0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart

BBE Sonic Stomp Sonic Maximizer Reviews

4.5 stars based on 30 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Jorge Padilla

    There's no reason I can think of that'll make me turn off the BBE Sonic Stop in my guitar rig. Running it through my FX loop gives me clarity and definition in both the low and high end. When I need to cut through the mix, studio or live, this is the pedal I turn to.

  • from Ohio September 7, 2016

    BBE Sonic Stomp

    I use this pedal for several instruments, pedal steel (sho-bud) which makes it shimmer and shine never ice pick shill, the lows are warm and mellow nice and tight. My '52 AVRI Tele loves it, crisp and vibrant lows paired with sparkling highs... The Gretsch g5120 as a Korean guitar itself is a good instrument, well built, intonation spot on, stain and visual appeal is on point... it's a 7 out of 10! Pickups are OK, but to my ears lack a bit of that sparkle a bit of drive, HOWEVER, this bbe sonic stomp puts it up there in the ranks with guitars twice it's price tag... This is one AWESOME pedal that's NEVER turned off!

  • from Corona, CA January 3, 2016Music Background:
    Jazz Guitarist, Audio Engineer 30+ years

    Wont Play Without It

    I use a Pod HD500. I have my tone tweaked pretty good. But I was missing that last little edge and separation. I added the Sonic Stomp and it just opened my sound up. My bottom end is clean and gut wrenching, my top end is smooth and with sparkle. Placed at the end of my efx chain via my effects loop and I can completely adjust input, output and balance. I now have an incredible sound for live and recording. If you use this stomp correctly, you will never turn it off. I never need to touch my internal amp settings now. I just slightly adjust my Sonic Stomp on the run. I run direct no amp. Just sounds outrageous, fat, full, and increased stereo imagine. As you can see I cant say enough about this unit.

  • from Summit County, CO December 26, 2015Music Background:
    Regular Club Gigging for 25+ years

    Better Tone

    BBE Sonic Stomp works. It is subtle, but adds punch and articulation to your guitar tone. It is in my pedal chain and leave it on, basically set it and forget it with Lo Contour about 4 o'clock and Process at 3 o'clock. Every once in a while I turn it off and yep, my tone just sound better when it is on. I'm very satisfied with the purchase and addition of the BBE Sonic Stomp to my pedal chain. I play funk, acid-jazz, blues and classic rock.

  • from chile October 31, 2014Music Background:
    recording, guitarrist, song writer

    If you sound great ... Why don't sound even better!

    Because I did not Know so much about this kind of stuff, i spent about two months investigating about it. After that time, I decided to buy this red stompbox to improve my sound quality. When i received my pedal, i used it inmediately and i noticed two important things: My cleans were improved in an incredible way (very clear, not thin, amazing like if it was a High Quality recording), and the ditortion was tight and clear (very clear, but if yoy want a raw and brutal distortion this is not what you need). I have to say that i put it at last, and my delay, modulations, wah and distortion sounded outstanding ..... uffff, it is not an eq, so i could not get a similar sound with my mxr 10 band eq, but with only two knobs you can get all that you will ever want. I have to say that if you use the knobs to the extremes, perhaps you will get a trebbly or bassy sound ... you have to use what your sound is asking for, not what you always use. Well, my last words are: "This pedal makes me sound awesome and i will never let it go".

  • from Tx July 24, 2014

    BBE Sonic Stomp

    Tired of lugging a guitar rack system around, decided to put everything on the pedal board to simplify things. Was using the 382i rack unit previous. Installed the Sonic Stomp last in line in the loop, and it works just as good as the rack unit. Having used BBE exciters for a long time, this unit has a different process rate than the rack unit which makes it ideal for analog set ups. It also doesn't posses the digital signature 'scream' so now you can turn your highs up a little!

  • from McHenry, IL May 8, 2014Music Background:
    bassist, guitarist, live sound

    Real Deal

    This is not an equalizer this bad boy basically cleans and separates frequencies that an amp cannot. This guy will stay in my arsenal forever. This is worth it and A MUST HAVE TO ANY SETUP

  • from Anchorage, AK USA April 14, 2014Music Background:
    Performing Musician

    Max Sonic

    Love it! The perfect "end" to any pedal chain, for any style of music!

  • from providence April 11, 2014Music Background:
    pro musician

    Maximize Your Sound!

    After years of searching..... I finally realized that I can carry my "sound" with me using this device! I used to get disgusted because my sound I worked so hard to get, and love so dearly would change dramatically, and for the worse in different environments. Now, with a little patience and some tweaking of the BBE Maximizer (any BBE in this series!) you can get your "sound" in just about any room! The only criterion is that you really have to "know" your own sound. This device will then "place it" in the right sonic space. I won't leave home without it! Ever! I can't rate this device high enough!

  • from Central Florida November 14, 2013Music Background:
    Professional

    A nice addition to your guitar

    The BBE Sonic Stomp pedal is a great addition to any guitar players gear. It will make your guitar sound a lot fuller and
    it cleans up the muddy tones that many guitar players have come to accept as normal. I definitely like this piece of equipment, and would replace it if necessary. You would probably have to hear one with your guitar and amp to really know what I am trying to explain. It is nice.

  • from Baltimore player September 5, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician playing for 55 years, still at it

    Great tool

    Super little tool. I got one (bass) then bought another for my brother-in-law (guitar). It tighten up all your notes then add a little smoothness to it without changing tone. It's like having a sting that's fuzzy and when you wet it, it gets the fuzzies close to the center (goes away) OR like on an oscilloscope when your signal gets tighter. Hard to explain but I think you got the drift. I won't play without it.

  • from Lacey, WA USA May 20, 2013Music Background:
    Ex pro musician, blues guitar

    FABULOUS PEDAL!

    I haven't had steak this good since that heiffer wandered off in that brush fire back in '09!
    BUY THIS PEDAL! You don't know it, but you can't LIVE without it!
    When it comes to tone, this is the best money I have ever spent!

  • from Ca, US October 20, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great smooth tone

    I use this on my guitar and my bass and it just really makes everything smooth and right. My guitar sounds clean and my lows sound smooth. On my bass it just makes the tone so clean and not harsh. Very good box worth every penny.

  • from La gRande, OR March 10, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, Live Sound Engineer, Hobbyist recording engineer.

    Exactly what I needed

    Such an amazing pedal. It truly completes my tone and pedalboard. I have a rack version in my rolling rig for my P.A. and it helps all vocals cut through the mix. This pedal does exactly what I need for my guitar too. It brings everything to life. What I thought sounded good before is so weird to compare with now. It's like I'm playing through my dream amp and not direct. The clarity and punch make the heaviest, dirtiest tone shine and cut CLEANLY!!!!

  • from Blacklick, Ohio USA January 7, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    The BBE Sonic Stomp

    I read a review last year that rated the best pedals that are "must have's". Sonic Maximizer was in the top 10.

    I did not read any reviews that might sway my opinion of it. Because of its name I expected tone shaping and control over base and treble. I have found it far and above my "wildest dream".

    To my ear and how it performs I find that it takes the best tone I can possibly achive in the amp and through the guitar, and makes sound transparent, like a sunny day verses fog. The BBE gives music a 5th dimension. I notice each string played and harmonics - be it any genre in mind and every technique I can mustar.

    I highly recommend the Sonic Stomp as a certain pedal to own. It is ruggedly built, its blue LED is perfectly placed and it is a true bypass in off position.

    I'm very pleased with it and is certainly worth the street cost at $59 in my neck of the woods.

  • from Tennessee November 25, 2011Music Background:
    Touring Musician

    A Must Have

    If you wanna' be heard. If you wanna' prove that "Everyone follows the Bass Player." This is the way.

  • from Carlsbad, NM June 26, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Clean....

    The best discription for this pedal, " It's like removing a wet blank draped over your amp." I put the Sonic Stomp at the end of the effects chain so everything is cleaned up. You will not be disappointed.

  • from sioux falls, sd usa June 6, 2011Music Background:
    20 years playing

    Required equipment

    I am extremely happy with this pedal. Prior to owning this pedal I had been chasing the perfect distortion sound for years and spent ridiculous amounts of money to do so. Everybody thought my tone was awesome already, but I couldn't shake the feeling that there was just a little something missing. I wanted that perfect tone and raw but controlled distortion that until now I've only found in the studio. This pedal kept the tone I've worked so hard to get, but gives it a studio quality sound and makes every aspect pop out. It also sounds great played clean with no need to adjust anything when switching channels or effects. I see no need to ever turn it off.
    Worth every dollar and then some.

  • from NC November 28, 2010

    Excellent Tone Boost and Clean Up

    I run this pedal through the effects loop on my Carvin V3 and all i can say is wow! This little thing instantly tightens your tone up and adds plenty of detail to the highs and lows of your sound. If you are looking for an extra punch in your tone, or looking to get a tighter sound, this is for you!

  • from Fort Hood, TX March 15, 2008Music Background:
    Active Musician

    AMAZING

    This pedal is an instant tone machine. The only way I can explain it is the difference of being punched in the face (using the pedal at the end of your effects chain) or being slapped by a 10-year old girl (not having this pedal).

  • from Fullerton, CA September 27, 2016Music Background:
    Worship guitarist

    My secret weapon?

    This is my secret weapon on the pedal boards.
    I have 4 of them, (3 Sonic stomp different versions and 1 Acoustimax on 3 different settings pedal boards)
    There are still older versions on the markets but I think they sound same and only the painting has been changed.
    It's very addicting and worth to give it a try if you're new to this pedal.
    I think this is not a essential effect like overdrive or delay, etc... but without it, I'll miss this red pedal very soon.

  • from Seymour, Tn. October 12, 2015Music Background:
    Singer Songwriter/Guitar Player

    Subtle & Sweet

    Two words could describe this pedal and those words are "SUBTLE & SWEET". It's the next to last pedal in my effects chain right before the reverb pedal. It is set at 2 o'clock on the lo contour and 10 o'clock on the process. It is on all the time. I'm sure the Sweetwater website can give you all the specs. All I can say is, no matter what you're playing it just makes the amp sound better. Fuller, rounder. and fantastic note separation when playing chords but above all Subtle and Sweet.

  • from United States March 31, 2015Music Background:
    2 Decades of playing.

    BBE Sonic Stomp

    Took away all the muddiness from my Bass sound! Makes every note crystal clear! thanks

  • from Quito, Ecuador April 27, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyst Recording, Drums,

    Fat and Clear

    Nice addition to the guitar signal. Fat, clear and punchy sound, not to be abused. Set it between 12 and 3 o'clock for extra effect. Recommended.

  • from Kissimmee, FL October 24, 2008Music Background:
    Pro musician

    A CONTROLLED Tone control

    I love this pedal, the claim is true, it makes your sound jump out of the mix better. Highlights the guitar at just the right frequencies so that it's more easily heard, without fighting the vocals. Brings the highs out without harshness, brings the lows out without muddiness. Better than a compresser, for my money.

  • from Florida October 14, 2016Music Background:
    Luthier,Amp,Effects Tech.

    A Must Have Pedal

    I have used the BBE in my home studio, and was aware of it's benefits, but never used it in a guitar rig. When the pedal came out about 10yrs ago, one of my customers had it in his bass rig. He was playing away, and I switched it off, what a surprise. The best way I can describe it, the speakers didn't sound as good. The 4x10 sounded as if the pad on the tweeter was reduced, the bass was less defined. I switched it back on, and it sounded great again. It's a subtle effect, but a great one. Every once in a while, I switch mine off to hear the difference. It is the last effect in my loop, it's always on. It sounds best there. It's well made, mine has been on my board for 10yrs with no troubles. If it ever went down, I'd fix it pronto.

  • from Boston MA January 15, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    BBE Sonc Stomp for amplified harmonica use! Yes!

    I am a harmonica player and I perform professionally; primarily all types of Rhythm & Blues. I am using a Fender 59 Bassman LTD re-issue modified and voiced for harmonica. I wanted a stomp box to help shape and define my output sonically and the BBE fits that role. I use three boxes and I have the BBE second to last in my effects chain - just before an anti feedback box - right after a reverb/delay box. The BBE really added definition to my sound, retaining Chicago style harp authenticity, tone and grit without sonically adding any "processed" sounding negative tones. I really like it and its always ON!

  • from texarkana,TX November 26, 2012

    BBE sonic. perfect tone every time

    perfect for my amp. it has no contour knob and the presence knobe just makes it that much sweeter.

  • from Monticello, Kentucky October 11, 2012

    Awesome

    I absolutely love this pedal. It made a world of difference in my sound.

  • from Dallas, GA November 17, 2015

    Not for me..

    I've used a rack mount BBE 482 sonic maximizer in the past. I was consolidating rack space and figured this might be OK on the floor to tighten up the sound a little. It just doesn't compare to my old bbe 482 rack mount. I could hardly tell a difference with this pedal. I ditched the pedal and went back to the rack mount.

  • from toledo,Oh November 29, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist (now!)

    Finally bought one.. but not any improvement

    I finally sprung for one to add to my board.. either because I also have an rp1000 in the chain and or I have a Boss EG-7. I really didn't hear any improvement... when set up it was like a loudness button on a stereo.. works better at lower volumes.. unnoticeable at higher volumes.
    I watched all the YouTube reviews some did show a difference e others I watched I could not hear any difference. So its either my effects chain or the thing really has minimal effects... of course a lot may have to do with particular amps. I use a blackheart 15 watt and an egnater tweaker 40.
    I say honestly just go with an eq pedal.

Questions about the BBE Sonic Stomp Sonic Maximizer?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway