0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 5

Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 25 customer reviews
  • from April 19, 2016

    Scarlett Focusright 6i6 interface.

    Awesome clean and heavy look, and works great! I sooooo recommend this product to anyone who wants a good and not to $ costly interface.

  • from NYC April 11, 2016Music Background:
    Rock, funk, R&B

    2 headphone jacks = heaven

    The most affordable interface I could find with two headphone jacks, and the vocal preamps are fantastic as expected. Works perfectly, easy to set up. My only complaints: no knob to adjust the mix between my DAW's signal and the instrument or mic running into the interface (must be adjusted with the Scarlett "Mix Control" software; the headphone volume knobs are small and sort of hard to use because they are crammed in there.

    Positives: the Scarlett Mix Control software allows for many combinations of mixing options, way more than I need right now but I can see it being super useful for many; dedicated monitor volume control; a very nice plugin suite (eq, compressor, reverb, and gate). I love the dual headphone jacks for either recording someone else while we both listen, or when I'm alone (which is most of the time) I can have both my tracking headphones and my mixing headphones plugged in without having to constantly unplug them to switch.

    Also, with my older interface I sometimes had noise issues. None with the Focusrite.

  • from Austin, TX March 3, 2016Music Background:
    Pro Audio Engineer, amateur musician

    Love It

    I purchased the 6i6 after a power surge took out my 2i4. Based on the great customer support I received from Focusrite, I decided to upgrade to the 6i6. The 6i6 is great. It's easy to use, the I/O is super flexible, and having a separate power source means no powered USB hub when I use it with my iPad. Only issue I have had is figuring out the MixControl, which I was trying to over-complicate.

  • from New City, NY February 4, 2016Music Background:
    Songwriter/Engineer/Recordist

    The Sweet Spot!

    I've been using the 6i6 for over a year and I practically forget it's there because it's given me zero technical problems unlike some of my previous experience with other brands. This is the sweet spot in I/O if the 2in/2out types just don't cut it. I had an 18i20 at one point but it was overkill for my needs. I needed 2 onboard pres and a way to feed two external pres in to it. The 6i6 is the perfect solution, and the price is pretty unbelievable for what you get. The pres sound terrific. They are definitely good enough that I've really lost any gearlust for anything more premium. A number of years ago, affordable interfaces like the M-Audio Firewire 410 and 1814 had pretty terrible pres and AD/DA, but I'm happy that with the Scarlett, those days are gone. This thing is fantastic top to bottom with no compromises. The "halo" style meters are surprisingly useful. Any more detailed level monitoring, I do with the meters in Pro Tools, so having this simple cut and dry visual feedback is perfect. I like the Scarlett series so much I picked up a Scarlett Solo as a mobile/spare unit. Focusrite is on point with this Scarlett series.

  • from December 21, 2015

    Support for Windows 10

    Nailed it with the help of Focusrite support--a beta 3.2 driver was sent to me since I upgraded to Windows 10 and then Protools 12.3 - at first Xpand!2 midi didn't record but after the driver and PT12 .3 it's all working now, the 6i6 is easy to use and delivers a professional high quality sound.

  • from Grand Junction, CO October 29, 2015Music Background:
    Musician/Home Recording

    Focusrite Scarlett 6i6

    This interface opens up a multitude of possibilities for my humble little bedroom studio. Top Quality.

  • from Marysville, MI USA November 24, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist.

    Good stuff

    Still learning 6i6. So far so good.

  • from Manama, Bahrain October 9, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Device

    I am fully satisfied of the performance of my new Scarlet 616 Audio Interface with its bundled Ableton Lite Live DAW Software. I am amazed of this new buddy of mine. Having fun recording during the weekends with my acoustic guitar. I can't wait for another weekend to come for another recording session.

  • from Austin September 9, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great Product!!

    I've been using the MBox 2 along with Logic Pro 9 for the past few years and during that time it gave me problem after problem. From the time I got the 6i6 right out of the box it was outstanding!! Great PreAmps great sound and an extremely easy setup process!
    P.S. Thanks Matt for your awesome customer service!

  • from Benton, AR August 30, 2014Music Background:
    Jack of trades - Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician, Hobbyist, Student

    2014 Review Focusrite Scarlett 6i6

    Very good beginner to intermediate device.
    Instantly solved some practice, rehearsal and recording issues I had.
    Easy hook up USB.
    Good variety of input types.
    Headphone outs.
    Ext outs for stereo or pa use.
    I am using this in conjunction with Sonar x3 and a laptop.

  • from New Jersey October 29, 2013Music Background:
    Full Time Voice Over Artist

    Perfect for upgrading my home studio

    The Scarlett 6i6 has been a wonderful addition to my home studio. I'm a full time voice over artist and this interface works great with my EV RE-20 mic and JBL LSR 305 Studio Monitors. My recordings sound crisp and clean. The Scarlett 6i6 is easy to set up and use. I highly recommend it! Thank you to the great staff at Sweetwater for recommending a great product!

  • from August 20, 2014Music Background:
    Musician/Hobbyst

    Scarlett 6i6 - Great value / great sound

    For my small home studio - PERFECT - I have Focusrite Saffire 58 when I need inputs) but for acoustic and vocal , its just as good ..

  • from Atlanta, GA USA April 15, 2014Music Background:
    Student

    Perfect Interface for Small Studios!

    Focusrite provides great quality mic pres and an impressive amount of I/O options. The controls and software are simple, intuitive, but also versatile. It's easily portable, but also good enough to sit on your desk as the main interface.

    The only complaint I might have is that the USB cable is a little short, which caused some awkward placement on my desk.

  • from Tacoma WA USA March 17, 2014Music Background:
    Songwriter

    Good stuff, good support

    Sometimes you don't know how good a product is until you need help from the manufacturer's support. These folks were awesome. The problem turned out to be a faulty cable, but the support people stuck with me until we got it figured out and then they sent me a new cable FOR FREE. The cable that caused the problem was not the cable they sent with the product! It was brand new cable manufactured and sold by others.

  • from Portland, OR February 2, 2014Music Background:
    A little of it all, not a pro in any.

    great! (once you finally get it registered)

    Sounds great and solid, haven't used s/dif yet. Mixcontrol software allows just about any routing without moving cords. Everything else works better than the price suggests. Registering this thing is ridiculous, every add on has to be registered separately, be prepared for at least 45 minutes of BS before this very nice piece of equipment is up and running.

  • from November 24, 2015

    Great interface & DAW software

    Getting back into doing some keyboard/guitar studio recording just as a hobby. Took a long time to register all of the software, but once registered, all worked fine. At first could not figure out how to avoid 1/2 second latency problem. I was trying to monitor first track with headphones plugged into PC when recording second track, and was getting a long delay hearing instrument being recorded. I was ready to send unit back, then tried plugging headphones into interface expecting that I would not be able to hear track 1 already recorded. I was pleasingly surprised to find that previously laid down tracks were automatically being fed back into the interface along with track being recorded, so latency was no longer a problem. Made several multi-track recordings since, and very pleased with interface and included Ableton Lite software. Using provided clips is past my expertise level.

  • from L A,CA May 25, 2015

    Nice but need more info

    I like my 6i6 but I like to get under the hood of my gear. I need more tweak time. The software for the 6i6 isn't ez at first glance for me. I use my 6i6 w my mini & digital performer 8. So far so good

  • from Los Angeles, CA December 29, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Device is good. Sweetwater is Better

    You can read tons of reviews of this device. It's good. However, here is my story:

    I got the device just before going on vacation and only had a short time to use it. When I returned from vacation, I was past 30 days of owning it and it wouldn't connect to the computer by USB. I had to flick it on and off up to 20 times before it would connect.

    I contacted Sweetwater's tech support and they worked with me to see if we could come up with a fix. When that didn't work, they offered to have me send the unit back. The best part was that they sent me a Fedex label and shipped out my new unit (with really quick shipping, like 2 days) as soon as Fedex confirmed they had my return. They didn't even wait to get it back at their warehouse.

    New unit is working flawlessly. Sweetwater has earned a long term customer out of this. Thank you, Sweetwater!

  • from United States September 8, 2014

    Very Nice & Easy

    Bot this for my 14 year old daughter - she plugged it in & has loved it - she did not know anything about using audio interfaces just wanted to record some things with friends (2 headphones is good)... best of all, she didn't need my help & loves it.

  • from July 4, 2014

    Thanks

    This is such an improvement over the interface that I replaced!

  • from Palmdale Ca June 30, 2014Music Background:
    Electro house music producer

    Great sound card

    Works well and it has its own power supply and isn't usb powered which means no lag when loading files/waves/midi etc.

    Also never lags with my high end processing chain or mastering chain

    I recommend this over the 2i4 and 2i2.

  • from Boston, MA April 13, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar Hobbyist

    Worked First time out of the Box

    I had previously purchased a Behringer FCA610 through Sweetwater to replace my MAudio Firewire which M Audio discontinued drivers for. (Grrrrrr). The FCA 610 was just unusable. I use two inputs and 4 outputs for 2 sets of monitors I use during playback while I play guitar. I just couldn't get the FCA610 to hold its settings. I got so frustrated I finally called Matt Adams my Sweetwater rep.
    Sweetwater to the rescue. Matt suggested I buy the Scarlett 6i6. Wha La!!! I hooked it up first time and it worked flawlessly!!!! I used the control panel to output to my monitors and headphones and it just worked.
    I had a little bit of an issue with a breakdown in output while I was playing through the 6i6 but other than that well worth the money. THANKS MATT, THANKS SWEETWATER.

  • from Ohio August 10, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist and Student

    Great Hardware, but not so great software

    If it came down to just the hardware, this would have been a 5 star product. I have experienced zero latency with this unit using many different DAWs, which include Reaper, Ableton and FL Studio. The problem with this system comes with the bundled software.

    The program that I downloaded from the focusrite website makes the device freeze. Not just once of twice, but every time. As far as I can tell, the mixcontrol 1.5 software is virtually useless. I have to reset the interface, as well as my two Event monitors every time I start the mixcontrol program.

    But excluding the problems with the software, this interface has some great feature. Four line-outs, two headphone 1/4 inputs with individual volume controls located on the front of the unit. Compared to some interfaces in this price range which have the headphone jacks on the back of the unit. These are just two that stuck out to me and they performed great. I just wish the provided software was compatible with their own hardware. Is that too much to ask?

  • from August 11, 2013

    Good for its price

    Good stable interface for its price. But AD-DA converters are really poor. Preamps little noisy. For your first card is good choise, but don't expect super definition and clarity.

  • from countryside, IL November 5, 2015

    focusrite scarlett 6i6

    this is the most complicated thing i have ever had, i've been doing computer recording for over 10 years and never have i ever had an interface like this. the problem is that mixer, it sucks. i have not been able to do a real days work because of routing and a half dozen other things that make it useless. now i'm going to eat $250
    i hate it

Questions about the Focusrite Scarlett 6i6?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway