0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 79 customer reviews
Questions about the Focusrite Saffire Pro 40?

Questions about the Focusrite Saffire Pro 40?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Phil Schwan

    The Saffire Pro 40 has become an indispensable part of my home studio setup, and I'm not sure what I would do without it. It was an absolute breeze to set up and the additional software plug-ins and sample package have been a useful addition for my productions. I would recommend the Saffire Pro 40 for any home studio enthusiasts who want the high-quality Focusrite sound and a sturdy interface and want a lot of flexibility in routing.

  • from Indianapolis February 22, 2017Music Background:
    Jazz and classical musicians

    Solid

    I've had this for about 4 years now. It's never let me down and has always allowed me to make good clean recordings. This doesn't get a lot of use as I may record a few tunes every other month or so but I do expect this to be around for another 4 years.

  • from Philadelphia July 18, 2016Music Background:
    Home Studio Musician

    Saffire ... A True Gem

    I use the Focusrite Saffire Pro40 in a home studio. It has 100% met my needs. It is a solid piece of equipment that has multiple input/output options. I needed options for MIDI cables, XLR, Guitar Jacks, Mic/Inst, Direct Boxes etc...it had everything. I plug everything in and am able to switch around from instrument to instrument without the need to constantly change plugs and set levels. Great piece of equipment that sounds wonderful and works flawlessly. Beyond that, I recommend any Focusrite product. Their customer service is unmatched. They back up their products 100%. I have had my Pro40 for two years now. If I have a question, I contact them and they always respond within 24 hours, if not sooner. Customer satisfaction is key to them and they deliver. Don't hesitate, Focusrite stands solidly behind their products.

  • from April 6, 2016

    Focus rite just right for us

    This is what we were looking for for the studio. Even though I personally am not using it, it is right for what we need when the band comes to the studio to record. One of our guitat players is a recording engineer.Will likely get another in the future, as we will need more tracs. Thank you for your help.

    Steph

  • from Farmington NM February 16, 2016Music Background:
    45 Years in Music Gigging and Now Recording 20 Years

    Great Interface +

    I am Over Joyed with My New Focus Pro 40 Interface can do everything I was hoping for especially to get great Headphone mixes to the players. Also Thrilled that I can use it with my older Equipment Like connecting my 11 rack thru SPDIF and my Project Mix I/O thru ADAT for 8 more Mic Inputs as well plus still having The Control Surface work on my Prj Mix
    Thanks Sweetwater For keeping me Connected A Shout Out to my Sales Engineer Greg Servino and his Sales Associates for their Great bHelp

    Leonard,

  • from Illinois November 15, 2015Music Background:
    Music and Post Audio

    Surround Mixing

    I do a lot of surround mixing, including 5.1 and 7.1 ProRes files. I also do a lot of working making DCP files. This unit was the answer to all my audio issues. I mix in Protools HDX, but once you go to Media Composer or Final Cut Pro to bring the video and audio together, you need to be able to make sure your tracks are in the right order. This unit works great for getting the surround tracks coupled through and out to your speakers. I had given up on Avid's Core Audio Manager to do this. The software mixer is fine for monitoring the audio tracks, but I added an 8 channel audio meter set to verify the outputs. (The hardware unit does not display audio outputs on it's face.)

    If you are wondering, I've verified that this system works with FCPx, Media Composer, Quicktime Player and Doremi's Cineplayer.

  • from October 8, 2015Music Background:
    Piano player/ song writer/sound tech

    It just works!

    Replaced my old Tascam 1402 with one. The Tascam was great but the Win 7 drivers sucked; they would crash on startup.

    The Saffire Pro came straight up! No messing around at all. So nice not to have to sysop the thing and just get on with music. I am using it through the thunderbolt port on my laptop with an Apple thunderbolt to firewire 800 adapter to the Saffire. I can turn on my laptop and be playing within a minute. I use a USB interface when gigging but I am seriously thinking about using this instead. I can run this at 64 sample latency, which I can't do with the USB.

    Plus if anything it sounds better than the Tascam. Plus, there was a little hum from the Tascam into my monitors - there is none from the Saffire. And 8 preamps instead of 4.

    My only grump would be that it is just too deep to fit in a Gator short case. If you had a short rack that didn't tuck in at the back you would be fine. It fits but you can't plug it in! Oh - a longer firewire cable would be nice but, like me, you probably have a collection of these already.

  • from March 16, 2015

    Thanks, guys!

    Thanks for great service! Very friendly and knowledgable.

  • from San Diego March 16, 2015Music Background:
    Audio engineer, guitarist, bassist, drummer, keys

    Awesome Value

    I hunted around for a new interface for a year and after going back and forth between the Liquid 56 and saffire pro 40 I'm glad I saved my money..I can't say anything bad about this unit.. it sounds great.. works perfect.. and best of all the free included software has already found a place in some of my mixes and sounding great as well. Sure i bet the 56 has some cool bells and whistles that this unit doesn't.. but the 40 is an amazing deal for the price. Clean and clear sound, easy and intuitive software, awesome price.. just get it!

  • from Las Vegas, NV November 12, 2014Music Background:
    Production Recording Student

    Perfect match for my home studio

    First of all, wait about 10 seconds after turning the device on. Otherwise, you'll think that it doesn't work. Now there is something to be said about an easy setup. I had a M-Audio ProFire 2626 before this and you had to be an audio engineer to get it to work. Ironically I'm in audio/music school and still needed help. But not with the Sapphire Pro 40. Plug your inputs in, open Mix Control, and you're done. Great job Focusrite! So why is this only $500.00?

  • from United States July 29, 2014Music Background:
    Home studio producer

    Fantastic interface, amazing value

    Fantastic interface at an amazing price. Works great with pro tools, super simple to set up and use, absolutely no complaints. I'd recommend this to anyone. It's by far the best for the money.

  • from USA January 22, 2014Music Background:
    Saxophone player

    Focusrite Safire Pro 40

    I use to have the m-box2 from Pro tools, it was good for 4 year. However need it more than 2 channels. So stated looking for at lease year. I went to the review at You tube seeing all the comments, so I when to sweet-water and purchase it . The Pro 40 it really toke my Studio to the next level. I have a mic CAD E-300 condenser mic IT sound amazing. A week ago I record drum, guitar, piano, saxophone & vocals. In 4hr we were done.
    I do recommend the focus rite saffire pro 40. Thank you sweet-water

  • from August 3, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Professional Audio Interface

    Hi,

    I used to use a Yamaha 16 Channel Analog Mixer which was connected to a Cakewalk USB Interface and I wasn't happy about the quality of the Audio that was produced using this setup. I started looking for solutions and approached Sweetwater for their recommendation. Ed Needler spoke to over the Phone and gave me the picture of setting up a Modern Professional Home Studio. I took all the recommendations from Ed and then added the Saffire Pro 40, Pro Tools 10, East West QL Composers Edition and many more to enhance my Studio. Today I can proudly say that I do own one of the best sounding Professional Studio to deliver Music for any type of Application. I am currently using Roland DS5 Digital Monitors and the Focusrite works perfectly well with the Digital Monitors with SPDIF OUT. This is one of the best investment and I really love this Audio Interface.

  • from NC, usa June 28, 2013Music Background:
    Electronic Musician, Recording Engineer

    Am astounded how good my instruments sound now

    For those of you that are thinking of using the Saffire Pro 40 as their main mixer in the studio, don't think any more...just buy it.

    I sold my mixer as soon as I heard the sound coming out of this baby. I have been recording my own electronic music since 1985 and went through a torrent of equipment. I currently have an Access Virus TI2 as my main synth and KRK VXT8 monitors. The room is set up properly with Auralex foam. As soon as I touched the first key I almost jumped back. The sound I had created a year ago was so detailed, clear, and deep that I couldn't believe it. The more I played, the more I was blown away.

    I don't need EQ or compression or analog faders, I just want as clean a path to the monitors as I can get. So the Saffire works out perfectly. It was relatively easy to figure out the software and I soon had the Eventide Eclipse hooked in via SPDIF. Again, the sound that came out was incredible. I didn't think it was possible to have such a professional studio-quality sound from a home studio - but that is exactly what I have right now and for what...$500? If I need more connections I will gladly buy a second one.
    I am also running a Focusrite ISA 430 MKii through it using the ADAT pipe and it just brings tears to your eyes.After doing this for so long, I am now hearing sound again for the first time.

  • from Boca Raton, FL May 8, 2013Music Background:
    Drummer and part tome Engineer

    Great Unit!

    This unit sounds great! has nice mic pre's and very clean ad/da. I am using the unit with a Quad Core Mac Mini I7 and everything works perfectly.

  • from Wisconsin March 17, 2013Music Background:
    Student

    Where it all started

    4 years ago, I bought this interface and started to record my violin, and some electronic music. Today, I am preparing for my first year at Berklee College of Music. I attribute a portion of my love for music technology to the interface. This is what got me started, and i still use it every day. You cant go wrong with this interface.

  • from February 5, 2013Music Background:
    Music Composer/Producer/Song Writer/Mix Engineer

    Magic Box!!!

    this is really a magic box with all the essential features, plus sweet converters and smooth mic pres. this is unbelievably a great made in "the best bang for buck" category.

  • from Sao Paulo, SP February 5, 2013

    Amazing

    I was really blown away! Ok, I used to have a Delta 1010LT and it was a HUGE jump! Very very low noise, a lot of gain, and a great pre-amp! I have it for a year now, no regrets at all. I would like to thank Jason Koons who suggested me this interface and helped me with my first international purchase! It was nice and easy! Many thanks!

  • from orange park, florida December 2, 2012Music Background:
    pro musician

    Best in it's class

    I ordered this unit to replace a tascam 1884 that had served me well for several years. however I wasn't pleased with driver releases and decided it was time to retire it. I took the time to do my research and decided the pro 40 would best suite my need's as far as in/outs and feature's. after setting it up (10 minutes) I loaded up some mixes I was working on I was surprised with how good the converters are, very transparent and really clean. I was hearing much more detail in the mixes almost as if a blanket was lifted off my monitors. preamps are good typical focusrite sound. I always use external preamps for different colors and sources but could make a convincing project with the onboard preamps.. the routing matrix is very deep but not too hard to wrap your head around. so with 8 preamps , flexible routing and the best converters under 2 grande this is a steal..

  • from Somerset, KY October 29, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Hobbyist

    Loving The Saffire Pro 40

    I recently upgraded from the Presonus Firepod to the Saffire Pro 40. After I got the right firewire card (Siig makes a great one) the Saffire ran like a charm. The preamps sound great, the Mix Control is very easy to navigate with some nice presets, and it works perfectly with Cubase. I highly recommend this product!

  • from Florence, MS USA September 3, 2012Music Background:
    Home Recording, Student

    Good Ol' Boi!

    I have had mine for a little over a month now, and have very much enjoyed it.
    I do not currently have any external preamps, so I have been using the ones inside the interface with great success. They're VERY clean, and are very hard to drive into distortion.
    If you're looking for a way to record your drum kit, you can't go wrong. Plenty of inputs for the whole family!
    My only complaint, is that the gain is extremely unproportional. It doesn't get to a useable level until about 5.5-6, and then going up from there (especially 8-9), it's HUGE changes in volume. That doesn't matter too much, though.
    WARNING: It is FireWire 400, so if you're on FW 800, you need a conversion method!

  • from Shreveport la August 1, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Awesome

    I'm new to the recording business and this peice of equipment is easy to use and very affordable.love it!!!!!!!

  • from Santa Cruz Mountains CA June 7, 2012Music Background:
    Live music and recording

    Focusrite Saffire Pro 40

    This was a snap to install and get up and running with quality sound. I am very impressed with the ease of use and features.

    Sweetwater's support ( or access to their support- i didn't need any) made it that much better of a purchase.. I had a email, text and phone call before the saffire pro 40 even showed up stating that they wanted to be there for me to make sure the were available to get this up and running. This was the best service i have ever had with any gear. I am 50 and been doing this since the age of 16, so i have had quite a few purchases with gear in my time...

    Way to go Ajay and sweetwater team!

  • from Geneseo, IL May 1, 2012Music Background:
    Guitar Slinger, Singer, Song Writter, Humble Home Studio Enthusiast

    It a Winner

    Using it with a Windows 7 Professional -64 & Reaper - 64. Prior to installation got on the Focusrite web site and found "pre-installation" instructions:
    1) Change firwire driver to legacy
    2) My motherboards firewire chips set was listed as compatible.

    Dropped in install disk it automatically went out on the web and check for updated drivers and control panel software...VERY NICE.
    Once all software installed plugged in unit to port, turned on, and wah-lah it showed up and was working. Total install time from opening box to a working unit ...15 minutes.

    This replaced an M-Audio Audiophile192 and I could not be happier. Recordings are much more crisp and clear. Mixes are very transparent. I keep asking myself, "Why did you wait so long?"
    Great unit !

    The only thing that takes a bit to learn is the control panel software. But again Focusrite comes to the rescue with resources. They have a very good tutorial video on their web site in how to use it.

    Not only is this a great product but Focusrite has done it right by making so much information readily avialible.

  • from Vienna, ME January 30, 2012Music Background:
    I've been in musical education for most of my life. (Also living the rock and roll lifestyle.)

    Saffire Pro 40 rocks

    Setup was very easy.
    It just worked.
    I linked two together and had no problem setting them both up.
    The sound is clean and clear.
    The hardware meters combine with the software interface to create a seamless system.
    I am using this for 16 channel analogue studio recording.
    This thing rocks.

  • from Kingston, OK October 18, 2011Music Background:
    College Band & Orchestra, Recording Studio, Electronics

    Focusrite Saffire Pro 40

    Really love this piece of gear...I now have two of them connected together for a total of 16 XLR Mic channels !!!! Clean, clear, transparent, no extra sounds induced !!!! And the digital switching network for output monitoring is fabulous....any combinations you could ever dream of is easy to set up. It's exceeded any of my expectations. These two plus my (DAW) SONAR X1 Producer are capable of turning out great tracks !!!!! The DIGITAL World, not quite VIVID gear, but at the present more than adequate for me.

  • from West Richland, WA USA September 25, 2011Music Background:
    Artists, producer and studio owner

    Very Impressed!

    I have had this Pro 40 now for about 3-4 weeks. I was extremely nervous selecting an audio interface because it is so critical to my process. I was having a lot of latency issues, 64bit driver updates and audio dropouts with my current interface and was ready to move on. I can't even begin to explain how happy I am with this interface. I am running Windows 7 64bit, 8GB of RAM and Sonar X1 DAW. I also plug a Pacifica preamp in for my vocals. The drivers work extremely well and even though all firewire interfaces have latency challenges including this one. However, when you record on this interface you don't need the audio to run through the daw before you can hear it in the headphones or monitors. This allows you to have the vocalist in the booth hearing their voice before it is processed through the DAW (NO LATENCY!!!) I could go on and on about so many routing and features of this unit. I could not be any happier with this interface!!

  • from Kingston, OK. July 12, 2011Music Background:
    Semi-pro Recording, Band, Orchestra, Electronics

    FOCUSRITE Saffire PRO 40

    Transparent. extremely versatile, great all around piece of equipment ,...wish it was a PRO 80 with 16 analog inputs....was blown away with the sound quality...and the packaged software ( Comp., EQ., Gate, and Reverb ) aren't shabby either . BEST BANG FOR THE BUCK so far. The routing capabilities were simply AMAZING !!!! Wish I had the PRO 40 a year ago. FOCUSRITE has done it again.....Great British sound.

  • from Snellville, GA USA May 9, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Student, Hobbyist

    Amazing Value

    this interface works great! i use Logic 9 with it and i love it! the preamps are clean, quiet, and sound great! i have had no problems with it. i love having the clip meters on the front. the 2 headphone outs are very handy.

  • from Clio, MI, USA April 8, 2011Music Background:
    Producer, Recording Engineer, Sound Engineer, Sound Mastering, Pro Musician.

    You Cannot Go Wrong Here.

    This thing may not be the fanciest looking of the bunch but the Saffire Pro 40 has it where it counts - quality inputs/outputs and sound.

    The preamps are lovely. I was finally able to REALLY hear the difference between my $400 and $1000 guitars even through full blown distortion from VST guitar simulators, something my older interfaces could never do.

    Vocals, with a good mic, just shine. What you put in is what you get out.

    Transparency is the name of the game here. Also, numbers. 8 awesome preamps. Just... wow. Go ahead, record a full band.

    I thought this part would be a gimmick but it turns out that the Dim and Mute buttons for the monitor outs are extremely useful. I use them constantly and would really miss this feature in any future units.

    Throw in two dedicated Mic amps, great drivers (VERY important) low latency and you've got yourself the best unit in this price range... or higher.

  • from Western, MA February 26, 2011Music Background:
    Musician (Drums), recording and live sound engineer

    Pristine Audio

    The tireless search is over. True there are lot of audio interfaces and I have listened and tested quite a few. There is the difference with this one, Focusrite is a hardware company. That is their one and only main focus. Good thing to, because this interface records what you give it. No sound coloration, no sweet spots, no noise, no glitches, just pure audio. If that is what you are after, then stop looking for it because you just found it.

    My only issue is with the software interface. It is functional, but it takes a bit of time to work with it. It would have been better to have a graphic representation of a mixing console. But again, these guys make hardware, not software.

    The driver interface is rock solid.

    ADAT interface is solid.

    Thanks to Andy Bitler (Sweetwater Rep), as this thing is exactly and then some what I expected. For the future: Octa-Pres and a PCI ADAT or Ethernet interface.

  • from Lexington, Ky. February 6, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Semi Pro musician

    Exceptional Preamps and Easy To Use

    I've had mine a little over a month now. I love it! I had read some reviews elsewhere complaining about latency issues and FW problems, etc. I put a Lacie FW400 card in my old Dell Dimension 3000 w a 2.80 GHz Pentium 4 and t works seamlessly, although being dingle core, the FW interface eats up more CPU than I would like. But that is no problem because it is so versatile as a mixer I just use it as an 8 channel ADAT expansion to my E-Mu 1212M card which gives me two more analog inputs with Pro Tools 190 HD converters. And that still leaves me 2 S/DIF channels. I can run all that at 48K all day plus I have 2 channel direct zero latency monitoring off the 1212M and two different zero latency headphone monitor channels and a third monitor output channel giving me a total of 4 different monitor mixes as well as a variety of ways to mix them. And I can use the E-Mu-s 32 bit on board effects on all channels independently as inserts if I want to add saturation, color, tube simulation, etc., as well as really nice digital compression.
    And the pre amps! Clean, pristine, and with tons of dead quiet headroom! I went through two TrakMaster Pro's that had horrible noise issues above 6 on the gain control. I replaced them with a Studio Projects VTB1(which is actually also an exceptionally clean and useful pre amp for the money) that was much better. But the pre amps in the Pro 49 are what one expects from Focusrite. They don not color the sound they way a Neve or other vintage type pres do, and they don't add tube harmonics. But what they do is give you a clean, very musical, very accurate transmission of whatever you plug in it. You can get all kinds incredibly realistic, relatively inexpensive (and even free) plug-ins to give you all the warmth and color you desire as well as compression, etc. (the included Focusrite FX bundle is actually pretty good...), or run it back out and through an analogue source after you have recorded the dry signal. Either way, you won't be disappointed! It has the quality and versatility of interfaces costing far more and is a steal relative to the OctoPre MK II w/o compression.

  • from Aguadilla, PR January 30, 2011Music Background:
    Pro musician, mix engineer, composer

    What's with this price???

    500$ for this unit, it is really a STEAL!!! it has a lot of features that other guys at this price range won't even hassle to put on, the interface its just great, and do not forget the mix control, very happy with this product!!!

  • from Chicago IL June 10, 2010Music Background:
    Recording engineer, classical pianist.

    Rock Solid Performance

    It's already been said by everybody, preamp preamp and preamp.I bought this last week to replace my MOTU Traveler Mk3, which were plagued by driver instability and I was not very impressed with the preamps. This thing costs more than $300 less than the MOTU yet it sounds, and runs better. Driver is rock solid on Windows Vista, and the Saffire MixControl is extremely flexible. The build quality is also above-par. I only wished that the unit has a built-in hardware limiter which is very useful for me because I don't always have the chance to do sound check with musicians in live situations. Overall, great buy!

  • from Petaluma, CA December 10, 2009Music Background:
    Instrumentalist, Recording, Composing

    Solid value

    Best feature is the preamp quality. It is notably improved from the two other mid-range interfaces I've had, the edirol FA66 and the art Tubefire8. DICE II chipset does not seem to have any issues on intel macs, though I don't know about the newer unibody macs. Software router is REALLY comprehensive. Expect to take many dedicated hours to learning it completely. I've only run into one issue where the audio comes in distorted after changing the sample rate in my DAW (live 7). The solution, although inexplicable, was simply to change it again and change it back, then wait a second. Eh. So you don't freak out, the device does take about 5 seconds to turn itself on. The only other issues are the somewhat wobbly knobs (no worse than the edirol fa66) and the lack of XLR locking mechanisms. Otherwise, the sound and features are better than I'd expect for the price, and the newest drivers allow for stand-alone operation. Pretty lightwight, too.

  • from Tehachapi, Calif. January 8, 2009Music Background:
    Recording engineer, musician

    Right on the money

    Got my Saffire Pro 40 yesterday and installed it on both desktop and laptop systems. Worked flawlessly on both right out of the box, no glitches, noises or problems. The driver seems very stable. It offers a great deal of flexibility...there is a bit of a learning curve but once that's over, you realize just how flexible this thing is. And the sound? The mic preamps are typical Focusrite, smooth and detailed and DEAD QUIET, even with my Sennheiser 441U dynamic mic. That's a lot more than you can say for most in this price range. Even though I plan to use high end outboard preamps most of the time, I would not hesitate to just plug mics directly into the Pro 40 and hit record. The build quality is also excellent. It's heavy and solid with a smooth PRO feel to the knobs and switches ...and very nice metering too. My only quibble is with the choice to put the first two inputs on the front and the rest on the rear. I realize they pretty much had to but it is slightly annoying. The Presonus Firestudio Project, for example has them all lined up on the front. However, I read a number of user reviews that were less than enthusiastic about that product. And since I already own a Saffire LE for my laptop and have been impressed by its quality, I felt safe in trying out a brand new product from Focusrite....VERY GLAD I DID! And Kevin at Sweetwater is simply THE BEST. Buying from these guys is always a great experience. I'll be back!

  • from Wilson, NC May 14, 2017

    We own three of these!

    The best interface/8 channel preamp for the money. I am looking forward to ganging 2 together to give us 16 analog and 16 ADAT ins. The only drawback that brought my rating down .5 is the complicated monitoring software. The program does give you monitoring options not available on other interfaces.

  • from May 5, 2017

    good equipment

    works really well with my system

  • from Virginia August 27, 2016Music Background:
    Musician,sound engineer

    Safire Pro40 - Awesomeness

    Focusrite Pro 40 is a great buy. The preamps are crisp and clean. I have used mine for 6-8 months without any problems whatsoever. The mix control in it is great. It can used as a stand alone without the computer after configured. Also comes with some really good plugins. I highly recommend this piece!

  • from January 18, 2016Music Background:
    20+ years of performing and recording

    Works perfectly except....

    It doesn't work with the new OS X El Capitan Apple upgrade. Seriously upset with Apple as it looks like they may have dropped fire wire capabilities. Prior to that I've been really happy with the Pro 40. Great engineering and an awesome piece of equipment. I highly recommend this to anyone with a home studio.

  • from December 18, 2015

    Awesome Product for Price

    The Focusrite Saffire PRO 40 is an indispensable product for use in audio or recording applications. The reason that I made a choice to purchase this specific product was because it fulfilled an audio application need: specifically to hear audio and internet-based mp3 files, as well as YouTube and other internet video files. The Saffire PRO 40 is also useful with recording and DAW applications as well. (Be sure to check out Focusrite's Saffire PRO 40 product page to view helpful tutorials that will prove beneficial with your recording set-ups).

    Focusrite's Live Chat Tech Support is by far the best way of receiving tech support during the business week, and has solved several problems with my Saffire PRO 40 that many hours with AppleCare could not.

    This is more than just a "new toy", it is a high-quality audio or recording interface that is compatible with Apple OS Mavericks to the most current OS X, El Capitan at this writing. Cost-effective, does the job very well, high-quality mic preamps, 1-unit rack space, only a very slight learning curve for operation, otherwise very easy to use.

  • from Valdosta October 19, 2015

    Great interface

    connects easy, clean and a great price. My only complaint is having to click the "settings" in order to get to the ASIO buffer size settings.

  • from Denver, CO June 3, 2015Music Background:
    Mix Engineer, Producer

    Fantastic Interface!

    A powerful interface that allows you to start building your recording sessions! I upgraded from a 2 channel interface to the Saffire Pro 40 and have since paired it with a Focusrite OctoPre to move up to a 16-channel simultaneous recording. I know it's a rather simple set up, but this allows our band to continue to record our rehearsals with ease. The 8 TRS outputs work well with Pro Tools as well, allowing me to set up individual mix sends to our headphones. The preamps sound very clean so far, giving more than enough headroom to track a 5 piece drum set in a small space without having to reach for any pads.
    My only gripe is that you do not have full flexibility in mapping out the TRS outputs. It seems that Output 9-10 are linked to the main Mix and you cannot change it's sound source.
    Other than that, it has been a phenomenal addition!
    If you're looking to start expanding your recording I/O, you should look no further than Focusrite!

  • from January 7, 2015Music Background:
    singist, songist, musicer, server at the restaurant down the road.

    A great channel strip interface

    I bought this interface, as well as the OctoPre MkII Dynamic for the sake of increasing the number of input channels I had to sixteen. Prior to this upgrade I was running a couple of inexpensive two and four channel audio interfaces, which worked out for a while but turned into a compromise once I started recording drums. This baby solved that problem.

    The unit takes about ten seconds to boot up, which can be confusing as the lights on the device don't come on immediately. Before putting it to work you need to download special drivers that come in the form of a program called Mix Control. While this software is a bit confusing at first, it works very well. Through it you are able to create custom mixes for a plethora of different outputs, letting you do creative things such as create custom mixes for singers or drummers. It's rather easy to link up to the octopre mkII with an optic cable, and the pres sound about as good as you're going to get for prosumer gear.

    My only gripes are that there aren't individual phantom power buttons, although when you're running sixteen channels you are likely to have at least four mics that need it. Overall its a solid and well built device which is replete with features, and comes highly recommended.

  • from Denver, CO November 17, 2014Music Background:
    Recording, Beat Maker, Producer

    Saffire Pro 40

    This is a great I\O interface for the price. You have a lot of options and it just works. I have had this for just a few weeks but I am already running with it. I am using Persons Studio 2, Dave Hill Europa and Blue Bluebird. The sound is amazing for such a simple setup going into my DAW. Definitely like the mixer on the Saffire. It is pretty much plug and play out the box. No issues with latency either. Loving this addition to the studio. Heck of a deal at this price point.

  • from CA USA June 6, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Versatile Box for the Price

    The Pro40 is a solid piece. The pre's are clean and there are tons of features. The software takes some getting used to, but I expected as much since the routing features are almost endless. I bought this with a D-Box and the two compliment each other well. The plugins are nice also. I haven't downloaded the loops yet, but I imagine their pretty good. All and all, the Pro40 is a pretty versatile interface for the home studio. It even comes with a 400 to 800 Firewire cable so you don't need an adapter for late model Macs. Only thing that I don't like is sometimes the DAW won't recognize the Pro40, but all you need to do is re-boot your rig in the correct order. Pro40 first, DAW second. Works like a charm!

  • from Miami, FL April 10, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Producer, Recording Engineer, Sound Engineer

    Saffire Pro 40

    I have had a Pro-40 for about 2 years and some change and I must say this is a great interface for amateurs or intermediate engineers, producers and artist. The built in pre-amps by Focusrite are outstanding just like all Focusrite gear. You have an abundance of channels to use and everything is literally straight forward. The sound is amazing when running at least a decent mic in the acoustically treated room (which is more important than the mic itself). However, one HUGE defect for me in this unit is the fact that there is no compressor input. For those who are interested in building a nice arsenal of outboard gear to do dynamic recording qualities in which would be paired with other outboard gear, then this gear is flawed. If your interested in using a vocal compressor, or any compressor keep in mind there is no compressor input so you will need a new set-up of outboard gear to accommodate those desires. Other than that, by far a phenomenal unit especially with the great Focusrite sound for such a cost effective price. My next investment is a Apogee Symphony, so imagine the quality of this unit if I'm upgrading to that interface as my next choice.

  • from Kalispell, MT March 1, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist/ songwriter

    Top of Its class

    This thing takes your home studio to a new level. Great sounding pre's and 8 ins with Firewire that allows you a lot more options for post recording especially with drums. you can mic a crappy drum set and use some quality drum replacement and make your drums sound crisp. For vocals it helps to have some kind of pre because the gain control is very touchy and your vocals will either be quiet or breaking up.

  • from Spokane, WA February 11, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Songwriter, Musician, Pro Audio Student

    Best interface in its price range!

    I've had this unit for two years, all I can really say is it is amazing! These pres are clean and have very little noise. The unit is easy to use, looks classy and sounds amazing! There are better interfaces on the market, but not in this price range.
    The only reason I have not given 5 stars, is because it would be nice if the unit had more gain. I seem to have drive the gain quite a bit to get a strong signal if I'm recording quiet acoustic guitars or vocals. Aside from that, I love it! You won't be disappointed with this box!

  • from Ny August 9, 2013Music Background:
    Ska pioneer

    Killer

    25 year recording and touring vet, Recently jumped back into the home recording fray and found myself unimpressed by the performance of my old digi 003, especially after hearing my buddies presonus digital mixer, and that comes from an avid certified man, sniffed around and found this baby, right price for eight killer focusrite pre's, seamlessly intergrates with my daw and saffire routing software rocks, only drawback is fw 400 breaking 800 chain from my IMac and macbook pro, but I can of course can live with that, did i mention 8 focusrite pre's!!! For the price rock on focusrite, 96khz, 32bit floaiting point, drums are crystal clear, recorded on my macbook pro. Macbook pro, focusrite 40, mics, its a wrap, will keep adding and chaining more of this gen together for more inputs, thanks again sweetwater, you are my guys, love the candy!

  • from Phoenix April 27, 2013Music Background:
    Pro musician, music college faculty

    Unbelievable sound for the price

    This is simply a great product for the money. I have made several live classical recordings already with this unit and the sound is even and clean. Granted, you have to use really great mics like I have to get a great sound out of this unit, but that's exactly the point. Spend the money you would have spent on an Apogee and put extra into your mics.

    All of my colleagues have been impressed with the recordings I have made for them, and these are legit musical people. Good luck!

  • from Rapid City, SD August 29, 2012Music Background:
    Singer/songwrtiter, engineer,producer,music teacher.

    Very Solid Interface

    I have had a Saffire Pro 26/io for many years and loved the preamps and plug-ins. I got a Pro 40 a few weeks ago and have used it a lot since. The onscreen user interface is a HUGE step up from the old one. Much more flexible routing options. Multiple headphone mixes are a snap to create. The preamps seem cleaner and run my ribbon mic with no noise at high gain settings. I use the old one as an ADAT extension box and so far they are playing well together with just the ADAT sync. Would have been nice to have word clock but overall very nice for the price.

  • from Washington DC August 29, 2012Music Background:
    Producer, Musician, Recording Engineer

    Focusrite Saffire Pro 40

    This thing is sweet. I've had this for about 2 months now and the sound is clear. The zero latency feature helps me control the mix in the headphone without changing the mix of the whole song. I use this with Cubase 6 on a creation station built from sweetwater, and I had no problems installing it. My recordings and mixes have improved tremendously with this box. I think it could compete with other interfaces is the higher price range because the quality is just that good. I used a TASCAM 1641 prior to buying this which they discontinued. The TASCAM 1641 worked well until I tried to use additional mics, once I used more mics on that thing, the drivers started to drop out. Thats not good when you have paying clients.

  • from San Diego, CA December 29, 2011Music Background:
    Engineer, producer, composer, player

    Great upgrade from Digi 002

    I bought the Saffire Pro 40 to replace my Digidesign 002 when I upgraded to Protools 10. The mic preamps are vastly more transparent, quiet and musical than the 002, so that part of the upgrade was worth the money. In addition, the Mix control software provides a great deal of flexibility including a quick status switch to latency-free monitoring via a drop-down menu.
    I had a question that I posed to the factory and received a very fast, thorough response. I'm very happy with this interface.

  • from Roll Tide, AL November 21, 2011Music Background:
    Producer, Engineer/Sound director, Songwriter

    All you need!

    This is a fantastic interface. The preamps have plenty of gain and the flexibility of the mix control is awesome. The sound quality is great. Bottom line is if you can't get a radio ready mix out of this interface then the problem isn't the interface. As a sound director, I can tell you that with today's technology, 99% of people's issues are room acoustics, instruments/sound programming, recording techniques or performance. Focusrite did a great job. You can go out and spend $3000 or $4000 on an interface but for most thats like trying to kill a fly with a shot gun. For music, this is all you need.

  • from nashville tn July 27, 2011Music Background:
    songwriter/producer 25 years

    zero latency monitoring!!!

    after a bit of learning curve and re-thinking the concept, i was able to get rid of that latency issue that comes with pt9
    this is a huge deal for some singers and musicians.
    it's more of a "feel" issue -while some can power through it-
    others have a real hard time "getting their song on" with the latency factor.
    therefore...this piece is vital-like everything about it!!!
    not a 5 because i there is a learning curve.

  • from Troy, AL April 30, 2010Music Background:
    Profesional Musican/Recording Engineer

    GREAT BANG FOR THE BUCK

    This is a great audio interface for all non Pro-Tools DAW's. The Pre-Amps are much better and quieter than some more expensive outboard ones that I own. The Saffire Mixer give's you more routing and controle than you can imagine and this thing works great right out of the box. The product was recomended to me by Alan Carter and I've loved it from the minute I got it. Call him today and get this great Interface!

  • from Washington DC October 20, 2009Music Background:
    Composer

    Surprised and impressed!

    Very surprised and impressed by this product so far, considering the price. The only thing I'm not thrilled with is the poor low-latency performance, which is to be expected with a DICE-II based firewire interface like this. However, it's not as bad as I thought it would be. At a reasonable 128-sample or 256-sample latency, this thing performs beautifully, and sounds great. It has also been extremely solid, and I love the loopback driver feature, which allows you to record the output of another app. The no-latency mixer in the driver is also outstanding, and compensates somewhat for the roundtrip latency issue. I'm giving this 4.5 stars just due to the latency, but you should be aware that any DICE-II based interface will exhibit the same or similar performance. Basically, the only recent non DICE-II devices here at Sweetwater (that I know of) are the MOTU and RME devices, so you are pretty much stuck with DICE-II and its latency issues unless you want to spend much more money. For Windows, the best option is probably RME (in my opinion) but if you can live with the latency you will be hard pressed to find something better than the Saffire Pro 40.

  • from Charleston WV January 11, 2009Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Part-time Recording Engineer & Live Sound Engineer,

    Impressed

    I have been using it for about 2 weeks now. The sound quality is great...a big step up from the firepods I have been using. The drivers seem stable on windows xp. I am using it with sonar 8 producer and reaper with zero problems. It can sometimes get strange playing a video file and then opening up sonar a restart always fixes the glitches. Highly recommended. It is the best sounding unit in its class without a doubt.

  • from San Francisco, CA November 12, 2016

    Great equipment, MAKE SURE YOU GET THE RIGHT CARD.

    It's got great features and the MixControl software is literally bug-free. Everything works well IF you are aware that you need to get a very specific FireWire card for your PC.

    Don't end up like me and buy a different card only to find out afterwards that it is not fully compatible. In my case the original card I had gotten was a Rosewill RC-504. It even had the VIA chipset that they recommended in a previous version of the article I linked (they have since taken it down), but despite that, my Saffire was not able to play above 48 kHz.

    I just purchased the StarTech PEX1394B3 card they recommended and can now use the unit at 96 kHz. It was two years before I was able to use it in this capacity.

    I would have given this unit 5 stars if the compatibility information was more readily available on this site.

  • from Paducah, KY November 13, 2015Music Background:
    performing musician/sound engineer

    Holding it down on a budget

    I have found this unit to be super solid. I bought mine back at the start of 2012 when I was looking at a lot of various Firewire/USB interfaces. At the time I was trying to be as cheap as possible and I was convinced to spend a little extra and grab this guy, it's a been a solid investment ever since.

    Upsides: plenty of I/O (especially if you're just starting out), super clean pres, rather versatile pres (hi-z, pads first 2 channels), extensive software/dsp routing
    Downside: pres don't have a lot gain, some sources get an audible hiss from maxing out the pres, NO WORD CLOCK IN!!!! (Focusrite saw the error of their ways with Scarlett 18i|20 and Pro 40 MKII would have a lot of super pissed!!)

    You can get clean, ultra-useable results from this unit especially when primarily using condensers and have plenty to work with. This unit will not breathe new life into your dynamic or ribbon mics but it will convert rather cleanly. A lot of functionality is missed by the lack of a Word Clock input. Don't expect high-end performance from a $500 unit, it won't deliver, but out of the budget oriented this guy is a clear winner.

  • from Santa Cruz, CA December 5, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist recording engineer, musician / singer / songwriter

    Lots of bang for the buck

    All in all a good sounding box, clean enough for home studio and garage work. Pound for pound there are a lot of features, which makes this great for someone wanting the room to expand (IE add live instruments, etc). The SW mix panel is good, and all in all it's pretty noise free. My only complaint (hence the 4 vs 5 stairs) is the connectors in general. Spdif in general is a lousy connector, but this unit I put the cables in once and when I pulled them out to move my studio, *both* metal shields pulled off with the connector. Yes, they were tight, but in looking at the now ripped out metal ground shields it looks like they where held in by the tinest lump of metal and physical pressure only - there isn't even any solder on the connector. This is a product of the part, which focusrite bought, not the design or manufacture of the unit, but this seems overly cheap.

    So all in all, I would recommended this unit. Lots of I/O, it sounds good, it works with protools and cubase (and now I have studio one :), it's a no brainer for anyone with only $500 to spend and must have more than a few channels, but be careful of the physical connections.

  • from Fayetteville, AR July 19, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Pleasantly Surprised

    First a bit of my background for context. I worked as a semi-pro recording engineer for 6 years in my home studio setup and 3 years professionally in a top-end facility. The pro studio was Pro Tools HD based with all the obvious good stuff and my home rig was Pro Tools LE and Cubase through a Digi 002 Rack and various lower-end outboard gear. 6 years ago I got out of the game to pursue a career as a software engineer.

    I recently got the itch to do some hobby recording again and dusted off what little gear I had left. I was a bit bummed to find the Digi 002 hadn't been supported for some time and wasn't playing nice with my newer PC setup so I did some research into a newer audio interface that would meet certain criteria.

    I needed something not too high-priced to fit my budget. I wanted ample inputs for drumset recording. I needed MIDI so I could interface my drum machines and keyboards. It had to be Firewire, as I still had my old Firewire card and wasn't sure I wanted to take a chance on USB's bandwidth from what I had read about it. I also wanted ADAT inputs. This was a big deal. I'd read various accounts online that the analog ins on the 002r may be routed to its ADAT outs by default. Some said only the mixer unit could do this in "standalone" mode, but a few had said they got this to work on the rack unit as well. I was very excited to try this out as it would effectively provide me an extra 8 channels right off, and would breathe new life into an otherwise worthless chunk of outdated gear.

    I did a good deal of research. Most units only met some of my criteria, but the Saffire Pro 40 met all of it. I hadn't used Focusrite much. I think the pro studio had one of their higher-end pres, but I never used it much that I recall. Most reviews were favorable. There were a few 1-stars, but they sounded to me like the typical kind you get from people who just don't know what they are doing or perhaps they may have gotten a bad unit. I decided to take a chance.

    I am so glad I did! What an amazing little unit!

    Build:
    First off the build is good. Sturdy, with smooth pots and I/O jacks that are neither too tight nor too loose (even the MIDI). I'm not a big fan of metering with a small number of LEDs, but the Pro 40 has enough to make the metering actually very useful.

    Sound:
    I've been out of the game a bit, and don't have a treated room, or the other high-end gear, to make a fair assessment of the quality of the pres and converters on this unit. Suffice to say that a modest comparison with the Digi left me with the impression that the Pro 40's pres were a bit crisper and clearer than the Digi's murky pres. The pres are no API or Neve, but at this price point they are completely usable and the converters have no apparent artifacts.

    Software:
    The mix control software has a bit of a learning curve, but nothing too extreme. There are plenty of tutorials online, and I had my inputs routing to the outputs into some outboard gear and then back into my DAW in no time. I like the separate outputs on the Pro 40 for this and is another reason I chose it. Routing fexibility is important, and the Pro 40 has an abundance of it. Cubase has similar routing capability internally, but I always found it frustrating. I like the idea of having a zero-latency routing system that is pre-DAW, and I realize I have only scratched the surface of what the Pro 40 routing software is capable of. A very nice feature!

    I was perhaps most impressed with the latency. with my old Digi 002r on an XP single-core, I was happy to get around 30 ms delay. I was completely blown away when I set the Pro 40 to its lowest buffer setting and saw that I was getting 1 ms delay with absolutely no glitches. Unbelievable. This is with 8 inputs and several plugins and VST instruments all running simultaneously. I have more testing to do to see where my limits are, but for tracking this thing is amazing. Albeit this is on a Windows 8 PC with an i7 quad core, but I come from the early days of computer recording where latency was always the primary concern. Now I see that is no longer the case!

    As an aside, I was pleasantly surprised that the unit came with a bundle of plugins. First impression is that they are of decent quality and can see myself using them in my mixes. Given that most of my money was originally invested in Pro Tools plugins that I can no longer use, it's nice to have something other than the stock Cubase plugins available.

    And now for the big surprise. I would have been happy with just the Pro 40 and all it offers. But I really hated to see that overpriced 002r go to waste after all I sunk into it. But let it be definitively known right here that the 002r does indeed default its analog ins to its ADAT outs and can be used as a standalone external set of mic pres with an ADAT capable unit like the Pro 40! You have set your Pro 40 to clock to the 002r's ADAT outs at 44.1 khz, and though I can't speak to the quality of the 002r's clock, from what I can hear it sounds great.

    For me this was the icing on the cake. It made the purchase of an already amazing piece of gear even sweeter. I won't be busting out any top 40 hits with this setup, but I was never interested in that anyway. But for a rock-solid hobby recording setup, I now have all I need without the numerous quirks and deficiencies I experienced in the past. I can focus on what actually matters and not get side-tracked troubleshooting various issues or solving frustrating technical limitations.

    If you need a hooby or demo level audio interface with all the features you'd find on higher end stuff, without the headaches, the Saffire Pro 40 is the way to go.

    Oh, and you can never go wrong with Sweetwater. ;)

  • from PA October 19, 2013Music Background:
    Home Recording

    Excellent value

    Purchased this unit as a replacement to my MOTU 2408mkI.
    At first, the provided drivers did not work with my Creation Station. After contacting Focusrite support and receiving newer drivers, the unit works perfectly. Latency is @ 5ms running several plugins and virtual synths and rewired Reason. Monitoring is fabulously good. Two headphones out and built in preamp makes this a tough unit to pass up for the money. The pre amps sound clean and no noise. However they add nothing to the sound. So if your looking to color up your input, use another preamp in the chain or use a plugin. 8 analog inputs, 8 adat inputs , plus midi..forgetaboutit! It is a great tool for the cost. Very good sound , no worries in trying it out, just get one and try it out.

  • from NY, NY August 21, 2012Music Background:
    musician, writer producer

    Focusrite Saffire Pro 40

    I was looking at a few interfaces and spoke with Ted @ Sweetwater. He steered me to a short list including this. I got it, He was right, I'm happy! Thanks Ted & Sweetwater!

  • from Chicago Burbs, IL USA August 4, 2012Music Background:
    Bordering between hobbyist and pro musician...

    Absolutely Solid Performer

    I've had this unit for a number of years now. Although it took a little while to get there, Focusrite finally put out some updated drivers to work with Win7(64) (you no longer need to use the legacy firewire driver) which definitely reduced my latency, although it never caused a problem prior to that. The I/O options have given me a lot of flexibility to route my output signal to different setups (I have the monitor outs going to my main monitors and have the optical going to a receiver so I can hear my work on a normal stereo setup with out any elaborate switching systems). I normally record at 24 bit/48 khz, but have used 96 khz with no issue using all 8 analog inputs at once. The only drawback is that it wasn't future proofed with Firewire 800 for even lower latency if maxed out. The other thing that bugs me a little, but I've learned to compensate for, is the metering on the front. They really don't translate well to my DAW, and seem to have more headroom than what the software says... which could just be my own misunderstanding of what they are supposed to be telling me (I know it came with a manual, but I never felt a need to open it up if that's important to you).

    I honestly don't have a lot to compare it to for pristine sound quality (M-Audio 2496 and M-Audio 1010LT, both of which did their job well I thought) but the pres feel transparent, and I really like having an outboard interface instead of a having to plug everything into the back of my computer!

  • from Wichita, KS April 18, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great gear

    I was looking for versatility and got it with the Saffire Pro 40. Easy to hook up and use.

  • from Nashville, TN March 21, 2012Music Background:
    Independent Recording Engineer

    Great sounding mic pre's! Great value!

    Overall I am really impressed with the clarity of the focusrite pre's. They are super quiet regardless of the level that you have them at. Wether they are all the way down or wide open you won't have to worry about any noise induced by the pre. The included mix control software is super usefull and allows you to easily set up and save 2 independent cue mixes. The only feature that I wish the hardware had is pads on every channel. The two pads are nice but you must be careful if you are recording drums because of the fact that you can only pad 2 mic inputs. Other than that, they are GREAT sounding pre's that are super clear sounding.

  • from Atlanta, GA December 1, 2011Music Background:
    Audio Engineer - Minister Of Music - Keyboardist

    Only A Dummy...

    Only a dummy would pass up this great piece... I'm no novice, but I'm not a Tekkie, either... This wonderful piece worked perfectly right out of the box... The software was MUCH more than I expected, and it all links up with my Protools rig. I'm sure it does even more than I know about, at this point. Can't wait for time to 'play' some more with this latest 'toy'.... Many thanks to my awesome Sales Rep, Ryan Z... He's certainly my 'Go-To-Guy"! Love the Saffire Pro 40 and Sweetwater.... Why ever go anywhere else?

  • from February 23, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Producer, Musician

    Audio Good. MIDI Bad

    Audio is Great. but MIDI ports are not that great, especially MIDI OUT. When Sending MIDI data from Computer to ext. MIDI devices thru Saffire PRO40 MIDI Out, notes "stick" or keep on hanging without stopping about every 1.5 minutes.

  • from Boston/Philadelphia November 7, 2012Music Background:
    Live and Recording engineer, Berklee

    Great starter for engineers

    This is a really great and reliable piece of gear. You can get a Semi professional sound for really cheap. Keep in mind, this is an entry level interface so when compared to a Grace, the low end sounds a little cloudy on this Pro40.

    I would recommend this is you are starting off but the next upgrade should be to by external pre's if your not trying to spend a lot of money yet on other Higher quality interfaces, pre's, or converters.

  • from Detroit, MI July 14, 2012Music Background:
    Church Drummer

    Great Home Studio Piece

    The Saffire Pro 40 Has a very flexible I/O Structure for Home studio work, including a nice program for routing and monitoring. Mic Pre's sound fine, no complaints in that department.
    The greatest deficiency I found was in its outputs. The balanced outputs had random and intermittent hum when operating in a live environment with professional gear. Other units I have operated with did not have these issues.

  • from Minneapols, MN USA February 28, 2011Music Background:
    Audio Engineer, Mastering Engineer, Music Producer

    Great Piece for the price

    I recently purchased this interface for my home studio. It's a pretty solid unit, and the Pre's sound great. However if your rig is moible or you're like me where your workhorse computer is a laptop and you are frequently having to unplug and plug it in this piece is quite an inconvenience because you CAN NOT HOT SWAP. Apparently the unit can damage your computer or vise versa if you unplug or plug it in while the computer is on. so it is required that you shut down your computer every time you connect or disconnect the interface. at first i didn't think this would be that big of a deal, but it has turned out to be a major annoyance because i usually have a whole lot going on at one time on my laptop and i hate having to close everything and shut my computer off just to disconnect my laptop to go into the next room with it. also where the chassis feels solid, the knobs and button's feel a bit to cheap and "plasticy". i feel like i could break the knobs if i turn them to hard. also the Saffire Mix Control software used in conjunction with this device is rather confusing to use. Overall i am happy with the purchase because the sound quality is phenomenal and it has more in's and outs than i need at the moment however i do wish it was hot swappable and the build was a bit better.
    3.5 in my book

  • from Bethel, OH August 25, 2016

    Dropping in price fast

    Nothing special about this unit. After 8 months began getting some distortion while recording. Hear it through the head phones and speakers but not in the actual recording itself. Still trying to work the bugs out with tech support but so far have had to tell 4 different people the entire story because each one didn't have it right. Bought this unit to record drums but that never worked out either

    Personally I prefer my firepods. All inputs on the front and they just flat keep on working.

  • from May 31, 2011

    Latency and crashing.

    For the price this unit has a great feature set.

    However, I like to use a lot of outboard gear, and it has significantly more latency than other units I've tried. On my first install It also crashed a good deal, but this time around it has been better. I got it because it was cheap, and I sort of regret it.

  • from May 28, 2014Music Background:
    Drummer, MIDI mallets, project engineer, recording drummer.

    Guess I'm the voice of contrast

    I have found this interface very frustrating from day one. The pots are useless below '3' as the signal is too low to be usable. It gets quirky with the computer (iMac 24" 10.67 4GB RAM). Sometimes it shows up as a valid audio driver and then every once in a while it won't. Sometimes it will cut out while mixing and the computer stops recognizing it. I check for system errors and the problems is at the box. Now the output is completely shot.
    The included Mix Control software while not intuitive, is awsome for creating headphone mixes.

  • from Bethesda, MD October 14, 2013Music Background:
    Professional Musician, Mid Level-to-Advanced Home Studio

    Does the job... kinda

    I know I'm in the minority here, I gave this one and a half stars because it really only barely gets the job done. I've had and used this interface for around 3 years now, I came from using Edirol interfaces a decade ago, then to PreSonus when they were the only non-Pro Tools Firewire game in town, then to this when my FireStudio Tube finally died. The digital I/O options on the Saffire is a great feature to have, but the built in pre's have absolutely NO headroom and are nearly useless, according to the LED meters you're clipping long before you have a decent signal level, and the sound is fairly uninspiring. The best I can say is that it DOES get audio into your computer, after that it leaves much to be desired. The Saffire MixControl software is a little bulky, but once you get the hang of it, it's useable. Against comparable price range products, I'd definitely go with something like the PreSonus Firestudio or look into the Mackie Onyx Blackbird, the former of which I've used and has much better headroom but no ADAT I/O which is less of an issue in an entry level interface. All in all, I wish I'd kept looking, or waited to save to come up to the next price level.

  • from Virginia October 22, 2016Music Background:
    Semi-Professional

    Bad Firewire Chip

    I purchased one of these device in 2015. Six months later my computer stopped recognizing it. It had to be sent in for service to replace the Firewire I/F chip in the device. After a few months, the repaired device failed again for the same reason. The device was one past its warranty but Focusrite replaced with a new one. I had the new one for only about 3 months before having the same problem. I believe there is a serious design flaw in the device or the brand of Firewire chipset used has major problems a high failure rate. I am very disappointed with the device.

  • from USA August 27, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist, Vocalist, Audio Engineer

    Focusrite Saffire Pro 40

    I purchased this interface due to driver/os issues with my 003. I needed 8 channels of adat for my babyface (no BNC wc output). After researching I ran with Focusrite due to their companies prestige; however, I have had no luck even getting the interface to work. Apparently, it only works with an extremely limited firewire chipset (i.e. via and ti). Even after installing a new fw pcie card supposedly supported, as listed on focusrites page, I still do not have connectivity (ironically, my 003 works with the new card though). Ergo, this review does not speak to the quality of the units' ad/da, pres etc. I find it most displeasing that there are still so many connectivity issues from companies as "professional" as focusrite. I would recommend very extensive research if you wish to purchase this interface for anything other than a new gen mac. It may sound great - but I can not say.

  • from April 11, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Not So Good After All

    If your looking to buy use this with external mic pre's it will not bypass the signal I found this out after reading many threads on why I wasn't getting proper signal into my daw. You have to increase the gain around 4-5 db on the interface to even get it up to line level so their isn't any point in using high quality mic pre's with this. To me the mic pre's on this thing sound like garbage compared to API, Avalon, or Rupert Neve pre's so all in all If you have outboard gear don't buy this piece of junk....

Questions about the Focusrite Saffire Pro 40?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway