rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Blue Microphones Spark Digital - 30-pin Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
  • from Washington DC Metro June 21, 2013Music Background:
    Professional, multi instrumentalist, vocalist

    Excellent Mic!

    My 5-star, "blown away" rating here is predicated on the fact hat I spent $200 on it. Does it compare with my Lauten LT-381? Hell no. Does it justify spending $200? Hell, yes!

    I have three stories to tell about the Spark USB.

    First: I have a friend, who is an absolute neophyte to technology. He doesn't know technology, doesn't want to, and seems to be unable to (he's been my friend for 3 decades, I love him either way!) This friend needed some quick demos for a voice-over contract bid. We had tried several other mics, none of which he was able to use, because of his technophobia. I ordered the Spark USB on Thursday afternoon, my SE Delvin Wolf had it to me on Friday. I brought it to my friend on Friday night, he plugged it into his computer and it just WORKED. No fuss at all. My buddy was impressed by how it reproduced his voice, the low end in particular, as well as the zero-latency monitoring, and the build quality. He recorded tracks on Saturday, sent them Saturday night, and had a contract offer on Sunday. Heh!

    Second story: we might take for granted the ability to select gear just from information on a website. But do not trivialize the guys at Sweetwater who know their products, and are ale to converse intelligently about "what will work and what won't". In this case, I described my dilemma - and my buddy's voice- to Delvin, and this was his recommendation... and Delvin got it to me in time (yeah, I paid rush, but the contract was under deadline too... Fair price for the service I received!) My friend and I have not looked back. I can't get this kind of service anywhere else - thanks, Delvin!

    Third story: on a whim, I borrowed this mic back from my friend, and used it to record my 12-string acoustic, mandolin, and bouzouki on a track I was working. The Blue Spark USB comported itself with sheer elegance. The sound is open and wide- a slight hype on the high end (even with the "focus" switch off), but there is a nice robust low end all the time. The meerest tweak of EQ made the mic sit just-right in the mix.

    The Subjective: I own a a LOT of mics, from cheap to "Ouch!", from punk sonics to "OMG!!". The Spark is built far better than a $200 mic should be, and exudes Quality. I don't use the term "Quality" (capital Q) lightly - but this mic warrants the term. I have ZERO regrets to this investment. It's a great mic!

  • from Savannah, GA April 27, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist/Semi-pro

    Great Mic

    I just got this mic for my birthday, Did some recording on Garageband on the IPad and love it. I miked my Strat through an amp and recorded my 1930's National Duolian and everything sounded great.

  • from United States-North Carolina March 9, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, and recording vocalist

    CRAZY ABOUT THIS MIC!

    I previously owned a BLUE Yeti microphone and I cherish it still. I still use it with no problems whatever. I wanted another mic just to have a backup and so I looked at BLUE mics again because of the success I had with my Yeti. I decided on this one due to the affordability. I sort of wanted to step up one notch to the BLUE Bluebird, but it was about $100 more than the Sparks. I couldn't be happier than I am with the BLUE Sparks Digital. Very clear, clean sound. Two settings for different sounds. A mute button on the mic which I have come to depend on if I have to cough or something during recording. It is in it's own shockmount and is MUCH lighter than my Yeti! It has proven to be everything I had hoped it would be and more. I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a quality USB mic for not a ton of money! Sue

  • from Indiana February 16, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Spark!

    Great mic! Easy to set up; does what they say it will do - exactly. Highly recommend.

  • from Cumberland Gap, TN January 14, 2013Music Background:
    Folk Singer Songwriter

    Revolutionary

    I have had this microphone for about a month or two now. I use it with my ipad with garageband. The quality is excellent. I have used it for male vocals, mandolin, acoustic guitars, banjo, bouzouki etc. It works wonderfully for everything I have tried with a well rounded sound capture that I suspect will recover any good acoustic sound well especially with the focus switch. The design is asthetically beautiful and professional which gives the feel of high qaulity recording without a bunch of equipment. The conveinence of needing only the microphone and an ipad or iphone is revolutionary to me and it allows me to do much more recording than I typically would. There has been no issues connecting it or troubleshooting what so ever. As mostly an acoustic musician I hate getting bogged down with electronics and this is it.

  • from Illinois December 27, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Love the microphone

    Had it for a couple of weeks now and it exceeded all expectations. If you want a great mic to record with for a cheap price that will connect directly to your computer, this is the microphone to get.

  • from Arlington, VA USA July 22, 2013Music Background:
    Business Trainer and Coach

    Spark Digital

    It's a great microphone. The sound of my voice is superb. The only irritating this is that each time you plug it to your computer you have to make adjustments to the mic.

    Sweetwater is awesome. They have the best customer service in the world.

  • from New York, NY March 13, 2013Music Background:
    A guy that can play and knows a thing or two about recording.

    Versatile and sounds great

    Blue's SD is flexible, transparent, and represents a good value. Sounds fantastic on acoustic guitars, and even my voice, which generally prefers a good old SM57, comes through nicely, especially with the focus control turned on.

    The latency-free monitoring is awesome, and has a nice loud output. The only drawbacks are that it's a touch big and doesn't ship with a windscreen.

    Some may object to the notched level settings on the mic/monitor gain, but I actually learned to like them because it makes replicating your levels a lot easier than a continuously variable dial. Kudos, Blue - now send me a pop filter!

  • from September 20, 2013Music Background:
    Sound Engineer/Producer

    Blue Spark USB MIC

    The condenser mic had too many plugins for my setup. It confused me and within a few uses it had blown circuitry that made it unusable.

Questions about the Blue Microphones Spark Digital - 30-pin?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway