0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale!

Line 6 StageScape M20d Reviews

4.5 stars based on 22 customer reviews
Questions about the Line 6 StageScape M20d?

Questions about the Line 6 StageScape M20d?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Currently - Shanghai China - Normally Charlotte, NC July 10, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar play since 1964

    After so many mixers...

    I have had the Line 6 M20D for just over one year. I have used many analog mixers since 1969... and purchased this unit to replace a QSC / EV PA system that was stolen.

    Purchased Line 6 (2) L2m, (2) L3t, and (2) L3s powered speakers to go with it, as well as Line 6 Variax and HD500x. KIller rig with 6400 (Digital) watts.

    I don't need this much power, having Fender Super Reverb, Marshall JTM-45, and Mesa Boogie Triaxis/2:90 amp... but now, I can leave all that heavy expensive gear home and pick and choose what gear I need to take for the venue that I am playing at that night!.

    Sound from all the Line 6 gear is fantastic and so easy to set up. Plug and play!

    Love it and support from Sweetwater's AJ when this gear (And other gear) was purchased.

  • from pa June 17, 2015Music Background:
    25year s pro semi pro

    still loving it.

    Update... I reviewed it after 1 job. In Nov. I'll tell you. Blown away. Once you dial it in . Save. Have not had to change the mix. We play rock music ... 2x a month . Bars,fairs etc. Sounds great super clear . We be posting some new vids shortly. Best money I ever spent. I've been using line 6 vetta2 for nearly 20 years. .. tell your wife you need one..

  • from Martha's Vineyard, MA April 10, 2015Music Background:
    Pro

    Still loving it 2 years later

    I usually try and review equipment shortly after purchasing it. This one slipped by but not because I don't use it.I have over 6 mixers currently in use for various gigs, this one is great for smaller ensembles, acoustic ones really shine! Pristine sound through QSC speakers, but when using Line 6 M3's the sound is harsh/brittle. The new update is great, channel strip is very useful. I use the iPad app all the time, works flawlessly.Recording is exceptional, make sure you use fast media though. For gigs where everyone is going to be tweaking knobs, not probably the best choice as there is a small learning curve, but the effects and routing are world class.So; great sound, durable, great iPad app, excellent effects, but has small learning curve. This IS a winner and you won't be sorry you spent the dough! The old adage 'you get what you pay for' is obvious here

  • from Dallas pa November 16, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar player

    Awesome

    If you play live music you need this . Powerful processing clear,transparent. Stop fiddling with little knobs in the dark. Not only has this replaced all the p a out board gear.we run all the guitars direct and have eliminated guitar cabs as well. Been playing live for 20 years .best line 6 produce since the vetta. Will Change your life. Improve you sound.

  • from Bemus Point NY September 24, 2014Music Background:
    gigging musician, hobby recording

    M20d

    This mixer can completely change a bands presentation. Pro quality signal chains result in better sound presentation than previously available for club musicians. A basic understanding of sound can net high level results. Easy to conceptualize and run right out of the box. Recording sound checks and wandering around out front is a huge advantage for small groups without a sound man. Spend the extra money and get this unit.

  • from Dallas, TX USA September 2, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Excellent mixer that lets you focus on the music

    The M20d's intuitive interface lets me really focus on making music as opposed to the more technical aspects of managing the sound(s). For more complex setups, this will certainly not replace a sound engineer but it sure lets me handle more on my own for many other gigs. I recommend this for like-minded musicians who aren't as intrigued or interested in super low-level detailed tweaking (even though you can still do that with this mixer) and mainly want to get a good sound quickly.

  • from Kansas City, MO August 19, 2014Music Background:
    Cover band guitarist and singer

    Great sound board for the musician

    This is a great board for the musician who isn't a pro sound engineer. I just want to play guitar and sing, not worry about EQ's and gain and reverb and all that other stuff. This board, with the touch screen options, lets me do what I'm good at without sweating the sound details. The touch screen is awesome and easy to use, and the features go on and on. In fact, with all the things you can do, there's a temptation to actually spend more time drilling down into the sound world.
    I recommend you spend some time watching the available videos, both from Line 6 and Sweetwater -- they are a great help. And, be sure to research before you buy a wifi adapter -- I got the Samsung WIS12ABGNX, which works great.

  • from Columbus, OH May 14, 2013Music Background:
    Working musician

    Awesome.

    Every working band can benefit from the M20D. And Sound Engineers relax.. The M20D makes your job easier and helps you make the band sound even better! Remarkable amount of power under the hood in deep tweak mode. Just go get one!

  • from California April 5, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Stagescape m20d

    Awesome mixer.....5 minutes, and I was up and running!!! Love the wireless feature!!!!!!

  • from New Haven, CT March 8, 2013Music Background:
    Performing Singer/Songwriter, 30 year Pro Engineer and Sound Designer, Associate Prof of Media

    Excellent Unit!

    The Stagescape M20d is a revolutionary product. While it is marketed at making getting a decent sound easier for non-engineers, it has many features that make it very desirable, even for experienced engineers. First off, it contains a huge number of high quality effects, from compressors to gates, delays, reverbs, doubling, limiting, EQs, feedback suppression . . . While the m20d is not cheap, to buy all these units would be prohibitively expensive and the racks would be huge and weigh a ton! Not to mention all the knobs to bump and cables to get old and patch contacts getting dirty. I am a singer/songwriter/performer who has worked as a professional sound eng for 30 years as my "day job." The last thing I want to do at a gig is spend a long time as the sound eng. This unit effectively has freed me from that. And while the quick tweak interface in aimed at the novice, it's quick and easy to get good results. And if you're so inclined, it's simple to go in and deep tweak, say adding 3 dB of 8k to a mic and widening the Q. Add the ability to record a 20 second loop and go out into the audience to tweak the sound from an iPad and we are firmly into the realm of "revolutionary." This has already improved my live sound. With all my years of experience, I never realized how profoundly hearing my own voice through my head was affecting my solo sound checks. The ability to go in the audience and hear my own vocal purely through the sound system is a big deal! Finally, you can record performances multitrack (at the inputs), no hassle, right onboard onto an SD card or USB stick. I add one mic for the room and one on my guitar amp (neither to mains), load it onto my DAW after the gig and . . . wham! Instant high quality multitrack recording. BTW, I use it with 1 or 2 Bose L1s with 2 subs, singing and playing keyboards, electric and acoustic guitars, and iPad based backing tracks.

    The m20D is a wonderful unit. It's rock solid and sounds really good. Like any unit aimed at non-engineers, it does have some quirks and minor limitations. To make a complicated unit easy-to-use this is unavoidable. The price gave me pause at first but for all it does it's a value almost beyond belief. A great investment.

  • from Virginia February 9, 2013

    M20d DreamScape System

    I recently purchased an M20d, with Line 6 speaker system. So far, I am very impressed. There may be a number of details that those deeply engaged in professional sound mixing may critique, but for those who gig frequently, and run their own sound/mixing, this is indeed a dream. It takes some time to get used to the visual interface, but for the ipad generation, do not believe it is a big effort.

    I did not find any issues with speaker stability (have the Line 6 speaker poles), nor with the wireless dongle insertion, even in a very heavy bass drum beat situation. It set up quickly, though you need to keep in mind the need to use prescribed wireless dongles, and make sure (if you have cellular AND wireless functions on your ipad, to shut off the cellular before connecting, or it may interfere).

    Great care and service from my Sweetwater engineer, as always.

  • from United States December 30, 2012Music Background:
    Acoustic Guitarist and Live Sound Engineer

    StageScape M20d vs. PreSonus 16.4.2

    I use my mixers for live sound mostly, and am very familiar with analog mixers as I have owned many over the past 15 years. Just 6 months ago I bought my first digital mixer, a PreSonus 16.4.2, but just sold it last month because it was just too complex for me to learn how to us its many features (and I read it's User Guide many times, and watched many videos in an effort to learn). But for live sound I found it too difficult to quickly locate the controls I needed to make for during performances.

    Still wanting the digital features of a mixer, I just bought the Line 6 StageScape M20d, (after also considering the Mackie DL1608) and in the first 7 days I have been able to learn and use most of its features! When the M20d came out 6 months ago I considered buying it but thought the small 7" screen was too small to manage all the controls. I was wrong. Now that I own the M20d, I am AMAZED of how easy, simple, and QUICK I can control and adjust settings.

    Here are some of the best features of the M20d: 1) I can quickly record 20 seconds and hear it immediately; 2) I can easily add various mics and instruments and adjust their FX and EQ settings; 3) the ability to record multiple channels to a USB or SD media... or computer is quick and simple! And lastly, the iPad control feature works perfectly. It holds the WiFi signal and is responsive. (This was something the PerSonus did poorly, and was another big reason I sold it.)

    Although the M20d was the most expensive of the 3 digital mixers I considered, I am convinced it is the best value because it is so easy to use and offers great iPad controls and multi-channel recording.

  • from North Coast of CA, USA October 29, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Hobbyist Live & Recording Engineer

    Simply Stagescape

    Had the Line 6 Stagescape M20d in my sights since it came out. I had many questions about it: Is it worth the money? Will it do what I need it to do? How easy is it to operate? Has the sales rep tried it? Any feedback from purchasers who haven't written a review? And seems like a lot more questions. John, my sales rep, answered every last one of them.

    The Stagescape is geared toward people like me: a musician who wants a quick PA setup & mix, but who doesn't want to take the time away from the music, and really not that good of an engineer.

    Is it worth the money?
    I had my eye on other mixers as well, so first of all, the price: It's high for a regular 16 channel digital mixer, BUT, it includes a lot of effects onboard that the purchaser would otherwise spend a lot of money on. Adding up the cost of mic processors, compressers, gates, reverb, delay, doublers, preamps, and a lot more that would one would normally stack up in a rack, it came out to cost a lot less than the costs of the outboard equipment I had in my rack, and a lot of my rack mounted gear is low-end equipment!

    Will it do what I need it to do? Is it easy to use?
    Experimenting with the Stagescape at home, yes, but the real test came with an event that featured multiple bands, where setups and tear-downs had to be quick, with on-the-fly soundchecks. Being it that I was still learning some of the ins and outs of the Stagescape, it was very easy to use in that situation, as it has auto recognition of which cable is plugged-in, then shows a list of icons that can be chosen for the equipment that is actually in that channel, with each icon coming with automatic presets. There are several of each type to choose from, from male or female vocalists and the vocalist's role, acoustic and electric guitars and basses, to drums and percussion, and even external playback devices. Each can be put on the "stage" just using touch and sliding the icon into position No need to look at a list written on tape on the mixer. Once chosen, it is easy to Tweak each icon with simple and easy to use parameters. Even getting in and changing some of the "advanced" settings was made simple.

    It did, for that event, what I needed it to do.
    It was basically an assistant engineer for me that I could just set-and-go on-the-fly. Was easy to adjust, on-the-fly, using only the touch screen. Didn't have to mess with settings on rackmount gear as it's all onboard the Stagescape. Also, doesn't need Direct Boxes.

    What else can it do?
    It can save all of those settings that you've made so you won't have to redo them at the next gig. It can save all of those settings so you won't have to redo them at each venue. It can also record, live, each of the 12 mic-input channels and the 2 main output channels, each remaining separated when recording, which makes it easy to make small edits if one is releasing a "live album". Monitors are easy as well. No having to try to find which bus the channel is on, it is simply touch the icons, and use the lighted knobs to adjust the monitor mix.
    It can also do a lot of things that I haven't discovered or haven't needed to use yet.

    It's that easy.

    It's also very light and easy to carry/move around. I bought a road case with the Stagescape to protect it. The screen, after all, is a touchscreen.

    My questions were all answered by my sales rep, as well as another rep. They took the time to answer all of my questions, even though it took a few phone calls and emails.

    If you are a musician, like me, who wants easy setups, this is for you. If you are a band who wants to just play, this is for you.
    If you are an house band and don't want to have to redo your sound checks every time you play, this is for you.
    If you are a not-so-good sound engineer (like me), this is for you.
    If you don't want to lug a rack around that is loaded with heavy gear, this is for you.
    If you're used to all of the touchscreen devices that are being used pretty much everywhere, you will feel right at home with the Stagescape.

    There is so much more I could say about Line 6's Stagescape, but this review is long enough already.
    So, simply put: I recommend the Stagescape. It is a fun, simple to use, and awesome device!

  • from April 12, 2016Music Background:
    Run a small to medium sized audio productions company

    M20D

    I've had my M20D for a few years now, have to say it's my go to mixer for a lot of smaller gigs, i have many other digital consoles but this M20D is great as it packs the power of my bigger consoles but in a tiny desk mount format.

  • from United States November 22, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Enthusiast, General Music Nut!

    M20d! Truly revolutionary!

    If you are looking for the typical mixer, then walk away and look elsewhere! This thing is anything, but typical!

    Is that bad or good?

    If you are a musician who wants to run your own sound it is a great thing!

    This thing has everything you need to do that. I would highly recommend that if you will be running your own sound that you spring for a compatible wifi dongle ($35 for a usb powered wifi transmitter that plugs right into the mixer's usb port) for the mixer and an Ipad(if you don't already own one) to bring this puppies capabilities to life.

    Important to note that you can't just use ANY wifi dongle you want. It MUST be a compatible type! They are listed on the line6 website!

    On occasion I have had the screen be nonresponsive on startup, a reboot always fixes it. The user interface takes some using to get the hang of things, but you will get the hang of things very quickly, it is very intuitive and there is loads of help built right into the user interface...so you are only ever as lost as you CHOOSE to be! ;-)

    Hope this helps someone out there who is not sure. Great piece of kit for our band.

  • from Chichester N.Y. April 12, 2013Music Background:
    Part time musician, have participated in a few band projects.

    Great and Easy To Operate Mixer

    I was using the Presonus 16:4:2 digital mixer which was a good product but I just could'nt deal with the engineer status I had to be to operate it, as easy as they say it was, it really took knowledge of sound engineering. to master it and to have to perform on stage and operate the board it did'nt work for me. Welcome to the Line 6 Stagescape M20D! Just a pleasure to understand and operate I really love this mixer! The only improvement so far I could use is 6 auxs and 16 or 24 mic inputs but then your talk'n bigger board bigger weight more to carry. I like this unit just fine! Sweetwater was fabulous with the deal as I had other transaction difficulties to conquer and they came thru!

  • from NC September 20, 2013Music Background:
    Serious avocation and passion for 50 years. Sing, play guitar, bass guitar and violin. I'm really pretty stuck in the 60's...blues, rock and folk with fiddle woven in. Also building a home studio to pursue audio engineering.

    Intuitive interface, but...

    Overall this is an awesome piece of gear. The advertising of it's ability to interface with a DAW however is misleading. Yes, you can record to a DAW, but the latency is horrible and makes it impractical to use in the real world. Another issue is not being able to overdub without being very creative with engineering skills. So, in the home studio you have to find some work-arounds.

    That said, I'm having a marvelous time with my Stagescape. For live performance (which I know it was primarily designed for) it is way cool. And for recording live performance it's really awesome.

    So, overall, it does most of what it's supposed to very well...intuitive and fun. I erred in expecting it to also be a high end audio computer interface to use in my home/project studio. For that, Line 6 has some work to do and they should modify their advertising. I'm definitely keeping my M20d. It's awesome and I'm hoping that future firmware updates will solve the glitches.

    By the way, if I'm wrong about any of this and it's operator error please correct me (then problem solved!)

  • from Rochester, MN May 23, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist that's been playing keyboards and guitar (mainly acoustic) and singing for 40+ years.

    M20d - Nice implementation of current technology

    Let me start by saying that the support I've received from both Line6 and Sweetwater has been great. The 1st M20d digital mixer I purchased had several issues. However, through discussions with Line6 and Sweetwater, it was decided that the issues were due to that particular unit being faulty and a replacement was promptly shipped out and the 1st unit returned. With the amount of new technology incorporated into this mixer, I anticipated that there might be some minor hiccups, but, as long as they didn't interrupt performances, I would be ok with that.

    The new replacement unit has worked great so far. I've only used it for a few practice sessions with a couple of different bands in a finished basement setting, but, the sound quality is excellent (coupled with an L3t and L3m speaker). The presets are a good starting place and have only required some minor tweaking at this point. I had some minor feedback issues during one of the practices which was mainly due to someone pointing a microphone almost directly at a speaker. The feedback was quickly handled by the feedback suppression algorithm.

    I've recorded a couple of hour long practice sessions to a 32Gb SD card and a 4Gb USB drive, and have been able to take the separate tracks into Cubase 7 Artist and do some quick editing and mixing with relative ease. I was also able to stream separate tracks directly to a MacBook Pro although, as others have pointed out, with a half second latency, the mixer is not designed to be a replacement for a quality recording interface, especially if you want to play/record different instruments at different times.

    I connected an Apple Airport to the mixer and created a local network which allows me to control the unit with either my iPad2 or iPad4. I actually prefer using the touchscreen on the iPads, especially if I'm trying to move icons around. The touchscreen on the unit itself works well, but, sometimes I find the icons a little too small for my fingers to accurately press in the right place. I've tried to use airplay to stream music to the unit through the aux in jack, but, that's been subject to some brief dropouts, which I presume is more of an issue w/ airplay and the local network than the M20d itself.

    The ability to have different setups stored for easy recall for the bands as well as for my solo sessions is great. I haven't used the scene function too much yet, but, I can see where that will come in quite handy for our live performances as well.

    Overall, I'm very pleased with this replacement unit. The M20d is easy to get up and running and yet offers the ability to delve deeper over time. Initially, I was concerned about the stability of the unit for live sound, but, that has not been an issue with the replacement mixer. I hope to be using this mixer/system for my daughter's wedding this summer and for several years to come.

  • from Chicago, IL October 5, 2012Music Background:
    Local Musician

    M20d - Reviewed

    I purchased the M20d as well as a pair of main Line 6 monitors and the associated subs for a complete system. Very easy to set up and get going. Sound is fundamentally very good. People in clubs, particularly musicians love to come and see the setup. Many are downright fascinated and have heard stories that the M20d will not only make great music but will drive your band van and pick the green M&M's out of the bowl for you!

    The devil is in the details:

    First, we attempted to go with a wireless Ipad control for our sound technician. every time we hit a strong bass note the wireless connection died and reset making critical adjustments impossible. We actually found that by duct taping the witeless fob to the board we mitigated much of the problem, not all. Have personally had no similar diconnects with the competing Mackie board. Duct tape on my brand new M20d! Yikes!

    We found the preset sounds to be lacking tight midrange, particulary missing some key guitar tonality in the mix. Seemed overly compressed. We were going direct in to the board via an Axe-fx processor for guitar. We have been going direct in with the Axe-fx for about 18 months with amazing results but we found it challenging with the M20d. It was harder in general than expected to dial in the right mix. Our antiquated system actually sounded better under similar circumstances. In fairness this is new to us and I anticipate we will find a way to master the unit and deliver great sound. Nonetheless, it is far from plug and play to deliver truly great sound.

    A related problem, is the issue that the monitors don't sit squarely on top of the mountiong poles, they rock around a bit which seem strange in such a high quality setup.

    This is a very cool product and I realize there was risk being an early adopter of the system. My most frustrating issue is the current round of rebates being offered that do not apply to my purchase. I have been penalized by Line 6 for taking a risk on their product. That is bad mojo.

  • from St Louis July 29, 2014Music Background:
    semi-pro laying in local bands for 20+ years

    Not for tweak and go

    Lots of effects and features and would be great given the time and effort... but not for bands trying to mix from the stage. Too many screens to go through to tweak the sound. (Impossible to tweak at the first tier.) The auto trim has a mind of its own. If you get playing on the fly and really banging it out based on the crowd getting warm... the auto trim will cause you levels to fluctuate greatly... good luck getting back to square one. (Tip/trick -- save your original set-up and then recall it in the after the trim goes awry)... only two levels of menus to go through to tweak.

    Great concept... lots of flexibility and effects... if you have the time to dig through the menus and tweak it for the best sound.

  • from Fargo ND August 5, 2015Music Background:
    Classic Rock, Country, Heavy Metal, German

    Big pros, at a cost

    I have had this board for about 6 months and used for 8 band gigs now. The board works as you would think. Cool interface with touch screen icons and a very good tool set right out of the box. It is smart to a degree as well. This can be confusing when you first use it. As well as using monitors can be confusing and still is for me at times. There are multiple monitor settings that can make it confusing because one is input for the channel and the second is the monitor main volume. The confusing part is that when you have a lot going on this is not an easy change. And how often do you change monitor settings. The answer is allot. There will be times when on the screen it shows me giving more to the monitor for say a vocal and nothing changes. That is because I am only adjusting the input and not the volume of the monitor, then add challenge if monitor is powered by a pa. So is this board for beginners? the answer is a resounding no. It is light years easier than my previous PreSonus and WILL work for all applications but you need to spend serious time with the board. Other reason I scored this low is the cost. I had high expectations for the price. I did not get that from this board. I had to buy only APPLE Ipad to get the wireless to work. And I had to order the proprietary wireless stick, I tried 4 other wireless sticks and none worked but the "Samsung" stick. This took weeks of trying. So you have to have only Samsung and only apple. Add $400 dollars right there to get this to work. Now the best part.... it does not work sometimes. I waste tons of times at gigs trying to get the wireless to sync... The Ipad always sees the board but sometimes just chooses not to sync. I know right! imagine your at a gig, running sound, behind schedule and the fucker does not sync. Bottom line.... this junk is way to Proprietary. Do not buy this board. Get a simple say, Peavy 16 port board. Reliable, easy to use and no one will steal it. Oh the peavey only cost say 400 bucks.

  • from Jasper OR September 16, 2015Music Background:
    Touring Singer-Songwriter, Home Studio Guy

    Has a problem, read forums before buying it.

    Ran out of warrantee and it started dropping channels and the left Main out. Read about this problem on the forums before you buy, it's a serious grounding problem and can't be fixed and stay fixed. I really loved the sound but it cuts out during shows now and 3 channels randomly work now. Very disapointed.

Questions about the Line 6 StageScape M20d?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway