0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Ampeg SVT-7Pro 1000-Watt Tube Preamp Bass Head Reviews

4.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Ampeg SVT-7Pro 1000-Watt Tube Preamp Bass Head?

Questions about the Ampeg SVT-7Pro 1000-Watt Tube Preamp Bass Head?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Allen Stanley
    from Virginia Beach, VA December 6, 2016Music Background:
    Bass Player for 57 years

    AMP NEEDED IN A HURRY

    I went to a "Big Box" dealer here locally and was assured I would be getting a new amp in box, and paid for a 2 year extended warranty on the product. I was told it would be 2 weeks in arriving. The next day it arrived! It was the same unit I had tried on the floor. Got my money back, and said never again a "Big Box" dealer. I then contacted a sales rep here at Sweetwater and ordered the same Ampeg SVT-7Pro 1000 Bass amp $ lower and it came with a FREE 2 year extended warranty.. It arrived as promised by my sales rep within 3 days brand new in the box. I was so pleased with the fast service I wrote a letter to Chuck Surack praising his staff and service. This AMP has a very strong deep rich sound, and the punch you need.

  • REd
    from Jackson, MI November 6, 2016

    Great Amp

    Love this amp. Makes even me sound like a pro.

  • Eric
    from La Porte IN March 14, 2014Music Background:
    Bass player 15+ years

    I'm impressed

    I had gone to sweet water to try out a cuple of amps and it came down to this ampeg and a gk rb1001. This head by far has better tone capabilitys over the other heads I tryed so I picked it up along with a 410hlf and haven't looked back. I have had this amp for 3 monts now and it still wows me. Lots of head room easy operation and fantastic tone nomater what I plug into it. I would say get one and once you do you will wonder how you ever got by with out it.

  • Customer
    from Boston, MA June 19, 2013Music Background:
    Pro musician, engineer

    Best bass amp head I've tried

    Finally got the sound I've been looking for all these years after purchasing this and pairing it up with a GK Neo 410 cab. Crisp highs, tight lows, and lots of power. Took it on tour for 2 weeks and it performed beyond my expectations. Huge amount of volume and never over-heated. I got a lot of compliments at the end of many shows on my tone. The tones you get out of this thing are virtually limitless and all still carry that sweet Ampeg tone.

  • Phil Spigner
    from Phila. PA November 9, 2016Music Background:
    Musician,Producer

    Great Sound

    If you're looking for that great Ampeg tone in a more affordable price range than the SVT Classic.then look no further, this amp has all of the good Ampeg sound that some of us has grown to love. The sound to me is a combination of the SVT and the Gallien-Krueger. Just pair this head up with the Ampeg 410HLF and you've got a great sounding and versatile combination. This amp is capable of providing good clean sound with plenty of headroom,its also a light weight amp too.

  • ERIC KIEFER
    from April 30, 2016Music Background:
    Professional Bass Equipment User

    Close, so close

    I bought mine used from a reputable source because I was looking for a high-powered amp that could drive cabinets on both sides of a stage. The SVT-7 does not lack for power, rest assured. The analog tone-shaping works well enough, with the classic Ampeg deep, bright and 5 way mid switches. The gain section, however, just doesn't have the "oomph" that one expects with the Ampeg name. Now, I realize there's only one little 12AX7 tube in there, but frankly I expected a bit more warmth and growl. I've recently played through the SVT-4 and I think that may be the way I go on my next purchase. The SVT-4 has a much stronger preamp tube section, and well, the extra 600 watts doesn't hurt.
    All things considered, though, the amp does have some good tones in it. I can dial in good thump, slap, pick and tapping tones with minor tweaks of the eq section. They just aren't THE Ampeg sound I was looking for.
    The DI is clean, quiet and has good level. It does NOT replicate the sound coming from the speaker cabinets I've used (several different 4x10s, 1x15, 1x12 and even a 6x10). Be prepared to do some tweaking at the board to get your sound through the DI.
    The mute function is a godsend, especially when changing basses.
    The DI is a zero load, so no cabinet required to use the preamp for DI purposes.
    As far as reliability, I've read several reviews that point out inferior quality control. I have had no such issues. I've kept mine in a 4-space rack case and it's never given me a moment's trouble. It resides in a studio for the most part now, but it has been a road dog without ever losing it's bite.
    I might change the preamp tube to see if I can squeeze any more gain out of the amp, but even as it sits, it's a powerful little bugger that easily crushes 100W guitar amps, drummers and the occasional flute player.
    For someone looking to buy a loud, portable, relatively inexpensive amp that DOES have a lot of great sounds inside, the SVT-7 Pro is a good fit. If you want that gnarly 70's SVT tone, the amp comes up just a little short.

  • Michael Williams
    from December 3, 2016

    Didnt last long

    Great amp, tone. Didnt last long. Unable to get it fixed. Really sad it happens to an Ampeg.

  • Kevin Beaugrand
    from St. Johns, FL September 15, 2014Music Background:
    Professional Bassist

    Excellent Sound, Unreliable

    I loved my SVT7 pro when I first started playing it. Punchy, great tone, good highs, onboard compressor, nice and light, and the tube DI? I had no complaints! Then one day at practice my amp shut itself off for about 10seconds then right back on. I turned off the amp for a while, tried to play again and it did the same thing.Since I was practicing at a friend's house, I figured it was a power issue. Played a few gigs, no problems. Then it randomly started cutting out again. And it does it every time I turn the amp on now, regardless of how much power I get to the amp or how long I let it warm up before I use it. Still figuring all this out with Ampeg and my warranty, and unfortunately this happened after the thirty day trial period or I would have returned the amp immediately and gone for a different brand. Very disappointed, Ampeg.

  • Mark Moorhead
    from Austin, Tx August 3, 2014Music Background:
    Bass Player for 15 years

    If You Are Looking for True Ampeg Sound, Don't Buy!!!

    Having owned (2) Ampeg V-4B's from the 70's era, I was hoping to acquire something close but in a more compact modern design. As soon as I opened the box and saw Made in China I was heartbroken followed by further let down when I plugged it in. If you are buying Ampeg buy vintage, much better build quality and sound.

Questions about the Ampeg SVT-7Pro 1000-Watt Tube Preamp Bass Head?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close