rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Blue Microphones Spark Cardioid Condenser Microphone Reviews

4.5 stars based on 54 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Carson McClain

    The Blue Microphones Spark is the best mic you can get for home recording at this price. Use this mic on vocals, instruments, drum overheads, or acoustic guitar to get excellent home recording results.

  • from Tulsa, OK October 7, 2016

    Blue Spark

    After reading a lot of reviews I decided to purchase the Spark. It lives up to all of the hype. A real bargain for the price. Better than a lot of mics costing much more!

  • from Duluth, MN September 14, 2016Music Background:
    Recording, Performance

    I Love My Spark

    Whether you're new to recording, or seasoned but on a budget, this mic will hold down the fort. It sounds full and clear. This was my first condenser, and while I've recently upgraded my mic locker with a tube condenser and a ribbon, I will always hold on to my Spark. I've used it on hiphop and dirty blues vocals, and the sonic results are pleasing.

  • from June 5, 2015

    Awesome mic!

    Holy cow! Worth every penny. The articulation is amazing!

  • from April 16, 2015Music Background:
    ILLMATIC PRODUCTIONS LLC

    Very clear & Powerful

    I wasn't expecting much for the price, but upon hook up (Along with me DT 77 Pro's) is hands down the best mic I have ever used.

    Sure you could upgrade with the mindset that you didn't spend very much therefore there hast to be a better mic but Blue kicks that routine out the window.


    I'll pry only haft to buy some vocal effects, probably a voc VST or two for my own experiment from here on out.


    Very awesome mic.

    Thank you Sweetwater for the good deals as well.

  • from Binghamton, New York November 30, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    If you don't work in a treated stuido, this is the best mic you can ever buy.

    The focus control, which changes the capacitance, naturally rolls off the highs and lows in a very, transparent and beautiful way - and in a way I doubt you could re-create with EQ. This prevents reflections from getting into your mix. The next mic up is the Bluebird, which I found to be too mid scooped, sibilant, and shrill. Best of all, this mic sounds better than any I have ever used (all budget AKGs, ATs, an MXL, etc) and won in a blind test shoot-out among my friends (the focus control button "on" won over "off"). I have used it with great success to mic amp cabinets, and to record vocals, including rap. Overall, I give it the coveted and mythical "A++", which is equal to about an 11.5 out of 10. Of course, get a better pop filter and treat your room as best you can. You will be very happy with the Spark.

  • from Rochester, NY March 12, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Vocalist, Audio Engineer Student

    Awesome Mic for an Awesome Price

    The Spark is probably one of the best mics I've ever recorded with. It truly brings your vocals to life and give them an all around good sound regardless of sound proofing. Recommend this to any one recording vocal tracks.

  • from San Francisco, CA February 28, 2014Music Background:
    Voice Actor

    I love this mic!

    You simply cannot get a better voice-over mic for 200 bucks. I've played with more expensive mics like the AT4040 and this Blue Spark just sounds better, at least with my voice. I've also recorded many times with Neumann U87s in studios and I honestly can't hear a lot of difference. I could not recommend this mic enough.

  • from South Bend, IN October 4, 2013Music Background:
    Audio of all format

    I had no idea what i was getting into....

    I do a lot of recording, and the first time i plugged this sucker in i was absolutely stunned. My vocalist and i sat there with our jaws hanging open entranced until the first phrase ended. I used to think my AKG perception was a good mike... in a direct comparison it just doesn't hold a candle to the spark.

    The fullness and warmth is a glaring difference, the clarity is like standing next to someone in the room talking face to face. The spark did exactly what it was meant to - ignite a frenzy of inspiration and questions. You'll anticipate hearing every instrument and sound you can through the spark because it will all be new again. Go ahead, record the cat and drive him crazy on playback just because you can.

    And be prepared... you will wish you bought two if you intend to do stereo. For this price it's a steal.

  • from Fort Wayne, Indiana July 22, 2013Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Spark Microphone

    I bought this on sale at Gearfest this year. The price was right so I took the plunge. If you're a recording enthusiast there is no better way that you could spend two hundred bucks. Works great on vocals but also an amazing way to record acoustic guitar. An absolutely true representation of your acoustic guitar sound. The Spark also seems to be built really well. Has a nice heavy feel to it. The fit and finish is perfect. Comes with a nice shock mount, pop filter, and a cool wooden box. Although I love to record I am not a big gearhead so I can appreciate the ease of use with this mic. Sounds as good as or better than mics costing much more. Buy this thing!

  • from New Iberia, LA February 6, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Musician, Producer

    Blue does it again!

    Let me start off by saying, this mic is incredible. For the value, no other mic I have come across can compare to it. The vocals are incredibly clear and crisp. Both the high & low end are great. This mic can do it all. I personally rap and sing & it works perfectly for me. I've also recorded acoustic guitar and drums with this mic and both came out with exceptional quality. I HIGHLY recommend this mic. I guarantee you'll be satisfied.

  • from LOS ANGELES September 19, 2012Music Background:
    PROFESSIONAL SINGER

    EXCELLENT SOUND

    I USED FIRST TIME
    used karaoke song and voice recording
    excellent sound and clear voice

    AND NEXT TIME BUY THE NEUMANN KMS 105 MICROPHONE

  • from SW Wisconsin July 23, 2012Music Background:
    songwriter, musician, engineer, project producer, etc.

    Amazing Spark

    I bought the Spark at the Gearfest ($99). When I got a chance to play with it, I set it up against 3 other mics. I tried several things---talking, singing, acoustic guitar & more). I rated them thusly: First...Blue Spark (by far), second...Avantek C6, third....AKG, fourth Chinacrap (by far). It's just my opinion, but anyone thinking about one of these HAS to get one. As a lot of internet reviews state, "the packing alone will impress the hell out of you." The sound is exceptional---this from a 40-year studio guy.

  • from June 24, 2012Music Background:
    Home recording

    5 Stars for the Blue Spark Mic

    Simply stated...it's awesome. Very pleased! I gave it a 5 star because of the price. It compares to other more expensive mics out there easily. I might have to buy a second one soon.

  • from Denver May 3, 2012Music Background:
    Artist/Songwriter

    Super Amazing Vocal Sound

    I record vocals in the best studio's in L.A, Miami etc
    and the Sound this mic let's out is just as good if not Better!!!
    Anyone that wants to by a new lower price Mic, Go get this....
    100000000% Worth every penny & some ;)

  • from Ohio January 29, 2012Music Background:
    Engineer, Musician,

    Awesome mic Great price

    I have a home studio had my eye on it for awhile and finally bought it. wow i was amazed the clarity the performance i could go on and on its a great mic it can do every thing for vocals to guitars to amps to drums everything. its my flagship mic i use it every day. love it.

  • from Ebina, Japan January 4, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist who spends way too much money and time on it

    Price to performance? 5 stars.

    The Spark is a low-noise, clear and accurate mic that gives a great "pro" sound at a very low price. I have since purchased a Neumann TLM-193 and found it to be much darker on vocals. The Neumann sounds fantastic on a female singer who sometimes sings with me, throwing a silk blanket on some of the harshness of her much higher tonality. But for my own voice, I actually prefer the presence boost of the Blue Spark. Besides that difference in the frequency curve -- which can be altered via EQ anyway -- I would be hard pressed to hear the difference (on my pre-amps) between the $200 Spark and the $1600 Neumann, in terms of self-noise, sensitivity, and accuracy. Considering that the shock mount alone for a TLM-193 costs 25% more than the entire Spark package deal with shock mount and pop screen, if I had to compare the two for price/performance, I'd give the Spark a FIVE and the Neumann a THREE, since the two are so similar in sound quality at such a drastically different price.

  • from Wilmington, NC July 21, 2011Music Background:
    Guitar, piano, saxophone, hobbyist

    Awesome Mic

    This mic sounds great. My experience with recording is limited but I am very pleased with the results from this mic. It's very warm and clear. Glad I chose this mic and I highly recommend it.

  • from Waldport, OR June 1, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician

    Blue Spark (From Heavan)

    For the price, this Mic is amazing. I primarily use it to mic acoustic guitar, however.... The clarity and richness of the acoustic guitar track is rich, full, crisp and clean and comes thru clear in the mix. I have also experimented with it as a vocal mic and for mic'ing a guitar Amp. It is extremely versatile and it's results in each application have been superb. The Mic comes in a top quality wooden box like other Blue Mic's and has a little manual with great mic'ing tips for all situations. I haven't yet tried all the possibilites, but confident it will work well no matter how I use it. The Spark has a focus button which enhances the channel gain and clarity. I have not applied the focus button in the middle of a recording, as I normally set a mic level and don't touch it during the session. I could see it's use in quiet or whispering situations within a performance otherwise filled with dymnamic vocal parts. It has a built-in Popper Stopper and it has an expensive Mic styling and look. It also can be used very effectively with a 2nd Blue Spark as a matched pair for stereo mic'ing. For this reason I am putting in an order for a 2nd Spark. For the price this is an amazing microphone. If I had 5 hands, 5 thumbs up!

  • from Mexico May 9, 2011Music Background:
    Producer and musician

    Amazing sound!!!!!!

    Perfect for me and my studio. Amazing quality sound and good look

  • from Medical Lake, WA USA February 13, 2011Music Background:
    Student/Hobbyist

    Great mic, so-so accessories

    I really love the sound that this microphone has given my vocal recordings, very smooth and present, yet very detailed. The noise floor on the microphone is very low and it does not accentuate any harshness in my voice, like the mic on my Apogee ONE does. However, the shockmount that came with my mic is not the one that is pictured with the mic on this website, it looks more like a cheaper variant of the newer shockmount that comes with the Bluebird. That being said, on my unit, the shockmount had some quality control issues, the bottom piece that the mic screws into sticks when I try to adjust the left/right position of the microphone (which I fixed using a bit of oil on the portion of the shockmount that was sticking), and the finish on the shockmount was worn a bit, and I have to really tighten thumbscrew on the angle adjustment to get the mic to stay in place. The pop filter, while very pretty, isn't effective closer than 6 inches with in normal mode, and isn't effective closer than 3-4 inches with the "focus" control engaged. Also, be prepared to purchase a good pop filter and very sturdy mic stand if you get this mic, as it is quite heavy, and the pop filter is not that effective. i rated it 5 stars due to its' high performance, and the issues I have had with the shockmount and pop filter are relatively minor considering the low price of the microphone and its' extremely high price-to-performance ratio.

  • from Kansas February 11, 2011Music Background:
    18 years radio and voice over

    (Choir sings) Ahhhhhhh!

    Like a little boy on Christmas morning I stood at the window watching for the FedEx truck (Free Shipping and tracking and I was ready!).

    I opened the wooden box (Just like all the YouTube reviews I watched while waiting)

    Plugged it into my new Presonus USB Audiobox

    Hit record on Adobe Audition and dropped a few lines...

    Hit playback and WOW... I always wonder how real these reviews are, but YEP... Worth every penny! I had to copy the file and put it on my other computer with the big studio monitors... Wow Wow... Because I couldn't wait I just set up at the kitchen table... No room echo, sounded GREAT! Better than I expected.

    I was introduced to Blue with the SnowBall and upgraded to the Spark for my Voice Over work.

    Mark T. was great to work with and Sweetwater is well... Sweet!

  • from Douglasville, GA June 24, 2016

    Great Microphone!

    For the price you pay, this is a GREAT microphone! Clear/Clean vocals, focus mode is a great feature! Plus it just looks cool! I defiantly recommend this microphone!

  • from December 28, 2015

    Awesome Mic!

    This is the first mic that I have ever bought and I couldn't be happier! Using it for hip-hop vocals and to record live instruments. It has a very solid feel and was easy to set up!

  • from Lexington, KY May 29, 2015

    Great sound, durable build

    I just wanted to endorse the quality of this mic. I set it up to record vocals at a high angle, turned around and heard the mic hit the floor. The mic stand had tipped over and the mic hit hard tile. I thought it was done for, but I plugged it up and it still worked. The grill is dented in but I can deal with that. Happily surprised customer here.

  • from United States May 8, 2015Music Background:
    songwriter

    The Spark!

    Great mic for the money! Clear and clean!

  • from Arkansas April 8, 2015

    Great mic!

    What else can I say? It truly is a great mic for recording and vocals. Not to mention the supurb Sweetwater team!

  • from tampa, fl June 5, 2014Music Background:
    musician 30 yrs

    great mic

    got it for my vocals and acoustic guitar,cello.
    here it does work a little better than my mxr.
    have a curve to get use to , figured that,
    vocals a little more even.
    still fooling with acoustic instruments ,,fine tuning.
    but...for amplified guitar and bass...this mike pulls over driven tones out like the best recordings i have ever heard.
    clean tones are good too , just not as ( what the ).
    bass guitar is tighter.
    i use the fat switch on mic for everything except bass , found that the reduced mid-bass focuses the bass recording better.

  • from Waukesha, WI May 9, 2013Music Background:
    Composer/Musician

    Great Mic to work with

    Picked up this mic to get a nice clean sound in my small studio. Did wonders! I was surprised at the clarity it provided right from the onset. Compared to what I was using before (what was considered a fairly decent mic), there is no reason to ever use the other again.
    The "Focus" is a great little addition switching between different types of recording.

  • from San Francisco, CA March 11, 2013Music Background:
    DIY musician

    Great mic for the DIY

    I've had plenty of opportunity to record through super high end condenser at professional studios so I was very skeptical about the lower budget mics such as the spark. The sound was well rounded and didn't run too hot. I was able to produce beautiful acoustic guitar tones even before running through any compressor or effects.

    My biggest cons had nothing to do with the actual mic, but the equipment that can with it. This boom mount had a tendency to rattle along the axis when subjecteded to any vibration greater than a step on the floor.
    The pop filter was also disapointing. The best approach to using is to keep a fair distance from the mic and filter.

    I would reccomend this to anyone one trying to build a good home studio on a budget as long as one is aware of the very mild speed bumps.

  • from New Port Richey, FL February 7, 2013Music Background:
    CEO, Chief Engineer

    Excellent vocals

    I bought this to use in the spoken audio of an international radio blog and has blown me away! I was using an MXL 990, but being cheap...anyway this Blue has stepped forward and what a difference!

  • from Ohio October 2, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Producer, Musician, Student

    Buy a Pair!

    Really great mic. I'm a student so I'm used to budget gear, but even when put through budget pre's and ADC it's actually pretty nice sounding. I recently purchased a Summit Audio tube pre and the Spark sounds on par with mics at a much higher price through that.

    While great on vocals, it really captures the low end of an acoustic guitar, sounds great on toms if you're working with a softer drummer, and does well on many other stringed instruments. But the reason you should buy a pair is because you HAVE to hear them as drum overheads. Put them through a good set of pre's, and nobody will believe you when you tell them the overhead mics on your next project were only $200 each.

    The main cons are with the accessories. The pop filter isn't any good, but you should own a better one anyway if you want to be taken seriously as a project studio owner. The shockmount isn't as terrible as it's sometimes made out to be, though. I can tighten it by hand and it isn't going anywhere. Having a pair of pliers around to really tighten it wouldn't be a bad idea though.

  • from Chicago, IL June 25, 2012Music Background:
    Mixing Engineer, Musician, Songwriter.

    Amazing Mic!

    I recently picked this mic up at gear fest for the ridiculous deal they had on it.. I figured for the money I could give it a shot. To be honest I was not expecting this mic to be as amazing as it is. It comes in an amazing wooden case with its own pop filter and a shockmount (I will be honest - and as you see with most other reviews, this shock mount is terrible.) However, the sound of this mic blew me out of the water, I had read that it was great for acoustic guitars so I hooked it up and did an A/B comparison with another mic I was previously using for vocals. Decided to plug straight into one of the stock preamps on my old Digi 002r. Wow this mic is leaps and bounds over the other mic. this mic makes my other one sound like it was submerged in a blanket. It really made my acoustic shine, very glassy top, and it just picked up all the detail of my acoustic.. I will say though. this mic is quiet (And I mean that in a good way!) it wasn't picking up noise from other rooms, only the source infront of the mic, which I loved. Also, the Focus button on the mic.. also amazing, Change the tone of your mic with the click of a button! I cannot wait to pickup a new channel strip to really let this mic shine!

  • from Seattle, WA February 29, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Best Mic at the Best Price

    I was looking for a condenser Mic for my home recording projects, but when I went to the local gear shops in my area, everyone was trying to sell me $600+ mics. My house isn't Abbey Road. I just wanted a good mic that would get great sound from vocals and guitar. The Blue Spark was the right price, and it is certainly delivering top quality sound!

  • from July 19, 2011Music Background:
    DIGITAL FILMMAKER, VIDEO PODCAST VJ PRODUCER

    AWESOME! BLUE DOES IT AGAIN... XD

    FORGET all the reviews that say this is a home hobbyist mic. THIS IS A PROFESSIONAL MIC... I was given my Spark as a late birthday gift. This powerful mic is for we mere mortals who don't have the deep pockets to China and back filled with silver, gold, platinum and diamonds. Which the ELITISTS of the RRIA and HOLLYWOOD along with all their minions demand. Because unless you're spending uber millions of Duckets on your studio you're nothing but gutter trash.

    It's an ill looking mic and the new shock mount is so cool. It may be just cardiod only I love the sound better than the yeti pro and the focus button gives you two mics in one. I wouldn't put it in front of a 100 w or 50 w stack, but with the money you save you can buy one or two reactors for that. :D

    Bottom line this solid stat mic rocks it's worth mics that are prices hundreds more. For sure better than the EV450... I also love the color. If I were the guys at blue I would forget the whole yeti thing and give the Spark a big brother call it the Flame. LoL

  • from Weaverville, NC. May 25, 2011

    Excellent!!!

    This mic did everything I expected and more. I'm very happy with the purchase. The only downside ws the pop filter and I just went out and bought a new filter to use with it. No big deal. The shock mount that was included worked fine, although I read some reviews that stated otherwise.

  • from BN December 29, 2010Music Background:
    Musician, Hobbyist, Student

    It really SPARKS!!!

    This mic comes with useful accessories and like usual, Blue is known for its Mics and this one is one little match-stick that will ignite your music. Warn you, it's a little bit hot!!!

    Never encounter any problems with the shock-mount. It's solid!!! Anyone thinking of getting a mic but on a really tight budget, please don't overlook this mic.

  • from 6551 Hiddenwalk Drive APT #A November 4, 2016Music Background:
    Vocalist/Producer/Mix engineer

    Great

    The one good thing about the Blue spark mic that makes it stand out, is it's signal to noise ratio, and pretty much everything about it is cool for the prize except for the pop filter, it doesn't serve it's purpose perfectly.

  • from Superior, WI August 20, 2016Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    A workhorse condenser

    I've recently used this mic for hiphop vocals - clients both male and female. In my experience, this mic sounds clean and balanced. It's pretty flat sounding - not a lot of sparkle. It's a really solid mic overall and I'd recommend it to anyone on a budget. It won't blow you away, but it's reliable, and for the price point, that's pretty good.

  • from North Carolina April 14, 2016Music Background:
    Owner/Operator Asbill Audio

    Spark

    The Spark is a great multi-use mic. In a live application sounds great on electric grr & pedal steel.

  • from Lowell, MA August 10, 2014Music Background:
    30+ years producer

    Secret weapon

    This mic came as quite a shock to me: It's Great!
    I had low expectations of a mic at this price.
    But I was impressed. It is quiet, clean, good output level with low noise.
    What's not to like? (The looks, I guess, which are kind of tacky, IMO)
    On vocals it has plenty of detailed high end, maybe a little crisp - but that can be controlled with EQ in the preamp or DAW.
    You may not get the low end you need for other sounds, so this is not a "do-it-all" mic. But that's OK. We all need more than one mic...
    Save your money toward a good preamp and get this mic, instead of spending a bundle on more high end products.

  • from USA January 28, 2013Music Background:
    Dj / Recording Artist

    Impressed!

    Very satisfied and impressed, great sturdy microphone. I would recommend to anyone. The shock mount could be better built, but the quality of the mic is outstanding.

  • from Aberdeen, SD October 11, 2012Music Background:
    Audio Engineer - Singer/Songwriter

    A Solid Mic (A Must Have)

    My studio coworker has owned this mic for about a year now and I've had a chance to hear it on several different things; mainly vocals, guitar, and recently, saxophone. We generally use tube condensers, but we never neglect this great little mic. At $200, it's worth every cent. It's true to itself. It doesn't add color to your tone. Simply gives you what's in front of it. I recently used it to record a live jazz album on the sax player (Set to the focus position). It had decent isolation, and with proper EQ, it turned out to be a desirable sound for us. If you're used to amazing mics, don't expect to have this one win your heart,.But it'll always be there for you on jobs when you need a work horse of a mic that will stand up to it's tasks. At $200, you can feel great about the quality, but also feel comfortable letting it leave the studio.

  • from PA, USA October 3, 2012Music Background:
    Music hobbyist, Home studio. Musician

    Blue Spark on vocals

    Blue has always made qualility and unique looking microphones. I have a handheld blue and was impressed enough with that to go for the Spark. Not only is this a great entery studio vocal microphone, it has a nice shock mount and a pop filter. Both which add to the overall package and sound. The focus buttom does not add a whole lot to the sound and probably is not neccesary. I think it sounds better with it disengaged. All in all a great entry level mic. My Sure KSM 32 sl is a better sounding and constructed mic but it also cost about $300 more

  • from United States March 11, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Producer, Artist

    Great Mic for its Price

    This mic is really good for its price range. I have mine going through a Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56 and it sounds like it cost several hundred more. The build feels very strong however I really dont like the shockmount and the way it was designed but Ill sacrifice that for the sound this mic produces. Very little self noise for a mic in this price range. The Focus Control feature on this mic is another plus. Its almost like having 2 different mics when you a-b with Focus Control in or out. Great mic for the price so if youre on a budget this mic is great for you!

  • from AR, USA February 23, 2012Music Background:
    Musician (hobby)

    Excellet mic for the money

    Great for recording acoustic guitar and vocals. I am a little new to mics but I have no complaints!

  • from California December 8, 2011Music Background:
    fingerpicker, acoustic bass, budding narrator

    Nifteroony

    So far I'm really impressed with the Spark. The only reason I rated it four stars instead of five is that the field's new to me & I don't know mics & the software & all well enough to truly be smart about it. All I can say is in my initial forays I'm really impressed.

  • from The Batcave June 20, 2011Music Background:
    Writer, performer, engineer

    money well spent!

    At the very least I knew I'd be getting 200$ worth of Blue and that it would be well spent but it slightly exceeded my expectations. It is an incredibly clean, discreet, low noise, vivid mic. that has it's own neat little character. before i bought it i read complaints about the shock mount, it's not awesome but it's not bad either..i've had worse problems with other pricier mics. So far it's sounded great on acoustic, vocals and amps.

  • from Mountain View, CA March 1, 2011Music Background:
    Drunken Fiddler

    No Doubt

    The lowest noise mic I've used and the response keeps my voice from sounding harsh or too nasal. Looking at the Bluebird, it should be even quieter for a hundreds bucks extra. I'm not sure if any lower noise is really necessary. My shock mount has the same issue with attaching the mic as some other reviewers. The cheapie Samson mic mount is better machined/built but sags heavily under the weight of this mic. The storage box is seriously nice, but the pop filter is just ok--good enough for me at approx 6 inch distance. Closer vocals may require an additional filter. I'd recommend this mic at this price.

  • from PHX, AZ, USA December 29, 2010Music Background:
    jack-of-all-trades; Hip-Hop

    The Spark of my Studio

    My wife purchased this microphone for me for Christmas. I have been using the mic that came with my tascam track pack which I purchased about 3yrs ago. After beginning to record at professional studios I realised that my mic was the reason my sound was so dead. The studio I recorded at used the Blueberry and I really liked the sound so I decided to go with a more affordable Spark. It is packaged well, I have had no problems with the pop filter or the shock mount. I wished the pop filter was a little larger but its no biggie. I did notice with the shockmount adapter that it was hard to set in place being that this mic is over 1 lb. I remembered that when I went to the studio, the engineer pulled out his pliers when he went to setup the Blueberry for me, so I did the same thing. I used my pliers to tighten up the knob and viola! My mic no longer slips! Lesson Learned: is professional quality gear requires prefessional quality installation.

  • from Berwyn, IL July 5, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer and Producer

    SPARK your creativity

    For the price, these are GREAT mics. I ordered two to use as drum overheads, but the body of the mic was rattling around on one, so had to return it, but Sweetwater paid for the return shipping, sent me a new one, and the replacement was in great shape. The only MAJOR DRAWBACK: the lousy shock mounts that come with it. You can tighten the thumbscrew as tight as can be, do an adjustment on your mic pre, and turn back to find the mic sagging. The shock mounts are just plain NO GOOD. If you buy a universal shock mount, it needs to have at LEAST a 44mm diameter or the mic will just drop though the hole. (Good inexpensive ones on Amazon that work great: Hittime Universal Shock Mount.) Anyway, I think Blue should recall the shock mounts and supply proper replacements. Otherwise, these mics sound great on vocals -- they have a nice transparent high sheen on them, not harsh. Great stereo pair on congas. Sound great on guitar cabs too. Didn't work so good on djembe though.

  • from Albuquerque, NM USA April 23, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Ehh... Sure...

    I've owned this mic for about a year. It's okay, pretty low self-noise, etc. If you're new to recording, this mic is a decent option. I personally like focus control, I think it doesn't sound too bad... but it definitely colors the tone. Another thing about this mic I'm not particularly a fan of is its sensitivity. Comes with a pop-filter, which is (sorry, but) HORRID. With another pop filter over it, some plosives still knock it off its pins... But all in all a decent starter mic. There are better options, however.

    Moral of the story = You get what you pay for with this mic.
    Not bad, but not great.

  • from December 31, 2015

    spark junk

    this thing rattles when I pick it up and the pop filter screw strips out very easily... save your money...crappy qc junk

  • from asheville,NC January 3, 2011Music Background:
    engineer

    sounds great but SHOCKMOUNT SUCKS

    Was really excited to start using this.....few problems here. 1. screwing this mic into the shockmount is a task, very frustrating! 2. the screw on the shockmount tilt cant hold the weight of the mic and it falls down. 3. where the shockmount actually grabs the mic it doesnt even get tight enough to keep it from wobbling and making noises!......the only way i would recommend this mic is if you have a universal shock mount lying around the studio, otherwise move on, safe yourself a few headaches.

  • from Seattle, Wa December 26, 2010Music Background:
    Musician.

    Shock Mount Blues

    I really don't have a review on this mic because the shock mount keeps slipping because of the weight of the mic! I was Amped when I got this but you can imagine the disappointment I have not actually recording with this. This is the second time I went to one of your compeditors to exchange it and all for not!

Reviews

  • Mitch Gallagher
    2-21-2011

    To make great recordings, you've got to have great microphones - but most great microphones cost a great amount of money. That's where Blue comes in; the company has been making excellent-sounding microphones, tailor-made to sound perfect in recording situations. And though some of Blue's mics go for top dollar, they've recently made a real effort to bring their technology down into an affordable price range.

    That brings us to Spark, the latest mic from Blue Microphones. For less than two bills, you get a cardioid microphone that is quiet, sounds great,and has surprising flexibility. Spark is a medium-diaphragm mic, which means it bridges the gap between large- and small-diaphragm designs and is useful in many situations. It features custom electronics that provide a pro "finished" sound before you even touch an EQ or a compressor. The mic comes in a nice wooden case that also holds the included shockmount and pop filter.

    To increase Spark's flexibility, Blue added a Focus switch. When this switch is disengaged (out), the mic has full-range response, with fat bottom end, rich mids, and articulate top end. But, push the Focus button in, and the sound jumps forward with extra presence. There's also tighter bottom end, which allows the sound to sit well in a dense track.

    Though Spark works well on many sources - acoustic and electric guitar, percussion, and more - I really enjoyed using it on vocals. There's a nice top end that provides excellent detail on any source, but it doesn't get harsh or overly sibilant.

    At this price, you can't go wrong. Spark gives you professional sound, and it's flexible and great looking to boot! Call your Sales Engineer now for more information!

Questions about the Blue Microphones Spark Cardioid Condenser Microphone?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway