rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Scratch Pad Guitar Finish Protector - Black Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Scratch Pad Guitar Finish Protector - Black?

Questions about the Scratch Pad Guitar Finish Protector - Black?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Seattle, WA January 9, 2017

    Scratch Pad Guitar Finish Protector - Black

    I have two of these. Easy to put on your guitar and as easy to remove and put on another.
    If you play a lot and you don't want the back of your axe looking like a relic in a month, then this is a great accessory. Thanks Matt Masek for your great customer service!

  • from Indiana July 16, 2016

    Easy protection

    This is one of my favorite products. I never have to worry about the back of my guitar if I wear a belt with an odd buckle or a big ol satellite dish of a belt buckle.

  • from Bridgeville , De January 5, 2015Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Scratch Pad

    The scaratch pad is great. It is easy to apply and remove and every guitarist should have one of these, If they care about the finish of the instrument.

  • from Greenville, OH February 10, 2011Music Background:
    Worship Leader, Guitar Player

    Scratch Pad Works Wonders!

    I first found out about the scratch pad about 6 years ago, when I got my first good Electric guitar. I couldn't bear to let the back of that Epiphone Les Paul get scratched, scraped and dinged up. So for months, I played it with my strap really short, and took all the ribbing from my friends at church, but protected the back of my Les Paul.

    Enter the Scratch Pad. I discovered it one day while searching online, and knew I needed one for my Les Paul. When it arrived, it fit perfectly to the back of the guitar, and it has been there ever since! It has kept the back protected from the rivets on my jeans, the buttons on my shirts, and buckles on my belts.

    A couple of years later when I purchased a Taylor 614ce, I knew I needed to get a scratch pad for it as well. It was the first accessory I purchased, and it has been there almost ever since as well. It has kept the back in perfect shape, and protected it from the same things that could have messed up my Les Paul.

    One word of advice with this though. They recommend that if you use it with a Nitrocelulose finished guitar (such as a Gibson) that you let the finish cure for a year before you apply the Scratch Pad. I have read reviews of guys saying that it has caused minor discolorations to the back of their Gibsons (and other Nitro finished instruments), but I have not had this problem on my Epi or my Taylor because they use a different finishing technique.

    All in all, I would definitely buy these again, and I probably will continue to buy more of them if I get more Epi's and Taylors. These are a great accessory, and have saved the back of my guitars, and will help them keep their value in the years to come!

  • from Wichita Falls, TX May 2, 2017Music Background:
    Instrumental performance degree, one technical death metal band

    Excellent product

    I have one on all of my guitars. Wish it was a little bigger for my nylon string guitar. Nitrocellulose finishes you would have to wait a year, no biggie. Easy off, easy on. Better price at sweetwater. Would have saved 20 bucks... oh well, my guitars are now protected!

  • from La Mesa, CA July 30, 2015

    Great Product

    This is a GREAT product! I bought it after my first bass build and I didn't want to scratch the back. This item is exactly as advertised. Easy to remove and apply with no adhesive build up.
    But an added value is the that the instrument does not slide around on your belly like it would without it. The instrument actually kind of adhere's to your body to add more control......such a simple product, but such a great idea!!

  • from NJ March 5, 2014Music Background:
    35 years exp./teacher/Praise and Worship lead guitarist

    Works as advertised...

    I recently purchased a Taylor 316ce from Sweetwater and did NOT want to scratch the beautiful sapele wood on the back and found The Scratch Pad. I was a little concerned about the pad affecting the wood so I reached out to my sales rep Jason Koons, who once again provided excellent service and expertise. The pad will not interfere with Taylor's finish and is stupid easy to apply and remove. No sticky residue, no harmful chemicals, no smell...just put in on and your done. Now for a little nit pickin. The pad seems to be designed for the smaller electric guitar body, as it's a bit small for the larger acoustic. Not the end of the world...it was just a little effort on my part to put the strap on the guitar to determine where the belt buckle would line up on the back, then move the pad to cover that area. Double check the finish on your guitar as there is a disclaimer about the pad is not compatible with french polish and a required curring time for nitrocellulose finishes. Would highly recommend this product for sure...

  • from Kent, WA. USA May 23, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    No more belt buckle boogie!

    This product is a practical and inventive solution to inadvertent relicing. I like my guitars finish to stay as new looking as possible. Therefore the "ScratchPad" is a useful tool to prevent any unwanted blemish to my guitars back. It's reposition-able and easy to apply. It has not affected the finish on the guitar, and provides enough peace of mind to offset its purchase price. Highly recommended!!!

  • from Bakersfield, Ca August 30, 2011Music Background:
    Blues Guitarist

    Scratch Pad Guitar Finish Protector

    I bought one when they first came out at least 12 yrs ago for about $12.00. I saw an ad for it and had to order it, no one knew what it was yet. It's a lot bigger now which covers the back of a Strat better.

Questions about the Scratch Pad Guitar Finish Protector - Black?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway