0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Focusrite Scarlett 18i6 Reviews

5.0 stars based on 14 customer reviews
  • from Midland, MI May 4, 2013Music Background:
    Home Studio enthusiast, Worship Guitar, Songwriter

    A+ For this interface!

    I've owned a few USB interfaces and have had mixed success. This interface, however, is consistent and sounds great! I've had no issues with drivers, no issues with the device dropping mid session, and I'm using a fairly old computer to record! If you're looking for the best bang for your buck with the option to expand via ADAT i/o then look no further. Very pleased with my purchase. My only complaint is I wish there were a few sends for outboard gear and reamping, but I guess I can get creative with the monitor sends.

  • from Boiceville , NY March 25, 2013Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Closet Musician

    Trouble Free!

    Excellent unit. Trouble free. Everything worked straight out of the box. Replaced an old Mbox2 with this for my FOH rig and couldn't be happier. I was tracking with in 15 min including software install (auto updates firmware & driver during install. Nice!). I routinely bounce between PT 9.0.6 and Ableton 8.4 on an Alienware MX15 running windows 7.

  • from NM March 8, 2013Music Background:
    Musician and Hobbyist Home Recording

    Finally, something that works

    This was recommended by the Sweetwater Sales Rep (Ryan). I recently had a Tascam US-1800 which I had problems getting to run without problems. I have a Dell XPS (Intel i5, 8GB RAM) running Windows 7x64 Home Premium. I got rid of the Tascam and used a Presonus Audiobox USB for awhile, which was better than the Tascam but still would have issues every now and then. I've had this for several weeks and haven't had a single issue. It installed very easily. The software mixer is very handy. Great product so far.

  • from Florida September 12, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Not for Rookies.

    Does everything I hoped for. Almost no delay from real-time play to recording. Plenty of playback options, from interface, as well as the control pad in computer.
    Only reason I say not for rookies is that unless you've been doing this a while, you might not have actual studio monitors to use the monitor outputs.

  • from Salt Lake City, Utah April 26, 2012Music Background:
    Multimedia Producer

    big Fan of Focusrite

    This is my second Focusrite interface. just picked up a new laptop and it didn't have firewire so I looked at the Scarlett 18i6. I already own a Saphire Pro 24 for my home DAW and video editor. the PRO 24 has worked for almost 18 months without a single problem. It has superior Pre's compared to other interfaces I have owned. I previously owned a MOTU 828 MK2 got burned and will never go back. This interface is perfect for portablility with my new core i7 lapop. and like it's firewire cousin it works flawlessly. My only wish for the future is that focusrite might develop a USB 3.0 interface someday. Just withing though.

  • from Bangalore, India January 18, 2012Music Background:
    Keyboard player, Sound Engineer, Music Producer

    Excellent High quality product

    Right from the build quality, mic-preamps and the sound quality its top notch. Feels really good in hand. The expandability option in this is added benefit. No complaints whatsoever with this product. Gives out excellent sound quality. Would definitely recommend this interface to others. With Focusrite's brand things can hardly go wrong and that's their reputation.

  • from Miami, FL November 1, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    What a great product!

    This device allows me to integrate: the computer, hifi amplifier, microphones and my electric guitars with high quality playback and recording.
    According to need, I can use it with my desktop or my laptop.
    Simple installation and optimal results.
    Absolutely recommended!

  • from Shelbyville, IN September 20, 2011Music Background:
    Musician, Recording Hobbyist

    Just... Amazing!

    So I was on the phone with Mark at Sweetwater, and I asked about the Scarlett. I'd read about their pre-amp clarity for a long time. Having never used an interface - as I JUST got into the DAW world - I decided to go with a brand that has long been well-regarded. I've heard a few home recordings using other brands, and there was always noise from jacked-up pre-amps. Not with the Scarlett! Man, is it clean! And so many inputs I can leave everything hooked up all the time. No sweat. I literally could not be happier with my choice. I run direct guitar, keyboards, bass, and mics... all with NO NOISE!
    You seriously cannot go wrong with this choice.

  • from pittsburgh June 18, 2011Music Background:
    guitarist +25yrs

    Excellent buy!!!

    I owned the steinberg mr816 about a year ago and it sounded decent but was more trouble than it was worth. Now that I'm using a laptop exclusively I decided to go with a usb 2.0 interface. I was looking into RME but couldn't justify the cost without first trying something like the Scarlett.
    In my 20 years of home recording I have never been so happy. Yesterday I laid down a stereo drum track using a pair of chameleon ts-1's directly into the scarlett and was very pleased. Crystal clear, lots of headroom, absolutely silent. Just for the heck of it I went in direct with guitar and bass and couldn't believe my ears. For $300 this makes for a great DI.
    On my win7 64bit system, I haven't had any trouble with the drivers. I've also been using it as a dac for playing flac files over the stereo and it sounds excellent. I was thinking of buying a squeezebox a while back but see little reason to now.
    I definitly recommend trying this out before dropping 3x the money on something else. So much has changed in the last 5-10 years. It seems like you don't have to take out a loan to get a great sound these days.

  • from NY, NY January 24, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist. Keyboards, Drums, DJing, Recording/Production

    Focus. Right.

    I needed a new audio interface for my PC, but also wanted one that would work with my iPad. The 18i6 fit the bill perfectly. Works with my iPad 4th gen (with Camera Kit), though I haven't tested the MIDI I/O yet.
    Only one hiccup when connecting to my PC. My computer would not recognize it until I re-installed the drivers. Weird. However, I do not fault Focusrite entirely, my PC has seen several audio interfaces come and go over the past few months. :) Wish they would have given something better than Ableton Live as the pack-in DAW though.

  • from PA, USA July 24, 2012Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician, home recordist

    Scarlett 18i6 - One of the best deals going

    For the price, there's very little that can compare - two decent mic pres, line ins, ADAT in, SPDIF, headphones...

    While the initial setup could be a little more straightforward for anyone new to DAWs, the price still very much justifies any difficulties getting over that hump. IMHO.

    And latency is also pretty good - I'm getting down to 2ms input in SONAR X1, on a far from new Q9300 Quad Core. And I typically do not have raise the buffers until I'm in the 70-75% range, and even then I can sit at 5ms for most normal sized projects. I would imagine a current I7 would do even better.

  • from Long Island, NY USA February 9, 2012Music Background:
    Student, Music Performance Major, Recording Engineer in Training

    Solid Product

    I have not had trouble with my unit yet, It is pretty killer, and I've done plenty of recordings on it already.

    As far as experimentation goes, you REALLY need multiple pre-amps or a channel strip if you want good signal from the extra inputs. I recommend buying this unit coupled with the Focusrite Octo-Pre. The gain on the rest of the inputs without the pre-amps is not quite enough.

    Other than that, Once you buy this, have fun with it, it's a bangin piece of equipment especially for the price.

  • from Baltimore, MD July 31, 2011Music Background:
    Closet Rockstar

    more for less

    For the price difference between this and what I was using prior to, I found the features and quality performance to be far more exceptional than I was expecting. Easy setup with software, and cant complain about my support (sweetwater). The only reason this lost half a star is because there is no I/O switch to turn it on and off. You either unplug it or leave it in..

  • from Jersey City, NJ July 18, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Amazing for the price

    For the cost, this piece of gear is fantastic. The mic preamps are very transparent and clear. It can take quite a bit before clipping. There are six line inputs on the back, and I've yet to run into a situation that necessitates all of them. It's very clear and the fascia gives you tons of information as to what's going on with signal strength.

    It's also expandable via ADAT, so if you feel like you need eight more mic preamps, you can buy the OctoPre, which I might be doing soon.

    I get 2ms latency with my i7 laptop, which is fantastic for what I do.

    The included Scarlett MixControl allows me to route whatever input I want directly to the monitor outputs for zero latency monitoring. And you can of course route your DAW's output through there too (I use Ableton Live Suite 8).

    I wouldn't recommend using it with an acoustic guitar's piezo pick up though, as it can sound a bit thin. Get some separate tube preamps for that.

Questions about the Focusrite Scarlett 18i6?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close