0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Focusrite Scarlett 2i4 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 35 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Evan Mehre

    What a great little interface! Abelton Live Lite, MIDI I/O, and a handful of RCA line outs make this an ideal unit for those of us making beats, and a feature-rich starting option for recording a couple of inputs and/or mixing. There’s a lot of flexibility here!

  • from January 1, 2016Music Background:
    Drummer, DJ

    Great all purpose interface

    This audio interface is fantastic! Its built well, looks great, and functions just as well. I bought this to be used for our Roland electronic drum set at church in order to get midi notes to my computer and the audio to the pa system. Everything is fast and sounds fantastic.

    For the price and service this interface is unbeatable!

  • from Atlanta Ga. January 1, 2016

    Works out of the box with Linux Ubuntu Studio.

    This works beautifully with my Linux Ubuntu Studio Install. Running Adour with 2.9ms latency and never get any overruns. The sound quality is outstanding. Midi works perfectly ( set Midi Driver to raw ) and the additional outputs come in very handy ( sending an output to tc-helicon voicelive ) . It's nice that it does not need any additional power supply. I would recommend this to anyone.

  • from USA November 24, 2015Music Background:
    I produce various types of music ranging from death metal to dubstep. Guitarist, vocalist, drummer, DJ

    First Interface

    Don't know what I'd do without this bad boy, it is phenomenal for the price. The ins are XLR/TRS combos and it sounds great.

  • from Texas October 18, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Home Recording Enthusiast

    Solid Piece of Gear-Great Service

    I bought this to replace my aging M Box 2. Could not be happier. It's solidly built, great sounding, easy to use. No problems getting it up and going, received great tech information from Dan Vanamerongen at Sweetwater prior to purchase. Focusrite was even available over the weekend to get me a download link for a couple of free plugins from Softube. If you're needing a great sounding interface for a small home or project studio, and need just a few inputs, then this is what you need. Cannot say enough about the support from both Dan at Sweetwater and the timely response from Focusrite. I have loved (and abused) my old M Box 2 for years-stepping into the 2i4 was an easy transition, although I keep the old M Box close by on a shelf as a reminder of the good old days we had together.

  • from October 17, 2015

    Scarlett 2i4 works great on Windows 10

    I'm running Windows 10 on an HP laptop with Ableton Live and Studio One version 3, and it works great!

  • from Wauseon July 11, 2015Music Background:
    Home Studio

    Great buy!!

    Great interface!!! Definitely recommend this to anyone!!! I use it in Reason DAW software and it works amazing. Best use is small home studios.

  • from July 1, 2015

    Great

    No complaints at all. Pretty good price too. I'm a beginner at recording - and it's been really smooth.

  • from Boston, MA April 17, 2015Music Background:
    Producer, Songwriter

    Easy Setup

    Working fine with Pro Tools 12 and Logic Pro X on my MacBook Pro retina display. No drivers needed on Mac, only plug in USB port and select device on DAW Audio Setup, that's it. I like Direct Monitor in this model because I can adjust the mix level of input/playback to my headphones. I love It!

  • from Lawrence, MA April 1, 2015Music Background:
    Metal

    Love it! Get it!

    Quick and easy to setup. I've been using it for 3 years now and just love the simplicity of it. The indicators work really well for leveling and the option of using padding is great for DI guitars.

  • from March 31, 2015Music Background:
    Recording

    Scarlett 2i4

    Most of the time its the user not the equipment. I needed something to just do some mobile recordings. This thing is cheap but doesn't sound like it. I must say I'm using very good microphones. Most of the time a stereo pair of Akg 414. But I am so impressed with this thing. Buss Powered stereo Mic pre with phantom power is amazing. Being able to take it with me anywhere the artist feels comfortable playing totally changed the way i record. I didn't expect to use it as much as i do. I'm very very impressed!
    Not a waste of money at all.
    I had no problem getting it up and running. I use mac book pro 10.8.5 with Pro tools 10.

  • from Muncie, IN January 19, 2015Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Music Tech Student, Recording Tech Engineer

    Rock Solid Focusrite Quality

    I got this interface for use with my Macbook Pro for Pro Tools and other various software. While I was expecting top-notch sound quality and usability simply by this just being a Focusrite product I was STILL blown away by the clarity of sound and great features, not to mention that it comes with the Scarlet Suite of Plug-ins, I was a little upset that the plugins aren't AAX, meaning they are worthless for use in PT11, but they work like a charm in Logic and other DAWs.

    Bottom line: This is, by far, the best Interface in this price range.

  • from June 30, 2014

    just what I needed

    after ordering a couple of other similar products this one was able to do all I needed in one tidy unit. I just needed to run stereo audio tracks to play along with and have our drummer hear his own mix with click - this does that perfectly well.

  • from Speigletown, NY (USA) June 11, 2014Music Background:
    Pro performer.

    Great features for the price!

    In this competitive class of interfaces, the build quality is excellent, the mike pre's are crystal clear, and the combined features are especially enhanced by the inputs and controls located in front, not always the case in this price class. Phantom power has a front button and pilot light, pads are included, and the gains handle inputs from line to mics, (especially dynamic), not the case with all competitors. All of these are important for my purposes. Bus power, and 24 bit/ 96kHz important, too.

  • from new york city August 29, 2013Music Background:
    actress, author, audio book narrator

    perfect piece of equipment

    I had no idea what this was when I ordered it, and I sweated bullets when I downloaded the plug-ins and drivers, and followed the video tutorial to plug it in. But I did it! (I'm recording audio books at home, and my business is exploding, hence my need to upgrade equipment) This is the perfect interface for me. I am eternally grateful to Sweetwater for hooking me up right for my first home studio.

  • from West Culver June 4, 2013Music Background:
    Former professional live musician, Now a home hobbyist

    Excellent Product... Defective USB cable

    This is my second Focusrite audio interface. The quality of the output is excellent for recording as well as when using my near field speakers. I recommend this product if you are a home hobbyist who uses various types of audio inputs including MIDI.
    As for the USB cable. Upon installing the unit I noticed the audio would drop out. Having stepped through the Online steps to prep my Win 7 PC, the trouble continued. Being the sound from inside the PC continued to play, I thought I would try using a new USB cable before returning the device. Turns out, that was the problem.
    With that solved, I am off and running recording my new projects.

  • from Longview, WA May 23, 2013Music Background:
    Drummer, Student, Independent Recording Artist

    Professional Portable Interface

    This is the first interface I have ever owned myself and I am pleased to say that it is a dream to work with. I wanted something that was portable with my macbook pro, yet had warm, clear preamps; it is all of that plus more! The great thing about the 2i4 is that it comes with midi i/o which is so important to any musician but especially one that is very electronic/midi based such as myself. The halo light indicators around the gain controls are very convenient and intuitive. I plugged in a Rode NT-2 direct and my vocals have never sounded so warm and pure. I have recorded through a MOTU 828 as well and I have to say the Scarlett gives the MOTU a run for its money! You do not need a thousand dollar microphone or a multi-thousand dollar interface to sound great! If you are looking for an affordable amazing sounding, portable interface than look no further. Plus the sleek, sturdy design of the Focusrite Scarlett series is just beautiful. Scarlett, you were worth every penny.

  • from Aliso Viejo, CA January 20, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Instant Eargasm

    I wish I had this many years ago. I've bene using an M-Audio Fast Track unit for a long time and this put it to shame immediately. My bass was thumping like I've never heard before. The 4bv is perfect instead of using my separate phantom power source. I do lots of basic home recording and this one fits all me needs. The inputs to take in guitar cable or mic cables makes things very simple. I was recording and all set up in no time. This is just such a perfect little beauty for the price. My only issue is the drive sometimes acts buggin in garageband on my Mac. I know it comes with software but I choose GB out of simplicity.

  • from February 19, 2016

    does what is required

    no complaints - nice having a midi interface and the sound is clean.

  • from Carlsbad, CA November 12, 2015Music Background:
    Pickin' guitar since 1968.

    Plug n play with ProTools

    I had an older audio interface that I struggled to get to work with protools. I finally gave up and bought the 2i4. Seemed like to good price point to me with the 24 bit and midi. I plugged it in and it showed up right away in ProTools and the system settings and I was off and recording. I really like that fact that it is USB bus powered... convenient. I would give it 5 stars but I haven't had it that long and can't say that I'm 'blown away' by it, its just an audio interface for heaven's sake. But, it does want I want when I want. I certainly recommend it.

  • from October 6, 2015

    Must-Have

    Absolutely awesome piece of gear for the price... For those just starting out, it really is a must-have. With balanced and unbalanced outs, as well as two high-quality mic preamps with input PAD, and a knob for input/playback monitoring control, there's little to not love about this little piece of gear. Definitely go for this over the 2i2 due to the reasons I listed above.

  • from September 3, 2015Music Background:
    Studio Owner, guitar player, Grammy Voting member

    Studio to go...

    Bought this box to set up a small rig for my kid to help us in the studio. Coming in, I had no expectations. I have a big studio with a bunch of high end gear. This box really impressed me. Clean, transparent. Wow......highly recommended.

  • from Grand Rapids, MI February 2, 2015Music Background:
    Guitarist

    Makes home recording a breeze!

    This interface makes it easy to get your home studio up and running in no time. With the 2i4 and a couple mics, I was putting out song demos for my band within a couple of weeks. Considering the fact that I'm a total novice when it comes to recording, that says a lot about the ease of using this interface. We used a Sennheiser e906 on our guitar amps, a vocal mic for our singer, and our drummer ran his electronic kit right into the interface, and the sound quality of our recordings are impressive. Not top studio quality yet, but I think that has more to do with my skills than the unit. My only complaints are 1. The line outputs for headphones and monitoring are a little weak, and I have to turn my monitors up fairly loud, and 2. While the casing is very sturdy, the control knobs feel like they could be a bit flimsy (although no problems yet). Overall I am very impressed with this interface and would buy it again in a heartbeat!

  • from November 8, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great upgrade

    Fantastic device. I had the pleasure of owning the 2i2, but it did not handle my electric guitar very well, so a Pad option was to be desired. The headphone amp also provided poor output gain, while I had no midi in or out for my synth. The 2i4 changed all that, and while bigger in size, looks and feels like a proper audio device. It gets a minus for quality control in terms of aesthetics; of both the 2i2 and 2i4 I've owned, the main volume button is poor cut around the edges, which is quite noticeable when you start turning it. Just a cheap fix Focusrite could do to make sure it at least looks like the quality device that it is. Very happy with it though, and actually "downgraded" from a Fireface 400 to the 2i4 for the sake of simplicity, while maintaining most of the quality.

  • from Michigan April 14, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Musician, Worship Leader

    Big features, small price

    Works flawlessly with my DAWs for both audio & midi. Easy to set up.

  • from Cape Cod, MA USA February 7, 2014Music Background:
    Aspiring media Producer/Director

    Nice Starter, especially for long term use

    I was originally planning on buying the PreSonus AudioBox 22VSL, however it was not in stock so my sales rep recommended the Focusrite S 2i4 since I still wanted the MIDI option for my keyboard. Since this is my first interface I have nothing to compare, however the setup was fast and easy, and works seamlessly with Logic Pro X. I am most impressed, and looking forward to using this in the future. My only con is that it does not have an XLR output, but for the price, and all the other features, it still earns a solid 4.5. Great Job Focusrite

  • from United States April 5, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Student

    Fantastic Interface!

    This interface is pretty awesome! I used to own a Roland Tri-Capture, and this had FAR better sound quality when I first plugged it in. I love how it has XLR and 1/4in plug ins available, as well as MIDI I/O. The direct monitoring is a nice touch when record as well. All in all, this is a great piece of equipment and I highly recommend it!

  • from April 19, 2016

    Very good interface

    Works great with Pro Tools. Instrument and XLR.

  • from pittsburgh PA February 15, 2016

    the blue moon crack

    i think this thing works really good, BUT i have 1 down fall its more than likely im just using a super old computer but when i use it every once in a blue moon itll make the audio crackle,pop and play n slow motion until i switch the latency and switch it back to what i had it on, no matter what latency its on it still does it now and then but thats like once a friggin week and i use it almost everyday, other than that this thing is fantastic and i reccomend it to any1 starting out come with vst plugins, ableton DAW, i prefer REAPER COCKOS ... next on my list is HS7 or HS8 monitors

  • from Southern California January 26, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    A couple of minor issues

    Overall I'm very satisfied with this product. It does exactly what I need but I've run into a couple of minor issues. I replaced an old 16-bit Tascam US-100 with this device, so I have a direct comparison of the old versus the new. I am using this with Sonar X3 as my DAW.
    1) I sometimes plug the headphone out of my practice amp directly into the input of this interface for recording guitar with an emulated speaker. With the Tascam I could plug a single stereo cable from the amp to the recording input. When I tried that with this device I got no sound. I found that I have to split the cable into left and right stereo components and use both inputs of the 2i4 to capture stereo. Or I can use a single input and capture a mono signal. But I couldn't get it to work with a single stereo input like before.
    2) I'm using a Windows 8 laptop. With the tascam, I would just leave it plugged in all the time and never think about it. With the 2i4, every time I boot the PC, I have to remove the USB cable and plug it back in. If I don't I will either get no audio output, or the output will be extremely distorted. Not a big deal, but it's something I didn't have to do before.

  • from LA January 30, 2014Music Background:
    Producer/Engineer

    Focusrite Scarlett 2i4

    It Initially did not work very well. Then I downloaded the new version for 10.9.1. I am presently just using it as an A to D converter from a turntable to my Mac. Since the download it seems to work although I have not yet seriously used it. I have high hopes. Good company from the old days. Seems like a substantial box.

  • from Sisters, OR USA November 28, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Slick, Well Priced AI

    I am just an aging hobbyist, and this interface was simplicity itself. Have only had a bit of time to play with it, along with my MixCraft 6 DAW, but believe it will meet my needs completely.

  • from Indianapolis, IN June 27, 2013Music Background:
    blues, blues, blues, retro metal

    meets my personal studio needs

    This interface is user friendly and is perfect for the bedroom/studio. It works great with pro tools.

  • from February 8, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Hobbyist, Prodcutor.

    DOPE Scarlett 2i4

    It's not professional, but it is powerful, intuitive, comfortable, and beautiful.

    The preamps have a very good quality and is always appreciated quickly connect to any instrument. The output channels work very well.

    The price is very good.

  • from Chicago, IL December 13, 2012Music Background:
    Producer, Performer

    Best Affordable Interface*

    I've had a few affordable interfaces, and this one's the best. Next to no latency, crystal clear signal, easy to use/set up, works well in Ableton and Reason. Lets you do outboard processing with the extra outputs. 96k conversion (48k on most competitors). *Although the chassis is rugged, the buttons, especially the phantom power, are cheap and rattle about when moving the unit. So if you're planning on going mobile, I'd take extra caution. The XLR inputs don't feel very sturdy to me either, but I haven't had any issues. It comes with a ton of extra stuff too, the plugins are surprisingly decent, and the 800MB of Loopmasters WAVs and Reason ReFill are actually decent as well. You also get a license to Ableton Live Lite 8, which in and of itself isn't that great, but it does make your upgrading to the full versions significantly cheaper, so that's very cool. This thing blows away the MBox, the AudioBox and the M-Audio stuff hands down.

  • from March 19, 2016Music Background:
    Producer Studio Engineer Musician

    Great sound But the USB input connector fell out

    I bought this unit because it looks durable and We have a 2i2 at church and it gets used alllot and it has been durable and reliable. I have had mine just over a year had not much time to use it babied it just setup in my home studio I disconnected the USB cable recently and the inside of the connector sleeve just fell out. It had no wear and tear it just fell out. It really disappointed me. Its not like I dropped it or had it out on the road. I contacted Focusrite and they advised me as it was just over a year old I would have to pay for the repair $65 and hour and shipping both ways So I am not happy at all with Focusrite at this point. Thank God I bought it at Sweetwater, they are covering the repair if defective and I am only out shipping. I am out a device to record with for the next 3 weeks and was in the middle of a project. The unit itself sounds great but I am extremely unhappy with Focusrite.
    Sweetwater is awesome offering a 2 year warranty and they are the best music company I have ever dealt with. I am a Happy customer. "Dear Focusrite it you are going to make a interface and claim its durable don't put a crappy USB input into it".

Questions about the Focusrite Scarlett 2i4?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close