0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Steven Slate Drums 4.0 Platinum (boxed) Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
  • from October 22, 2013Music Background:
    Owner and recording engineer at Soggy Dog Recording

    Great sounding drums and easy to program

    I've used a number of drum programs over the past few years. This one is fantastic. Very natural sounding instruments, and well-played grooves that can be dropped into the instrument(MIDI) track.

    I often have to make backing tracks, and they need to be done quickly. This is the best program of this type I have used.

  • from MA August 19, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Songwriter, Producer

    SSD4 is fantastic!!!!

    This absolutely gives me the drums sounds that I need. I can reproduce every sound that I can play on my drums. I just don't have the mic's and quality drums to get these sounds, so I make them! It's SO easy to use, it has changed the way I record.

  • from Southern Left Coast October 24, 2012

    Steven Slate Drums 4.0 Platinum

    Best drum samples and program I've used. Very smart program and easy to use. Even has grooves in all styles. Very adaptable and editable. I already had the Slate FG-X Mastering Compressor and the MIx and Channel bus plug ins. Great company

  • from Traverse City, Mi November 11, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, home studio, song writter

    Worth the money!

    Very easy to use and the CLA drums are amazing. They sound huge. Worth every penny.

  • from Utah November 12, 2014Music Background:
    recording, punk/metal/alternative, drummer and guitarist

    SSD4

    I have had this for a few months now and it has been pretty good. I will start off with the bad, then get to the good.

    With this software you can import your own samples, but you can not use your own multi-velocity samples unless you want to assign each different hit to its own note one the piano roll.

    My other complaint is that when it went on sale not too long ago I figured they were about to release a new version. I called the number on the SS website and asked them and they told me that they were not, so I decided to buy it. Long story short, they are, actually coming out with a new version very soon...so I would hold on and wait because it will have more samples and I have read online (not on their website) that it will also have flow note technology.

    That being said, I started off with EZdrummer, which was ok, but I do like this one much better. The reason why is because I found EZdrummer samples either sounding too squashed from overuse with compressors and a little bit mushy sounding. These samples are much more natural sounding.

    There is a collection of samples that have not had any EQ or compression added to them, which is nice if you want to edit to your preference, and there are some mix-ready samples if you want to just be able to drop something in without having to do much work.

    I would say if you are a person that thinks modern music is ruined with the loudness war and is unlistenable because the amount of compression on the mix, you will like these samples more (especially if you use the raw samples), but it will require a PROPER touch of compression and some EQ, etc. to your liking.

    The drums sound pretty good, the cymbals are OK (not the greatest, but still usable). The grooves that it comes with I don't really care for, but not an issue if you like to create original tracks.

    Bottom line. Yes, I do like them, but wished that I would have waited for the new version to come out and I would recommend this over EZdrummer. It may require a little bit more work, but the samples do allow the flexibility and headroom to tweak them to your liking.

    I would have given this a review a 5 if it allowed you to import your own multi-velocity samples (which for most people probably would not be an issue at all, unless you are creating your own samples or have some existing samples and want to use them) and if they used different cymbals (the ones included are not bad, just not what I would have selected for my type of music, but still very usable).

    One other thing is that these samples do have some type of propriety file compression on them and can not be played by other players (if for example you were wanting to use these samples for their sounds, but in another program).

    If this review sounds negative, it is not meant to, but I wanted to point out some things that I wished it would have had.

  • from Newburgh, New York September 15, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Crystal clear sound!

    I was able to finally install it, after may be 30 minutes!
    I test it the sound and it was very "Real"!
    I didn't try the different Mic settings, but if the Default settings is any indication, I am sure the improved Mic location should be excellent.
    I was not impressed with the quality of the Cymbals though! They were "Okay".
    The only complain was that it takes a long time to Install with the DVD's!
    As always the guys at SWEETWATER were Great helping me with the Faulty Factory DVD's ! ( they shipped to me a replacement set!).

  • from Dallas Tx June 11, 2013Music Background:
    Pianist arranger engineer since 1970

    Buying VST's and making them work..Sweetwater...Priceless

    I love the Slate drums and the big new Kontact package I just got, But the very best thing is not having to go crazy trying to install and get the things to work. That's always been a major hassle for me and Sweetwater has made that easy, I called them and they put a guy on the phone who logged into my computer and slam bam..it was done. I was thrilled, I will never ever buy any software from anyone else again. You have made the experience of new VST's just great.

    Thanks Andrew (this guy knows his stuff)

  • from United States January 18, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician, Generally nice guy

    Great Sound

    Solid VST. Very useful. Sounds are pristine. Usage is simple. Nice product. Buy it!

Reviews

  • Mitch Gallagher
    2-24-2012

    I've been a fan of Steven Slate's virtual drums for several years, for a number of reasons, the biggest being that the drums are preprocessed and ready to drop right into your mix. Slate has used his years of experience as an engineer and drum specialist to create a collection of great-sounding software kits that always sound "right" when you use them for a project. Want a metal kit? Load one up and you're ready to go. A rock kit? It's there. Load up a "signature" kit, which duplicates the sound of a famous drummer's drum set. It all works very well, and the Slate drum kits are playable, dynamic, and responsive.

    Now, with Steven Slate Drums 4.0 Platinum, Slate has upped the ante. Rather than base his instruments on a software engine from another manufacturer, he's created his own virtual drum instrument, still featuring the great sounds and kits for which he is known. Within the Slate virtual instrument plug-in (which supports Mac/PC RTAS, VST, and AU), you're given detailed control over your kit. You can change instruments in the kit; mix various mics (four on the snare, for example, two top and two bottom); blend in mic bleed; process dynamics and velocities; load different mics; change an attack, sustain, and release envelopes; adjust note mapping; route to aux buses; and cover all the usual mixing parameters as well, such as panning, solo, mute, phase/polarity, and so on.

    Steven Slate Drums SSD 4 is amazingly detailed yet simple to navigate. A bunch of grooves are included to get you going. You can use these grooves -- which are played by real drummers and feel great -- to audition kits or to build songs. All in all, it's a powerful package that can cover any drum sound in any musical style. Highly recommended.

Questions about the Steven Slate Drums 4.0 Platinum (boxed)?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway