0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Pro Co Sign Off Reviews

4.5 stars based on 13 customer reviews
Questions about the Pro Co Sign Off?

Questions about the Pro Co Sign Off?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Ryan Murphy

    Touring bands that play on large stages like to have microphones setup so band members can talk to each other through their in ear monitors. But if you have a live mic that is open all the time that will just create unwanted noise. So when you want to talk just step on the sign off to open the mic up and step on it again when you're done.

  • from February 29, 2016

    Good foot switch

    Switch works exactly like it should. I use it with my Shure WH20XLR headword mic. It is built very sturdy and I expect it will perform well for years. I considered cheaper alternative switches but this one allows easy switching on/off while my hands are busy. I mostly play solo and I don't find the lack of a on/off light to be a problem like some do.

  • from August 5, 2015

    OK... I'm Sold.

    I'm currently a lead singer/guitarist in a 3 piece rock band. For most of my life, when I step out from behind the mic to dance across the stage I've suddenly had an extra mic on my guitar amp (when the sound man doesn't catch it... or forgets to turn it back up when I start singing). This has eliminated that problem. Very quiet (no click when switching on or off), and requires no power. Just made our sound more consistent and removed a major headache. My rig is loud enough without extra help. I_like_it.

  • from October 25, 2013Music Background:
    Voiceover talent

    Pro Co Sign Off Works Great!

    I use for voiceover and it's excellent. After purchase I tested with various engineers while on ISDN. They were surprised on how well it cut sound compared to other products.

  • from Atlanta January 4, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Good, Easy to Add Power Indicator

    The one drawback of this mic mute pedal is that it does not have a LED to indicate when it is muting. If you take the cover off you will see inside that there is a hole for an LED light that is covered. It is easy to add an LED light that is wired to the foot switch. I added an LED light and found an old AA battery holder to create 4.5 volts and with a little soldering, it now has a functioning LED indicator. This modification took about 10 minutes.

    Didn't give it 5 stars because I had to modify to add the LED indicator. This could easily be added to the standard product without much additional cost.

  • from Peoria, IL October 10, 2012Music Background:
    Drummer, FOH Engineer, for 35 years...

    Works as promised.

    The Sign Off works perfectly. I'm a singing drummer, using a condenser mic that feeds a splitter for FOH and an A&H MixWiz for my ears.

    The A&H normally has a notorious phantom pop when a condenser mic is pulled or phantom power is toggled. There is NO NOISE whatsoever, either in my ears or to FOH when I toggle the Sign Off. Perfect functionality.

    I was going back and forth between this and the Power Mute. For the purposes of a foot activated on/off switch, I think I made the right choice. The Power Mute is a simple mechanical switch in a sturdy steel box. I don't see how it could break or fail and if it did, I can fix it easily. Whereas the Power Mute is electronic, adds unneccessary complications, and costs twice as much.

    One thing: the literature needs to be updated. The manual talks about dip switches for dynamic/condenser selection, but there are none. Also, the literature looked like 10th generation re-copy, so it was unreadable. Folks, can you print me a fresh PDF, please?

  • from Reno, NV USA August 9, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Love it!

    I don't know why I didn't use something like this 20 years ago. It's so nice to shut off my headset mic when my hands are busy. I ordered it a while ago, but just started using it yesterday. My Represetative at Sweetwater, Matt McKible was very knowlegeable and helped guide me to the right unit.

  • from North Central IL April 25, 2017

    No snaps, crackles or pops!

    Built well and does what it should. As a drummer, I use it for my dynamic headset mic so no one can hear my huffing and puffing when not singing. No clicks in the audio when activating or deactivating it, although I have not tried it with a condenser mic. It fits perfect next to my hi hat pedal! Now, to the con...as others have stated, it sucks not being able to tell what mode it's in because there are no indicator lights. It would be complete if it had a 9V battery and/or a wall wart jack and a nice LED to light up when it's "Live". That would help with the embarrassing 'hot mic' moments. I will probably crack mine open and modify it as others have done to add a LED and a battery...so that's why only 4 stars instead of 5. If you can easily keep track if it's on or off, it won't be a problem for you. Otherwise, a nice stomp box to have if you don't have a third arm to shut off a mic, push it out of the way, or to throw something at the sound guy for not muting your mic for songs you don't sing on...

  • from March 21, 2017

    Great!

    Does exactly what it's supposed to do

  • from Dallas, TX July 8, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Does what it's suppose to do.

    A very sturdy, but heavy, passive latching footswitch that mutes anything plugged into it. Works wonders for both microphones and instruments during live performances. The only con is that there is no light to indicate whether the switch is currently muting or not.

  • from parker, arizona October 18, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist

    great

    i would have given this switch a 5(blown away) but i wasn't. only because it did just what i wanted it to do. i told ryan with sweetwater what i need to add to my boss rc 300 looper and he said this would handle my needs. he was right once again. thats why i buy all my gear from sweetwater but not before talking to ryan.
    thanks again ryan and sweetwater.

  • from Ivins, utah May 15, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Great quality!

    Well built, but it is a toggle and I never know if it is on or off just by looking at it.

  • from Eastern Connecticut, USA February 21, 2012

    Pro Co Sign Off

    For a Voiceover in live sessions (ISDN or Phone patch) this is an excellent tool that allows you to mute the mic in case of throat clears, coughs...or simply to mute the mic while producers on the other end have you "on hold" while they review takes, discusss things...etc.

    Works very well with phantom powered mics.

  • from San Francisco Bay Area February 9, 2013Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician

    Good but...

    I bought one of these several years ago to use in a chain with my condenser fiddle mic in performance. It's a good, rugged box that functions as promised but the big drawback for me is that there's no physical or visual indication whether the mute is on or off. This led to a few "interesting" situations with the sound guys... I now use a Pro Co Power Mute, the powered version of the Sign Off which has a red/green status indicator light. I would recommend the Power Mute over the Sign Off if you're in a situation where you need some sort of visual reminder whether or not your circuit's live.

Questions about the Pro Co Sign Off?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway