0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 5

Tech 21 SansAmp GT2 Tube Amp Emulator Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 12 customer reviews
Questions about the Tech 21 SansAmp GT2 Tube Amp Emulator Pedal?

Questions about the Tech 21 SansAmp GT2 Tube Amp Emulator Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Oklahoma July 12, 2016Music Background:
    lots o' stuff

    Best overdrive/distortion I've ever used

    So I got my dr. z amp with my LP Black Beauty and my ernie ball vol. pedal > comp pedal > tech 21 pedal > TS9 mod > van amp reverb pedal > amp, and all I can say is WOW first off this replaces about 3 pedals in my f/x chain. This pedal is incredible. Yes it creates a lot of noise and hiss however, it seems to blast my proficiency 100 fold. I can play like Hendrix with this pedal. I know it may sound like a crutch but man I've tried literally ever overdrive pedal and I bought this just b/c I felt like it and it beats all my other famous, well known and popular overdrive/distortion pedals. the EQ is perfect I tend to boost the lows and cut the highs - just my cup of tea. I love to push the drive all the way to the extreme keep the levels low as possible (so i don't clip my mic's) and its just amazing. Do not underestimate this pedal. Do NOT do what I did and that is to buy a 100 overdrive/distortion pedals only to be totally dissatisfied, just get this one and you don't need tube screamers, nor blues drivers, nor OCD's, etc. Trust me on this you will not regret it. And with sweetwater's return policy you got 30 days to make up your mind.

  • from Baltimore area, MD January 8, 2015

    GT2 performs great

    I was previously using a Behringer amp sim pedal, which I still really like. But it is obviously a feature-per-feature copy of the Tech 21 SansAmp GT2. So, I knew I'd eventually want to try the real deal. Sure enough, once I side-by-sided them, one characteristic that jumped out at me right away was the depth of dynamics I could achieve with the GT2. I tend to use amp sim pedals to mimic a clean channel, then put distortion in front of that for metal tone. Just pristine, super dynamic clean amp tone, rich in harmonics. The other more "cranked" amp tones are nice too, I just don't use them. Great pedal.

  • from california April 8, 2013Music Background:
    Gigging muscian for an embarrassing number of decades.

    The Best!

    Looked for years for something as versatile and useful as this. So many tones out of such a small unit. And none of them unmusical. From clean sounds to hi-gain, this is the best.

  • from September 5, 2010Music Background:
    pro musician

    SansAmp GT2

    I landed on the GT2 after playing with several other solutions for recording. Over the years I have performed and recorded with a range of tube amps, moving between a Fender Deluxe, Boogie MKII, Ampeg V2 and a JCM 100. I ran the range from squeeky clean to grungy grind with it and have no complaints. This little box absolutely kicks it.

    The speaker emulation is always on, great for DI recording but may not suit if you're looking to use this as an in-line effect. As I was looking for an alternative to lugging my rig and dealing with the various mic issues that always occur the GT2 is the ticket.

  • from Belgium January 10, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist/semi-professional gigging musician

    Solved my recording tone needs

    I originally bought this just to add to my DI recording chain. It works perfectly for that, and now my recording sounds like a mic'd Fender amp. But now it's also become a permanent part of my pedal board as a pre-amp to my ZT Lunchbox amp for practices or for the small gigs when I don't bring the Fender Hotrod. It has some great distortion sounds, but I use it purely to achieve a sweet full clean tone (tweed hot, low gain) in order to sparkle and also receive my other effects pedals.

  • from europa March 30, 2009Music Background:
    guitarist-hobby

    sansamp a real blowout

    I use it as a unite prior to the crybaby, the sound that comes out of it reminds the good old days from the 70's, when real music was made.

  • from Illinois October 26, 2016Music Background:
    Played guitar for over 30 years

    Tech 21 SansAmp GT2

    We recently bought a new sound board and decided to switch to an in-ear monitor sysytem, eliminating all stage monitors and amps. Instead of micing my amp (blackstar HT club 40) from behind the stage, I decided to give the Tech 21 SansAmp amp simulator a try. Most tend to use it for an overdrive, but I needed something to add to the end of my pedal board to warm everything up and to give my tone some tube amp characteristics. I'm happy!

  • from Gotham April 9, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist 20yrs

    A great tool to have

    This a great tool every guitar player should have. Record direct with it. Use it like an EQ. Use it like an overdrive or distortion pedal in front of your amp. Use it like an added channel to your amp. Use it as a preamp and run it into a power amp. Use it with other instruments (bass, keyboard or as a preamp/EQ for miked acoustic instruments or vocals). Use it to get just about any analog tone you can imagine. The knobs are very sensitive so take your time tweaking. Your gonna need to take notes of all your settings. Don't let the lack of a mid knob scare you away. You will still be able to scoop or boost your mids with the switches. Like all Tech 21 products Made in NYC USA.

  • from East Coast January 28, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Artist

    Great Pedal

    This pedal will give you great tone for recording or even live. It gives a lot of clarity and character to your instrument's tone. I've used it for recording both electric guitar and electric mandolin. The analog signal gives a definite pick-me-up to both, much better than any digital solution.

    For the price, they should have included a power supply. I'm afraid of wear and tear taking the battery in and out, since the chip board is also exposed when you take off the battery cover.

  • from N Dallas February 23, 2016

    better on a few pedal rig

    I run a large pedalboard with an assorted array of hand picked higher end pedals; while I am a fan of Tech21 in general I had to pull this pedal from my board. It just did not like much of anything running into it as it whacked the tone and characteristic of other drives or gains, I tried putting in my loop but not as a return in only, just too much alteration to the signal for me.
    While I dearly love my Tech21 PSA 1.1 preamp and find it is utterly transparent to anything before it or in the loop, (the ultimate tubeless preamp).
    This puppy did not play well with others for me. If you have a simple rig and maybe a reverb or delay after it, it does well. Does indeed sound like the amps claimed, the clean Fender's and Mesa high gain were exceptional just did not belong on a large fully evolved board.
    A stand alone into a lower priced amp or in through the loop return and indeed "crank city".
    So a solution in some regards but not workable in more busy high end board.
    Might be a solution for some but not for me. I tried to work it into my rig but found I was just better off without it. The notion that it is a "desert island" pedal is probably quite true. Just was not a keeper for me and I dig Tech21's analog tube amp emulator circuit.

  • from Michigan April 23, 2015

    Great Product . . . . once I got past the video

    Once I got past the video that really does little to represent the pedal (geez, . . . you know, Steve Cropper was a great guitarist too - without all that fret diarrhea)
    I di'gress. The pedal is perfect for my situation, where I just need to add flavor to my guitar's sound, going direct into the PA. I have a multi-effects box for anything over and above, but for that core starting point, this pedal is killer. Anything from clean to fuzz and in between and simple to use. I would recommend this to a fellow muscian who might not want to take a bunch of gear to each show, but wants something other than just the sound of their guitar.

  • from Dallas, TX April 23, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great for Direct

    This is the best solution I've come across so far (and I've tried a lot of different amp modelers, micro amps, etc) for going direct from my pedalboard (with various drive pedals) into my mixer.

    I now have my pedalboard out going into an A/B switch. A goes to my Fender tube amp and B goes to this and then into a Mackie.

    Long story short, while not a 1:1 match with a tube amp (nothing like this can be) I find it to be perfectly usable to skip the amp and go into my mixer so I can play quietly and still use my pedalboard. Fuzz doesn't even sound anywhere near as bad as a setup like that typically does, and with the right settings on the SansAmp I don't have to muck with my gain stage on my pedalboard.

    Highly recommended if you're trying to solve the age-old "I can't use my pedals direct / with headphones" problem.

Questions about the Tech 21 SansAmp GT2 Tube Amp Emulator Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway