0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Happening Now

Focusrite Saffire PRO 24 Reviews

4.0 stars based on 24 customer reviews
  • brian butcher
    from Colorado July 19, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbiest, and recording engineer

    Saffire Pro 24

    I love the tone quality through my Rokit speaker system. There is no audible hum or crackling when adjusting the levels. The console view software is intuitive to use once you learn the lingo. The high speed firewire 800 connection provides very low latency which allows me to sync my Machine in realtime with my other synthesizers for live performances. The mic inputs provide loud clear vocals great for karaoke. I used the optic input to run my xbox and Tv sound through for great sound watching movies or playing games. Great little box!!

  • Allister Bradley
    from April 25, 2013Music Background:
    Songwriter/Producer/Engineer

    Incredible Design and Construction

    I'm running a pair of these in a dual-unit configuration for my 24-input DAW setup, exercising all of the great features built-in: ADAT inputs (clocked by my OctoPre LE via ADAT), DSP on the mic pres, low-latency monitoring, separate headphone mixes for the studio artists, and I can't be happier! This model is so well-designed, and built like a tank. Excellent for mobile recording, and able to run in dual-mode to double the inputs and outputs.

    Oh, and did I mention, it sounds terrific!

  • Sean "Ashes" Williams
    from Wabash, Indiana February 10, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician/Remix Artist/Producer

    AMAZING for the price!

    This interface is a must for bands and solo peeps trying to get decent signal strength for the price. Ever since I have owned one... it has become a major part of my signal chain in my studio. The MixControl software is AWESOME for PRO level mixes/ A&B'ing mixes/master's. Bundled Ableton Live Lite 8 software gets the job done. I would recommend to the enthusiast's to Pro's out there.

  • Barry Miller
    from Gainesville, Florida May 10, 2012Music Background:
    Musician for 40 years and working on the engineering side in the television industry developing automation software

    Doesn't Get Any Easier ...

    As I start to move away from using Avid hardware with Pro Tools (version 9.06), I decided to grab one of the less expensive Focusrite interfaces to play with before spending more money on a higher end product. I've been using Pro Tools for several years and in the past I've had to build PCs with specific chip sets to be able to use the more ancient versions of PT. Given what a pain it was to get things working perfectly, I was totally blown away by how easy it was to install this new hardware and get it working. Literally, I installed the drivers, rebooted the PC and connected the new box and it worked without any further tweaking. And so far, the audio quality seems to be vastly superior to the old DIGI hardware. I would still like to upgrade to a 192 kHz capable device, but for $300, this is unbelievable!

  • Rodrigo Moraes
    from United States April 19, 2012

    Just great!!!

    just amazing, the sound quality and the possibilities are incredible!!

  • Ehrin
    from Virginia Beach February 14, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/Musician

    This unit saved my butt

    I got this unit exclusively to use as an interface to use live with my e-drums to run VSTs. I honestly picked it because it had 6 outputs and was pretty cheap. This unit serves my every need when it comes to outputing multiple signals for the FOH engineer to have control over my kit. (Typically mono kick, snare, hats, stereo OH/Toms, and a mono click track for my in-ears) I had used the preamps a couple of times for some demo recordings but never really cared to really listen to them until a fatefull day... I was tracking vocals in a studio with a client who was paying way more than I am worth when Pro Tools/HD had one of it's many fatal errors. Lucky for me I had my laptop, this interface, and the record drive. I yanked evertyhing out of the HD interface and patched it through this. I pulled up the session on my non-HD version of PT and continued to work. When we went to mix evertyhing down, the tracks recorded through this were every bit as clean as the ones done with the HD interface. The client was happy, the producer was happy, and everything was right with the world. The studio owner was so happy, he bought two of the Saffire PRO 40s to use in our mobile recording rig.

  • Steven "KIKA-BOO" Reed
    from Southside, VA November 9, 2011Music Background:
    2 Year Berklee alumni; Music Producer

    Mastering Sonic Characteristics!!!

    The Moment I plugged my Yamaha Motif ES 6 and recorded it via Logic 8 Pro. I was immediately blown away the sonic characteristics of this interface! I also love the FireWire bus power and the fact that I can play my instruments through the interface like a mini mixer without turning the computer on! The converters produce little to no jitters as well... I'm very pleased!!!!

  • Eric
    from FLA May 31, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician & Live Sound Engineer

    Great Firewire audio interface

    Low on funds, Pick this bad boy up. Comes with effects, cheap price and great sound. Works great does what I need. Plug and Play for the most part.

  • Victor
    from Kalamazoo, MI February 26, 2011Music Background:
    Composer, Singer, Guitarist

    Outstanding interface (Window 7 x64)

    I just received this unit the other day and I was amazed at how easy it was to get it setup and started. Within 30 minutes, I downloaded the latest drivers and had my DAW and Finale 2011 up and running without a hick up. I have heard so many complaints about the Windows 7 x64 drivers, but honestly, I don't know what the fuss is. They work, and they are solid. The only thing I can say to that is that I build my own computers and perhaps some of the "off the shelf" computers have unknown incompatibilities. That is why its generally best to buy your computer from experts in DAW computers, like Sweetwater if you don't do it yourself.

    I just traded up from the E-MU 1212M. While the sound on the E-MU is excellent, it isn't as warm and detailed as the Focusrite. I find it to be very musical and rich without losing attention to nuance and detail, whereas the E-MU sounded a little sterile sometimes.

    The pres are very nice and offer a ton of headroom. I haven't done too much with them yet, but so far I am very impressed. They offer a nice warm, detailed sound and bring out so much character from my flamenco and acoustic guitars.

    Overall, I am supremely happy with this interface and believe this is the beginning of a bright future with Focusrite.

  • Steve Taylor
    from Central Florida December 12, 2010Music Background:
    Musician / Producer

    It's All Good

    I'm a skeptic. I've tried a few different interfaces - some cheap, some not so cheap... Honestly, for the money, this is the best. For a do-it-yourself home studio setup, it's great. The preamps are super clean, uncolored, and have plenty of headroom. The included software isn't great, but hey what do you really want? Save the money with this and buy some plugins you want. I would buy it again if I had to do it over. If you are looking at interfaces in this price range, this is the one. Seriously...

  • Casey
    from Brooklyn June 18, 2015Music Background:
    performer for 20 years, producer for 10

    Great value, surprisingly good preamp/DI sound

    I mostly got this for an updated interface that would hook my ADAT preamps up and work with Mac OS 10.10. I was not expecting the onboard preamps to sound as good as they do - particularly for a bass DI I've been very impressed with the extra bit of "zing" I'm getting. Headphone output also sounds very good. MixControl software is very powerful - if anything maybe a little too deep for me! But it has performed well so far. Also, the added value of the RED plugins is great. I have used the EQ on several occasions since getting it and I love the sound for individual instruments as well as mastering. The only thing that keeps me from giving it a perfect score is that I would love a few more sync options on the back (maybe adat in or BNC). Still, it's been rock solid so far, way less glitchy than my previous box. I don't think you can beat this interface for the price!

  • Saw Jack
    from Bowling Green, KY February 18, 2015Music Background:
    student

    Nice & excellent

    Fast & free delivery. It sound great and it completed my ears when I mixed my song. Professional and nice people. Thank you Sweetwater.

  • W. Tracy Parnell
    from USA September 27, 2009Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Quality Unit

    I went out on a limb and bought the Focusrite Saffire PRO24 which is a new product but so far all is good. This box is really built well-the knobs feel very sturdy on this metal unit. I also like that the knobs are numbered so you have some frame of reference. The sound quality is excellent and the preamps are very good-no noise unless you get above 8 on the gain knob. Perhaps most importantly-no driver issues with Vista 32 bit. The software bundle is ok; I don’t use Ableton but have used some of the included loops. Sweetwater has great service-they call after a few days to see if you are happy which is great. Great product from a great company!

  • Joe R
    from NJ August 28, 2015Music Background:
    Professional musician - Project Studio

    Big bang for the buck

    Bought a UA 4-710d and needed an interface capable of handling 8 channels of ADAT input via optical input.
    Did my online research and was amazed to discover this little package handles that and alot more. Did more research and learned A/D is in same ball park with my MBox Pro so... farewell Mbox - and good riddance. (see below) Switching over was painless - naming and routing ins / outs for ProTools was a breeze - same for getting the hang of driver mix windows. (I've only scratched the surface though - lot's of functionality I haven't explored yet.) Plugin bundle is a bit underwhelming but definitely usable. Very happy.
    Was also very happy with my Mbox Pro interface... for about a week. Then Avid posts a firmware update that fried the internal DSP. Shortly afterwards they post a warning you'd never notice unless you're looking for it. Would you trust a company that kills its own products? Me neither.

  • Frank
    from Long Beach, CA USA June 20, 2014

    Awesome

    Love the sound that comes out of this box and super quick to get hooked up

  • Tom Rondello
    from West Paterson NJ January 16, 2013Music Background:
    composer,guitarist,arranger etc.

    Quality product.

    Solid,well built machine.Software loaded and was recognized instantly by Sonar.The sound you put in is what you hear in your DAW. One caveat: the Scarlett suite of Focusrite plugins is impossible to locate after loading from the software disc and are being wasted. Contacted Focusrite and they were no help,although they tried. I have other plugins but wanted to compare the two groups.

  • Customer
    from Tuscaloosa, AL April 22, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer & Musician

    Very nice Interface!!! great preamps!!!

    For starters this thing has a metal casing & is built very solid. The preamps are great no color added. There are 2 additional line ins as well as 6 outputs & adat to add 8 more preamps. I have used various interfaces but imho the saffire pro 24 is the best value out there. There is no compromise with this unit. Most interfaces fall short of the quality & performance of this unit. This is a Great buy!!!!

  • James Dunlap
    from Montgomery, AL (USA) August 2, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Producer, Composer & Musician

    Great interface for the price

    Clear and clean interface at an affordable price.

    I run at 24bit/96kHz resolution. However, there is some study required to understand the Saffire Mix Control.

    I run from a MacBook Pro which has one (1) 800 FW port. I use a Sonnet 800/400 adapter to go into my Glyph Drive at 400 FW and the Belkin 800/400 cable out of the Glyph 800 FW into the 400 FW port on the FS Pro 24. This works great and your running at 400 FW speed which is up to professional standards.

    If you use Firewire, then run downstream from your Hard Drive. The USB works fine also, but not as consistent as the Firewire.

  • Raju Guru
    from Kirkland,WA July 21, 2010Music Background:
    Rock, Electronic

    64 Vista driver works

    I bought it mainly to replace my aging Presonus Firebox which crackled once in a while on my Vista 64 machine. So far Saffire has not done a single crackle, so I'm happy.
    Preamps infront is pristine, haven't checked all other INs/OUT,maybe in the future. Since it is new, I'd assume they all work.
    I wish Focusrite put some more youtube tutorial on how to get the most out of the MixControl. It's bit confusing.

  • Chris Frankie
    from New York May 20, 2014Music Background:
    Producer, Recording Engineer, DJ

    Not a good investment if you are using a MacBook Pro

    The product itself is fine, but the firewire Sonnet connector recommended by Focusrite for the Saffire pro 24 into the Macbook Pro firewire slot is absolute rubbish, it falls out even with the slightest movement. I do not recommend this sound card for anyone running a live show off their Macbook Pro or even just in the studio because it is so lose it falls out, extremely poor design and not worth the investment.

  • Pedro Boschi
    from United States July 26, 2013Music Background:
    guitar/percussion/composer/arranger

    I expected more

    I think some of the features like the headphone controllers could be improved.

  • Andrew
    from California February 19, 2016Music Background:
    Songwriter, Engineer, Artist

    Okay for just MIDI/ANALOG synth audio/Decent for vocals/guitar.

    This is an average interface, nothing wonderful about it. I use it to send 1/4 out from my synth, I also use the MIDI cables from the synth into the PRO 24, and it works great. The mic pres are just okay. I have owned the scarlett ( way worse preamps/less gain range in this 2 channel range, the more expensive scarletts have better gain range/the claretts too) I have owned the firestudio 8 channel from presonus, I also owned the 16 channe; presonus mixing board/interface. I recently got a ULN-2 Metric halo with jensens/DSP and it destroys the other interfaces/has finally given me the power to have the mixes/amazing control over audio that I have always wanted. The fidelity of the preamps/latency/converters are amazing. Only thing is it has no midi port, so I use the saffire just for that these days. Although many software synths could replace my synth, I love the character of it ( korg radias) If you want a main studio interface and have money, don't mess around with anything under 2 grand. ULN and RME make great stuff. However ULN is best for macs/has the best integrated mixer. The DSP is amazing in the metric halo. I wish I didn't waste my time on the presonus stuff ( both units broke down and had to be fixed within a year or less) Preamp channel on one went out on the mixer within a year or less. The firestudio always clicked popped/had to get repaired) The preamp quality with those cheap interfaces and a decent mic pre ( ISA 2, JOE MEEK) makes it tolerable. But holy crap I dont need any preamps when using my metric halo uln2 and my axe fx 2 xl plus ( i record AES) I wasted about 1500 on the presonus crap. Focusrite is definitely better than presonus crap. But I would go higher end for your main interface if you are like me and just mainly record guitar/vocals/bass/synth. I use superior drummer. I didn't know my mixes and sound could be so great with the ULN 2. If you think you can get good results with the focusrite/presonus/lower end gear good for you, but if you have tone OCD like me and want the best results you need to drop 2 grand or more on your interface. However it will save you money on needing a huge mic preamp. This only applies to people who don't need to record drums. This is basically good for me as a midi interface, but with everything else it is just average. But if you are just getting into the market/dont have money this is a good choice.

  • Rob
    from Oakland, CA January 4, 2016Music Background:
    20+ years of semi-pro production and performance

    Problems with main outs

    I think Focusrite has got the right idea, and this was a great little device that did everything I needed.... until output 1 (aka main left) died on me, about 6 months after purchase. I sent it into Sweetwater repairs and they sent me a replacement unit. Or at least they said it was a replacement, but I'm not so sure cause a month or so later output 1 started acting funny again, putting out a significantly lower signal than output 2. Both times I ran tons of A/B tests to rule out variations from my DAW, software settings on the unit, cables, mixer, etc, and both times the only difference between a good and bad signal came down to the physical output 1. So either this device has a manufacturing flaw, or Sweetwater lied to me about replacing the unit, or I'm an idiot. Anyway I finally gave up on it and bought a Zoom TAC-8 instead.

  • Customer
    from July 13, 2015

    Completely unreliable

    I'm using w/ PT 11. Every time I turn this thing on it is a crapshoot if its going to work or not. 3 days ago, no problem. 2 days ago everything looked right but I got no audio out thru headphones, and it was not receiving signal from mics. Yesterday, no problems. Today, same as 2 days ago. Called Sweetwater tech support, they helped get it going again. Recorded a track, thru mic, into ch 2. No problem. Plugged in a mic to ch 1. Stopped working. Same as 2 days ago. Looks right, i see meters in PT and Saffire mix control moving with the recorded audio but i can't hear anything. I've turned everything on and off, restarted computer, nothing. Beyond frustrating.

Questions about the Focusrite Saffire PRO 24?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close