0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
April 2017 Giveaway

IK Multimedia SampleTank 2.5 XL Reviews

  • ALI MOLAEE
    from IRAN December 18, 2008Music Background:
    composer-sound engineer-vocalist

    Very usefull

    Very usefull.Has warm sounds and lovely banks.I love its warm drumkits(specially snares!).its usefull and good quality effects processors are very usefull to shape the sounds and....u can use it in every project because of it has several different sound banks and covers every music style!cool.
    thanks IK.

  • Andy H.
    from Parkersburg, WV October 28, 2008Music Background:
    Musician, wannabe recording engineer

    Great Sample Workstation!

    Sampletank is a very useful tool in my studio. When people come in to the studio and say, "I wish I could put strings or a violin here." All we do is go find a sound they like in Sampletank and ley it down with the midi controller keyboard. We use Sampletank on every project and probably 50% of the songs. The sample vary in quality. Some sound really good and some sound lifeless and stiff. There are tons of instruments to choose from here as well. I still haven't listened to all of them! If you are looking for some good VIs and don't have to money to go for eastwest or some of the bigboys then you will like Sampletank!

  • Phillip Lovgren
    from Washington State, USA December 15, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist Composer, musician

    A Must Have For Composers

    SampleTank XL 2.0 was my first virtual instrument library and many years later, although there many upscale libraries on the market, it still comes in real handy for my composing needs. If you use the find feature you'll be surprised what can pull out of this tank-of- sounds. Ik Multimedia is also a good company to deal with. That's important.

  • Jamie Dixon
    from December 14, 2012Music Background:
    Songwriter/engineer

    Love the new gear and love you too sweet water

    Sampletank is exactly what I was needing, it just helps me add a little color to my music. Simple and effective.

  • Bryan of In Virus Tandem
    from Denver July 6, 2011Music Background:
    Artist/Producer, Recording Engineer, Forensic Audio Engineer

    Stretch the limits of your sample minds...

    SampleTank 2.5 XL is a staple in all of my tracks. I use it in Ableton Live 8 along with ProTools LE 8.

    It was hard to justify the price at first as I have an E6400 Ultra Pro (fully loaded), an ESI-2000 and two old Ensoniq Mirage keyboards but found quickly that the SampleTank was easy to use, had great effects and was worth every penny.

    The SampleTank plug-in features a flexible sample engine that incorporates three modes that allow the user to interface practically any sound or loop into any tempo with ease. I really enjoy the "Sync" button which allows the instant adaptation of a sample loop in any tempo to the master tempo.

    The effects are decent as well. There's plenty to choose from and can be used per part, on a send or on the master channel.

    SampleTank is also rock solid and functions reliably within my DAW environments, even when I've got the parts loaded up and using it in multiple instances (meaning I've added multiple SampleTank plug-in "instances" to various tracks within one composition.)

    Importing samples are a snap. It can even automatically scan your file name of the target sample and obtain the root note!

    The sample library is also easy to manage. You may edit them inside the plugin environment or within the desktop file system of your operating system.

    The XL version comes packed with sounds to get you started but don't be afraid to import your own and start experimenting with the sampling engine.

    Happy sampling!

  • Dee
    from Bronx, ny February 23, 2008Music Background:
    Music Producer

    Sample Tank 2.5

    I love sample tank ever since my purchase i use it with my mpc. It has easy use and sounds are great. the only problem i have is my girlfriend threw away my book that came with it.

  • I80Media.com
    from San Diego Ca. February 3, 2008Music Background:
    Hip Hop Production

    Out The Box

    I was using several other programs to compose along with popular hardware synths. A friend of mine owned the MPC and a few nice keyboards. He began not using them in the studio and I noticed more often that they were'nt turned on when I came to the studio only the MPC was being used. I asked why and he told me about Sample Tank. I couldnt believe some of the tracks he made with it, thinking before that it was done on the keyboards and rack modules. I bought it myself and have been using it heavily since. IK makes solid products and I look foward to thier next venture if its going to be anything like sample tank.

  • Mike P.
    from Las Vegas, NV USA December 1, 2005

    Get it!

    Until now, I've been using my computer as little more then a tape recorder. I've been reluctant to dive into soft synths and computer samplers. However, I got the itch for a new synth, and really couldn't justify dropping a couple thousand dollars just to get new sounds to play with. So I bought Sampletank 2xl based on the price and the reviews I've read. I wasn't expecting much, but what I got was basically a whole new workstation synth. I've found it to have sounds as good as my high end workstation keyboards and it was actually easier to use. This is a really great program if you want quality sounds and ease of use, and still have tons of flexibility to create your own sounds.

Questions about the IK Multimedia SampleTank 2.5 XL?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway