0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Focusrite Saffire 6 USB Reviews

4.5 stars based on 16 customer reviews
  • from Austin, TX November 21, 2012Music Background:
    Indie Home Engineer and Musician

    Get it!

    For the price, this is unit to get. Simple setup, solid drivers, and road-worthy build. Then there is the operation; the features - particularly the input and playback mix, the monitor control and the various outputs...this little unit packs value into a solid and trustworthy box.

  • from STAFFORD VA. October 15, 2012Music Background:
    SIMI PRO DIGITAL ORGAN WON YAMAHA ORGAN FESTAVAL

    WHY NO PRODUCT LIKE THIS BEFORE

    LOTS OF GEAR IN ONE BOX CAN NOT GET BETTER

  • from United States March 3, 2012Music Background:
    Live sound engineer, DJ

    Focusrite 6

    This little unit does just what I need it to do. Easy to operate. If there was anything that could be improved it would be to add a EQ program with it.

  • from Boise, Idaho March 12, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Electronic Musician, Former Recording Engineer

    Best interface in it's class

    I bought this after buying an Avid MBox Mini. The Saffire 6 blew away the MBox with respects to latency and buffer underrun issues. I play softsynths live and needed something that could keep up with Native Instruments' Massive and other synths. With the MBox I got artifacts (pops and clicks) when playing with Massive. The Safffire seems to handle Massive with no problems, even on CPU intensive patches.

    I'm running Windows 7 64 bit on a Core i5 laptop with Reaper (64 bit) as my DAW. I've experienced no problems with drivers.

    The construction is solid, the knobs don't feel cheap, and it's heavier than it looks although it's not heavy by any means. That's good, it means it won't fall off the table easily. The balanced outputs have only a small amount of noise when my monitors are cranked (which I wouldn't recommend playback at those levels).

  • from Mountain View, CA March 9, 2011Music Background:
    Rock Star ; ^)

    Ummm WOW!

    This review is based of a comparison between the Focusrite and my EMU 0404 USB. I bought the EMU b/c there are just so many 5 star reviews around the web from people who sound like the know what they are talking about. All the available performance data make that thing seem like the best bang for the buck. I have tried all my mics into the Focusrite and I am flabbergasted. I mean flabbergasted! My Vocals, guitars, and even my various collections of oddball stringed instruments have taken on a new life. Even my headphones seem cleaner and more detailed through this. Last week if I had read this review, I wouldn't have believed it. Bottom line, the preamps sound great. If that ain't rite, why go on? My best mic has taken a clear in performance. It used to sound a lot like my cheaper mics, but now, it's clearly a stand out.

    I am flat overjoyed with this device. I actually haven't been able to make a final vocal cut b/c it just makes me smile and even laugh while I'm tracking it. It may take me a few weeks to really come to grips with the sound I'm capable of making now. Who would have thought?

  • from All City Florida September 3, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Focusrite Saffire USB

    First of all I would like to thank the sweetwater staff including the sales rep for my area steven chamoun. Steve was honest and answered all questions and concerns I had as far as finding and audio interface in my price range and that fit my needs to complete my project. As far as the saffire six is concerned it is a solid interface (construction wise & casing). The sound in comparison to the audio interface I replaced is extremly good, the mic pre's are good and better than what I had in the past (nothing). My recordings sound better as far as the mic and the quality of audio. Im Very happy with this purchase and plan to use this saffire six until I grow out of it but for now it serves its purpose. For anyone worring about it being USB 1.1 Dont worry cuase it works. For any upstart musician, rapper, guitartis, or vocalist, wanting to record with a an excellent audio interface this is it. In Its price range there are others out there to choose from,but this is what I rolled with. It was either this or the tc electronic and I chose this one cuase of the sale price & the fact that I did not need all that the tc elctronic desktop konnect 6 offers, and I know that also to is a good audio interface for the price. Extremely happy with the purchase, and plan to do futeure business with sweetwater, once again they were very helpful and willing to solve and answer questions. One thing of advice their is always someone who is going to say something negative about a product, but what you have to do is extensive research to buy what matches your needs, and dont be starngled hold by what the industry deems as as standard or what sounds good, there are more than one way to reach your goal.
    Peace
    B Gonzalez

  • from Klamath Falls Oregon United States September 27, 2012Music Background:
    Many years in bands and recording since early 80"s as a hobby

    Focusrite Saffire 6 USB for mobile and Laptop

    Needed a self powered interface for laptop use and for use on the road. I spend 4-6 months away from home for the winter. Needed portable and USB powered for ease of use. The Saffire is just what I needed to record on the road. Good sounding preamps for microphones and easy to use. I would recommend to anyone to get this for getting very good sounding recordings at home or the road. I give it 4.5 out of 5

  • from CT, USA August 2, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Hobbyist, Ex-Live Sound Engineer, Berklee Graduate

    Great product for the price

    I'm a professional musician but not a professional engineer. I bought this product because I wanted two channels for stereo micing my acoustic guitar at home and then adding vocals on top of that later, all for higher quality demos that I'm not embarrassed to show people. And I don't have a huge budget for a home studio. This preamp certainly fits the bill. While it's obviously not "pro" quality with absolutely pristine sound like a $1,000 preamp, it's more than clean enough for high quality demos when coupled with a mid-range quality microphone or two. And in this price range, I would never expect more than that, especially for a two-channel preamp. I'm willing to bet 90% of the home recording hobbyists out there couldn't hear the difference between this and something three times the price in a mix. A well-trained engineer's ears certainly could, but not your average person looking to put together a little home studio for personal use, and that's more than good enough for me and my current needs. Changes are, there are enough other variables affecting your tone (room, mic, instrument, etc) that if you're a home enthusiast getting started, your budget will be better spent upgrading those than buying something beyond this Sapphire for a preamp.

  • from Florida June 11, 2012Music Background:
    Upcoming Music producer & engineer

    GREAT!!!

    at first i thought that this product wouldnt be of much help, but i was clearly wrong. it did the job perfectly. The focusrite lets you hear smooth & crisp sound while listening/making your music

  • from Bethlehem, PA May 17, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great for quick recording

    I purchased this item so I didn't have to move my protools rig around when I just wanted to throw down some ideas. Works great with Protools 9 and has all the inputs I need for putting demoing. This would be a great piece of equipment for those who are just starting to record as well because of all the features it has and the price is competitive.

  • from Saint Louis March 26, 2012Music Background:
    all of it.. at one time or another

    Saffire 6 USB

    fantastic interface, simple to use,built,tuff. Very accurate and great sounding preamps. was basicly plug and play with D.A.W.S.Only reason it did not get 5 stars is that I had to hunt for the manual on the disk. But there are great online tutorials for first time users.

    Sweetwater had fantastic service one phone call to let me know it shipped and one to check on the product. Thumbs up for making me feel like I counted as a customer!!!

  • from Revere MA May 24, 2011Music Background:
    Composer

    Pro Usb audio interface

    This audio interface has great AD converters that can assure purity of the sound and transparence.The preamp is good and can give nice saturation close to tape analog one.The price is $ 200 but the sound quality cost about $ 700 audio interface like RME baby Interface.I have 10 years experience in Home Recording and I recommend this audio interface for pros and beginners.

  • from San Antonio, TX November 29, 2010Music Background:
    Producer, DJ, Engineer, IT Professional

    Great Audio Device

    Audio quality is great! Quick and easy install, up and running within 5 minutes after taking it out of the box. Bus powered USB makes it very convenient.

  • from Jackson, Georgia October 2, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Focusrite Saffire 6 USB

    Works great. Have had no audio problems with it. Would recommend it.

  • from Bend, oregon August 11, 2010Music Background:
    Singer/ songwriter Musician for 43 years. home recording sence late 80's

    Dose Not work with XP.But it dose with win 7 64bit

    In my own words. Bought this as i was sick of line 6 pod farm and pod farm 2 not working wth sonar 8,5.3 . when I would record a part the pluging worked, i would come back to the song and the pod farm did not work,it sounded like there was no plug in so. bought it to replace my Line 6 UX2. Tried to get it to work with winxp but it wold not see it as a sound card. So i boiught win 7, 64 bit now it sounds and works great. i am going to record today and check out the fouusrite mic pres.

  • from May 19, 2012

    Meh

    I've been using this for a couple of years now and have found it to be noisy and unbalanced. Getting the inputs even is nearly impossible while recording in stereo and if turned all the way up, to try and get them even, the noise is even more apparent. The amount of inputs is nice, as are the controls, but I'd spring for something else within this price range if I were to do it over.

Questions about the Focusrite Saffire 6 USB?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway