0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Shure SRH840 Closed-back Pro Studio Monitor Headphones Reviews

4.0 stars based on 30 customer reviews
Questions about the Shure SRH840 Closed-back Pro Studio Monitor Headphones?

Questions about the Shure SRH840 Closed-back Pro Studio Monitor Headphones?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Customer
    from April 15, 2017

    Srh 840

    Couldn't be happier, no downside to these. Comfortable and sound wonderful.

  • Ryan Mowdy
    from Oklahoma City, OK April 11, 2015Music Background:
    Lots o' stuff

    MY FAVORITE TRACKING HEADPHONES FOR

    Okay so I use Yamaha HS8 monitors on a symphony i/o running Pro Tools HD 12 and Logic Pro X (and reason 8, ableton live suite 9, digital performer). I have been using my AKG K812 headphones which cost an arm and a leg but they are good more for mixing. But these Shure headphones are wonderful for tracking. I know you may get overwhelmed on which headphones to get when it comes to "closed" headphones. Trust me, you want these. They are great and even have some noise reduction. They fit so nicely and feel great (and I have a small head :) anyway look no further and get yourself some of these babies. Included is a 1/4 in. adapter and some other stuff. Really fancy headphones. Love em!

  • S. Whitehouse
    from Fort Wayne, IN January 19, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Fantastic

    I use these for playing through my Line 6 HD500x and also for just listening to music. These headphones are great. The whole dynamic range of these cans are fantastic. There are lots of great headphones out there on the market but these are handsdown the best value for high quality audio.

  • Elizabeth Ortiz
    from United States October 3, 2014Music Background:
    My son, attending school sound engineer. He also is in a band

    Awesome

    It was just what my son was looking for and the price was the lowest out there.

  • DJ Napalm
    from United States February 18, 2014Music Background:
    Recording & Mixing Engineer

    The Truth

    If you're looking for a great set of headphones look no further. They are excellently priced and come with a several extra goodies. The reproduce sound accurately and can get me close to a final mix when I'm not in my studio.

  • Joe
    from Ohio April 27, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Musician,

    Great Phones!

    I got these for some recording projects and couldn't be happier. Great sound, great stereo imaging. Thanks Delvin for recommending them!

  • Philip Gebhardt
    from Tampa Bay area, Florida. August 2, 2010Music Background:
    Musician, home recording hobbiyist.

    Gotta Love 'em

    Right off the bat, these cans are built to last. They stood up to a few round of "tug of war" with my two yr. old niece. They even come with an extra pair of earpads and I like that the cable is replaceable. The padding feels like leather. Heck, I'd just remove the cable and wear them for some peace and quiet. Oops, I almost forget to mention that they sound great. There's an air about them that says "Let's get to work and have some fun". Three hours later I forgot they were on and had to take them off to go to bed. They sound honest, airy and detailed....oh, they also are LOUD! Then again that's another reason I bought them. I have a 12 yr. old pair of Beyerdynamic DT770 's that have seen better days but feel like pillows on my ears but have a much higher impedence, so they need a bit more power but sound soooooo sweet. I've also a pair of Sony 7506's which I have now relegated to my ipod. All in all, I'm very happy with them as MINE, so if I'm ever recording with someone else, they can use another set of my cans, or, better yet, get their own set of 840's. I'm "Shure" they will be very pleased!

  • en76
    from hawaii May 12, 2010

    What ?

    This will make you wanna call your sales engineer and ask for your money back but before you do that. Do some testing your self. This can really reveal that crackling and distortion and you will notice it. So what I did, I double check it with my sennheiser HD280pro and yes its there.
    The difference is these SRH840 is a bid clearer in it imaging/detailing which is good for mixing or going over your mixes.
    Also hardly any pressure on the head plus which you will notice compares to the S-HD280pro. Is the price is right for it ? Yes. So, it is a good upgrade for me. You won't be disappointed but before you say "mmm what" crap other cans and double check it.

  • John Myers
    from San Antonio, TX December 30, 2016Music Background:
    Not a musician, but enjoy listening to good music.

    SRH840 Headphones

    I use the set every day listening to music. These are the most comfortable headphones I have ever used. They are lightweight, but well built and the collapsible design is very handy for storage and
    handling. The mini jack versus a hardwired cable will allow replacement in case the cable is damaged
    or is worn out. The spare set of ear pads will come in handy when needed. These headphones will
    provide me many hours of excellent listening, I am very pleased with my purchase.

  • Mark
    from United States February 26, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Sound for a Great Price!

    I have listened to many headphones before but this is the most expensive one that I have purchased (I'm a college student so funds are tight). I must say, these are GREAT! They are well worth the money. Out of the box, the high's are slightly hyped and there is some slight compression when the full frequency range is being demanded by a rock band. However, the detail and clarity in the price range is exceptional. These were a great recommendation for the price. They are also the first pair of headphones that I have owned that have really brought a smile to my face. That is not saying that I other headphones for half the price are not good. But these are simply nice to listen to and comfortable! Thanks, Dave Brow!

  • Howard Ziwa
    from Scottsdale, AZ United States January 29, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician,Producer

    Great bass Extension

    I have used these for about 3 years now: I own two pairs .They are good when taken good care of: the head band on one of them broke when it fell . I have used these to mix and master on the go and the mixes translated quite nicely. They tend to be harsh at loud volumes and generally have a brighter high-end . They are great for critical listening as they reveal distortion and noise very easily. In the end ;It all comes down to preference; but i'd recommend these to anyone on any day!

  • David E.
    from Jim Thorpe, PA July 11, 2013Music Background:
    Worship Leader / Songwriter

    Shure SRH840

    Luke nailed this request for upgrading to quality headphones without breaking the bank! First, these phones allow me to mix multiple instuments and vocals and clearly identify and adjust each sound. Unexected clarity at this price-point. Second, these headphones are light-weight, comfortable, well-padded, include necessary adapters and equipment and IMHO are well-made. Yes, I had to move up to around the 200 dollar entry point, but in retrospect, that is a small price to pay for equipment so integral to the recording and mixing process, expecially when the goals are quality demos and "Indie" CDs. I am extremely happy I made this choice. Thanks, Luke and Sweetwater, for another homerun in the equipment arena.

  • Curtis
    from Mankato, MN July 10, 2013Music Background:
    Sound Designer for Theatre

    Worth The Money

    These were my first pair of studio monitor headphones. I bought them on short notice before traveling to a sound design internship. When I first put them on, I was very pleased with their comfortable fit. They are just heavy enough to feel secure. The tension on the ear pads creates a comfortable fit with great noise isolation. Let me say that again, GREAT ISOLATION, I have worn these for hours at a time without any discomfort. These headphones have a very flat response with just a little bit of boost in the low end. When mixing, I have to be cautious of that boost. Other than that, I have nothing bad to say. I have been shoving them into a backpack and tossing them around for over a month now. They endure daily abuse, and still sound pristine.

  • Customer
    from September 14, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great Cans

    I really like these. I own the 440s, some old sony set, and the Sennheiser HD280s, and for me this one is my favorite. Sound is extremely clear and crisp, and they are very very comfortable. Well worth the upgrade from the SRH440s or the HD280s.

  • MIchael Miller
    from Erie, PA. March 15, 2012Music Background:
    Recording engineer, semi-pro musician

    Shure SRH840

    GREAT set of headphones. Good fit, well made, excellent sound. Tight bass. Seals out sound from the room very well. My ONLY gripe is that the removable cable disconnects a little too easily from the headphone. One ear will cut out from time to time due to the cable starting to come out of the jack on the earpiece.

  • HH
    from Nashville, TN November 6, 2010Music Background:
    Artist, Writer, Producer

    Good Choice!

    Great studio headphones. My favorite at the moment. Only missing the headroom in the bass frequencies, tends to give in a little but not bad and only when really asking ALOT from them. All around great set!

  • David Hughes
    from Alameda, CA USA September 27, 2010Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    These Sound Better!

    These headphones are worth every penny. Crystal clear sound and great response. I've been using HD280s and they are great, too. These just kick it up a notch and give you the sound you're wanting to hear. My only concern is the exposed wire. If you're not careful, it can be damaged. The easily replaceable parts are a huge plus if you're using these everyday.

  • terry tutterow
    from Indiana January 20, 2017Music Background:
    7652429648

    Headphones

    Awesome true too life Sound. Professional indeed...

  • Dean
    from Louisville, KY October 27, 2016Music Background:
    Live sound audio engineer

    Incrediblw Sounding

    I run live sound for various bands. I moved up from a set of Sennheiser HD280 pair. These handle higher volume levels and the bottom end does not distort, and isolation is good too. Those were the main drivers for me.
    They are a little larger and bulkier than I prefer, but opted to go with them anyway. I wish the cups would turn 90 degrees... for quick / easy solo listening without having to completely throw the set on. I adjusted the way I used headphones so it's not as clunky.
    Overall, I really like them and would purchase again.

  • Jeff Owens
    from Indianapolis, IN March 19, 2015Music Background:
    Musician

    great sound

    Great sound and comfortable to were for long perids of time when working on a project

  • Robert B Duarte
    from Pearl City, Hawaii, USA April 19, 2013Music Background:
    Musician engineer producer

    Great sound but a little heavy

    It's a great headset but it is a bit heavy after long wearing time, but it has good accessories very thoughtful ones extra pads and of course a replacement cable.

  • Mark
    from Florida December 7, 2012Music Background:
    Recording and LIve audio engineer, studio owner, drummer

    Shure SRH840 headphones rock.

    For years I used another common brand headphone for musician monitors which were ok but the Shure 840 is a huge step up. Less distortion with better frequency response. Should have switched to these years ago!

  • Elliott Delman
    from Chicago, IL USA February 27, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Composer, Producer, Guitarist

    Double duty

    Everyone knows that mixing under headphones is not ideal. But life is not always ideal, and if the situation calls for a headphone mix, the 840's are a great option. The definition and imaging are excellent. And I find these cans to be quite comfortable—even for long stretches.

    Additionally I was looking for closed headphones that wouldn't bleed click. The 840's are amazing in that regard. When I solo my guitar tracks there's not a trace of click. Hallelujah.

  • Mikey Razor
    from Sugar Land, TX October 3, 2011Music Background:
    Engineer

    Big heads rejoice

    I auditioned the Sennheiser 280 and the AudioTechnica ATH-M50 along with the SRH840. Although the A-T's were a very close second for audio quality, the Shure's were far and away the more comfortable and that means a great deal when you have a big head…literally!.
    I auditioned with the new Allison Krauss “Paper Airplane” CD and found the clarity and depth to be quite good.
    Isolation is sufficient and the construction is excellent.

  • SeaClef
    from December 31, 2016

    Weak Headband

    These headphones are excellent and really much better than the 3.5 I gave them but the issue is the weak headband that has broken twice now. . I play guitar and listen through these headphones. The first time they broke I went to the website and found I could purchase the headband so I bought a replacement and did the replacement myself 11 months ago. The first one lasted only a year. It's challenging but doable but it is a very weak point with these headphones. Shure sure could do a better design so it doesn't break there and they could make it easier to replace just this part without having to solder the speaker wires. I'll have to get another headband.

  • David Skerritt
    from June 5, 2013Music Background:
    Old-age pensioner player, enjoying DeskTopRecording facilities

    Great sound, but...

    The sound is great on more or less any kind of sound source. BUT, the cable on left side makes it very cumbersome if by chance you wish to monitor what you've already laid down, and also want to play something. For a right-handed guitarist, this means you're continually fighting with the cable, unless you somehow arrange your interface behind you and your guitar, pedals or whatever, in front of you. This should really come with a straight cable, a lot less bother.

  • Nicholas Saundes
    from Fl June 21, 2012Music Background:
    Singer songwriter

    Very Good

    The sound is very good, and much better then my monitors. I do must of of my mixing thru the headphones. I would like them better, if they were a little lighter.

  • R. Williams
    from New Mexico December 29, 2010Music Background:
    Just someone that enjoy a range of nice music.

    SHURE SRH 840

    The 840's have decent sound but the sound leakage is quite noticeable to someone standing a few feet away. The noise cancellation could be much better. Both problems, I believe, are the reslut how the ear pads fit. In defense of the 840's they are light and confrotable. After wearing them for a few minutes one tends to forget he/she has them on.

    For the money, one would hope to have better fitting ear pads.

  • Sacalait
    from South Louisiana October 27, 2015Music Background:
    Producer

    Sound Great but The Build Quality....

    I'd give them a 5 for sound. My clients love them! However, I've already had TWO pair break in the same spot (one reviewer has already noted it). Shure replaced the first pair. It's been about 3 years now and I'm pretty certain they won't honor the warranty. I really didn't put any pressure on anything I was just trying to adjust the height and there they went! I don't like to diss a product and was hesitant about writing this but the build quality seems to be questionable. Maybe Sony is aware and is addressing it.

  • David Keller, Rome Recording
    from Grove City, Oh (Columbus Area) February 10, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Studio Owner, Musician and Engineer

    Delicate and Expensive to Repair

    These are nice headphones with good sound but there are better choices that are more durable. A few months past the warranty and very little usage mine broke at the weak point where they attach to the head band. (And I was not mistreating them or hard on them in any way.) Shure won't send parts and has a flat fee of $79.00 to fix them. That's 40% of the original cost! Had I been aware of the repair policies I would not have purchased these. I definitely, would recommend you check out other brands.

Questions about the Shure SRH840 Closed-back Pro Studio Monitor Headphones?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway