rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 Reviews

4.0 stars based on 26 customer reviews
Questions about the Focusrite Scarlett 2i2?

Questions about the Focusrite Scarlett 2i2?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Bruce J Paz
    from Eureka Ca. May 9, 2017Music Background:
    Composer , Engineer.

    Focusrite 2i2 Scarlet

    This unit is one of the easiest setups and for me has enough inputs for my needs.
    Very clean no noise.

  • Chris
    from Belfast, ME April 30, 2017

    Basic, compact, highly effective

    In need of an inexpensive upgrade to replace my Toneport UX2, I purchased the Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 and was happy to find it fully as described. Setting it up to my Mac was as easy as 1-2-3. I use it with a condenser microphone for audiobook narration and plug a guitar into it on occasion. The latency is super low and the sound is crisp and clear. The small size makes it ideal for travel. I highly recommend this product for basic, no-frills home studio work and am guessing that it will work fine in more professional applications. Kudos to Scott and the staff at Sweetwater for their service and speedy delivery.

  • Chad Chelius
    from Philadelphia March 10, 2017

    Very Happy with this Product!

    I bought the Scarlett 2i2 on recommendation from a Sweetwater representative who helped me replace my old unit which was an M-Audio Fasttrack Ultra that my Mac OS no longer supported. The rep told me that this was a better quality product and would be a good replacement for my old audio interface. He was right. I had a little trouble setting it up only because I forgot to turn on the phantom power (my mistake), but after figuring that out, I was up and running.

  • Jason
    from Georgia March 8, 2017Music Background:
    Worship Pastor / Songwriter

    Wonderful little red box

    I am a worship leader, and needed something to record original songs and supplemental stuff for click tracks etc. I was using an old m-audio interface before I got the scarlet, and let me tell you I like this thing a lot. Firstly, it is plug and play with macs, so I have never had any troubleshooting or drivers to go and find. Also, there is very low latency, and a great sound coming out of this thing.
    I like this thing so much and the price is so right, that when I needed another interface on stage, there was no question in my mind that I was going to get another one.

  • Randy Spencer
    from Bangor, Maine February 10, 2017Music Background:
    Writer, Producer, Narrator

    My Purchasing Experience

    I've been buying gear from SSI for over ten years. I could buy the same stuff anyplace else. My reasoning is simple: everything I get from Sweetwater is value added. In many, if not most cases, I've had questions after the purchase. I've rarely encountered better customer service or tech support anywhere. These days, I'm a Pro Tools subscriber from Sweetwater precisely because of the support offered there, which is far superior to Avid. Sweetwater, you've cracked the code on customer service!

  • Tim Castleberry
    from Ca. February 2, 2017Music Background:
    Worship leader - guitar and vocals

    2i2 review

    The unit was very easy to set up and works great. A quick way to interface an instrument to your computer.

  • Chris
    from January 25, 2017Music Background:
    Punk/Ska/Raggae

    This thing is a little beast

    No latency that I can hear. my recordings sound great!!

  • Dennis
    from Oklahoma January 24, 2017

    A Quality Product I would Recomment!

    I did a ton of research before purchasing the Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 and this audio interface did not disappoint me!

    There were a lot of things that swayed my decision in favor of this audio interface over the other options, but the biggest factor was the solid reputation of Focusrite. I like that it came with a lot of quality software, but, for me, that was like buying a car that would go 150 mph even though I would never drive it that fast; I would just like knowing that I could if I wanted to. My use for this is for doing voiceovers, allowing me to produce quality sound via professional microphones for videos and eventually podcasting. Needless to say, I will probably never even get close to utilizing the included software, but I like that it is there waiting in the wings.

    For me, it does what I need it to do, simply, and compactly.

  • Carl
    from MO November 1, 2016Music Background:
    studio, recording artist, live music application

    Great!!!

    I now own several of these little things. They are fabulous!! Very clear, easy to run, yet powerful! I use them both at FOH and on stage every week. I have never had an issue with these. I am getting ready to order 2 more 2i2 and a 2i4 for other. I highly recommend one of these for recording and all things midi.

  • Vince
    from Pennsylvania September 28, 2016Music Background:
    Amateur vocalist. Primary interest in metal music

    THE dual-channel interface

    All the hype I've read online is correct (reddit, youtube, etc.) This thing is amazing in every way. Won't go into detail. Just look it up.

  • Customer
    from North Carolina September 13, 2016Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter, home recording, acoustic guitar and vocals

    Excellent, economical interface

    This interface is really a gem. Easy to set up and use, and the sound quality is noticeably better than others I've tried. I needed something portable with just a couple of inputs for guitar and vocal tracks. This one does that for me, and I could not be happier with it.

  • Gregory Sinclair
    from Watervliet, NY August 29, 2016Music Background:
    Producer/Artist

    My 2i2

    Two words- Crisp an Clear...

  • Roxanne Coyne
    from California August 2, 2016Music Background:
    Professional voiceover artist

    2i2 works like a charm

    I'm really happy with the 2i2. It has worked flawlessly from the start. I'm not a tecchie person at all and am somewhat intimidated by the thought of setting up a new interface. Well, this one was completely trouble-free. And it even came with detailed instructional videos on how to set it up.

    I've already used it in my studio and as part of my mobile rig. It's compact, easy to set up and it even looks cool. Instead of a dull grey box, they made it shiny scarlett!

  • David
    from Murfreesboro, TN July 16, 2016

    Suits My Needs

    I wanted something that I could use to record stereo audio from my Roland JC-40, the 2i2 does just that. My setup consists of a JC-40, two SM57's connected via XLR cables, and, for now, Audacity for recording to PC. Connect the 2i2, install the drivers from the web site and go. There is some nice free downloadable software included, but the free ProTools wanted to install some kind of additional DRM copy-protection software so I passed on that since I wasn't doing heavy-duty work; Audacity does the job just fine. The recording quality is excellent and the physical build of the 2i2 is sturdy.

    The only con I can think of is that, while playing games on Windows 10, I got a blue screen citing the 2i2's driver as the cause. I unplug the USB cable from the 2i2 when I'm not recording and that seems to prevent further problems during games.

  • Caleb Melcher
    from April 6, 2017

    2i2 USB interface is great!

    Focusrite has a great USB interface. The preamps sounds good and you can get both operating with phantom power with just the USB. The only problem I have with it is if you have your DAW open and communicating with the 2i2. When you turn on phantom power it makes a small dip in power which for a split second makes your DAW loose connection with the interface. Protools then makes me save and close the session and reopen it. This is not a deal breaker. You just have to be sure to have phantom power on before you open your DAW. Great interface.

  • Jim Tavegia
    from West of Atlanta, GA March 17, 2017

    I now have two of them.

    It is a great high resolution USB DAC that sounds way better than it should for only $. I also have a Steinberg UR-22 and they both are excellent. The mic pres in the Focusrite could use a little more gain, but they still work and sound great. This was my second Scarlett 2i2, so....

    I most use mine for mastering and playing back tracks, both on headphones and running the line outs to my JBL powered desktop monitors. All of my recordings start out at nothing less than 2496.My second one has the line outs going to my bigger audio rig so I can really hear what I've recorded, warts and all.

    Highly recommended. I recommend these even to my friends who just listen to music out of their computer to improve the sound over the internal sound cards in their desktops or laptops and not can get 24/192 files that sound great from places on line.

  • Jim Tavegia
    from Outside Atlanta September 3, 2016

    My 2nd USB Interface

    I have been using a Steinberg UR-22 for nearly a year and have really enjoyed it. I toyed with the idea of buying the MK2 version for my school computer, but chose to try the Scarlett 2i2 2nd gen version, which is the same money.

    I am not disappointed at all. I do have to run the latency to 512 to stop some glitches, but the sound is slightly warmer and fuller in the bass, but it is very subtle to me, but it is there. It sounds excellent for all of $150 and would think that any one considering any kind of USB interface should certainly put the new Scarlett 2i2 high on their list, especially if considering one of the AudioQuest DragonFly models. The Scarlett is a full IO device and probably a better bargain I would think than the DragonFly Red at $199. I would certainly audition both before I bought.

    Of course the Scarlett is a much bigger footprint, but it also does much more and with a lap top and some decent mics like the Sennheiser e614's could make some nice location recordings with some inexpensive software like Sony Sound Forge Audio Studio at up to 24192.

    Highly recommended.

  • Fred
    from August 23, 2016

    Sweet

    I can now record in stereo! I had originally bought the Scarlett Solo but it did not allow me to record in stereo. The 2i2 does. Thanks to the Sweetwater staff for steering me in the right direction.

  • RS
    from July 19, 2016

    great for starters

    This thing is great for someone who is just starting to record themselves. Its pretty self explanatory when you are setting it up, but the downloads do require you to make various accounts. There are many free plug ins you get also with this set. I would recommend it to anyone who may be interested

  • Steve
    from June 8, 2017

    Sweet Unit

    Solid little unit. If you need a 2X2 interface, look no further. Sounds great!

  • Phil
    from MN February 9, 2017Music Background:
    Intermediate

    Works very nicely

    I bought this about eight months ago on the advice of my Sweetwater rep, Evan, to upgrade my small project setup. The preamps are really transparent and allow the microphone and source material to shine with minimal coloration. No latency problems and very low noise. Have used it on my personal work and also with friends, and it has passed the test. Highly recommended if you're a weekend experimenter like me.

  • Leandro
    from Rio de Janeiro July 11, 2016Music Background:
    Singer

    Itīs really good!

    Iīm a beginner in matter of recording, so for me itīs amazing, comparing with my old recording stuff..

  • Richard "TomCat007" Meadows
    from Bellevue, WA May 28, 2017Music Background:
    Played in Jr High / High School band

    Ship Win 10 Drivers with this

    I am new to this audio thing. Bought the scatlett to help get better Y-Toube recordings. I am no expert on audio. Here my 2 cents. The device records louder on left channel than the right. Not sure how to correct that or if it is expected. I don't care for 2 channel sound and really don't want the right channel to be softer. So I am care full to export my work in Mono.

    The thing that really gets me about this device is lack of support for Windows 10. I bought this to use the new DVR recorder in Windows 10. And Windows could not locate a device driver for it. Windows update could not locate a driver. The device did not ship with drivers in the box. So I spent several hours downloading some software which also did not include the drivers. I won''t say anything about the software other than I still have not figured out what it is supposed to do.

    I resorted to using google to look up drivers for scatlet and did find them on my own.

  • Mike Schatzlein
    from TRC Studios Nashville August 16, 2016Music Background:
    Studio owner, producer

    Sweetwater is great

    First of all, Sweetwater customer service is superb. Our rep is Mike Picotte, and he is awesomely helpful. As to the 212, which I brought from Sweetwater after seeing an ad in a magazine, it is nicely built, but as yet there are no drivers for Pro Tools (there is one for Pro Tools First, but it doesn't work well with HD). I know Sweetwater would take it back if I wanted, but this is for a machine in the office that we run Native and use for testing, so we'll put the FastTrack C400 back in and wait for a solid driver for the 212.

  • Joseph King
    from Noblesville, IN January 12, 2017

    Guitar Players beware

    The microphone inputs were clear and very low latency, but plugging guitar directly into the instrument inputs is where the problems lie. No matter how low you set the gain on the instrument input setting, the guitars suffer from horrible clipping. If you're looking for a guitar input for your DAW, look elsewhere! Great for mics, but the first gen model is broken for direct guitar input.

  • Patrick Pangilinan Pineda
    from California January 5, 2017

    Latency

    Not the greatest audio interface. This unit drops it's signal frequently. Their 2nd gen is said to fix that problem. I just think it was a bad decision to release the 1st gen with all of the issues.

Questions about the Focusrite Scarlett 2i2?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway