0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Snark SN-2 All Instrument Clip-On Tuner with Metronome Reviews

4.5 stars based on 58 customer reviews
  • from June 23, 2016

    Snark SN-2 clip-on tuner

    Easy to use. Very accurate. Good value.

  • from Hobart, NY February 4, 2016

    Great Tuner!!

    This is a great little tuner and handy! Thanks for the fast service! Keep up the good work!

  • from Gainesville, Fl January 3, 2016

    Nice Tuner

    This works great! Easy to use. Nice and light... I love it!

  • from October 14, 2015

    Power packed little tuner

    Use anywhere, anytime. Love the metronome feature.

  • from Sturgis MI September 26, 2015

    Great tuner

    The Snark SN-2 is a great little tuner. Easy to use, easy to see and accurate on everything I've thrown at from 4 & 5 basss to a variety of acoustic & electric instruments. An excellent value, thank you for consistently superior in store service Aaron!

  • from NorCal September 8, 2015

    Snark SN-2

    Tried them all! Snark is the best!!

  • from Vail June 22, 2015

    Snark tuner

    Great tool! Very easy to use

  • from May 13, 2015

    Great tuner

    I love this tuner. I have several of them in cases of the guitars I use most often. And Sweetwater has the best price on these.

  • from Lees Summit, MO April 30, 2015

    Very Easy to Use

    I just got back into playing after many, many years and was used to the old school pitch pipe for tuning. This thing is awesome and quick to tune. I love it!

  • from United States March 13, 2015Music Background:
    intermediate

    Great tuner

    Does what it is supposed to do. Very accurate and easy to use. Keeps me in good tune. Great for the money, it's just as good as more expensive tuners.

  • from Northern Oklahoma March 11, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Excellent

    Just thought I'd give this thing a try as I have a 50%+ hearing loss in each ear along with tinnitus (ringing in the ears) which has about the same pitch as many higher notes.

    Easy to use and seems to be dead-on. What's not to like. It also seems to be sturdy enough and I would suspect that if broken it would be more to an inadvertent whack against something rather than a product failure.
    I would highly recommend the Snark SN-2 and if for some reason it ever failed I would buy another on the spot.

  • from December 29, 2014

    Snark

    Snark is the bomb. Now all my guitars stay in tune easily. Worried about imprinting on the headstock? Simply atatch it to one of the volume or tone knobs. No problem.

  • from vail az December 8, 2014

    top shelf

    you can't beat it

  • from Pecos, TX. November 20, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar player for over 30 years... mostly in a Church Choir

    Excellent

    After using the Snark SN-2 for the first time... I was sold on it! I use it every time I get my guitar out and am always in tune. Great gadget... has saved me a lot of tuning time!

  • from Rusk, TX October 20, 2014Music Background:
    Cowboy Church Country Gospel Band

    This tuner replaced one that I've had for 25 years.

    Does a great job easy to use

  • from Elmira, New York July 16, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist -guitar ,bass , mandolin and drums ...

    Breakage of tuner?? Dont abuse it!

    All these guys writing reviews of these tuners breaking must be abusing them ! I have had the Blue guitar/bass tuner for years without a problem !! I recently purchased the "Red" one to match my strat and so I didn't have to keep switching them from instrument to instrument!
    Thanks to Sweetwater for the great price and courteous communications !! I felt since I owned one of these for about 4-5 years now I would set the record straight ! Thanks folks ! Mark

  • from Taylorville, Illinois June 25, 2014Music Background:
    Retired pro musician now just doing it for fun hobby

    Great for banjo and ukulele

    If you want to tune a banjo THIS is the model you want. Chromatic tuner with Vib/Mic modes.

  • from Liberty Center, IN May 28, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Snark SN-2

    I own one of the original Snark Tuners and have been very happy with it and decided to get another one. The salesman was very helpful in answering questions about the newer version for me. It is very responsive and easy to use. I would recommend this product.

  • from April 5, 2014Music Background:
    Well-seasoned player/performer

    Should Have Ordered Two!

    A friend brought one over and I had to have one. Searched and found Sweetwater. Price was unbelievable and included free shipping! Delivered as promised. Works like a charm.
    Wish I'd bought two!

  • from Salem, VA February 17, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Recording Engineer, Producer, Hobbyist

    Acurate as hell

    Love this little guy. I bought it simply because it was cheap and I lost my tuners, but you can tune anything with this little guy. I'm thinking of buying a few more as backups for when I inevitably lose the one I have now.

  • from United States July 29, 2013Music Background:
    '73 and never played any instrument . I guess I'm a beginner.

    Snark SN-2

    What a difference a well tuned guitar sounds. Zero's me in in short order.

  • from quantico,va February 7, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist

    recommend for everyone!

    Anyone looking for a nice clip on tuner here is your tool! Vibration tuning is so nice when you have background noise in the room. Lighted display is very crisp. The grip on the clip is very firm, even tried to shake it off the guitar. (Didn't budge) Metronome is only a display but still nice addition. Has a power saver feature which auto dims the tuner after 5 minutes of no sound detected. Overall this is a good buy if your looking for a nice vibration/mic tuner.

  • from Lancaster, PA October 2, 2012Music Background:
    Live sound engineer

    Excellent!

    There is nothing in this price range that compares with this little gadget! It works flawlessly in any environment! It's easy to see and read. It doesn't require any fiddling or tweaking. It just works! And it works on most any instrument, although I still have a few left to try it on.

  • from September 27, 2012

    The Best

    It is best in class for function, ease of use and price

  • from August 9, 2012

    solid, working great!

    doesn't get better this.
    I've tried some other clip-on tuners,
    they easily break.
    But this one lasts long, and it's a very solid design.

  • from Missoula, MT USA April 6, 2012Music Background:
    Novice

    Lots of 'Power' in small device

    This thing is a value at twice the price. Really COOL. It came recommended... I second the recommendation. Easy to use and read display. Buy this!!

  • from Chicago, Il. March 12, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarist

    Never Had So Much Fun Tuning!!!

    This unit is unbelievable!!! Extremely Accurate / Holds In Place Tightly / Looks Great / Eliminates My Floor Tuner (simpler, cleaner signal path to guitar amp) & Can Be Used On Any Style Guitar Headstock. Having your guitar precisely tuned makes guitar playing more enjoyable. Period.

  • from Phoenix, AZ January 19, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician

    Perfect

    This is exactly what I needed works great on on electric and acoustic screen is easy to see, and this does drop tuning amazingly!

  • from Chatt TN December 23, 2011Music Background:
    Musician. Studio, home, semi-pro, constant student, band/worship leader

    Surprisingly useful chromatic tuner

    I bought the chromatic tuner on the outside chance that it would work on my pedal steel guitar. I clipped it to the frame, tuned up and WoW... it works great!

  • from Evergreen, CO July 7, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    This is the one to get for a Chapman Stick

    Simple review: this is the tuner for a Chapman Stick. Works every time. Super accurate from string 1 through string 10.

  • from NC October 27, 2015

    Snarky tuner

    Neat tuner- accurate and quick with a lot of extras. The price was one of the things that attracted me as well as a good friend who has played professionally for years highly recommended it.

  • from Dracut, MA August 26, 2015Music Background:
    songwriter-producer

    Slick little tuner

    this is a cool-looking tuner, and the display makes it easy to get a quick, accurate tuning.

  • from July 10, 2015

    Best Tuner Yet

    So simple and easy to use. Can't go wrong with this one.

  • from Lake Elsinore June 8, 2015Music Background:
    Geezer Rock Musician

    Tuner

    This is an excellent little tuner and way better than even much more costly ones. I can move it from guitar to bass quickly and effortlessly and it's not intimidated by other amplified instruments being played by me band mates WHILE I'M TUNING, like the hundred dollar floor box tuner can be. Accurate, quick and easy to use. You can't go wrong with this little gem. I would have bought one a couple years ago but back then, the Snark didn't work on left handed instruments, but they solved that with a swivel screen. I'm happy they did. Being left handed can otherwise be a cursed thing.

  • from fort worth txt usa February 6, 2015Music Background:
    hobby

    great

    I love this tuner great for fine tuning

  • from Michigan August 29, 2014Music Background:
    musician, engineer

    Snark SN-2

    Typical Snark high quality. Nice to have the built in mic.

  • from Kansas City June 25, 2014

    Fantastic Little Jewel

    Perfect for guitar standard tuning or alternate tunings. Tunes to perfect pitch, excellent on dark stage or brightly lit room. Shipping was ultra fast and very well packed. Sweetwater sent candy in the package to enjoy while trying the new tuner. YUMMY! Thanks Sweetwater!

  • from Los Angeles, CA January 14, 2014Music Background:
    Audio-Video Engineer

    Super Useful

    Terrifically useful tuner, and such a bargain that I bought two. I usually have three instruments at my gigs, so I leave one on my bass all the time, and use the other for guitar and ukulele. Very accurate, even is noisy clubs, and the display is so easy to see that I can tune with my glasses off. I love stompbox tuners too, but this is a nice alternative for acoustic instruments, or when you don't want to add a pedal to your signal chain.

  • from December 5, 2013Music Background:
    Weekend Warrior

    Good quality, budget price

    Can't go wrong for the price, I have 3 of them now.
    Only 1 complaint, the rubber foot on the clamp finger falls off if you don't open the jaw wide. Drag it on the headstock and the rubber pops off. I lost 1 already. I think I'll super glue it to the finger on the rest.

    Tuning is accurate enough compared to my other built ins.
    I tune flat 1/2 step from standard guitar tuning and it's great to be able to tune D# instead of E. Makes drop Db easy, just tune to C#.

    I know tons of people using these and they are all satisfied. Why spend 3x the price on a clip on tuner, just doesn't make sense... get this.

  • from Chautauqua, NY USA July 17, 2013Music Background:
    Jobing Guitar Player

    GREAT TUNER!

    This tuner works great, even in noisy environments! Compact for a guitar case and a good display. It's as accurate as my Boss pedal tuner. It uses a standard CR2032 watch battery (it comes with one) which are easy to find and cheap to purchase. No need to worry about draining the battery if you forget to turn the power off...it has an auto turn off function. Even the small mic picks up well. The calibration works great. I clamped it on the headstock of my Seagull 12 string and it tuned like a charm! It's one fantastic tuner for the price!

  • from United States March 5, 2013Music Background:
    Beginner

    Nice and compact tuner

    This is a very nice and compact tuner. I have used the SN-2 on both electric and acoustic guitars. Tuning was easy. In fact, after using my Snark, I checked the tuning on another tuner and both reflected that my guitar was in tune. I rated the tuner 4.5 and not a 5.0 because I was not blown away. It is exactly what I expected!

    My Sales Engineer Ben Gilbert (x1301) helped me get the exact tuner that I needed from the Snark product line.

  • from Lakewood nj January 26, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Impressed

    I bought this tuner just for fun truthfully I thought it would just be for when I was practicing but when I started using it i was really impressed. After that I istarted using it real often by gigs n all and I would highly recommend it. Unfortunately it broke on me so I have to get a new 1 but that's life. Thanx snark for makin a gr8 product

  • from Henderson, NV September 30, 2015

    Love it !

    Works like a champ, easy to use and everything I had hoped for.

  • from Mineral Bluff, GA August 25, 2014Music Background:
    Experienced Musician

    A Fine Tuner

    The Snark SN-2 is easy to use, and fits well on the headstock. I probably have about 8-10 of these, and there is no reason to spend more than these cost. When the screen starts to get hard to read, it's time to replace the battery, and it is very easy to do so.

  • from St. Petersburg, Florida USA February 5, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Snark SN-2

    What can I say, the Snark is simply the best tuner you can buy for the money. It's so affordable I bought a spare just to have around for my friends that are always borrowing mine!

  • from IL May 23, 2013Music Background:
    Novice

    Great for the novice

    For a newbie, you can't beat something that works so easily and is so simple to use.

  • from Sterling Heights, MI March 7, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Works Great!

    After seeing my friend's SN-2, I had to get one. I'm really impressed with the accuracy of it. The biggest test for me was how it was going to hold up in a gigging environment. I'm happy to say it worked great, even in a noisy club. The funny thing is I often forget the tuner works on the vibrations of the neck...just takes some getting used to I guess. The only reason I didn't rate it a 5 out of 5 was due to the construction/design. I tend to be careful with my guitars and accesories, and that is a requirement with the SN-2. The pivot seems like the weak joint of the entire unit, so be careful positioning it around. I could easily see some players snapping it off. Other than that, I love the SN-2.

  • from Northern California January 17, 2012

    Excellent Tool

    Works great, very sensitive.

  • from New Jersy March 22, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist/Aspiring Artist - Hip-Hop, Deep House, Chill

    One for the gig bag

    As I'm just starting out with Bass lessons as such I lack the experience for a comparative review. However, I find this tuner helpful without breaking the bank.

  • from New York, NY / New Haven, CT February 11, 2012Music Background:
    Gigging Hobbyist / Student

    Bizarrely Flimsy

    I loved this tuner - the clip itself is probably the sturdiest and most well built of any clip-on tuner I've tried. The display is super bright and colorful, and just plain looks cool - it almost likes a display on an old handheld video game, but event crisper. It's pretty accurate too. It's somewhat large, however, and if you have a small headstock, you might find it hard to make it fit. The plastic is made of has this really cool rubberized matte feel to it, which is quite nice.

    Problem is, while the clip is sturdy, the neck (what attaches the display to the clip) is not. The neck is held in place by a 3 pronged plastic rotating joint - problem is, those prongs are very easy to break. The neck too, is easy to break. I've had 2 of these, and with one, the neck broke off (while in a padded, protected pocket too!), and with the other, one of the prongs broke off (while attached to my guitar). Chances are, if you're like me, you'll want to keep this on your guitar all the time - if you do, I all but guarantee it will one day snap on you. Shame, because it's really nice otherwise.

  • from July 8, 2016

    Snark SN-2

    I really like how this tuner works. It seems to be spot-on. It has a nice sized display, and is versatile as far as mobility. But, I've had two of these and both broke off at the point where the ball end shaft meets the clip. The tabs of the clip break off so there's no way the tuner stays on. But I guess if you're careful with it it's a decent tuner.

  • from February 26, 2016

    Works great but breaks easily.

    I've had a few of these. They're inexpensive, work great and are easy to use. The downside is they are prone to breaking where the ball/socket joins. Seems to always have one of the three spots that holds the ball in break off. Next time I'm going to try a different brand and see how that goes but these generally last me a year or so.

  • from St. Paul, MN November 25, 2014Music Background:
    Garage and string band hobbyist

    Fragile Snark SN-2

    I discovered one of the three fingers of the clip on mount cracked and it broke off when I was moving the tuner for a brighter appearing display. I have no idea what caused the finger to break, I have never removed the tuner from its mount but I often have to re position the tuner because of a dim display, especially when the battery has wakened or I am in an area of moderate to high lighting. I switched to the microphone setting and the tuner works fine for my guitar and electric bass in a quieter environment.

  • from WI USA September 17, 2014

    Tuning 5 String Bass

    Was informed to get a clip on tuner and this one seemed to be the most popular on the site and was not going to cost an arm and a leg. I find that it doesn't pick up the E and B strings when trying to tune my 5 string base using vib function and it is quite touchy on the other 3 strings as well. If i am not trying to tune in a hurry this will suffice.

  • from USA February 4, 2012Music Background:
    Professional

    Broke on the first gig

    I got this one for $10 on one of these sites... I think it was Sweetwater... And I was stoked about it! It's really accurate, lightweight and easy to use. Unfortunately it broke after the first gig, just like any other clip-on tuner I ever used. I love the idea, but they just never last!!

  • from Placerville, CA April 15, 2012Music Background:
    Bachrlor and Masters Degree, Music Education

    Snark SN-2

    Very accurate tuner. Unfortunately the life span of the Snark SN-2 is very short. I would purchase another Snark if I thought it would last longer then a month.

  • from North Carololina March 12, 2012Music Background:
    pro composer

    Broke easily

    While the tuner works nicely, it is poorly made. I broke the plastic that holds the tuner on to the clamp THE FIRST DAY I HAD IT. I was able to fix it with a zip tie.. but still. I have a cheaper Planet Waves one that I have dropped about 50 times and it has not broken.

  • from Arlington Heights IL July 24, 2014Music Background:
    Producer/ Singer/ Songwriter

    Don't bother

    Not very accurate but cheap.

Questions about the Snark SN-2 All Instrument Clip-On Tuner with Metronome?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway