0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 2

Dangerous Music SOURCE Reviews

4.5 stars based on 21 customer reviews
Questions about the Dangerous Music SOURCE?

Questions about the Dangerous Music SOURCE?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Cameron Wheeler

    The Dangerous Music Source is an incredible DAC. In my studio, I have used this as my primary monitor controller for mixing. Its pristine accuracy allows me to hear things I never could before.

  • Andrew Malloy

    I just picked up Dangerous Music Source for my portable setup. The sound quality of the monitoring path allows me to really hear the mix, it fits in my laptop bag perfectly, and the DA converters are worth the price of admission alone. The Source is truly mastering-grade monitoring and conversion without the mastering-grade pricetag. I will never give up my Source!

  • from Los Angeles, CA March 31, 2017Music Background:
    Professional

    PTHDX Problem Solver

    I've been perfectly happy with my Coleman monitor controller for over 10 years now but in the studio working with Pro Tools HD open it became an ever increasing pain to listen to system audio to reference iTunes, YouTube, etc as well as having the aux cable always at the ready. My choice was having a bump box into a separate input or deal with level surprises due to the impedance mismatch, no fault of the Coleman's, just the nature of the passive controllers. Sounds silly but it's an annoying thing to explain to visiting artists how to switch for the aux or system audio, I just needed something that was always at the ready. The Source fixed all this for me. At all times I have an aux cable, system audio via the Source's DA, as well as a solid monitor section and a send to the headphone amp. I was worried about going to an active controller after being on a passive for so long. I did notice a different sound but that's all it is, different, no difference in quality and the mixes are as solid or better, the very, very slightly forward midrange seems to help my mixing style. Out of curiosity I tested the DA against my Prism ADA-8XR (my absolute favorite converters). Again, they're different, the Source is more mid and bass forward but every bit as usable, way better than the Aurora 8 I keep around for extra inserts and I prefer it to my Burl B2 (heresy some would say but it's just my opinion). That was a nice bonus I wasn't expecting and can trust it to manipulate sounds in Ableton while keeping PTHD open. My only change I'd make to the unit would be to make the volume knob a different color, maybe match the logo's orange to easier differentiate it from the headphone volume for studio visitors. I should also add that I got it with the rack kit, a perfect fit. Very happy with this handy little box.

  • from NJ December 7, 2015

    Top Notch

    Bought this after years of using an SM passive controller. The switching was fine on the SM, but I never realized what it was doing sonically until I installed the Source. The Source's analog path is pristine, but in my opinion, the digital inputs are where it really shines. The difference between my Apollo's (silverface) DA and the Source's is very obvious. The Source is much clearer, and the balance in the audio spectrum is much cleaner as well. Having the option for a USB input is also fantastic, as I can do quick comparisons between reference tracks on my computer and my mixes with the push of a button. The dual headphone jacks are a nice addition, and Dangerous gear just looks and feels pro in my setup. I also get to use the analog through jacks for a set of Coleman VU meters! Very happy with my purchase.

  • from June 9, 2015

    Love this thing

    I am another who moved up from a Central Station, this was a night and day difference, just ridiculous. Hear so much more from my mixes, used to have to plan on what was missing and guess, now I just mix and that's what bounces down and is what I hear when I take it to outside players. A godsend!

  • from Hobe Sound, FL March 16, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Mix Engineer

    Best...DAC...Ever!

    Ultra detailed, nice price! save yourself some $$$ and time, this guy is the real deal!

  • from February 25, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist hoping to be more

    I'll be a returning customer

    Needed an interface to begin taking my music to the next level. I needed something to drive an exceptional set of refererence monitors, but yet be capable of driving my Sennheiser HD 600 headphones. Of all the people I asked for advice, Roq Martin from Sweetwater answered all the inquiries I made (and there were quite a few...lol), and was the only one that offered up a great solution and a great fit - the Dangerous Music Source. Whatever your level...amateur or professional...you need help, talk to the folks at Sweetwater!

  • from Ft Collins , CO. USA January 29, 2015Music Background:
    song writer .. hobbyist

    Fantastic in every way !

    My go to guy at Sweetwater is Tom Maxwell -- he always points me in the right direction when it comes to gear... and this is a fine example ! A must for any home studio !
    Hear what you have been missing and get this now if you want to take your monitoring to the next level.

  • from Allen, Texas October 29, 2014Music Background:
    Live and studio Engineer and studio owner

    I heard things in my monitors i didn't before.

    I was steared to this by Kenny Bergle at Sweetwater due to the need for digital input from The RedNet 3. The unit it replaced claimed to have a passive signal path from inputs to monitor outs. As soon as I turned on the Dangerous Music Source I heard all the midrange definition that the old controller was lacking. Love at first listen.

  • from Culver City, CA April 21, 2014Music Background:
    Film Composer

    Stunning DA Conversion

    This product is mainly sold as a compact monitor controller. However there is more to mention. I was and still am blown away by its DA conversion capabilities.

    Instead of replacing my Steinberg mr816csx interface, I went ahead and pulled the trigger on this device. An absolutely spot on call!

    Monitoring is amazing, exactly as you would expect from Dangerous Music. Headphone amp is great too.

    The big thing is the DA though. Truthful and translates superbly. Apart from making correct decisions when mixing from your monitors - Now, those midnight though deadline headphone production & mix sessions are working too!

    Highly recommended! Price & Performance wise this guy is a killer.

  • from Philadelphia, PA USA March 12, 2014Music Background:
    Aspiring Audio Engineer

    Indispensable monitoring source

    There's no lacking in the design of the piece from the build to the sound. The variety of sound inputs and outputs are of extremely solid connectors, and sourced to immersive sound quality. I highly recommend the Dangerous Music Source! I hope to have it a lifetime.

  • from Oklahoma City, Oklahoma July 20, 2013Music Background:
    Who Cares

    ABSOLUTELY PERFECT!

    I've tried just a handful of headphone amp/monitors, etc., and I had my mind set on an SPL Monitor. When I finally connected the snake cables and the analog inputs I gave it a test drive. The absolute worst sound you can imagine. It must have been damaged or not working correctly it sounded like a thousand people where whispering. I was tiotally without a clue as to what was the problem. Step back a while. I had a d-box so I knew right away that DM has excellent monitoring systems. Well when I decided to turn to the Source, my expectations where exceeded beyond limits. I have access to AES/EBU, USB (VERY IMPORTANT working sessions with PT) and of course analog . Along with of course a seperate speaker monitor though I stick with the headphones and my sennheiser Hd 650. The sonic quality is superb the DAC is as good as my 16x16 Avid I/O, I can easily switch back and forth depending on my needs (i.e. using a passive summing mixer I HAVE to have AES monitoring because my analog outputs are used up - another good reason to get this item) and the USB monitoring mode is so unique I am unsure if anyone else has done it. Anyway if you're constrained by various factors so that you have to work your sessions with headphones for monitors this is the best and only way to go.

    My only complaint is the rack installation. I won't bore you with the details or my actual complaint but suffice to say it is not on my rack mount. I haven't been this excited over audio gear is so long and we all know monitors are the integral factor in audio engineering.

  • from February 3, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/Industry Pro

    Great box

    I own a Dbox and a Symphony I/O and picked this up for my mobile setup. It flat out sounds incredible! The D/A is nearly as good as the Symphony and the overall unit feels fantastic. It's a rock sold piece I would highly recommended to anyone.

  • from United States December 11, 2012Music Background:
    Recording and Mixing Engineer

    Amazing DAC and monitor controller

    I work out several studios and collaborate with different mastering engineers. For my project studio I was using a Presonus Central station to do monitor switching along with it's D/A conversion. I have to say when I plugged this thing in I was blown away. The clarity and depth I heard, especially in the low end was stunning. I could hear reverb tails clearly and a nicely sepearted midrange. I do not know if it is the DAC or signal path or both, but this was money well spent. Usually most people will tell you not to worry about your DAC until you have all your other bases covered (mics, pres, etc). However with this unit I made a very noticeable difference to my monitoring chain. This unit is worth trying out, especially if you are using some lower end monitoring / converter chain such as a central station. While it does not have the feature set of the central station it blows the sound right out of the water. This box is also perfect if you have no need for analog summing supplied in the D box. After buying the music source I was inspired to upgrade my project studio monitors to get the most out of my monitoring chain and I'm never looking back.

  • from FL December 1, 2012Music Background:
    Mixing Engineer

    Great monitor controller

    The sound is fantastic and really gives you a very accurate image of the mix. I love all the options for switching and inputs. This unit can really do just about everything. If you are creative it can even be uses as an A/D converter as well. I love the fact it was designed by Mastering engineers, you know the quality of the converters is going to be amazing. The ability to run protools and reference audio playing from my computer via the USB port was an amazing idea. This prevents from having to open the glitchy core audio driver. The guys at Sweetwater really know their stuff, if my sales rep hadn't turned me onto this box I would be sick knowing I went with another option. Just a great buy.

  • from Wilmington, NC September 9, 2012Music Background:
    Producer, Engineer, Guitarist

    Excellent

    I wanted to improve my monitoring, I had no idea what I was missing with my previous controller. I was going through 5-7 mix revisions before I was ready for my client to critique, not bad, but I need to move faster. After my FIRST mix session with the Source, I had only fine tuning tweaks, the mix was almost perfect!! Extreme flexibility and ease of use, Thanks Dangerous and Sweetwater!!!!

  • from Istanbul May 13, 2016Music Background:
    Audio Engineer

    A great DAC

    A great DAC! Amount of transient detail is perfect, it lets you hear every small issue with your mixes. I am very happy with this purchase and I should say that the guys at Dangerous Music are very helpful whenever you need to ask something. I was using steinberg ur824 as DAC before having this and I can honestly say that if you already have an interface like ur824 you wouldn't hear a big difference with Source. It is not a difference that makes you wowwwww. Anything goes wrong with Source, I can definitely use ur824 with confidence. It is an indispensable gear if you do not have a pro interface. Highly recommended!

  • from Honolulu, HI December 23, 2014Music Background:
    Recording / Musician / Production

    Eye Wreck a Mend

    Wasn't quite sure if I needed this because I had a pre sonus monitor station and thought, that's all I needed. However I went to another studio who had it and I got to experience the A/B difference from the monitor station to the source. So I just pulled the trigger and got the optional rack interface. Once setup I found out that everything was way more enjoyable to hear. I have a set of Focal CMS 65's with a CMS sub and now I KNOW my mixes are going to be a lot more focused and I can hear EVERYTHING. And panning is like 360 degrees now. Everythings wider, and I'm not just hyping myself up, but it's really a great investment for my studio. Can't wait to go back in tomorrow to get inspired! Even just listening from my computer some of my favorite songs, sound way more detailed and there's parts that I could never hear before.

  • from Keene March 11, 2014Music Background:
    Mastering engineer, 12 + years of production experience

    Depth and clarity, more well define spacial imaging

    Not sure how the sound could get much better. Running USB out of the computer and into the Dangerous , then output 1 to my amplifier and output 2 to my sub, latched so the level control works with both the sub and Revel F12s at the same time. After I downloaded the drivers (-1/2 star for difficulty) it was as if I had bought new speakers. The highs were made less ethereal and more defined, the mid-range was lively but not as sharp as it was before, as if the transients had more room to extend. The most startling difference was in the low mids, which were made less heavy, less pillowy. I would recommend this device to anyone with good speakers, as cheap speakers are not going to show the subtlety and liveliness this box is capable of. Thank you Dangerous!

  • from United States August 13, 2014Music Background:
    Engineer

    Dangerous Source

    Extremely good quality and very easy to set up. We should have done this sooner!

  • from Lexington, SC July 5, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, 25+ years experience

    Perfect Audio from this box

    The DM Source is the cleanest, most pure sounding monitor controller I have ever had the pleasure of using. When mixing and editing, it is absolutely CRITICAL to get the most accurate representation of your mix; and the usb-enabled Source is hands down the best way to monitor my computer audio ever. I have used solutions from Motu and Presonus (as well as countless analog and digital console setups), but the clarity of the signal in the Source is significantly better than anything before. Most notably, there is a clarity in the low frequencies that gives me confidence in my mix. Only had it for a few sessions, but so far I have recieved rave reviews of my work, so something must be going right... Also, the headphone amp will blow your ears away! Whether Sony MDRs or the old low output Sennheisers, it seems the hp amp is nicely overbuilt...

    I have used this box on overdubs for two sessions so far - using the line level analog ins to get from a 737 into Nuendo on my pc. Worked very well, zero hassles, zero unwanted noise or artifacts. And the ability to let the client monitor their vox with zero latency directly thru the box was a nice addition


    One negative comment; the lack of a talkback mic input makes this a little less than perfect, but there are plenty of workarounds to that minor issue. And I would have liked to see three separate outputs instead of two, but that is a minor issue.

    All in al, this is a monitor controller that will be on my MUST HAVE list for a long time to come. Enjoy!

  • from Texas May 28, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Musician, Hobbyist

    Glad I Chose It

    I decided to get the Dangerous Music Source after reading a shootout between it and the Central Station. I was monitoring through an Allen & Heath ZED mixer, using the ZED's D/A and speaker/HP amps, which weren't terrible. I definitely noticed an improvement upon plugging this box in. I wish it had a power switch. And on a Windows machine, you have to install an XMOS USB driver which is a little confusing, especially if you're constantly switching between various sample rates. Overall, I'm happy with this purchase and I'm more confident in my final product.

  • from June 2, 2015

    DMS Monitor Control

    The DMS is a nice piece of equipment despite its limited inputs and outputs. I purchased this device for a home studio along with its rack mount accessory and it works well. Although I own several Presonus Central Stations I have not been able to A/B them to determine whether the DMS's claimed tone transparency is actual or hype. That said, as a portable device, IMO, it has not equal. As a rack mounted studio device, however, I would have appreciated more connective options.

Questions about the Dangerous Music SOURCE?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway