0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Snark SN-1 Guitar and Bass Tuner with Metronome Reviews

4.0 stars based on 72 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Bart Good

    The Snark Clip-On Chromatic Guitar Tuner is a dream to use! It clips on and stays put. It's extremely accurate with a detailed display that shows you exactly where you are tuning wise. It is so sensitive in fact that when I accidentally left it on, it accurately displayed all the notes I played up and down my fretboard! (That was also a great way to check my acoustic guitar's intonation!) I highly recommend this - it's definitely the best tuner at this price point by far.

  • Kenny Bergle

    The Snark Clip-on Chromatic Guitar Tuner: What a great tuner! It's very bright, VERY accurate, and is easy to read. Also, the little rubber grips on the clamp make it easy to clip to anything - even an upright bass! It's a killer product and is priced right too (I personally sold about 150 of them at Sweetwater's 2011 GearFest!). At such a low cost, you really should have one of these in every guitar case you own!

  • Kenny Evans
    from Nashville, GA April 28, 2016

    great value

    Great product works well and has lasted a long while. Also tunes my mandolins great.

  • Dan
    from Idaho/Alaska April 27, 2016Music Background:
    Starting over country/Rock/blues

    Handy Tuner

    I now have 3-4 of these little tuners. One for each guitar and UK. I did find out from Snark brochure enclosed that this tuner is NOT recommended for Gibson guitars because of the finish applied. There are many other tuners available, but I found my new Line 6 pedal and the Line 6 Firehawk 1500, both have tuners onboard. My Gibson acoustic, 12 string, and the neat little Godin 5th Ave Hollowbody instruments all have Snark in the cases. Easy to use, versatile with multiple functions that takes up just a little space.

  • Tom
    from December 25, 2015

    Keeps instruments in Tune

    I like these snarks. 99% of the time these are what I use for tuning, I own more accurate (and expensive) strobe tuners but these keep me close enough for practice and keep my instructor happy.

  • Luke
    from Ct November 20, 2015

    NOT JUST FOR 6 STRINGS

    This puppy is AWESOME! Not only can it tune 6 strings but it works REALLY great w/ my 12 string too! I would really be lost w/out the Snark. Catches the right pitch every time. Small enough to fit in the extra compartment of the case too yet well lit background allows you see it perfectly, even where it's not well lit. Really is a GREAT buy!!!

  • Kerry
    from Indiana May 6, 2015Music Background:
    former professional club musician

    economical and accurate

    I already owned some Snark tuners and decided to get a few additional to keep in each guitar case for convenience. At this price it was a no-brainer. These tuners are very easy to set up and use and make tuning my guitar a quick procedure. Buy an extra 2032 lithium ion battery to keep on hand if you only have one tuner, although the battery lasts a long time because of its auto shut-off feature.

  • Shawn Toth
    from United States May 4, 2015Music Background:
    musician/engineer

    my guitarists each bought one

    after purchasing this product both of my guitarists each got one, they work great and are easy to use. I am not even a guitar player and I used it.

  • Charlie Schofield
    from Stateline, NV January 30, 2015Music Background:
    Working bass player

    Don't get clipped by other tuners!

    These Snark tuners work really well. I use mine on my many different basses. Works well even on the B string. I just bought one from Sweetwater, to replace one that I paid $30 for, from Guitar Center in Reno NV. (Paid way too much!) Unfortunately, the first one slipped off the headstock of my bass and I found it at the bottom of my gig bag. I think my bass might have squished it, and it quit working. Replaced the battery, but the tuner was non op. SO, be careful not to damage, keep a spare batter, and you'll be rockin'....in tune! Love the blue color. Display is easy to read.

  • Rory petersen
    from Marshalltown,ia January 26, 2015Music Background:
    None

    Tuner

    Great tuner

  • Mark
    from Dallas December 17, 2014Music Background:
    Praise & Worship

    Great Tuner

    Great chromatic tuner.
    Clips on to the headstock and works even when the whole band it playing (loud).

  • Edward Halterman
    from El Segundo, CA August 28, 2014Music Background:
    Band-leader, songwriter, engineer

    Thanks Tony Dayton Sweetwater Rep!

    Works awesome. My Martin guitars are very happy.

  • john valderrama
    from victoria, TX April 22, 2014Music Background:
    play guitar and drums

    holy snarkies

    these lil guys are simply amazing...guitar tuned in under 20 secs and i mean tight tuned.....my first use i heard a noticeable difference in my guitars and yes thats a good thing cus i was skeptical about this tuner due to some reviews....NOT ANYMORE.... WOW ....i was tuning my guitars with my built in tuner on my line6 spider 3 cus i was tired of using my korg and i thought it was faster...wrong ... on the korg tuner i had to take tuner out of the box.... plug guitar cord into guitar and into tuner to tune..... then unplug guitar from tuner then plug into amp then play that takes longer than 20 secs..... same on amp plug in cord on amp and into guitar... hit tap tempo button to access tuner mode then tune then hit tap tempo again to get out of tuner mode...once again longer than 20 secs.... that alone is time consuming to tune guitars using those methods... those problem are history thanks to the snark no more wires or cords needed for this guy to tune... as the BEACHBOYS would say all u need is some GOOD VIBRATIONS...lol... i love it....dont get me wrong the korg is a great tuner as well as the built in on my amp and they are really close to being in tune but this tuner tunes supertight.... have i said that enuf..... i have a dean deceiver with emgs and an epiphone les paul custom pro blackback custom shop limited edition......im so glad i bought two of these bad boys....easy to use and read ...love the color display...you cannot go wrong with this purchase and with a free 2 yr warranty....buy one or 2 hell just buy it....5 stars dudes....thank u sweetwater yall are really fast at shippn...ordered this monday nite got it fri of same week...thank you guys yall really do ROCK...ROCK ON SWEETWATER

  • John L
    from Orlando, FL April 3, 2014Music Background:
    Amateur musician

    Nice!

    Great and bright! display. Perfect!

  • Customer
    from Hurst, TX December 11, 2013

    Perfect, Simple & Affordable

    I can't believe how easy the Snark SN-1 is to use. I started learning to play the guitar a few months ago and the Snark was one of my very first purchases. Extremely simple to understand and see where the pitch is when trying to tune in your guitar. Makes changing your tuning very easy for songs that are not in standard tuning as well. I now own two of these and can't imagine not having a Snark with my guitar accessories. Just clip it on the head, turn it on and tune in each string within seconds.

  • dennisnmoore
    from gaffney sc 29340 December 9, 2013Music Background:
    i have fronted the drifters played all around in clubs all types of music played some with hank garland,now i play gospil music

    i will give this snark tuner a 5 star being at the top line.''

    I bought the shark tuner and I love it it is convenient for tunning I don't have to un plug and then plug back up after tuning. so much quicker and don't lose any time playing great tuner I liked this so well I ordered one more for a friend.''

  • Bob
    from Covington, LA November 26, 2013Music Background:
    Enthusiastic hobbyist

    Solid tool, it works.

    Works as advertised for tuning. I've not used the metronome feature.

    I use it daily and I play songs that sometimes require different tunings. It's accurate because I do a lot of playing along with songs from the actual artists and it has nailed an alternate tuning for me every time.

    It's a good tool when you think something is not quite right and find that you are a touch flat or sharp on a note/string.

    I like them so much, I have two. One stays home, one travels.

  • Andrew Porcelli
    from Staten Island, NY November 6, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Amazing product

    I am just amazed of every aspect of this tuner. Well constructed and works so well for guitar and bass. And a great price. I realized I needed a tuner I could put on my guitars and bass when I use my Vox Amphones. Well now this tuner is my preferred way of tuning in all cases. The only problem I had was deciding which model to buy as even now I am not sure what all the differences are even after looking at the Snark Web Site because there is no comparison chart. Right now I am thinking about buying more of these as gifts. Makes a great and surprising stocking stuffer for a guitar or bass player. I told my wife if I had one of these when I was a kid I'd be locked up as an alien form another plant with this tech.

  • vap19
    from Toledo, OH October 30, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    What's not to love?

    It's a piece o' cake to use and it keeps you in tune. Clips to the head stock and comes in a marvelous blue finish. What's not to love? Snarks are the best head stock tuners I've ever used. Bought mine at Sweetwater's show room in Ft. Wayne and it cost much less than any shop here in Toledo (as did the Martin Acoustic I bought to go with it).

  • TK
    from NY October 3, 2013

    only tuner necessary

    Does the job perfectly. Just stock a supply of replacement batteries or you'll be ordering new tuners everytime the battery's dead, like I do.

  • Customer
    from March 29, 2013

    Snark

    Good enough For Jimmy Capps, it is good enough for me.

  • david dean
    from NW Missouri February 17, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist-songwriter

    Great little tuner

    I got this because sometimes I'm tuning up with a lot of other musicians and don't want to have to plug in to avoid the other musicians' instruments interfering if I use the mic instead of plugging in. Plus, this being a chromatic tuner means it can be used with other instruments [such as violin, mandolin, ukulele, and banjo] as well as guitar and bass.

  • steven
    from plantersville,MS October 25, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    SNARK-SN1 AWESOME TUNER FOR THE PRICE!!!

    I recently purchased a snark sn-1 guitar/bass tuner and when i first used it i was amazed, it is deadly accurate and its small size dosen't take up alot of space in my guitar case, which is a plus, I love it and would defenently reccomend it to anyone looking for a great tuner at an awsome price! also the sweetwater staff are top notch, with great customer service. I will be a sweetwater customer for life!!!!!!!!

  • Michael M
    from Wilmington, DE August 21, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Get Snarky!

    This is a great affordable tuner that is extremely accurate. When I play archtops I plug directly into an amp and do not use any pedals. The Snark provides an easy way to stay in tune without the need to unplug my amp to go through an electronic tuner. Highly recommended!

  • 'Only' Frank Pusateri
    from Buffalo, NY July 31, 2012Music Background:
    Pro multi-instrumentalist, recording studio owner, working band, instructor

    Yeah Snark!

    This pint sized package is a real giant! Several of my students came in with one and I tried it at home and on stage with my guitars and my basses and it proved itself to the max! A real winner especially for the price.

  • Mike Smith
    from Radcliff, Ky July 20, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarist

    Love my Snark

    I have nothing but good to say about my Snark. The color is perfect. It stays on good and tight. I love the light and color scheme on the tuner.

    Thanks for the great price at the Gearfest. I had a blast.

  • Rhythm guitarist
    from New York, NY May 18, 2012Music Background:
    In a consistent small time hard rock band

    Awesome tuner!!!!

    I have it for like 2 years I have dropped it multiple times and is still like new. I have had no problems at all, it keeps all my guitars, and basses in perfect tune, great for drop tuning as well!

  • Billy Jenkins
    from Parkersburg, W.V. February 29, 2012Music Background:
    50 years in singing and playing in Country and Gospel groups.

    the amazine Snark tuner

    I HAVE TWO OF THESE WONDERFUL TUNERS, AND THEY ARE SO COMPACT AND EASY TO READ,
    The fellow that I play with in the band, have all tried mine, and they couldn't belive the ability that this small compact tuner has. and everytrhing is on A440.
    I have order soje for the fellows and they love it,
    it's the best out there for the money and it does exactly what is supposed to do... Tune your instrument's.........

  • Magnolia Guitar
    from Arlington, VA January 19, 2012Music Background:
    Guitar Teacher, Repair Tech

    Best Tuner in Price Range

    The Snark tuners are the best, most accurate tuners in it's price range. It's what I carry in my music studio and recommend to students. It's colorful, speedometer style display is easy to read and understand. The CR-2032 batteries (one is included) last me about 3-6 months depending on use (and I use them A LOT!). They are fairly sturdy, but I've had young students break them (at the flange point where it is weakest). There are several models differentiated by minor feature differences and color, so read the descriptions carefully. I think they should ALL do the exact same thing and be offered in different colors. Accurate to about 1-2 cents (same for all of its kind), it's more that adequate for tuning in noisy environments. Don't rely on your phone!

  • TJC
    from Conway, MA December 27, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Snark!

    This tuner is tremendous! It's also a conversation peice too! Well worth the $$.

  • Doug
    from Portage, IN December 16, 2011Music Background:
    active musician

    accurate & reliable tuner

    This is a great little tuner. Very accurate & easy to read and use. I like the fact that you can clip it to be on the front of the headstock or the back. And the adjustable, rotating display is a huge plus !! I previously was using a planet waves headstock tuner and found it to be slow and not too accurate. Sometimes it would not even pick up the low E string.
    If your looking for a great headstock tuner, this is it !! Don't waste your time or your money on the planet waves, this one beats it hands down !!

  • glenn
    from Huntingdon PA December 11, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    WOW!!!!!This is GREAT!!!!!!!!

    I love it!!!!!Works GREAT!!!!!!!Easy to see!!!!!!!

  • Mike Abercrombie
    from United States November 27, 2011Music Background:
    semi-serious hobbyist

    Stuck on this!

    I really can't find anything to criticize negatively...Hmmm, maybe that the battery eventually gets used up. I have two of these and the act of tuning just couldn't be made any easier. The display is very visible under any lighting situations. I love the way it snaps onto the note when you do twist those little knobs on the headstock! Great for alternate tunings also. I've tried other brands and have decided that I'll not waste money on anything else.

  • RiverStone
    from Downingtown, PA October 23, 2011Music Background:
    professional bassist and amature recording engineer

    Bass guitar compatible.

    I have had different vibration tuners and this is by far the most sensitive and consistent tuner I have had. It is so sensitive that I use it when adjusting the intonation of my bass. This tuner is easy to read, accurate and attractive.

  • James Pangborn
    from Addy, WA August 26, 2011Music Background:
    Amateur musician. Have played for over 45 years.

    I Call It Super Snark!

    I can't believe how easy to use and accurate this little tuner is. I previously had a Sabine AX-2000 contact tuner and it worked fairly well for many years but started eating batteries even when turned off. Also the Sabine had difficulty locking onto the low E string on my electric bass. The Snark SN-1 is easier to attach and remove, works every time and battery life is excellent. It works great on my 6 and 12-string guitars and even performs flawlessly on my electric bass locking onto the low E string instantly. For the money, this tuner absolutely cannot be beat. I'll never use any other!

  • Jim
    from FL August 24, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer

    Snark

    I like this it works great and is small enough to be left on my Taylor, now I can tune in between songs with the volume down. Good product and great price!

  • Rob S
    from Central Oregon August 3, 2011Music Background:
    Musician for over half my life (and I'm only 22!)

    Freed up a rack space in my bass rig!

    Got it on special for $10. I used one of these at a jam session and it wowed me immediately. So I bought two and I'm so happy I did. Taking the antiquated tuner out of my rack today! It has a visual metronome in it too, but it's nearly useless as the heartbeat sign is too small. But it'll be nice to have around for finding tempos at practices. Awesome little tuner!

  • Joshua Day
    from Wilmington, DE August 2, 2011Music Background:
    Musician, Recording Hobbyist

    Not just for guitar!

    I picked up one of these tuners for a hammered dulcimer, and it works wonders! Clip onto the bridge of the hammered dulcimer or any stringed instrument and it will pick up only the vibrations of the instrument even in the midst of a noisy crowd or band. The display is sharp, futuristic, colorful, and most importantly accurate. Definitely worth the money.

  • JR
    from Columbia City, Indiana July 22, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Thought they were all the same!

    I purchased a Korg clip on tuner and it was ok but had to replace battery 2nd day of use? Then gearfest offered a snark and I'll never buy anything else! Tune your guitar easier, faster and more percise and save money. Everyone I show says wow this is cool looking and works better than any tuner they have used ! I hope Snark builds another product, these guys get it !

  • Telequacker
    from Texas July 8, 2011Music Background:
    Gigging guitar/bass/banjo

    Best Stage Tuner for Most Situations

    Can't beat the price, and the easiest tuner to use with the best display for tuning on the fly onstage. No need to stare down at a floor pedal or turn around to look at a rack-mount tuner. Just dial down your instrument volume and tune noise-free.

  • Kenneth Evans
    from Nashville, GA November 27, 2015Music Background:
    old bluegrass picker

    great tuner

    I've had one about 4 years and it's worked great. I just purchased another just like it for my other guitar so I have one in each case. The only issue I ever had was the rubber cup where it clamps on kept coming off so I put a small piece of peal and stick felt on it and still using it.

  • Tom Hagen
    from Michgan August 29, 2014Music Background:
    musician, engineer

    Snark SN-1

    Snark quality with an extra attractiveness of blue.

  • Brett
    from Medina, Ohio April 23, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Praise Team Leader, and rhythm guitar player.

    Good tuner at a good price

    Overall this is a good tuner. It has proven to be accurate and is easy to see in most situations. It does get less sensative as the batteries wear down, so I keep an extra batery on hand. The only issue I have had is the rubber covering on the clip keeps falling off. I have to glue it every few months. The metronome has not proven to be useful for me, this is a tuner, not a metronome.

  • Justin Shelton
    from Maysville, KY January 2, 2013Music Background:
    Music student, Recording artist

    Pretty good tuner.

    This tuner works great for my guitars, banjo, and even when I'm trying to learn vocal notes (I press it to my throat and sing, pull it away and it give me the pitch). However, with my bass, it's fine with A, D, and G, but it seems to have trouble picking up the E string. So, bassists, take caution. Everyone else, this may be the only tuner you'll ever need. Plus, it doesn't take up much space in my case when I travel with marching band or jazz band. So that's a great plus

  • James Cook
    from Edmonton, Alberta, Canada August 6, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist and use it alot in the home.

    Snark SN 1

    I have had other tuners, and this one goes way beyond expectations, and it puts other tuners down the list for function, accuracy, and ect.
    Will never have any other kind. The price is pretty good, and for what it cost me I sure have gotten my usage out of it.
    I left it on my guitar head all the time at home, and then the guitar fell on the floor and it broke the clip on the head on the tuner that holds on to the shaft part.

  • Mike
    from Susanville, CA January 7, 2012Music Background:
    Acoustic guitar, strummer

    Very Satisfied

    Nice size and great display. I received my Snark SN-1 today and tuned mine and my kid's two guitars (all of differing makes and quality) and it tuned them easily and accurately. I like the way it fits to easily behind the headstock out of the way.

  • Paul Nye
    from Walker, MN August 24, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer.

    Snark Tuner

    I own a lot of tuners, including the headstock type. This one blows the others out of the water. My problem with headstock tuners is they seem to have a slow response time from when you strike the string you're attempting to tune. And then, they don't seem to be too stable and wavier all over. The Snark tuners are sensitive and very responsive. The other issue with almost all tuners is that they are hard to read in bright sunlight in outdoor situations. I don't have that problem with the Snark. My only complaint is that while it is very stylish, it doesn't pack away neatly into a guitar case like the flat or square tuners. Awesome tuner! Highly recommend. Price is very reasonable too.

  • saryhany
    from Egypt July 1, 2011Music Background:
    Recording engineer, Pro musician, Composer & Arranger

    the best

    very accurate, easy 2 use, the best for live situations, where you can lower down your guitar's volume knob, and tune very fast. very versatile.

  • Dan
    from Idaho/Alaska May 18, 2016Music Background:
    Novice

    Great tool

    This tuner is a great tool. I have purchased one for each of my guitars and a use. As I was reading the instructions I found out that it was not to be used on Gibson guitars because of the type of finish applied. They do recommend a different type that Snark makes.
    The tuner is quick, easy to use, with multi functions that fits in the gear bag or guitar case.

  • Customer
    from April 20, 2016

    Can't go wrong

    cheap and works great

  • Steve Nebel
    from Tacoma, WA March 15, 2015Music Background:
    singer, songwriter, guitarist

    Great tuner

    I bought two of these. My wife plays bass and she has had a couple of tuners break recently so I thought I was buying an extra tuner in case her new one broke. She loves her new tuner, and I started using the other one I bought. I am continuing to use my Snark tuner even though I have another tuner because it is accurate, and easy to use. We are part of a trio, and the other third of our trio uses a Snark tuner as well.

  • JP
    from New York February 14, 2015Music Background:
    Drums

    Neat

    Great little gadget.

  • Customer
    from San Francisco, CA February 12, 2015

    Simplicity itself.

    Works well.

  • Steve
    from Northern California January 7, 2015Music Background:
    Old Newbie

    Snark SN-1 Guitar and Bass Tuner with Metronome

    Nice little tuner and very sensitive too. Takes about 30 seconds to tune up the axe. Easy to use and easy read too.

  • Carl Heineck
    from Hobe Sound, FL June 27, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Accurate and easy to use

    Very simple to use! I'm using it on a 12-string so it's a little tough for me to get things right, but it does well. On my 6-string it's REALLY good. Get one.

  • Michael Faught
    from North Dakota July 20, 2012Music Background:
    Live sound,accoustic engineering,bass player

    Works Great

    nifty way to keep on top of your tuning. Seems quite accurate.

  • Customer
    from June 8, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    great little tuner

    very nice clip on tuner. metronome is just visual but no big deal to me. would recomend

  • Ajene Watts
    from Hyattsville, MD April 30, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Great item, but.....

    I would give the Snark tuner a 5 out of 5, but when i pluck one string i get a few different notes on the tuner, so it takes me some time to tune, but all in all its a great little item.

  • Bill
    from Southern California April 24, 2012

    Great tuner!!

    Best $15 I ever spent!!

  • Philip John Brooks
    from Georgia August 21, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Snark SN-2

    This a really nice and easy to use tuner. The only problem I have encountered is one of the small pieces of plastic that hold the display and allow it to swivel broke off. I will find the ideal position and superglue it back. Apart from that it is great. Buy one, or two. You won't be disappointed.

  • Tim
    from North AL August 16, 2011Music Background:
    Church Praise Band, hobbyist +30yrs

    A Great Tuner

    It really picks up immediately from string to string. I also have another well know name brand and there is a delay between changing strings. Easy to see while playing on stage. I told our other guitar players about the Snark/Sweetwater and noticed that on stage, there were 3 of us with identical tuners attached to the head stock and our bass player ask to borrow mine. Picks up bass and syncs right on the B string. On some guitars have had some problem picking up the E string. Great buy for the $.

  • Jim
    from Penticton, BC October 7, 2015

    Snark SN-1

    Very easy to use, display is clear and clean.
    Price was FANTASTIC!!!!

  • Customer
    from Grand Rapids, MI September 3, 2014Music Background:
    Student

    Convenient, but not ideal for low frequencies

    I'm a bass player that was in need of a simple, easy to use, and well reviewed tuner. With Snark's SN-1, I was initially pleased, because of the conveniences that the tuner provided. Just clipping on the headstock meant less trouble rearranging cables, and more time playing a well-tuned instrument. However, I tend to play in a variety of Drop Tunings, ranging from Drop D to Drop B. Though this tuner was fairly accurate in giving a reading for a standard tuning, it wasn't quite what I had hoped for when I began tuning down. Overall quality product, but I plan on investing in a pedal tuner from Sweetwater.

  • Dave Armstrong
    from Bel Air, MD USA January 2, 2012Music Background:
    long time hobbyist, former gigging semi-pro

    Simple, fast, cheap, and effective

    Probably the best of the low-end clip-on tuners, and so inexpensive that you can buy several of them to keep in your guitar cases. It's not as accurate as the Peterson StroboClip, but you can buy several of these for the price of one Peterson. If you've never used a clip-on tuner, this is probably the one to start with for casual use.

  • john
    from porterfield, wisconsin July 24, 2011Music Background:
    doing all of the below in practice

    tuner

    I like the in the dark light feature. and portability

  • JK
    from No place special September 16, 2013Music Background:
    Working Musician (solo/duo acoustic shows, church)

    Not for "day dwellers"

    I was attracted to this device by its affordability and ease of use, and in most applications, i.e. indoors at night, it does okay. I have two of them, and I've noticed that the screen is not as bright on either as it was when I bought them. Yes, I checked the batteries. Beware, though: don't trust an outdoor daytime performance to this thing. It was impossible to get a reading on it, and you will look like a goofball on the video as you contort around covering it with your hand trying vainly to see when you're in tune. I ruined an otherwise fine performance by trusting this thing in daylight. It won't happen again.

  • Paul
    from CT June 2, 2012Music Background:
    Singer/songwriter

    Have to say I agree with the critics

    It works, and the built in metronome is a nice gimmick, but it really is too jumpy and slow to use on stage. I found that I would think I was in tune, start a song, and, uh oh. Since I use capos and open tunings quite a bit, I have to tune fast and trust my tuner without having to test each string too much. This one did not do it for me. I want back to my old Planet Waves.

  • Cody
    from Rocky Mount. Va July 27, 2011Music Background:
    Grunge/Alt. one man band

    Snark Tuner is....well.. :/

    i was very happy with the preformance of this thing. it is really jumpy and its hard to get an accurate tuning from it. i payed 20 for it now its ten dollars, a much more fitting price for it. cosmetics wise its awsome and doesnt feel cheap but id take a cheap feelin tuner that worked great over a crappy one that felt expensive...

    so all in all, its a decent tuner. not much better than the old first act tuner i was using tho...

  • Vern
    from May 7, 2016

    Not as Good as I was Lead to Believe

    This tuner worked fine for a couple of months and then it just stopped working. I thought it might have been the batteries, but after replacing them, the unit still would not turn on. Being an electronic engineer, I tried a few tricks - nothing worked. My Snark is dead. I also agree with some of the reviews saying that the unit is too fragile. It's too big and it tends to get in the way. I won't be buying another one if they are so unreliable.

  • peterZ
    from NC July 26, 2015

    better than nothing

    you get what you pay for. If you need a tuner spend a little more and one that works. this one does not

  • Vito
    from California January 24, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, composer, engineer, producer

    Breaks too easily

    As a guitar tuner, this Snark device works pretty well. I've only ever used it indoors, so I can't comment on its visibility outdoors, but indoors (even in a well-lit room), I've never had any trouble reading the display...er, as long as the CR2032 3V lithium button cell "battery" is fresh.

    The tuner has a "power save" feature as described by the user manual: "The tuner display will dim after approximately 5 seconds of no sound detected by the tuner. This conserves battery power. The display will return to normal brightness when a note is detected. If no notes are detected for 2 minutes, the tuner will shut off." Alas, that's not enough to keep the device from eating cells. I have to replace the cell more often than I'd like. But I guess that's part of the price of having a bright display. If that were its worst affliction, I would have rated it higher.

    But it's not; its biggest failing is that it's too fragile. The tuner display mounts to the clamp via a ball-and-socket swivel joint. The "socket" consists of three little plastic tabs that capture the ball, and the tabs are the weak point; they're too thin, and they break too easily. I tried fixing it with cyanoacrylate glue, but it doesn't hold. The tabs are under-designed (strength-wise) for the kind of force they have to handle. You have to treat the ball-and-socket joint very delicately or you'll break the tabs.

    It's a poorly conceived design for actual real-world use. What they should have done was make the socket out of metal, or at least reinforce it with a spring steel metal band that supports the plastic tabs.

    My 1.5 star rating is based on Sweetwater's description of what the stars mean. They call two stars "OK, average". On that basis, I rate this tuner just below average because of the flimsy, cheap design of its ball-and-socket pivot. The same would apply to any of the other Snark tuner models that use the same design.

  • Jose Ornelas
    from Castro Valley, CA October 9, 2013

    not for me

    Maybe it's just my snark, because of all the good comments there are, but ever since i got this thing it's been flat out not reliable. I hate to be that guy, but i thought for 15 bucks, this thing would actually be somewhat decent. All ill say was the snark said that it was in tune, but the guitar was not even close. I tried to tweak around with the settings, even for a whole couple weeks, but nothing worked. Not totally disappointed, because of the price. But still, I expect it to perform at least somewhat well.

  • Andy
    from San Francisco, CA October 7, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Fragile

    The Snark will tune your guitar well enough and is very easy to use but the three prongs on the back that allow for swivel adjustment of the tuner break very easily. I used this tuner twice a week for about eight months before one of the prongs broke. Other members of my ensemble had similar problems. After the prong broke, the tuning mechanism fell about 3 feet onto the floor and broke apart... The Snark will not withstand minimal use for very long, even if you take good care of it. Needs a redesign.

  • David Todd
    from Hollywood California July 9, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Dont Beleive the Hype....not that accurate and keeps falling apart

    After reading the many reviews, I had to try one one these out for myself
    and Quite Frankly ...Not impressed. The meters were always shaky and especially on the lower notes. The other down side was viewing the screen in bright situations and the view angles were limited...there are many times the screen creates an optical illusion of displaying all the features at the same time.

    The positive is that it's shiny and colorful...would make a great money clip

Questions about the Snark SN-1 Guitar and Bass Tuner with Metronome?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway