0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Eventide Space Reverb Pedal Reviews

4.0 stars based on 20 customer reviews
Questions about the Eventide Space Reverb Pedal?

Questions about the Eventide Space Reverb Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Carson McClain

    In my opinion, the Eventide Space Reverb Pedal is the best available. Buy quality, buy once, add more Eventide pedals to your rig... it's that simple.

  • Strat Caster
    from northern, NV April 5, 2017Music Background:
    Have a variety of instruments strings, brass, percussion and keyboards. Now primarily playing guitar

    Disappointed

    I've had this pedal for awhile. I bought it for the variety of effects and controls ability. Initially, I thought wow, a rack unit isn't necessary. However, I later realized there were trade offs. The biggest one being tone suck. The tone degradation is about the worst I've used in a modern pedal. Buffers are great and make a difference in a chain. The problem is I've run this pedal in a chain of no more than 3 pedals. I've also used the by itself not connected in any way to other pedals. The only way I would record with it is if I was accepting of the tone degradation. If you don't mind that-then you have the effects. One should know the possible trade offs.

  • Rob
    from January 23, 2017

    Amazing Far-Out Reverb!

    I am very impressed with the sound, build quality, and uniqueness of the Eventide Space reverb pedal. Plenty of knobs to tweak the sound. Incredible sound ranging from practical to ethereal. The "Darkmatter" preset is my favorite for use with my modular synth. Crystal clear sound. Not like any reverb pedal or processor I have ever owned. Worth the price!

  • Customer
    from March 9, 2016

    Impossible to update to latest SW

    I absolutely loved this pedal (4.5 stars) until I tried to update it with the latest software. The Eventide Updater does not work, and the pedal is now stuck in "Update" mode and cannot be used. Apparently, this is a pretty common problem with these pedals. Make sure to ask your Sales Engineer if yours comes with the latest software!

  • Customer
    from Bloomington, Indiana March 9, 2016Music Background:
    Live Sound, Guitarist, Audio Engineer

    Kemper FX Loop

    I keep my Kemper FX loop fully open at 20% wet, but use a volume pedal to feed the dry signal into the Eventide. This way I always have the tail of the reverb and delay- not to mention that much less tap-dancing. The Space is a big step up from the Kemper's delay and reverb. The reverb/mod/delay patch even led me to removing my delay pedal from the FX loop.

    I give it a 4.5 because I have not yet tried it in my studio environment.

  • Synthtopian
    from NYC/NJ October 30, 2015Music Background:
    Mastering Pot Banging

    Come with us on a journey through time and space, as we explore the mysteries of Eventide's remarkable new effects pedal...

    I'm a fan of Eventide studio gear (Frank Zappa) and now I'm huge fan of Eventide stomp boxes, and I see the Space as the icing on an already rich and creamy cake. It's obviously conceived with the guitar in mind, but there's absolutely no reason why guitarists should have all the fun. These stomp boxes work equally well on SYNTHS, vocals, percussion — you name it.

    Admittedly, it occasionally feels wrong to place effects of this class on my furry carpet rather than in a flightcase or pristine studio rack. And, compared to most guitar pedals, the Space may appear expensive. But if you possess a couple of fully functioning ears, that impression is easily dispelled.

    The Space's reverbs are deliciously usable, but it's in the more outlandish and adventurous algorithms that its full character shines. In combining reverbs of this class with delay, pitch-shifting, tremolo and more, Eventide's black box has a capacity for 'plush weirdness' rarely found (and almost never in effects processors I can afford!). With just the right degree of 'hands-on', an extensive MIDI spec and a great set of factory patches, there's little chance the wonders of Space will be unappreciated for long.

    *********Make sure you install the beta version OS letting you use the H9 Controller! which a lot of users don't know exist. After you register your Space, Timefactor, Modfactor or H9 stompbox and you update each box to the 5 Beta which lets you use the H9 Controller, in which, will let you use the many patches and algorithms in your boxes in a neat editor on you laptop, iPad, and such. It's amazing the sounds and settings you all achieve using this utility.

  • Brent Lewis
    from Joshua Tree, CA April 7, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Eventide Space Reverb Pedal

    Great pedal. Robust and tons of fun to work with

  • Dale Sturgis
    from NC July 4, 2013Music Background:
    Touring Musician, Recording Hobbyist

    A Summary of My Experience

    Fantastic. Really takes you to different places in the sonic universe. I can really hone in some Brian Eno-esque reverb and make great sounds. Personally, I love having all the knobs to fiddle with as it offers the ability to really fine tune the sounds you're looking for. Couldn't be happier with this purchase.

  • Mike
    from Bel Air, MD March 12, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    A+ Pedal

    Eventide Space is:
    - MIDI controller for your rig
    - Chorus (mono)
    - Flanger (mono)
    - 1500 ms delay pedal (mono; digital or analog style repeats)
    - Equalizer
    - Tremolo
    - Reverbs that sound like Synth
    - Pitch Shifted Reverbs
    - Traditional Reverbs (Hall, Plate, Room, Spring)
    - Reverbs that sound like something out of a horror movie
    - a few other trippy effects

    This pedal has unnoticeable latency and does NOT suck tone like so many of the other digital processors out there.

  • Brian
    from Hampton VA November 8, 2012Music Background:
    Project Studio owner / Recording engineer / Guitarist

    Space Sounds Very Good!

    Eventide Space is an excellent pedal. It has some of the most amazing presets and every one of them is very musical in its own right. Making adjustments on the fly is very easy to do with the knobs. I have not yet delved into the midi control functions so cannot comment on that. I will say that the footswitching function is a big improvement over the ModFactor which I purchased over a year ago. I plan on setting these two up together and making the Space master over the ModFactor.
    The sounds this pedal produces are just fantastic. I was a bit apprehensive about spending this much money on a stomp box but after hearing how good it sounds I plan on using this as an insert in my protools rig as well.

  • Bukoda
    from Seattle August 30, 2012Music Background:
    Musician with a Day Job.

    Workhorse for the Final Frontier

    How much room do you need? This little box is like the Weasleys' tent at the Quiddich World Cup. 12 magical algorithms that can contain a screaming genie in a bottle, to trekking around the universe at warp factor 9. The Hot Switch allows you to create an alternate universe of the same algorithm to switch between. Add an expression pedal to create varying degrees of control over the parameter settings of your choice. Easy...heel down, change the settings for one extreme..toe down, change the settings for the other extreme, SAVE & enjoy.

    I put this in the loop of my Line 6 HD500 to avoid DSP limit issues. Use MIDI to make program changes. Like Tremoverb? Got it. Need a little chorus, distortion, omnipression, EQ or other creamy goo? Its here too. 100 presets to tweak and have at your disposal.

  • Michael Brentari
    from Houston, Texas July 20, 2012Music Background:
    guitarist in contemporary Christian rock band.

    Eventide Space

    First, a comment on the the Space... its really hard to challenge Eventide when it comes to reverb effects. The pedal has some of the best presets from the H8000 and Eclipse (100 in all). The controls allow the user to tweak the sound and actually offers a number of control parameters to get the sound you want. And I really appreciate the left and right outputs which is critical to any eventide gear. I like that it has the midi control as well.
    Lastly, over many years of buying gear from Sweetwater, I cant stress enough how much I value having the same sales consultant working with me on every order. Mark Bruhn has been taking care of me all these years and I have come to actually think of the guy as if he were in my band!

  • Customer
    from June 25, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    A mixed bag

    I was looking for another reverb unit mainly for processing vocals. I figured this would be a step up from my existing rack units as the brochure claims “studio-quality sound” and “drawn directly from Eventide's standard-setting rack units”. Well after hours of comparing this to my Alesis Q2 and Lexicon MPX 100, I hear no difference in quality. Both those units mentioned cost considerably less than this and perform just as well.

    However, I do like this pedal. It’s fun, easy to tweak, and there are some decent sounds (if outer space is the tone you want). I would have liked this pedal more if there was just one tone that really stood out and had that wow factor. A sound that really came from a Eventide rack unit. Overall, a little pricey for what it does.

  • randall roberts
    from jefferson city mo. March 1, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician,Hobbyist

    space reverb

    I have tried many different reverb units and this was suggested to me by alan @ext 1339.This unit was the answer for a great sounding reverb that has total control with other effects that you might run.Hands down, its the last one you will purchase.

  • Henry T Braswell
    from Raymond, MS USA December 28, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician and Teacher

    The Eventide SpaceFactor Reverb pedal has a very high performance/price ratio....

    I was looking for a great reverb pedal, and the Eventide SpaceFactor Reverb (ET SFR) is it! This pedal's got the basic reverb types (room, hall, plate, spring) plus 8 other valuable types in which these other effects are mostly applied to the reverb component, not to the actual dry signal. I compared this pedal to the Nova Reverb pedal, which was an excellent pedal itself, but for the money, the ET SFR is by far the better buy. Further, it is a tweaker's delight, having 10 knobs to modify any of the 12 algorithms. It's a dream pedal for reverb effects. It possesses heavy-duty construction.

    The only things I don't like about the ET SFR are [1] the cable connections on the back are bass-ackwards from the other pedals I've used (the I/O cables cross and aren't split apart where they don't cross, like on the BOSS RE-20 and RT-20 and most other pedals) and [2] many of the factory presets.

    The documentation is adequate and informative and should be able to withstand a lot of use.

  • JHunt
    from Richmond, VA December 7, 2011Music Background:
    Performance & Recording

    Great fun!

    A real gas to play with. Run it in your pedalboard system or on your desktop – the only disappointing aspect of the Space is the “built in China” declaration on the bottom. Hence the spongy knobs? But even so, this baby really delivers!

  • Bo Blount
    from Sherman Oaks, CA September 22, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    The Final Frontier

    I'm an effects-junkie from way back (never mind how far back). This is a stompbox that rivals the quality and features of many rack mounted units...with all the excellent presets you'd expect from Eventide. You'll spend at least two days going through all of them, even more if you pop for an expression pedal. Truly, worth every penny. Great for guitar or bass...

  • Dr Tathata
    from D.C August 14, 2011Music Background:
    Guitar Player (46 years)

    Disappointing

    Ok, here is the Minority Report. I had high hopes. Not a single usable preset. The documentation is weak. Not only does it suck tone, but it isn't unity gain by default. It is eminently capable, no doubt, but I don't want to have to spend 100 hours learning how to get 3 usable effects out of the thing. For a few $$ more, you could have a state of the art boutique analog spring tank. If you want to play around and make noises out of a science fiction film--have fun--some of us are looking for practical tools to add a little spice to the process of making music.

  • Robert Coleman
    from Northern CA July 8, 2011Music Background:
    Semi-pro

    A Big, Smeary Paintbrush for the Guitar

    Let me start by saying this product will be most appreciated by sonic explorers, ambient musicians, composers, and those who seek more than an excellent spring or plate reverb. True, Space includes programs that cover more traditional reverb sounds very well. But, if that's all you are looking for there are other good products for less money that will leave you very satisfied.

    No, Space shines when you want a reverb to function as an instrument itself, something organic that you can incorporate into your own sound. The sounds can be gorgeous, edgy, mysterious, vast, and evolving according to your needs. Space gives you plenty of knobs, pedal and control inputs with internal programmed features to make reverb into an art form instead of just a box at the end of the signal chain. If this kind of approach intrigues you, then Space is for you.

  • Steve
    from New York June 22, 2011Music Background:
    Guitar player for 40 years!

    So Much More then a Reverb Pedal

    To call the Eventide Space a reverb pedal is a joke! This pedal can do so much more. The sound is fantastic, and the control and tweekability is second to none. As they say " You get what you pay for" and this is so true
    with the Space pedal. Don't even think about it, just buy it!

  • Tim
    from Central Missouri March 23, 2011Music Background:
    Guitarist

    Boldly Going Where No Pedal's Gone Before

    This thing is just amazing! It does a lot more than reverb, too. Several modulation effects, delays, distortion, tremolo, and compression (based on Eventide's Omnipressor). The sound quality is excellent, as expected from all of Eventide's products and it doesn't seem to add any unexpected noise (it will amplify any existing noise when using the Reverb EQs to boost treble or at higher gain setting with the distortion).

    Hall and Room reverbs sound very realistic. Spring nails the sound of any "real" spring I've tried to match it to (I've AB'd it with Fender Deluxe Reverb, Fender Reverb Unit, Mesa Mark IV, and Marshall DSL, so far, all dead-on accurate). Plate is really good, too. DualVerb allows me to run 2 reverbs at once (parallel or dual mono). Reverse is the best I've heard by far. ModEchoVerb is my favorite, so many sounds in that algorithm alone. BlackHole is amazing (none of the demos really capture its sound, at least not to my ears). MangleVerb (containing a distortion effect) and DynaVerb (containing the Omnipressor) are useful for creating strange textures. Shimmer is just beautiful... often imitated and overused, but perfectly implemented here.

    I own all the Eventide Factor pedals and this one is the crowning jewel. It's the missing link in that system. MIDI implementation is great, allowing bi-directional control via MIDI CC. Adding a 3-way auxillary switch helps, and an expression pedal can be used to control any or all of the knob parameters. The Hot Switch can be programmed to switch between 2 settings of as many knobs as you wish, just like the expression pedal can.

    Eventide really knocked this one out of the park! It's not harsh at all like so many digital reverbs can be. No matter how extreme the settings, it's always musical and very inspiring. It's so much better than my expectations (which were really high). I know it sounds cliche, but if I could only have one pedal, this would be it.

    Finally, just wanted to say thanks again to Kurt and everyone at Sweetwater!

Questions about the Eventide Space Reverb Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway