0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Mackie SRM450v3 1000W 12" Powered Speaker Reviews

3.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Mackie SRM450v3 1000W 12" Powered Speaker?

Questions about the Mackie SRM450v3 1000W 12" Powered Speaker?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Scott Ely
    from Goldsboro, NC October 29, 2014Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer / DJ

    Awesome speaker!

    I have owned several Mackie speakers over the past 15 years and honestly they have never let me down....and I do mean never. Great sound and very dependable for any occasion. You can't go wrong with Mackie!

  • Roberto Maculan
    from Fort Drum, NY October 11, 2014Music Background:
    DJ

    Great Speaker

    These sound fantastic. The bass is way louder than the v2. The compression driver is smaller which I believe improves the hissing at high volumes from the previous versions. It really balances everything out. I used these at a 5 hour gig and cranked it and did not clip once. I believe the changes made are better and would recommend them to anybody.

  • Jason
    from CT July 31, 2014Music Background:
    Live Musician, Event DJ

    Great Speaker

    Very light - incredible definition in sound - clarity - lots of headroom (doesn't distort at high volumes.

    **I can't compare this speaker to many other speakers because I have only owned Mackie Powered. (SRM450v2 before these).

  • Keith
    from Caribou, ME January 26, 2016Music Background:
    Karaoke / DJ

    Excellent speaker that stands the test of time

    I've been Karaoke Gigging for 3 years now with 2-SRM 450v2's as my mains and 1-450V3 as a monitor. I have the top of the line QSC sub rounding the system out. Let me tell you that the clarity at this combined price point is unmatched. Never a hick-up with the speakers and I constantly get compliments on the sound.

  • Customer
    from April 28, 2015

    New Speakers

    A perfect addition to my existing Mackie equipment.

  • Amicus Curia
    from Washington March 3, 2015Music Background:
    Piano, Alto/Tenor sax, banjo, fiddle, guitar, alto wooden recorder, independent producer

    Rugged, not so loud/natural

    I'm very pleased with how this unit is built. It definitely fills its calling as a piece of road gear. The anti-feedback feature is nice though suspected of notching certain frequencies affecting the sound. I'm still playing around with mics, but the EV654A (dynamic) sounds boomy on voice with this unit. My alto sax w/clip-on Technics condenser mic sounds great. This speaker performs MUCH better with a pre-amp mixer between the mic and the speaker, so I don't recommend plugging a mic directly into this unit even though it will take it and it displayed little/no hiss when it did. I'm just not impressed with how 'natural' it's claim to sound actually measures up. You may have to go with a wooden cabinet and some kind of 3-way setup to get better sound (perhaps including a sub-woofer) at the expense of additional weight--and this thing isn't exactly 'light'. Would I buy this again--well, a matching speaker (I only purchased one), sure. For the price and its intended purpose (road worthiness) you can't beat this with it's D-class and A/B-class bi-amp design strategy. (D for the woofer, A/B for the treble) Would I buy this strictly for recording studio use?--No. Snaps, crackles, and pops?--none. It comes with an XLR pass-thru.

  • Chris
    from May 1, 2017Music Background:
    Guitar/singer of 17 years

    NOT 1,000 watts

    Do not be fooled by the way these Mackie SRM450v3's are advertised. They most certainly are not able to run or even peak at anything close to 1,000 watts. As the manual states, they run at a continuous 400 watts (barely, if even). I recently purchased two of these speakers, and while I will admit that we play some pretty loud metal when my band jams together... I have never once been able to hear the vocals even slightly above the mix, let alone even in the mix for that matter, and we have the room acoustically treated pretty well. I've been playing in bands and using PA equipment for almost 15 years now, so believe me, this isn't a result of some oversight or inexperience. I remember when I used to have a relatively low end Crown power amp run into two passive Peavey speakers of the same grade, and that setup was MUCH louder than these Mackie's. I was actually able to clearly hear the vocals over the instruments with that low/mid-grade setup, whereas these Mackie's are basically either completely inaudible, or screaming with feedback (yes even with the auto-feedback reduction engaged). I am completely unimpressed and dissatisfied with this product and not very appreciative of the fact that "1000W" is advertised all over the place on Sweetwater's listings for the Mackie SRM 450v3. I don't even think these can put out the 400W continuous that the fine print states. If you're a DJ, maybe these will work for you in a very small venue. If you play in a rock band with an acoustic drummer, then these SRM450's will be nothing more than expensive decorations while you jam.

  • Fred Dix
    from Milwaukee, WI May 7, 2017Music Background:
    Producer, Musician

    Trying to be like everybody else...

    I've tried a lot of the boxes, EV's Yamaha DXR's, QSC K12's, and Mackie's original 450 (grey), the 'new' 450 (black), 450v2, 450v3, 550's and DLM12's.

    My summary is that this is box is warm, kind of like the DLM12, but to call it a '450' is misleading valuable customers like you and I. It's a warm box, but HAS NO WHERE near the the crisp projection that the V2 has. Not a good move, Mackie (at least to call it a 450).

  • Jonathan Vega
    from Puerto zrico September 10, 2014Music Background:
    live sound engineer

    v2 was better than v3

    I have 6 Mackie srm450 and they sound great and very loud, i have 2 mackie srmv3 and does not sound as louder as the srmv2, i dont understand why mackie make this change. The high of v2 is 1.75 the v3 is 1.4. not a good change.

Questions about the Mackie SRM450v3 1000W 12" Powered Speaker?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway