0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Snark SN-8 Super-tight All-instrument Tuner Reviews

4.5 stars based on 68 customer reviews
  • from Clovis, CA July 18, 2016Music Background:
    Bass

    Excellent Tuner!

    Awesome lightweight, easy to use instrument tuner.

  • from Alaska June 4, 2016Music Background:
    Amateur

    Perfect Easy and reliable

    Nice light with easy to read letters adjustable to get the perfect angle I love it

  • from Virginia April 28, 2016

    Snark SN-8

    Very sensitive tuner. Easy to use and works great on my guitars and ukulele for really fast tuning. Seems well made for the price too.

  • from NJ April 2, 2016

    cant beat it

    these stark tuners are great. super cheap and super functional. can have one for every guitar in your collection and they work well.

  • from East Tennessee March 5, 2016Music Background:
    I have been playing for 60+ years.

    I've Got 80 strings To Tune

    My hammered dulcimer has 80 strings. My SN-8 is my tuner of choice and that includes a $100 Kork
    Orchestral model which has been relegated to a drawer. Tuning with this little gem is way faster and easier than any others I've used.

  • from Aderondacks March 1, 2016Music Background:
    Ive been playing guitar for over 36 years

    Keeping it simple is best

    This tuner is the easiest to use, and gives the proper tuning for all my stringed instruments. No fuss no muss. At this price, you just cant go wrong. Get it. You'll Love it.

  • from WILMINGTON, NC February 19, 2016

    Great little tuner!!!

    This tuner is very accurate and you can't beat the price. Just as good if not better then all the other high priced clip tuners.

  • from Baltimore January 23, 2016Music Background:
    Profesional musician

    Best Tuner ever made

    I've owned Korg tuners that are slow and time consuming. Yeah they get the job done, but some mine used a needle that took some work to get it in tune.

    When I was in a local guitar store, and was auditioning a new tube amp, one of the guitar sales guys said "Hey try this." I was skeptical at first. But I gave it whirl.

    Snarks genius is that you can clip on to your head stock on your guitar. It fits perfectly. No more having to look down and squint trying to make out whether your .25 flat or sharp.

    This baby is at eye level and designed to make seeing it easy. The visuals are crystal clear and its super satisfying to see your guitar in tune the right way.

    I highly recommend the Snark. Its a winner.

  • from Los Angeles January 11, 2016

    Fantastic tuner / metronome only "visual"

    I was looking for a metronome, and I kept pulling up results of this tuner. I figured I needed a tuner for my acoustic instruments, and at this price ~ figured I'd try this one out. I really just wanted some easy to deal with click for some guitar speed training.

    The tuner is great. The first time I tuned something (and acoustic guitar) it read a note lower / and then a few minutes later I noticed and tuned it again. I believe it's been perfect ever since / so - maybe it needs to warm up... ha. I've since used it to tune aa few instruments and all is well!

    The metronome however, is only a little heart that blinks. The way it blinks though / is a pulsey fade in and out. It's not very easy for me to follow. There is also no sound for a click or anything. The description just says metronome - but the packaging the snark comes with says "Visual metronome."

    Over-all, at this price the tuner couldn't be any better. It's great / but if you are expecting the metronome feature to make noise / be warned that it doesn't.

  • from Appalachian highlands January 8, 2016

    SNARKNADO!

    For its price this lil gadget does a great job. Very discrete.

  • from Jewett City, CT December 31, 2015

    A must have.

    Pretty accurate and easy to read Tuner. And cheap price. I just bought my 3rd one, as I tend to give them away to people. Buy a few for your friends and get them at a better price in quantity!

  • from Minnesota November 24, 2015Music Background:
    Semi pro

    Broke after one use

    I read about the clip being fragile so was very careful. What fell apart was the swivel arm where it meets the head. Picked it up off the table and it just came apart. All three clip arms on the upper ball joint just fell off. This was my first purchase from you. The woody acoustic pickup works well though.

  • from November 21, 2015

    Quality Product

    This is a great tuner. Affordable, mobile, easy to use and versatile this tuner comes as the best one I've ever owned. I got spare batteries for mine as well because I thought it would have poor battery life but I haven't even had to break into them yet. All around good quality product at a good price.

    Pros: Affordable, versatile, easy to use and accurate.
    Cons: None

  • from October 12, 2015

    Tuner

    Works fine

  • from Northeast September 15, 2015Music Background:
    teacher

    EZ as it gets!

    I was so impressed with the first Snark tuner that I bought several for my students and friends.

    Extremely easy to use - just clamp it on the headstock, press the yellow button, and follow the bar scale!

    The swiveling head head is a great feature and the small size makes it easy to stow in your case or gear bag.

  • from Cleveland, Ohio July 25, 2015

    Best Tuner I Have Ever Owned

    Without a doubt this is the best tuner I have ever owned. I now have three and I will get one more. Accurate, auto shut-off, all instruments, easy to read, great for electric instruments - no bypass needed, just turn the guitar volume off and it still reads through the sensor, AND it is inexpensive. The best.

  • from New Franklin, OH July 22, 2015

    Neat little tuner...

    The tuner on my electric acoustic is kinda...blah....I bought this based on reviews from Sweetwater. I love it. It is very accurate and easy to see.

  • from July 17, 2015

    I love these tuners!!!

    This is the my second snark tuner. I just bought a second to keep in my case. These are by far my favorite tuners and they are incredible for the price!

  • from South Haven, MI July 10, 2015Music Background:
    Church Worship Team

    Can't beat the price and size

    I bought this for one of our guitarist on our worship team. I've had one for a couple of years now and really like the no fuss; just clip it on and tune. It's just the right size too, big enough that it won't get lost easily. I also made the purchase at 2015 Gear Fest, my first attendance to the event. Had a great time, saved enough money on purchases to pay for my gas of the two and a half hour trip.

  • from Cresco, PA June 7, 2015Music Background:
    Playing for over 30 years, singer songwriter.

    Great Little Tuner

    I like to get locked in tuning wise and most of the time on Sunday mornings we only have a a minute or so to check and tune before worship begins.

    This tuner is BRIGHT easy to read and extremely accurate. Is it as accurate as a stomp box tuner...I don't think so but it is very very close and $90 or more dollars less expensive. Because of the easy to read display it is MUCH faster to tune with.

    I am buying my third one so I have a tuner for each guitar.

    Get one you wont be sorry.

  • from SC June 4, 2015Music Background:
    Weekend warrior

    Snarky

    I have a few of these. They always work. Standard 2032 battery available even in drugstores. They don't cost as much as some "name brands" and I have not had any marring noticeable even when left on all evening.

  • from Wichita Falls, Texas May 22, 2015Music Background:
    Over 55 years playing guitar.

    Love This Tuner

    Received this new SN-8 Super-tight tuner today and I can't believe how accurate it is. I also have an SN-1 and SN-2, but this is the one I'll be buying if I ever need another one. Love the bright display and accuracy. I don't think you can go wrong with this tuner. I've had other brands break on me, but I've never had a problem with Snark Tuners after using them for over two years. Strongly recommended.

  • from Washington State May 16, 2015Music Background:
    Sunday Worship Team (Acoustic Guitar)

    Amazing Tuner!!

    This tuner is the best tuner I've ever used! It is precise and exact. You can even tune during a song, and the singing doesn't interfere. The rod does look fragile, but if you're careful, it'll be the best tuner you've ever used!

  • from Taos, New Mexico February 20, 2015Music Background:
    National recording artist & songwriter for 25 years.

    Fantastic customer service!

    i worked with Mr. Aaron Regenold. He is incredibly knowledgeable and super helpful. Bought a Zoom-16 and numerous mics. The perfect fit for my recording needs. Much appreciated folks!

  • from East Tennessee January 14, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist Guitar for over 50 years.

    My First Snark

    Having played guitar for over half a century, I have never used a tuner other than tuning by ear to piano or keyboard. The Snark is a wonderful device that gets the tuming right on with ease. Just watch the face and it tells you when you're in tune.

  • from Lexington VA December 5, 2014Music Background:
    Gigging semi-pro guitarist

    Snark SN-8 tuner

    Easier to see in sunshine than previous Snark models, and the display has a different look as well. Works accurately and quickly, which is what I wanted, and with a nice price incentive by Sweetwater, I was able to buy a few and put them all in separate cases, solving an occasional problem I have of forgetting a capo!

  • from St Pete, FL December 2, 2014Music Background:
    Solo & Sideman guitarist

    Nice display, but...

    I've had a number of these and they tune well...however, the design is flawed. here are three tabs attached to the head which surround the ball end of the neck. I've had three in which the tabs break away. I've done a temporary fix with a cable tie but it only lasts so long before it fails. Sweetwater replaced my last one and I just opened up the new one and found it broken in the box!!! I think it is because they stuff the tuners into those useless bags and the tabs get stressed. I'll not buy this tuner again as I rely on these for my living. Perhaps the new style will be better...the old one is "less than"!

  • from S.E.TX November 11, 2014Music Background:
    25 years guitar and home recording

    Good but fragile

    For the price and convenience this is a really good tuner.
    When I first started using it, it worked great and was very sensitive. After dropping it several times switching it between guitars, now it is practically useless.
    It still lights up and even acts like it is trying to work but my ears, my pedal tuner, and tones generated by a keyboard, all say it is WAY out now.
    If you are rough on your stuff I would either get a decent pedal tuner or get one of these for every guitar so you can just leave them where they are.
    If you take very good care of your things and don't tend to drop stuff or inadvertently bang you guitar head into walls, then go for it, it works great when it works.

  • from Las Vegas, NV October 21, 2014

    Great for 8 string guitars and 6 string basses.

    Great tuner at a great price. Works consistently with my 6 string bass and 8 string guitars.

  • from CA October 13, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar 20+ Years, Keyboards/Piano 30+ Years

    Very Good Little Tuner

    This is a very easy-to-use little headstock tuner that is small enough to put in a pouch or compartment in your gig bag or guitar case. I use it on all my electric guitars, my acoustic guitar, my electric bass, and even my violin. I will note that it seems most accurate (deadly accurate, in fact, as they advertise on the box) on acoustic instruments vs. electric instruments, however it is still very good on electrics.

  • from Trenton, OH September 17, 2014Music Background:
    Live/Recording Musician

    Snark SN-8

    This is a great little tuner. I have used it successfully on an acoustic guitar and ukelele...pitch perfect!

  • from Orange City FL September 4, 2014

    Good Tuner

    This is a great option for tuning. I recently put together a very small pedalboard and did not want to take up space with a tuner pedal so I decided to take a gamble with my first headstock tuner. I have not been disappointed. It is quick, easy to read, accurate and the black color helps it not to be an eyesore at the end of the guitar. If I were to loose it, or it were to break, I would get another one right away.

  • from Michigan August 29, 2014Music Background:
    musican, engineer

    Snark Sn-8

    I like it for it's extra tight tuning. Nice and bright also

  • from Oxford, Maine July 26, 2014Music Background:
    40 years of playing

    Snark SN-8 Guitar tuner

    Playing for 40 years I find this tuner the best I"ve ever used

  • from Nashville, TN July 23, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Composer, Recording Engineer

    Good Tuner, but beware.. it's FRAGILE

    Very Accurate. It is a great tuner - As long as it doesn't break. It is very fragile. I have gone thru 2 of them within 6 months. The first one snapped before I even finished tuning my guitar on it's first use. The three legs that hold the head to the swivel break VERY easily. I would really love to see Snark improve this design flaw. If you have a fragile touch, go for it. But if you are like me and need something that will last on the road.. Beware.

  • from Kentucky July 10, 2014Music Background:
    45 year pro and studio musician

    This is the one

    This the best clip on. Try one. If you are like me you'll toss all the others and put one of these in every guitar case you own.

  • from Plattsburgh NY June 4, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbist

    Easy get it tuned.

    Nice Unit, easy to use right out of the box

  • from United States May 27, 2014

    First Headstock Tuner

    I've never had one before, so I thought it was time to get one. I'm so glad I did, because tuning has never been easier. This thing is so cool to use and it looks pretty with the bright display. I recommend it for sure!

  • from Saint Paul , MN May 16, 2014Music Background:
    20 years performing and recording musician.

    Get one for every guitar!

    Such a great tuner! I'm going to get one for all of my guitars.

  • from mich.usa April 25, 2014Music Background:
    ex pro9

    snark sn-8

    good investment so far

  • from Reston, VA April 21, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbist musician, songwriter recordist.

    Super convenient

    Easy and convenient tuner to use for an stringed instrument. Nice bright display -- WORKS!

  • from Jamestown, NY April 5, 2014Music Background:
    Performing Musician.

    Pleasantly surprised

    I can't say I was expecting something so accurate. I just needed a new clip on tuner, however, it's arguably the best tuner I've used thus far.
    The metronome was a nice little bonus, too.

  • from Las Cruces, NM March 19, 2014Music Background:
    Semi Pro Musician

    Great!

    I have a couple of these little tuners, and they always do the job fast, easy, and accurately. Love 'em!

  • from MO March 7, 2014Music Background:
    Hobby playing for 10yr plus

    The Best

    I have owned a few tuners including this one in the past and I know that the Snark tuner can not be beat is a reason I bought another after mine disappeared and for some reason I lose another I will get the same tuner. It is simple the best out there. Why pay for the high priced tuner when this snark is more accurate than others.
    It clips on with the soft rubber clamps and it adjust to whatever angle you need. Believe me you will like it once you try and you will never go back to anything else.

  • from Cleveland January 26, 2014Music Background:
    professional musician

    good but short lived

    I loved the Snark. I used and recommended them to students, both guitar and violin/viola and cello. They worked great: accurate, adaptable and not too bouncy for a kid to figure out.

    However many break within 12 months. I've had three do this, as have several students. As one other reviewer mentioned, the place where the swivel attaches is very easily snapped off. In addition, some have just plain stopped working. Even after changing out the battery they turn on but just sit there and don't respond to any note played. Lights on, nobody home.

  • from Findlay, OH USA January 25, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Student

    This product is amazing!

    This tuner is amazing! It is fast, accurate, and best of all, it's inexpensive! If two strings are playing, it will register the louder one as long as it doesn't sound like a chord. This is a great tuner and great bargain! Buy it now, even if you don't play an instrument ;)

  • from Delaware January 5, 2014Music Background:
    Novice

    Awesome tuner bought my second one

    This tuner has much tighter tuning than other ones that I have used. It is easy to use and the adjustability makes for easy viewing. This is the second one I bought, this for my son who is also learning. Got tired of trying to find it when I needed it. I would definitely recommend to others.

  • from United States December 18, 2013Music Background:
    amateur tattoo artist

    great device, consider sticky tack instead of the clip

    This is a great little device, that eliminates my need for a floor tuner. I've taken to using sticky tack instead of the clip because I kept fiddling with positions to keep the "face" of the headstock looking nice and finally settled on a gob of the blue stuff. FYI it's been on for weeks without drooping and the tuner works without issue. With the clip it was fine as well, though I thought it was a little loose - I had it shift positions on me a few times, but it never fell off. The display on the tuner is clear, and I find it to be accurate enough for setting my intonation. I don't care about the visual metronome or the ability to deviate from 440 A. Good stuff.

  • from December 17, 2013

    Snark SN-8 Nice!

    Very cool, handy tuner with a larger, brighter display than other Snarks.

  • from New Britain, CT December 8, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Works great!

    Handy! Easy to see! Rotates in any direction. Great for my banjo or any instrument!

  • from Tunnel Hill, GA October 12, 2013Music Background:
    23 year multi instrumentalisy

    Great clip on tuner... Love it!

    I must say I was blown away by this tuner. It is a great value at this price point! The tuning is spot on. I have vision issues so readability is a top priority for me and this tuner does not let me down. The SN-8 is very readable in all light levels. It seems very well built too. If you're looking for a great clip on tuner this is the one to get.

  • from United States October 8, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Snark tuner

    Wonderful tuner and so easy to use! Mike

  • from August 19, 2013

    Snarky

    This tuner is awesome. It tunes great and thats exactly why I bought it.

  • from United States August 17, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    The Best

    Got one of these babies yesterday and boy does it blow the competition away. Easy to use and fast. It zero's in on the note and gets you in tune so fast its scary.
    Get it and live in tuning bliss.

  • from Huntland, Tennessee July 2, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great Tuner

    This is the easiest and the best tuner on the planet!!!

  • from Portland, OR June 3, 2013Music Background:
    Brass

    Some Instrument Tuner

    The name says "all instruments" but after I received mine, I discovered it wouldn't transpose for French Horn or Alto Sax -- the SN-8 only transposes 2 whole-steps. The Sweetwater description says "no matter what you play..." but after I inquired about the problem, they said it won't work for all instruments and recommended a different tuner. What a nuisance!

  • from Coloma Mi May 21, 2013Music Background:
    Guitar player for 46 years ( starting to get the hang of it!)

    Snark tuner

    Super nice. Easy to see and responds quickly. Love it!

  • from Ringtown, PA May 9, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    LOVE IT!!!

    What a time saver! Before, I had to drag out an amp or pedal that has a tuner along with cables to get an accurate tuning. Now I just pull out the ol' Snark and clip it on the head!!! Intonated my Strat in minutes with this thing! Works excellent on my Floyd Rose equipped B.C. Rich - even with the locking nut!!! Don't know why I didn't get one much sooner!!!!

  • from Pasrkersburg, W.V. May 3, 2013Music Background:
    Semi pro musician

    SN-8

    I have been a musician for over 60 year's
    I started out on guitar, then pedal steel and Bass guitar
    and I have bought tuners of all types,
    some were good and some flat out junk.
    and cumbersome to use,
    I tried the snark SN-2 and I LOVED IT .
    No cables to plug in no wires running everywhere.
    So when they came out with the SN-8 I ordered it..
    The letters are bigger and brighter and it is a lot quicker the the others
    The price for this little clip on is well worth it.
    you won't find a better tuner
    TRY IT . YOU WILL LOVE IT .....

  • from ohio December 20, 2012Music Background:
    life long hobbyist

    Love it!!

    Just bought 2 have guitars banjo eukale wish I had one years ago quick easy and cheap would recomend to everyone.. I even tuned my 12 string very quick : )

  • from United States December 13, 2012Music Background:
    singer songwriter hobbyist

    Works Good

    No complaints

  • from St. Francisville, La November 15, 2012Music Background:
    lifetime hobbyist, student forever

    Snark SN-8

    I've owned several similar tuners, but this one is the first that I did not have to wrestle with to be able to read right side up once connected and is very easy to see in all lighting conditions, plus haveing the metronome is a bonus. Sweet little gem.

  • from Lexington, KY USA October 23, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Perfect

    Really great tuner. It works quickly, precisely and is worth way more than the asking price. Especially happy with how easy the clamp is to manipulate on different guitars and the screen, which can be rotated in pretty much any direction.

  • from Somewhere deep in the Midwest July 25, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarist/Producer/Complete Hack/etc.

    Better Than You Could Hope For

    Over the last few years, I can't tell you how many cheap little plastic clip-on tuners I've amassed, most of which were handed out free... and for good reason. Eager to find a useable chromatic headstock tuner, I asked by friend at Sweetwater for a recommendation, and he suggested this Snark SN-8. And, as always, my friend was right. Here's why I'm a fan of this awesome little tuner.

    I'm not going to name any names here, but unlike other similar tuners, this Snark doesn't appear to think that every string is either a B or a G. I also dig the fact that I don't have to lock myself in an isolation chamber and crank as hard as possible on my guitar to get this thing to track. And as one of those guys who remembers what it was like not to need reading glasses but can't remember to carry a pair everywhere, I really love the freakishly clear and readable color display that you don't even have to squint at in order to read.

    I'll probably continue to collect the promo tuners they pass out at trade shows, but if my Snark SN-8 ever breaks, I'll gladly pay for another one.

  • from San Francisco, CA July 16, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    The Snark SN-8

    Really nice tuner. Easy to use and accurate. I would definately recommend it.

  • from April 2, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Nice Surpize

    I had other tuners I was pleased with, so the Snark never was never opened until I had a battery fail. I tried it and was completely amazed! It lives up to it's name Super Tight Snark. It actually works better than any clip on I have ever used. At it's price point it's a must have for any player. You won't go wrong with this tuner. I am ordering several!

  • from Los Angeles March 21, 2012Music Background:
    Lifelong guitar player, producer, composer....

    Great Tuner - Delicate design

    The unit is fantastic. But beware that one bad fall, the fitting that holds the tuner to the clip will break very easily.... and then no more clip on. This happened to mine and a friend as well. The cost and convenience are great, but be ready to buy a replacement if yours ever falls.

  • from Baltimore, MD February 6, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Keyboard, Guitar, wind instruments

    Great Product

    Totally blown away at its performance. I had a Fishman guitar tuner and it was OK, but this little unit is amazing.

    My Fishman off/on switch broke in less than 6 months. Just got this, but the off/on switch seems very substantial.

Questions about the Snark SN-8 Super-tight All-instrument Tuner?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway