the 20 dB boost every time, reliably, no fuss, reliably and precisely. This is just what I wanted. Works with my Tele and with the Baggs pickup on my Martin, so I couldn't find any fault with it. Way to go!

  • from Lynchburg, VA August 16, 2016

    Buy two!

    I use two of these little guys, one before my overdrive pedals, to give them a little extra grit, and one after my overdrives as an overall volume boost. The results are fantastic with both functions. I primarily play a stratocaster through a 1982 Marshall JCM800, and this pedal combined with that rig gives a fat ballsy sound. I love the latching and temporary functions on the footswitch too. I own 4 TC Electronics pedals and they never disappoint; I'd highly recommend checking this one out; you'll get lots of bang for your buck!

  • from Texas July 9, 2016Music Background:
    40 years on guitar

    Spark

    Great product and would recommend to any one using a distortion pedal. It will give u the boost for your leads.

  • from Monterey California June 20, 2016Music Background:
    Metal,hard rock & anything guitar driven

    Tc electronics spark mini

    TC electronics spark Mini is a great Little secret weapon that should be on any guitarist pedal board. It's more than just a boost pedal, it just does something extra for your tone! I really love this little pedal and would highly recommend it.

  • from Las vegas, NV June 16, 2016Music Background:
    Pro guitarist, instructor, guitar tech

    Tc spark mini

    This pedal is a must have! The simple one knob set up surprisingly offers 3 different functions. Buffer, clean boost & turn it past about 1 o'clock you start to get a nice subtle break-up. Hold and release of the stomp button gives you your volume jump for those accentuated lead parts or beefier rhythms. I run it after a fulltone fatboost, wampler tom quayle sig pedal, andy timmons sig pedal & a mad proff golden cello. It performs superbly in any combination and setting. Shout out to my sales rep Anthony Jenkins for the awesome service and fast delivery as always!

  • from June 8, 2016

    TC Spark

    Does exactly what expected

  • from Berkley Michigan May 31, 2016Music Background:
    Guitarist/Amp builder

    Need more cowbell?

    Why did I buy this? I built a Marshall JTM45 (closer to 1987 circuit) style tube amp that I love. It has great crunch and blah blah blah. Even though I love the amp, I feel that for my playing style it's missing something. That something is found in this little $50 Spark booster... I use a a Boss overdrive and distortion pedal from time to time when I need more front end, but they strip away the lower mids & bass frequencies which fine when everyone is playing at good volume and no one can hear the sonic nuances happening.... But why lose half your tone just to melt faces off???

    For two years I've considered building another amp that has the best of both worlds and I still might, but let me just say this... This stupid $50 pedal is absolutely %$@#'ing AMAZING! It DOES NOT CHANGE YOUR TONE! It simply gives you MORE when you need more. Every guitar player on the planet should have this in their gig bag. I should have bought this years ago. I allows me to push my preamp from a JTM45 straight into sounding and reacting like a 1968 Super Lead. Love Love Love this thing.

    If you have a fever and the only prescription is more cowbell, then buy this right now. Worth noting that you'll need a power supply to use it because it's a MINI pedal with no battery compartment.

    I recommend this for all electric guitar players of all styles. The dual mode foot switch is killer because there are many moments where you're steaming along perfectly and during an inspiring solo sometimes you don't want to boost the whole thing because you'd rather cut though momentarily during a high point--you can hold your foot on the switch and it will boost and it will return when you take your foot off.

    Just buy it and enjoy more cowbell.

  • from AZ May 29, 2016

    Perfect Volume Boost

    I use the Spark as a volume boost at the end of my pedal chain and it works perfectly without adding noise to my signal. I replaced a different brand boost pedal due to the loud click of the foot switch. The Spark switch is smooth and quiet. I highly recommend this pedal.

  • from San Diego, Ca May 19, 2016Music Background:
    Pro

    THE BEST

    As a full time musician who tries different pedals all the time, this little guy is amazing. The sound of a VERY BIG pedal in a small box. Takes all the thinking out of EQing the pedal when the internal EQ is already set. With one knob, there's nothing to screw up. It's idiot proof. Turn it up or turn it down, done! Sounds just like your guitar when you kick it on, just a whole lot more of it!

  • from May 12, 2016

    Mega Boost Baby!

    This thing is amazing! Put it after your dirt pedals and this thing is pure volume. More than you would ever need. I only have to run it at 9 o'clock to get ample boost for my solos. Before the dirt gives just the right amount of balls. I love it and you will too. The momentary switch is the bomb for a quick little jump in volume without pedal dancing.

  • from Virginia March 28, 2016Music Background:
    Semi-pro

    So simple, so useful

    Despite the Spark Mini's simplicity, which remains true to TC Electronics' core values, it is useful in so many ways! The momentary switch that you can hold down for more than a second to play accentuated licks is a brilliant feature, for one. Also, I am a strat guy, so I love running mine on all the time to give the mids a little extra punch and to get my amp right at the magic break up point. I actually plan to purchase a second one to put on my board just for a volume boost in solos. So in summary, buy two of these, haha: one to boost your single coils' tone a bit and make your dirt pedals even grittier and another to kick on for solos for that volume bump you need to get over your heavy handed drummer. You won't regret it, promise!

  • from Casper, WY March 8, 2016Music Background:
    Self taught musician, youtuber, guitar enthusiast, gear nut

    Super Pedal...One Knob?

    This pedal is great in so many ways. The first is that it looks great! Next is that within a one knob, one switch pedal, there are tricks. A momentary switch lies within so you can hop in and out of a solo/lead quickly and the +20db boost is nothing to play around with!

    Follow TC on Facebook and join their group. Many TC staff are in there and always able to give tips, tricks, and advice. For instance, this pedal is like it's older brother but with the gain around 9 o'clock giving you a nice clean boost with just enough grit.

    Check it out!

  • from Mechanicsburg PA November 17, 2015Music Background:
    Hobby. Home recording studio. Independant

    Nice clean boost

    This is great for a crystal clean sound. Eg... Use it on the clean intro to tune like " Pull me under" by Dream Theater and it really shines through. Would not rec on distorted or gain sound. For a one dial pedal it sounds great. Anything I have ever bought from TC is of highest quality and tone. The switch is very soft. Actually in a small recording room I like this because in those soft clear sections of recording the room mic won't pick up the little click to turn it on and off. The graphics are neat too.

  • from Michigan September 7, 2015

    Great circuitry with a small footprint

    This is an amazing pedal for many different applications. I, personally, put it after my drives and before my delay, reverb, etc. and I use it to boost my volume for leads and solos. I don't even have the knob set to 1/4 the way up, and I get a nice transition between my normal playing and soloing. The feature that allows you to hold it down for short bursts of volume was a great addition. I have nothing bad to say about the pedal. If you are thinking about it and could use it, it is a great buy.

  • from June 25, 2015

    Great clean boost

    This pedal does what it advertises! Great clean boost with a TON of headroom.

  • from May 29, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Guitarist

    Great!

    This has quickly become one of m favorite pedals on my board. The one job that it does is performed well, giving my sound an extra layer of dirt. While the tone is great, my favorite thing about this pedal is the volume control it gives me, which is much needed in my two guitar player band. I highly recommend this pedal.

  • from California January 10, 2015Music Background:
    Pro , Full Time Gigging!

    TC Electronic Spark Mini 20dB Boost Pedal

    I can not say enough about this pedal! Best boost I have ever used!
    You Can Not Go Wrong With This! Buy It!

  • from TN September 8, 2014

    Great Boost!

    This is a great little pedal. Clean and powerful. I've used it on both sides of my preamp signal chain. I'll probably wind up getting another one to have both ends covered for drive and lead level boost.

  • from Dallas September 2, 2014Music Background:
    old picker still at it 47 years later

    TC Electronic Spark Mini 20dB Boost Pedal

    Nothing to dislike. Everything to love. Minimum real estate required. Momentary latch switch should be standard fair on every pedal in the world. It's that cool. I set it @ 9 o'clock. On my amp's clean channel it gets louder but stays clean. On the drive channel it gets louder and ups the distortion just enough. No added coloration. If I could only have one pedal, this might be the one.

  • from New Jersey August 13, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist, musician, song writer, recording engineer

    Transparent

    I use this pedal set to 12 o'clock straight up, and at this setting it is completely transparent, the only pedal out of hundreds I've owned or tried that I can say this about. At higher settings, you can get some nice, creamy saturation out of it, but I don't really use it for that type of sound.

    Highly recommended.

  • from Princeton, NJ May 16, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Gives me the Spark to burn

    Just what I wanted a nice boost to solo and play lead lines. For me I'm putting this after my RMC Polydeive II preamp for RMC pickups then to a Fishman Aura Nylon Strings then there's a few pedals befor hitting the Digitech Looper. The main reason for this pedal for me was so I could play and record the rhythm loops and then boost so melody, leads would stand out over the recorded loops. No tone change just a spark/ boost and works prefect with my guitar set up with RMC pickups. Great for nylon strings playes who need to boost the signal. Thanks SW Mark Magdich x1265 and his assistant, UPS and TC Electronics

  • from Dallas, NC April 24, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great Boost

    I needed a boost to bring up the volume of my single coil pickups to match my active humbuckers. It also works great as a solo boost. This boost is completely transparent. I tried other boost pedals that give you a boost even with the level all the way down, and the problem with that is that I had too much boost which didn't work for me at all. The spark mini gives you zero boost with the level all the way down. This is a good way to hear the transparency of this pedal. The on/off switch also has a feature which allows you to have a momentary boost, such as for a quick fill in between vocal lines in a verse or chorus. You can hold the switch down for as long as you need the boost and then let off, or for a solo you can quickly tap the toggle switch and the boost is on until you click it again to turn it off. This is a really nice pedal!

  • from Fayetteveil, NC February 17, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist

    Mini Spark

    Works exactly as described and has super clean boost. The prime time switching is an fantastic, what a bonus feature!

  • from sacramento December 3, 2013Music Background:
    church musician guitarist

    Big BOOM

    I wasn't expecting such a good pedal when I bought it. for its price it is perfect its a boost and just that it pushes whatever is infront of it greatly. I use it live for church and normally don't turn it past 9:30
    it makes your leads stand out and brings out the best of your guitar and tubes. at 0 it is at unity gain I believe and for those of you that don't know every 10db is double amplitude(signal strength in this case) so this pedal quadruples your signals power. it appears to boost the high ends slightly when its the only pedal on but I think that's more or less it boosting what my guitar should sound like if it wasn't for my long signal chain, anyways its great the latch function is super useful for short leads inbetween verses or from a big chorus into a soft verse. Its also helpful in that it can expand your dynamic range. its great just back off your picking and your tubes can sound clean then dig in and it will make them scream great pedal true bypass a lot cheaper than most good boost and it sounds great highly recommended

  • from Lacey, WA USA October 6, 2013Music Background:
    Ex pro guitarist, now play primarily blues for own enjoyment and occasional jams.

    Absolutely great pedal.

    I have three clean boosters now. An Xotic EP Booster, a Pigtronix Class A Clean boost and now this TC Electronics Spark Mini Booster. They are all "clean boosters", but each has its own nuances. The Xotic EP and Pigtronix both color the sound just a bit. The EP booster emulates the old Echoplex tube warmth ... which changes things just a bit. The Pigtronix slightly emphasizes the highs.

    The TC Spark is utterly transparent, absolutely clean. It is a fantastic little booster. And the momentary switch capability is an absolute dream for punching up just one line or one phrase. Can't recommend this booster highly enough!

  • from Sparkill, NY September 5, 2013Music Background:
    Worship Ministry

    Does what its supposed

    I love this pedal. It does exactly what its supposed to do and I love the momentary/Latch Switching Modes. basically you can depress the switch and hold it down to keep the spark triggered instead of a constant on by pressing and releasing.

    The size is the other factor and it takes up very little space. All in all I am really pleased with this pedal. I own 5 TC pedals now (tuner included) and I couldn't be happier with the quality and tone. TC Rocks!

  • from Painesville Ohio March 10, 2017Music Background:
    Guitar hobbyist

    Boost

    This Spark Booster does what it says, gives you a clean boost. Great for cutting through the mix in a band setting and great way to boost your clean guitar tone also. I would almost say it fattens up you tone a bit. I would recommend this pedal to a friend.

  • from San Diego, CA November 7, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist (occasional gigging/recording)

    Great Booster

    Well, as Tore Mogensen said in the video for this pedal, it is extremely simple. But you'd be hard pressed to call it weak.
    Let's first talk about non-sonic things: the teeny tiny size is great for cramming it onto pedalboards, the knob turns nicely and stays put, the LED is crazy bright, the art is very handsome, and the casing is rock solid. Not much more to say than that, but there really isn't anything to complain about either. Overall just a really solid pedal, also the one knob setup allows for easy foot adjustment of the level.
    Now to sound matters. One knob and an on/off switch are all you get to control the mammoth 20db of boost on tap with this little beast; wound all the way up this thing provides a monsterous amount of gain, way way way beyond anything you'd ever need. The effect is instantaneous when the switch is hit and the silent switch eliminates any pops or slowed effect triggering. Which leads me to probably the best part of the Spark mini: the selective latching/momentary switch: with the latching switch you can easily just tap on the pedal and boost yourself easily into solo range (I've heard running it in the FX loop produces the cleanest of clean boosts with zero additional distortion to your sound), or use the momentary switch for fills and lead work when playing in a mix. For example: at a gig we were playing a song with tons of stop time and fills, as it turns out the other guitarist went AWOL so I had to play both parts, so thanks to the super fast normal-boosted-normal level transition of the spark I was able to be both the lead and the rhythm player and keep the dynamic shifts we had with the dual guitar setup (MAJOR lifesaver).
    Now while this pedal is fantastic and a complete steal, there are some things I'd really love to see change in the future: the first is to have a little switch for color control, for example you can make the boosted signal slightly brighter or darker, or keep the coloration switch bypassed, as I have found that it really exaggerates the treble response on my amp, and maybe it's just my gear but at higher levels of preamp volume it creates this really grainy and screechy gain structure, with only a little boost this doesn't happen but as you go up this becomes more apparent.
    All in all this is an awesome pedal and a great addition to any pedalboard.

  • from Minneapolis, MN May 9, 2016Music Background:
    Amateur, plays out every other month or so

    The Oomph You Need

    I just needed a little extra volume for solos without changing the color or character or the tone. Works flawlessly in this regard. I was slightly worried about the smart momentary/latch mode switch... But WOW! it works flawlessly. AND it's small... Easy to slip into even a crowed board. Love it!

  • from December 27, 2015Music Background:
    Blues, Jazz, Fusion, Progressive and Classic Rock

    Just What I Was Looking For

    I was needing a clean, transparent boost pedal for my rig and I had a friend direct me towards the (regular) Spark. I loved the sound of his Spark but I didn't need all of the bells and whistles, so I gave the mini a shot and man -- I couldn't be any happier! It's simple, small, highly affordable, and it sounds amazing! It definitely lends a bit more crispness to the top end, but I've found this to help liven my tone and push me through the mix; it enhances my tone whether I'm going for a warm or a bright sound. The momentary switch is pretty cool too, though, I have yet to use it. If you're needing a top-quality boost, please do yourself a favor and get this!!!!

  • from Kings Park, NY March 3, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    The TC Electronic Spark Mini 20dB Boost Pedal

    Great little pedal

  • from Springfield, IL December 28, 2014

    Good Boost for my Srat

    This pedal provides a great boost for my american strat. It really beefed up the sound. I tried it with my Les Paul but it was way too much boost. I guess those humbuckers just didn't need the boost. Overall very pleased.

  • from Rockfall, CT November 26, 2014

    Excellent booster

    As advertised. Does exactly what is says.
    Good on either side of your chain to drive your amp into overdrive, or as a volume boost in the loop.
    The latching/non latching feature is a great bonus for quick passages that you want to amp up! Love it!

  • from Philadelphia June 24, 2016

    Good unit

    The boost is remarkably clean and true to the original signal. For my purposes, I've not had to take it past the 9 o'clock point. 20 dB is a LOT of gain.
    I'm not a pedal-board guy. I work with electric 12 and a Janglebox compressor run pretty high and needed a bit of boost for lead breaks so this works out nicely.
    Having said that, this particular pedal will take a bit of getting used to. The momentary feature is probably useful, but for myself I miss a definite click in a tactile sense. The micro box housing I'll have to get used to as well. I've compensated by orienting it sideways so I'm not hitting the adjustment knob and that seems to do the trick for me. These shortcomings are obviously my own, but I thought this info may be useful. I'm glad I purchased this unit.

  • from March 3, 2016

    Nice booster

    Small and to the point. 20db allows for some serious boosting. One small issue I've experienced with the TC mini pedals is the placement of the DC input jack. I believe this is an issue on my Spark and my recently purchased HOF reverb. It doesn't seem possible to align the pedals up evenly as the input jacks are too close to the DC input. Maybe I'm just not thinking this through properly, but it was a bit frustrating. Not an issue with TC's mini delay pedal, though. Regardless, solid sound and performance.

  • from Alvin, TX April 20, 2015Music Background:
    Church, Worship team

    Exactly what I looking for!

    Does exactly what it says. I have it after all of my overdrives, so it really is just giving me a clean boost, but I think it gives my lead tones that extra sparkle! Not much more I could want in a compact clean boost.

  • from Indiana November 1, 2014Music Background:
    live sound, 35 yrs guitar

    decent little pedal

    This pedal is straight forward simple boost. It will alter your tone, it loses a touch of mids and increases the highs slightly. It doesn't make it crunchier, and that is a plus by me. I went with the full size spark booster instead.

  • from Durham N C June 2, 2016Music Background:
    Guitars -Sound Director

    TC Spark Boost

    I like my Guitar CLEAN- with Reverb-(Country/Gospel),,,I'm getting a little DISTORTION with this Pedal.even at a low ratio set - the more I open the dial, the worse it gets. Was hoping to boost my Lead-signal when making a run on the lead part...Not a Happy Camper right now will continue to mess around with it a bit more to adjust the AMP for a cleaner setting...having to adjust guitar Volume a bit too much to ease out the Distortion i less desire...am using a Tele-guitar ...maybe this unit was designed to be used with some Fat -Humbuckers ...I'll TRY a Gretsch with it and maybe get somewhere with it...

Questions about the TC Electronic Spark Mini Boost Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway