0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

IK Multimedia Sonik Synth 2 Virtual Instrument Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
  • from Alabama June 5, 2015Music Background:
    Producer/Beat Maker

    Great Item

    Great Sounds ! For the Price ! All you need really for production sounds and you can create your own sounds ! Just had to Download J bridge to use on my 64 bit computer because it is a 32 bit plug in... But it is all good ! Just fine ! Was looking at a hardware Korg Synth but don't need it with all of these sounds ! A+ ! IK Multimedia !

  • from Virginia, USA November 12, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, Songwriter, Composer

    Really, really good.

    For the price, I am astonished. 5000+ sounds? I have been using this plugin for a couple of weeks now and so far, I am more than satisfied with the variety and quality of instruments. Each and every time I audition a new sound, I am blown away by the realism and flexibility of this program.

    Sonik Synth 2 has far more sounds than I would ever need, although it is nice to know that they are there just in case... While each and every sound so far has surpassed my expectations, what really impressed me is the quality of the guitar sounds. I am primarily a piano/keyboard player, but I love great sounding guitar tracks. Beyond that, virtually endless possibilities. SO many drum kits... wow, this is another strong point. Pianos, keys, vocal effects, organs, synths, orchestral, pads, strings, drums, guitars, on and on and on, all sounding equally great and useful.

    I will admit, the download and registration process was not as seamless as I would have liked, but now that it is up and running I could not be happier. Seriously, for this price you cannot go wrong. I cannot believe that other, seemingly less useful programs are more $$. Do yourself a favor and get this. If you could only have one instrument plugin, this is the one you want, regardless of your needs.

  • from McRae, GA December 11, 2008Music Background:
    Pro this & that - performer, producer, writer / arranger, teacher, etc.

    I always get the bug....

    Whenever I get a great product or software program in the studio, I always write about it when I feel the need to share my excitement & joy at owning something actually useful and productive. And man, this library is just that!

    Like one of the other reviewers here, I find the sounds to be incredibly useful. Just yesterday I tracked a piano track to a 60's groove type song, and one of the slightly out of tune piano patches worked perfectly to add to the "old school" vibe.

    I still haven't even scratched the surface of the library yet, but I'm excited about sitting down one day and just playing around with all the different sounds. This library is a great deal for songwriters, composers, and project studio owners. The sound quality is great, and the selection is even better. Highly recommended!

  • from Wisconsin, USA December 3, 2008Music Background:
    Professional Writer, Musician, Producer since the 1970's

    Absolute Sonik Paradise

    Outstanding! Massive sound library! Loads of easy custom sound shaping tools that allow you to get the right sound with whatever style of music you're working on.

    The sonik possibilities are endless although unlike SampleTank L and XL you cannot update = load in additional sound/sample libraries into SonikSynth but you can access SonikSynth sound library via SampleTank.

    SonikSynth includes High quality "Multi-Effects" ranging from reverbs, delays, comp/limiters, EQ, Chorus, Flanger and lots more including Amp Sim, Tube, Cabinet (derived from AmpliTube), careful, subtle tweaking will result in smoother, fuller, more realistic guitar tones but you can also use those FX's (amps, tube, cab) on other sounds such as Bass and organ.

    GUI: Very nice, easy user-friendly interface that works flawlessly with SONAR and other hosts. Setup in either ASIO or WDM/KS drivers (whatever works best for you). I record in 24.bit audio mode and the sounds from SonikSynth are superb.

    IKmultimedia are a great company! When you register (and for activation) also make sure you sign up for their newsletter because every now and then they offer incredible discounts (for a limited period) therefor it's good to get notification about it and then come straight here to SweetWater.com to purchase and also get free candy LOL!! What more could you ask for.

    IMPORTANT:
    Before you dive straight in and install SonikSynth.2... make sure to download the latest update from IKmultimedia and then install the update. Read the install info' at least twice and follow it precisely.

    I highly recommend SonikSynth, it's got a lot of useful sounds and with the ability to tweak those sounds further.

    Definitely great value.

  • from Chicago, Illinois November 1, 2006Music Background:
    Pro musician / writer / Arranger

    It has more than enough sounds to go around.

    This software rocks. I still have not tapped into all the great sounds available.The acoustic sounds are simply astounding. My only complaint is that its not standalone.

  • from Akron Ohio March 30, 2009Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Sonik Synth 2 Does Not Disappoint

    Sonik Synth 2 is simply an amazing software workstation collection of everything from classic and current synths, strings, vocals, guitars, basses, and about everything else under the sun in one complete package with many onboard effects and the ability to stack/layer 16 layers. Wow! I am amazed at the quality of the samples and the playability of the various patches. Mix and match and create your own custom sounds (sound design) or simply browse the many combis. You will need much time to fully check out all of the sounds, over 8 Gigabytes of samples comprising 5000 sounds. It is truly a value and a great "go to" virtual workstation with many sonic areas covered as well as a virtual synth museum at your fingertips.

  • from Indianapolis, IN USA April 11, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Good but getting a little old

    First, i have to say that I am a home twiddler not a performing musician, so my main criterion in an instrument is whether I like the sound and that it's fun to play with. Sonik Synth 2 passes on both grounds, It seems like a gigging musician would find plenty of sounds in SS2, but accessing the sounds quickly might be an issue. In the pure fun category, you should check out SS2's rhythm sounds. A lot of them are based on old-school vinyl drum loops. The orchestral sounds will make you feel like making a movie just to justify your soundtrack. Since I have tons of soft synths, I really didn't need this but I was curious from an old Keyboard magazine review, so when I got the chance to buy SS2 at a good price, I did. The variety of good sounds is excellent. It would be more fun to use if there was a single button that you could press to audition through the sounds one at a time. If there is, I haven't found it. It's a pain to cursor up through the menus each time. Even though SS2 is based on the Sample Tank engine, it seems better behaved on my Windows 7 computer than Sample Tank. My DAW, Mixcraft (5 and 6) won't recognize SS2 unless you open Mixcraft as administrator. SS2 is supposed to be multi-platform Mac-Windows. I have a Mac but I didn't load SS2 because I don't have the disc space to spare, and because I have plenty of sounds already in Logic's EXS-24. I'm only giving it 3.5 stars because of some DAW compatibility options, inflexibility of accessing sounds, and general datedness. My overall impression is still favorable, and Sonik Synth 2 is worth checking out.

  • from fl January 15, 2013Music Background:
    home studio

    pretty cool

    for the money its a great synth tons of sounds out the box there not the best sounds but with a lil work you can make them sound great.. a great plugin ,,,,

  • from WPB, FL February 1, 2005

    Sonik Synth 2 is incredible

    After a long wait, I have finally had the chance to install and work with Sonik Synth 2. I'm certain that I'm not going to be the only one who reviews this incredible product the same way.

    The sheer size of Sonik Synth 2 (over 8GB on 2 DVDs) should give you a clue as to the depth of the content. There are more than 5000 individual patches covering a massive range of instruments from synths of all types and models (including a massive collection of classic and rare vintage synths), Pianos, keys of all types, guitars and basses, drum sets and drum loops, percussion, pads , vocal textures, tons of individual synth waveforms...the list just goes on and on. I spent 3 hours forking through sounds using the simple interface and maybe listened to 1/10 of the sounds.

    OK, so size is becoming a popular thing these days with instruments and sound libraries. Bigger isn't always better however. I've wasted too many dollars to say on big libraries that have just a few sounds that I would actually use.

    Which brings me to the clincher - Quality. Sonik Synth 2 is easily boasts the highest quality sound content I have ever heard in a plugin. Rummaging through bank after bank, I have been stunned by the quality of this product. It has been nothing short of inspirational - you know, the way you used to get inspired when going to check out the latest kick butt hardware synth at the local music store - Well, just take that feeling and multiply it by 10 or so.

    Don't want to be long winded, but I can't say enough about Sonik Synth 2 - it's the best money I have ever spent on a plugin (maybe any piece of software for that matter) - if you are a keyboard player, YOU MUST OWN THIS PRODUCT.

    I expect you'll read nothing but shining reviews about Sonik Synth.

Questions about the IK Multimedia Sonik Synth 2 Virtual Instrument?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway