0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 5

Ampeg SVT-CL 300-Watt Tube Bass Head Reviews

5.0 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the Ampeg SVT-CL 300-Watt Tube Bass Head?

Questions about the Ampeg SVT-CL 300-Watt Tube Bass Head?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Nate Edwards

    I searched for my bass tone for a long time, and when I happened upon this amp, I stopped looking. Any bass I plug into the SVT-CL gets bigger, girthier, more thunderous, and when you push the preamp hard you get that irreplaceable SVT growl. Awesome for rock, R&B, funk, blues, just about anything. And if you own any synthesizers and want to give them more power in your mix, run them through an Ampeg stack - you will never be disappointed.

  • from Jacksonville FL February 15, 2017Music Background:
    Appalachian Death Trap

    Bass Monster

    This amp is absolutely amazing. The control you have over your tone with it is unbelievable. I went from a Ampeg 350 SS which I also love and have played since 99 but it is very limited. The classic really cuts through the mix.

  • from November 3, 2016

    Ampeg SVT CL 300 head and Cab

    Just purchased one...SVT 300 head and 8X10 cabinet. Unbeleivable tone and puch...after all these years I finally have the sound I have been chasing, with my Jazz bass.

  • from AZ August 20, 2016

    It just owns!

    It really is the epic tone!

  • from Midwest September 16, 2015Music Background:
    Professional touring musician

    Reliable and consistent thunder

    I play professionally and tour with a country artist 200 plus shows a year, and can pick any gear I would like. I tour with this very head and 810 cab because of its reliability night after night and the sound it produces. I can't afford to deal with amp issues, and in the five years I've ran the same head, I've NEVER had a single issue with it. The mid switch lets me quickly dial in the sound I want going from different basses, and there isn't anything that fills out an outdoor stage like the svt can. I love the pre amp section of this amp; keep the pre low and dime the post and you have a great full clean sound with oodles of head room, but with a full tube sound supporting it. Crank the pre for grit, and you will understand why this is a industry standard. This is not a one trick pony, it's very versatile, I can dial in a sound anywhere from a clean country sound to the crunchy Godsmack crunch (with a Spector) in a matter of seconds. I play five string basses exclusively, and the amp takes it all in stride. This amp will not need to be re tubed unless you are looking for a different sound. I've ran the factory set of tubes for over four years, only switching out when looking for a different sound. Get a good road case and this amp will last forever. Yes it's heavy, but it will last when all of the fancy boutique amps fail. One night shows are brutal on equipment. This amp has passed the test of time. It's the reason it's provided on the back line of most pro level shows I've encountered. If you are serious about playing this is the go to amp for the pros.

  • from Mission Viejo, CA July 21, 2014Music Background:
    Bass player 30+ years

    Ampeg SVT-CL

    Contrary to what another reviewer says, tubes on an SVT-CL usually last many years before needing to be changed, even under daily use. These amps are extremely well made, built to last a lifetime, and while heavy are worth their weight for the tone they produce compared to micro amps. Lots of great bass amp products out there, and I'm a big fan of Mesa Boogie, Genz Benz and others, but the warm tone and note "bloom" produced by an all tube SVT-CL is why it continues to be my first choice. If you can afford it get it. Even better, get the Heritage.

  • from NY August 28, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    COST A FORTUNE.

    TUBES NEED TO BE CHANGED EVERY YEAR. AT A COST OF $400.
    FOR AN AMP THAT COST SO MUCH MONEY YOU WOULD THINK THEY WOULD LAST LONGE. IT'S KILLING ME.
    ON ANOTHER NOTE GREAT SOUND.

  • from Baltimore, MD April 28, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    I came back

    I've been playing bass for 52 years (started young) and I came back to the best. I started with An Ampeg B15 ( the best bass amp then). I've had many, many amps and many, many basses including the 300W Classic w/ 2- 8x10's and a Fender Jazz. I'm now back to to what I started with, a SVT Classic w/ 1-8x10 and a Fender Jazz. You can't beat the SVT unit. You'll get any sound you need and it's NOT WIMPY.

  • from Fort Worth, TX January 8, 2011Music Background:
    Musician

    THE Sound

    This head is fabulous. Deep bass that's not distorted or boomy, warm, rich mids, and highs that don't drop out, yet aren't glassy and thin. I coupled this with an Aguilar DB 410, and it's the best rig I've ever owned. The head is pricey, but the tone is worth it.

  • from Tulsa, OK USA November 30, 2009Music Background:
    Gigging Rock Musician

    The Big One

    I'll start off by saying that I've owned this amp for about 7 years, and I play it at every practice and at every show. This is a phenomenal amplifier, and it's a classic for a reason. The tone that this unit provides has thick, deep lows, clear highs, and a gutsy midrange. If you're looking for that old-school Ampeg growl you will definitely find it here.

    The problem is, that's about the only tone you WILL find here. The sound you get from this amp is fantastic, and it will fit right in with any genre. But that one tone is all you get. The knobs on the amp help you dial that wonderful tone in, but you're not going to turn a few knobs and say "Wow, this setting sounds completely different!" The only way to get a really different character out of this amp is to change the tubes. I switched in a set of sovteks that had a nice, clear, open, sound and then slapped in a set of JJ's which had a whole lot more of that growl that I bought this amp for.

    The other negative aspect of this amp head is the weight. It is HEAVY! I pair my CL with an Ampeg 6x10 cab, and the head is HEAVIER THAN THE CAB! At least it feels that way. I'm not a small guy so I can deal with lugging this beast around bars, up and down stairs and such. But it's definitely something to consider before you purchase. How much is earth-shattering tone worth to you?

  • from July 26, 2016Music Background:
    Bass player unsigned band

    How to switch on properly

    Hey guys

    Just purchased ampeg Svt Classic and reading mixed reviews on the standby switch cud u please advise on the correct way to turn on my ampeg Svt Classic cus I don't want to blow it up or ruin tubes etc

Questions about the Ampeg SVT-CL 300-Watt Tube Bass Head?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway