0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale!

Mackie SRM550 1600W 12" Powered Speaker Reviews

4.5 stars based on 22 customer reviews
Questions about the Mackie SRM550 1600W 12" Powered Speaker?

Questions about the Mackie SRM550 1600W 12" Powered Speaker?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from September 1, 2016

    Mackie SRM550

    We are using these cabs as monitors in a classic rock band. Blown away by the perfomance for the price and size. We have purchased 4 to replace our Yamaha CM15Vs, the outperform the Yamaha's with less weight and psychical size.

  • from Minnesota July 22, 2016Music Background:
    Gigging Rhythm Guitarist

    Fantastic Monitor

    Great price with the rebate. It's a fantastic monitor with more than enough power. It's loud enough for my bass player and I to share. In fact I think I lost some hearing the first night I used it. I'm only at about 9 o'clock using it as a monitor in our seven piece variety band.

    When I first got it, I thought it was defective because of some misinformation I read in the reviews. Some have complained of the limit lights being on during normal operation. The signal light should come on and stay green most of the time during normal operation. That indicates a good signal. If the signal light lights red, the channel is clipping and should be turned down a bit. In addition, there is a limit light that lights yellow if the if the amplifier is clipping or the transducers are being overdriven. Bottom line, if you're seeing green during operation, everything is good. I've had it literally painfully loud and have had no red or yellow indicators.

  • from June 28, 2016Music Background:
    DJ

    WOW

    I wanted to take advantage of the rebate and so I jumped on buying a pair of these. Didn't want 15's and I have 8' mackie dlm speakers already. These speakers are perfect size and even though they are made out of wood which is a great thing... they are not heavy. I have Mackie DLM, JBL EON, JBL MRX, and Yamaha dual V Club series. Lets just say that this speaker Won them all! The bass is accurate and tight. The kids and highs are smooth and not hard on the ears. They have a built in feedback destroyer...which comes in handy, but I wish Mackie would show us how to use it properly. The back has a two channel mixer with independent gain control and with built in DSP. Lots of great stuff on this speaker. However, I would like to have all the controls/power connectors to be on the very back of the speaker... i guess they did this to help with the wedge floor monitoring. I would like to have a handle on the top of the speaker Too. All in ALL the speaker is a must have. Only time will tell if these speakers will last for a long time.

  • from New York March 23, 2016

    Excellent Speakers

    I personally own two of these and I just installed 6 of these speakers in a church. They work great, light enough to hang and not break you back. Great quality for the price.

  • from Arizona May 28, 2015Music Background:
    Rock Music, Acoustic 10 years

    Solid, light and crystal clear

    I have been a working musician for 10 years, play solo acoustic and sometimes as a trio for bigger events. I use 2 of these as my mains with a Soundcraft EFX 8 board. I have used them outside ~300 people with plenty of room to spare in power. The pre-set EQ's are handy on the back of the speakers and make mixing from the board all the more easier. The Feedback destroyer has saved my butt a couple of times when I wasn't near the controls and the guest speakers were taking liberties with the volume of their voices/proximity to speakers. I run 3 vocals, bass, kick and guitar with zero muddiness. Shocked at how light they are and solid feeling/sounding at the same time. I can carry one in each hand at the same time (except at doorways). If you have the money these are a truley amazing value.

  • from May 12, 2015

    Clubtastic!

    I recently placed these speakers into an Irish pub that does live music, replacing an old passive peavey system and rack of amps, GEQs, etc... In the first 3 months since installation, the owner, sound guy and musicians have had nothing but praise for the immediate improvement in vocal clarity and overall output. Mackie has a nice product here!

  • from Texas May 6, 2015Music Background:
    Classic Rock, Texas rock/Blues, Reddirt

    Awesome Sound

    I have been in the music scene over 40 years. Most recently on the sound production side. I have had to haul drum kits around for most of that time and now appreciate light weight equipment. We bought 2 of the SRM550's for monitors, 1. for the light weight, 2. to reduce the use and weight of power amps. Absolutely Blown Away by the power, thump and clarity of these Speakers. I have never had anyone, especially singers and guitar players ask to turn down their monitor until now. We are looking at purchasing 4 more of the SRM550's for our Sound production business and running through the Mackie Digital board makes the job and my back more enjoyable. I Highly recommend these for your sound.

  • from Napoleon, OH July 31, 2014Music Background:
    Church Soundboard, Live Musician, Hobbyist

    Great Speakers

    These speakers are great, especially paired with the matching sub. We have two of these, the sub, and the iPad controlled DL board and they are all together a powerful road system for worship on the road for our church. These guys pack good punch, I bet the 650's hit hard as well. You honestly only need the sub if you need that rumbly low end in a room. If you use it outside you do not hear it as much as the punchy bass coming off the 550. The built in cross over matching is great and the 4 different EQ presets are actually pretty useful. Overall we run these things at about 70% on the gain knob on the back of the speaker and they sing! Haven't used as a wedge since we use the in ears with the DL mixer. I'm sure it'd work great. Quick and easy hook up. You won't be disappointed.

  • from Beaverton, OR June 29, 2014Music Background:
    Started in the 60's playing rock n' roll, continue to write and perform at 60+ years of age.

    Took the plunge!

    I'm an old time rocker. I haven't been impressed by way of new speakers for a long time. I am a die hard JBL user. I still use my cabs from the 80's because of their warmth. Unfortunately my age has determined I needed to do something to help my aching back. I hated the idea of using plastic speakers. I have had several smaller jbl, yamaha etc. and wasn't very impressed. Sold or gave them away. When I was offered these from Sweetwater at a great price, I decided it was time to help my sore muscles. When I discovered they were made out of wood it consoled me. When I heard them I was pretty amazed. They had a great balance and warmth in the sound. That's after picking them up and realizing I could handle their weight. My wife even commented on the warmth. My first pair of Mackies, based on how they are constructed I expect they'll hold up!

  • from SouthEast May 13, 2014Music Background:
    Live Sound & DJ

    Blown Away

    When I read that EAW had a lot of input into the new SRM line I knew I had to try them and boy did that not disappoint! I've got about 5 different sets of PA combinations from Active to Passive from EV, JBL, Alto and others and let me tell you these new Mackies are killer. All of my speakers aren't the low end models either. JBL PRX tops with STX818 subs, Crown XTi6002 and 4002 amps and DBX Driverack PA2 processing! Folks don't pass on these until you at least give them a listen or give them a shot. You won't be disappointed I promise. I was gonna purchase a set of QSC KW's next and even a set of EV ETX's but I just don't think I could be any happier especially at what the Mackie SRM's cost! I'm using the SRM550's with 2 SRM1850 subs! Way to go Mackie and Loud!!

  • from Kettle Falls WA January 14, 2017Music Background:
    gigging musician

    Versatile Workhorse

    We've had two of these for almost three years now and gig with them regularly. We use them for monitors in our full band and mains for solo/duo gigs. They sound great and have been totally reliable. Plugging an acoustic guitar into a channel directly with an instrument cable isn't really loud enough for me so I use a DI box. Love the SRM series.

  • from EPT December 23, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Live Sound Engineer Novice

    Awesome Sound

    I bought these along with a couple of SRM 1850's, WOW! The sound is clean, undistorted and clipping is easily avoidable with the indicator lights on the back. I push these with a QSC Touchmix, that not only mixes live sound (16 Mono-ins) but has stereo inputs, so a computer or cell phone can lay down some incredible sound!

    I push them hard, with electronic music, and the built in crossover in the subs lets these shine as they sit ontop of the sub on a sub pole.

    I also sometimes use them as monitors, when FOH is supplied at the venue. If you want some quality sound, rugged construction and clear, crisp music then you will love these!

  • from Charleston, SC December 12, 2014Music Background:
    DJ, Musician

    All About That Bass

    I'm really happy with these speakers. I have to preface my review by saying that I got a stellar deal on them when they were first released thanks to my Sweetwater rep. He's the best!!! Anyway, they sound great. Plenty loud. For 12" speakers I am eccstatic. Being wood cabs they have an incredible low end. Almost too much low end. I'm a DJ and for that application it's great. When I use them with my band it's not so great and I use my Yamaha DXR 10's. That's not to say they can't be eq'd to really make us shine. We are lazy when we do our own sound and have an old board that we run off of so your experience can certainly be different. They are definitely worth a look. They are road tough and I haven't had any issues in the year's worth of time that I owned them. The only qualm I have with them is the placement of the inputs on the back. They seem much better equiped as wedges than they do front of the house PA speakers given the design.

  • from Lincoln Park, Mi. November 13, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    awesome speakers!

    Wow, where do I start..... first off- its hard to believe they packed 800 w. RMS into a monitor sized main. That being said, I thought I made a BIG mistake when they were delivered. Shortly after I hooked these up , I heard how much Mackie has come along. Do not let their size fool you!! These are monitor sized mains that really kick out the volume. I'm very impressed. I've owned these speakers just over 6 Mo.'s, and done 10+ gigs with them. Some of the time using them as mains, other times as monitors. What i've found is that it really doesn't matter how you apply them. They are awesome. We played a outdoor gig with them over the summer and I only had to turn up the speaker output volume to just over half. We have used them as monitors, and I have never heard a better monitor ever. After every gig, my back says thank you Mackie!! I can't say enough about their weight, portability, and performance. Coupled with 2 SRM 1850's you will have a very good functioning P.A. with plenty of headroom for all medium and smaller sized venues. I will be purchasing more Mackie equipment in the future based on what these speakers do. Great job Mackie.

  • from Logansport,in July 5, 2014Music Background:
    30 plus years active musician.

    Blows my old srm 450s away. Many upgrades. Mackie won my business back.

    Great great sound, awesome power, extreme flexibility, built in EQ and adjusting on the back, and tons of power. Best of all superlight great as you get older.

  • from Charleston, SC July 4, 2014Music Background:
    Pro DJ, Pro Musician

    Good Well Rounded Speakers

    Let me preface by saying that my Sweetwater rep alerted me to a sweet deal the company was having on these speakers. Before that deal, these speakers weren't on my radar. I've owned EV ZLX 12's, Yamaha DXR 10's, and some lower end Alto and Behringer speakers. As a DJ and musician,I need something that will be versatile for club thumping bass as well as crisp vocals. These Mackie speakers deliver. Against my EV ZLX speakers, the Mackie wood cabinets were noticeably warmer sounding. The bass is super deep and punchy. The construct of the speaker is super solid and the green logo on the front stands out a little differently than your typical blue and white. The only thing I wish was different was the location of the inputs on the back of the speaker. It's not directly in the back of the speaker, but back at an angle which makes the cables visible from the side. Just a peeve of mine but it doesn't take away from sound or durability. I'd buy these again for sure. Ask for Ed Needler. That's my Sweetwater rep and he'll take care of us.

  • from Kettle Falls, WA March 3, 2014Music Background:
    Gigging musician

    Nice Versatile Speaker

    I bought two of these before I had read any reviews, hoping I would not be disappointed. I was not! As floor wedge monitors, they sound clear and crisp with our 5 piece band. The feedback destroyer functions very well and does not ruin the overall tone of the mix. As mains for the duet set that my wife and I perform, they are more than capable of filling the room and putting out great sound as would be expected from a Mackie speaker system in a poplar speaker box. When my wife or I perform solo, these really do work well with just a quarter inch speaker cable and a mic cable plugged directly into the two channels in the back. It just won't be nearly as loud as when we go through a mixer preamp first. There obviously isn't as much eq versatility either, but the button to switch between PA, DJ, MON or SOLO is helpful. Excellent unit!

  • from Temecula, CA November 7, 2014Music Background:
    Mobile DJ

    Sweet Deal

    Couldn't find these Mackie SRM 550 at my usual shop. I found them at SW and they were on their way to me. Honestly had a little issue with FedEx, but it all worked out and the second speaker was delivered the next day. Used these new speakers at a few weddings and Im impressed with the performance so far. After using 450s for the last 10 years I must say these are even better. having two inputs makes some jobs a snap. Thanks Sweetwater

  • from Long Island NY July 4, 2014Music Background:
    Part time musician, Part time Recording Engineer/Producer/Studio Owner

    I like these speakers

    I've only had these for a few weeks and have used them at three gigs. In this short period they've performed flawlessly. I've used them as both mains and as monitors and they worked equally well in both capacities.

  • from Atlanta, Ga November 12, 2013Music Background:
    pro sound

    Very Nice Speaker

    I have always been a Mackie fan from the first pair of grey SRM 450s. The 550s are a different model. A poplar wood enclosure instead of a plastic box is nice. We own over 12 pairs of the 450s for rentals and they're starting to show many scuffs and bruises that there is nothing you can do about it. With the wood cabinet, we can get some wood patch and black Duralex paint and these will look brand new.

    The sound on these speakers is head and shoulders smoother then the 450s. People who own the 450s will all agree that the high end on those plastic boxes are harsh and brutal! These sound (no joke) like a studio monitor. We tested a pair in our office all day listening to iRadio and they sounded fantastic! Nice, round and full. Nothing like their predecessor.

    I expected these to weigh a ton. Not so. Very light for a wood design. The finish is typical splatter paint. It's not that thick, but when they do start to take a few bumps, I can easily fix these.

    I bought these specifically for floor wedges, but will use them for corporate gigs as mains. I love the floor wedge cut! The speaker hits you in the face and not in the belt buckle! What really pushed me to buy these were the feedback circuitry of this speaker. It employs a 4 band parametric EQ to find feedback and knock it out. I put it to the test and it worked pretty damn good! I would ring the monitors myself then if they really need to be pushed harder, the onboard feedback DSP can really help.

    My biggest concern? I'm hoping Mackie learned from their troubled HD rollout to insure these speakers have a very low failure rate. Time will tell, but these things do sound pretty awesome!

  • from Michigan July 15, 2016Music Background:
    Veteran musician (30+ years of performing)

    Doesn't work well as Keyboard Monitor

    I purchased a SRM550 to use as a single monitor with a Fractal AX8 for guitars and Keys. The guitar sounds are good and clear however, when it comes to using it for the keys, it clips pretty bad with low frequencies. This is especially bad with organ patches. I have to pull my volume down substantially when playing live to keep it from clipping. . . so much so, that I can't hear much of what I'm doing.

    I've tried the different EQ profiles and the SOLO profile seems to be the least prone to the clipping however it shaves off much of the frequency range needed for my guitar to sound good. So I can't really use it in that mode plus, it still does clip in that mode too.

    Other than the low frequency clipping, the sound when running in PA mode is very clear and full. It just can't handle very loud low frequencies

  • from Queens, NY June 14, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    COULD BE A LITTLE BIT MORE AWESOME

    I recently bought two of these through Sweetwater. This speakers sound great. I love having a wooden housing instead of plastic. The low end on these are amazing.

    What I don't like? When you put this speaker on a stand, it does not have a tightener like the original SRM450 has. I can spin the speaker around as if it was a basketball on my finger when it's on a speaker stand. Also, when set up as a floor monitor, all the knobs, xlr and power button are directly in the back. If I had this speaker set up on a stage as a floor wedge that had no barricade between the crowd and stage, it would be very easy for someone in the crowd to easily mess around with the power, volume, ect.

    But these speakers do sound really really really good. I'm going to build a special harness with right angle xlr and right angle power IEC so cables don't bulge out as much.

Questions about the Mackie SRM550 1600W 12" Powered Speaker?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway