0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart

Shure SRH440 Closed-back Studio Headphones Reviews

4.0 stars based on 84 customer reviews
Questions about the Shure SRH440 Closed-back Studio Headphones?

Questions about the Shure SRH440 Closed-back Studio Headphones?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • djekou djedje
    from March 1, 2017

    good

    goooooood!!!!!!!!!

  • Cam n Tam smith
    from Oklahoma November 27, 2015

    Great set of studio headphones!!!

    If you studio...you can't go wrong...

  • Randy
    from June 27, 2015

    Sure are great

    What more can you ask for? Quality headphones, sound great, have 1/4" and 1/8" adapters, carrying case,and a detachable cable. I have used them for several years and they are still in good condition.

  • bernie lewis
    from lockport, NY April 2, 2015Music Background:
    rock . blues

    wow

    well ive used so many different kinds of headphone , I could've bought 2 guitars , literally , although im a first time buyer and user of any shure products , these headphones are just amazing [at least for me they are] I have the headphones on so loud , no background noise no interference its got a nice low end , which I love , if theres one better I wanna know , I recommend these without hesitation , I think shure headphones has got a returning customer

  • Robert Gillum
    from Hacienda Heights, CA March 11, 2015Music Background:
    Currently Ragtime Robert at Disneyland, 39 years before that in piano bar

    Headphone Heaven

    I have to remove my hearing aids to use headphones and from the moment I put these on and started to play the RD800 I had a concert hall in my head. They outperform any other headphones I've ever owned

  • Jonny Malec
    from Frostburg, MD December 16, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Recording Engineer, Journalist.

    Shure SRH440 = Incredible!

    I use these headphones every single day for casual music listening, watching videos/movies, and have recorded, mixed, and critiqued a vast array of music all via these fantastic headphones. I also recommend the SRH240A if you can't afford these beauties. They are extremely good headphones, as well. Cheers! ;)

  • Bob Golden
    from United States August 18, 2014Music Background:
    Played music since I was eight yers old

    Customer Satisfaction

    I in joy the music equipment I have purchased from Sweetwater..
    Sweetwater is a great company to deal with. They are the Musicians best friend I recommend them to all musicians I'am a very satisfied customer

  • Andy
    from Muncie, IN USA July 7, 2014Music Background:
    Sound Design and Production

    The 'working man's' headphones

    Durable and comfortable
    The cable and ear pieces detach and are replaceable (these are the areas I, personally have the most trouble)
    Great frequency response
    Highly affordable

  • Luis Brea
    from Santiago, Santiago April 23, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist, composer

    Great headphones for the budget.

    I asked my sales engineer about a good on the budget headphones and he recommended this, and I am very happy with these, they are very portable and the pouch helps protect them from dust. The ear pads on my old headphones tore off, and after a while the cable broke, this is not a real problem for the SRH440 since both of this parts are replaceable. They are very comfortable but more importantly, they sound good. I feel confident with my sales engineer's advice.

  • Everett Ring
    from Marion, Ind. January 28, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbist

    Headphones

    These headphones fit very well. The sound quality is great and has good volume level. I am well pleased with them.

  • Ann borowiec
    from Lexington,sc December 31, 2013Music Background:
    He plays guitar

    Awesome headphones

    Grandson is thrilled with these.

  • Edward Sak
    from Chicago, IL December 1, 2013Music Background:
    Musician for 40 + years, recording engineer

    Better than my Sony 7510's.

    My Sony 7510 gave up its life after 20 + years of dedicated service. I ordered another pair online and was contacted by my sales representative, Yuval Fuchs. He suggested the Shure SRH440 as a more than suitable replacement for my dear departed Sony. I said, "Shure for mics, of course, but headphones?" Yuval assured me that the SRH440 was a more than competent replacement (and it was $39.00 cheaper than the Sony 7510 replacement to boot!).
    Based on Yuval's recommendation and that ALONE, I ordered the Shure SRH440 (he has NEVER mislead me on anything before, so why should now be any different?).
    When I received them I tried them immediately and BOY WAS I SURPRISED! I have a 50% hearing loss in each ear so I listen to things at a VERY loud volume (not bright I know with a hearing loss going into it).
    The audio output on my computer and TV are at about 80% of maximum (which was fine for my Sony's, both the 7510 and a pair of 7506's that I also own).
    When I plugged in the Shure SRH440, I almost got my head blown off! They were incredibly loud. I turned the overall audio output from 80% DOWN to 50% of total output (and bear in mind that this from a guy who LOVES his volume). I couldn't believe it.
    Sure there are frequencies that I cannot hear due to my hearing deficiency, but those frequencies that I can hear were clear, resonant, present and loud. I heard much more intricacy than I did with the Sony 7510 (sorry to say Sony, but I still love you). I haven't tried them against the Sony 7506 yet, but I will.

    Also, bear in mind that I have NEVER felt obliged to write a product review before (though I have bought hundreds of items over the years from Sweetwater) but this product (Shure SRH440) really shocked me (and I lived through the 60's - ha ha)!

    In the end, neither Shure nor Yuval have let me down! Yuval I'm not surprised at, but the Shure SRH440 sure did prove to be a godsend. Thanks Yuval (ext.1367) for again being a good friend and a superlative sales representative. You do Sweetwater proud!!

  • Lukasz
    from Dallas, TX October 26, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist composer, producer, pianist and electronic musician

    Great headphones for listening

    I got these headphones to listen to music while working in the office, though I would use these for tracking in the home studio as well. I wanted headphones that collapsed, so that I could carry them in my laptop bag to work. These come in a nice bag of their own. When things get noisy around me in the office, this really tunes out the ambient noise, and the music sounds great. If adjusted correctly, these headphones can be used for hours, otherwise, the top part may hurt one's head as these are fairly heavy headphones. These are better than Beats and cost less. The frequent deals that run on these make these desirable too. I've been listening through these for almost a year at time of this writing.

  • robert brien
    from Paradise , California 95969 August 22, 2013Music Background:
    graduate Conservatory of music S. F. written approx. 1000 songs and music segways, sing, play Piano, Guitar ,mandolin violin etc,etc Also Recording enginer

    They feel good on. sounnd even better, and beat all others

    I keep saving them for a project that needs very close attention, however they're built to last so I'm going to use them for everything

  • JimmyVern
    from USA April 4, 2013Music Background:
    Singer songwriter and musician

    Sensing Super Sound

    I am quite impressed with the Shure SR440! These headphones give me great sound sense at a great price. They're awesome! buy a set for yourself.

  • microtonal1
    from Oregon Coast USA March 26, 2013Music Background:
    Always more to learn

    Shure SRH440 Headphones--Pure listening pleasure!

    Shure SRH440 headphones provide the finest details of recordings. Each instrument is distinct. Tonal quality is superb. So happy I invested in these headphones. They make my work easy!

  • raf
    from Orlando, FL January 2, 2013Music Background:
    local band, played shows, record stuff at home, hobbyist mostly

    great sounding recording headphones

    I use these to record stuff at home with my 5150 212 combo and an sm57 through my focusrite 2i2 interface. These are excellent headphones. I had sennheiser HD240s for a long time, but had to sell them. Ended up stumbling upon these guys (recommended by a friend), and I like them a lot better. The sound that Im hearing through these is truer than anything I did with the 240s. Very comfortable. Closed back, so great for recording guitars. Really, no complaints.

  • TimArt
    from TX December 27, 2012Music Background:
    Music Creator/Producer

    Love 'em

    Awesome headphones!!! Very sturdy and high quality. Amazing sound and great bass response that is just right, not too quiet, not too overpowering. I love how they fold up very compactly for portability! Works great with my iPod/iPhone as well as my audio interface's headphone amplifier!!! Blocks out outside noise well and does not leak very much sound. Especially helpful when recording vocals!

  • Joe Nocella
    from Wantagh, NY November 28, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Very Good

    I bought these 4 years ago and they're still going strong. The sound is great. Highly recommended!

  • Customer
    from Long Island, NY USA November 18, 2012Music Background:
    Recording and Production

    great headphones for recording

    these headphones sound out standing and are extremely flat. they have zero bleed when your recording. sound great and i love them. they are very well built and can fold up which makes them very portable come with a nice leather case. the cable locks in so your not pulling it out of the headphones nomader how hard you pull, and its coiled so gives the distance you need and you aren't tripping over it where ever you go. in summery i love these head phones the are absolutely fabulous, and great value for money!

  • Erik
    from OC, CA, USA February 21, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Keyboardist, Home and Studio Recording

    So Far the Best I've Ever Used

    For the price of these I was really surprised. I remember telling the guy are you sure I'm going to like these? He was right, I have a Sony pair and they're great too but these help me notice things I normally don't even on tracks that supposedly were already mixed. I find myself working faster and setting my levels correctly the first time more often. I use to have to scan through all my headphones and try out my stuff on different stereos to figure out what I did wrong.

  • Carl Schaffner
    from United States February 12, 2012Music Background:
    Internet Radio DJ

    Shure are nice headphones

    For a modestly priced set of headphones the performance is second to none! The crystal clear audio response across the range it really remarkable. From deep driving Bass to high fidelity Orchestra arrangements I literally don't miss a beat. The solid closed back design allows me to seamless enjoy the last beat of a high amp rock tune cranked up then jump right on open mic without a hint of feedback or looping. I'm truly impressed.

  • Greg Everett
    from Conover, WI January 29, 2012Music Background:
    47 years as working musician with solid credentials - a fair amount of time recording in studios - a hobbyist on the engineering side

    Great Product and Service!

    I told my sales rep, if I like the cans, I'll write a good review. I like the cans so here it is.

    My old headphones were falling apart and I had been shopping for new ones. I'm on a limited budget and had to keep it under $100. Having purchased from Sweetwater before, getting prompt service, free shipping, the 2 year Sweetwater warrantee on a couple of items and their huge "wishbook" along with follow-up thank yous to make sure I was satisfied with my order, there was already no question, I would make my purchase here. That said, I also checked other sites to for reviews. I had more or less decided on the pair I wanted but I thought it might be a good idea to call Josh Sites (my sales rep at Sweetwater) for his opinion. He said he wasn't all that crazy about the brand I had picked out and explained why. Then, after some discussion on my exact requirements, he suggested the SRH440s and another brand that was actually $20 cheaper. I opted for the Shures simply because I felt more comfortable with my own experience with Shure mics.

    I got the headphones today and have been playing with them all afternoon and evening. They are everything Josh said they would be and the difference is night and day from my old phones. Everything I lacked with my old phones and ultimately had to compensate for, I can now hear with the Shures. They seem to provide a very flat response, perhaps with a hint of sweetnes as Josh said I might notice but they are incredibly crystal clear across the spectrum. I can't imagine how my $100 could be any better spent.

    Thanks to Josh Sites and Sweetwater, I have had a pleasurable and gratifying purchasing experience for music gear (again). I have bought gear for many years from music stores and on the internet. Whether it was music gear or anything else, I have never dealt with a retailer that does so much to let me know how important I am to them. Yes, it's all about making money but everyone wants to get the most for their dollar spent and Sweetwater does that better than anyone.

    Thanks You Guys,
    Greg

  • Mike D.
    from Springfield, IL January 6, 2012Music Background:
    TV Editor

    Great Product

    These are my first pair of professional headphones and I couldn't be happier. Cozy fit, especially for long periods of editing, easily shape to my head with little external sound. Be warned that these headphones do not provide much low-end, but that was one of my criteria while shopping. Overall fantastic headphones, especially for the value.

  • RazorLand Studio
    from Kansas City, Missouri November 13, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician

    Killer

    Have been both a live and studio engineer for over 30 years, used them all, AKG, Sony, Yamaha......hands down the most comfortable, best sounding set of cans I have ever owned....................I am going to have to go back and remix some tracks that I thought I had nailed down now though ...........

  • Customer
    from September 16, 2011

    Awesome

    best headphones i've ever owned

  • John Compton
    from September 5, 2011

    Beautiful

    I used to be using a pair of headphones that I thought were great because they were studio monitoring headphones, and not just commercial crap. I thought they were flat, and the others weren't. When I got the SRH-440s, I realized how much of the audio spectrum I wasn't hearing with my other phones. These definitely opened my eyes.

  • John
    from TX USA December 25, 2010Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, A2 Sports Broadcast

    Amazed.

    What can I really say about these headphones? Other than I am absolutely blown away by them. For just over a year I have been mixing on Sennheiser HD280 pro headphones (don't get me wrong, those headphones are great too. Sennheiser makes some fine gear.) and I always noticed that my lows would be screaming through my speakers after I had printed my mix. So my friend lets me listen to his 440's and I loved them. I just bought them as a christmas gift to myself, and I'm in love. The clarity is amazing. The lows come through nice and clean, the highs are bright and the mids are not muddy at all. I also love that the cord actually disconnects from the headphones for safety during travel. (Just another thing that will make these last a lot longer than most headphones.) All in all, I couldn't be happier. I would recommend these to anybody.

  • Bob
    from Maine December 12, 2010Music Background:
    musician since 1967

    Nice stuff

    This headphone is for hearing what is recorded....ambient sound without color...if you are looking for a booming bass, forget these. Buy something inaccurate. I love these as monitors or with my MP3 player. This is the standard , much like the SM 58 has been a standard for eons.

  • RF.
    from ill August 6, 2010Music Background:
    singer .home recording . tech to way radio

    WOW!!! SAYS IT ALL

    FIRST OFF 20-20KHZ IS HUMAN HEARING ANYTHING ABOVE OR BELOW THAT IS USELESS THESE PHONE ARE ANYTHING BUT THESE ARE WELL BUILT SOLID HEADPHONES CLEAN , CLEAR , SMOOOOTH BASE CLEAN MIDS CLEAR HIGHS BOTTOM LINE ITS LIKE BEING AT THE CONCERT MAN..WHAT SOUND.. I DIG THE REMOVABLE CORD AND PADS NOW HERE IS THE BOTTOM LINE IF SHURE MAKES THESE AND YOU HAVE TRUSTED THERE MICROPHONES FOR YEARS TO BE THE INDUSTRY STANDERD WHY WOUDENT YOU TRUST THERE HEADPHONES THAT ARE CALABRATED BY THE SAME COMPANY.. TO DELIVER THAT SHURE SOUND TO YOUR EARS AND WHAT BETTER WAY TO HEAR ALL THE AWESOME SINGERS THAT SING ON SHURE MICROPHONES THEN WITH HEADPHONES CALABRATED FOR JUST THAT??? NOTE: NOT ALL SRH 440 ARE NOT THE SAME TRY A FEW AT SAM ASH OR GUITAR CENTER OR SWEETWATER IF ONE IS NEAR YOU THE A/B BABY!!! TILL YOU FIND THE SOUND YOUR EARS ENJOY MYSELF ALL HEADPHONES GIVE KILLER MUSIC BUT DO ALL LET YOU HEAR THE SINGER SO CLEAR THAT IF HE SANG RAW WITHOUT EQ .COMPRESSOR, DELAY, VERB. YOU COUD SAY MAN YOU SOUND IN MY HEADHONES JUST LIKE YOU DO IN PERSON. ( THATS WHAT SHURE SOUND IS ALL ABOUT FROME MICROPHONES TO HEADPHONES ( BE SHURE) AND KNOW YOUR GETTING THE ABSULUTE BEST BANG FOR YOUR BUCK NOTE: 3 DAYS BURN IN TIME ... BEFORE USE I RECOMEND .... RF.

  • isaac brown
    from January 6, 2017

    Great Listening

    A Great Deal For The Money Comfortable and Relatively Lightweight .
    For Me spending Less Than $ for a superb pair of earphones was a bargain

  • steve
    from South Carolina December 29, 2016

    Shure thing!

    This is the first pair of Shure headphones I've ever owned. Thus far with daily studio use I am please with the construction, the fit, and the audio quality. I am hopeful I'll be able to use them for a long, long time! They certainly meet my needs and are worth taking a look at for your application as well.

  • RAYE LALOTA
    from MA December 26, 2016Music Background:
    6179470708

    HI-Qualty Name Quality Product

    One of my BEST HEADPHONE, sounds great awesome fit and you can wear for almost unlimited time..

  • Customer
    from May 8, 2016

    Shure Headphones

    The work great, exactly what I needed, and a great price.

  • Customer
    from December 13, 2015

    great deal for the money!

    This is 2nd pair I've bought. Good sound, detachable cable and closed cups eliminate a good amount of outside sound.

  • Customer
    from April 30, 2015

    excellent!!

    Excellent set of head phones great all around sound... I only knocked off 1/2 star cause they come with a coiled cable that pulls the headphones somewhat if you have top stretch it (Easily enough fixed by purchasing the optional straight cable)

  • Jim Allen
    from Conway, S. C. January 9, 2015Music Background:
    Amateur Musician

    Shure SRH440--good listening.

    Very comfortable on the ears, pleasant audio for listening. I selected these because I have had good experiences with Shure microphones in my ham radio station and the headphones are just as good. Audio range is ample, anything more would be wasted on my ears.

  • Joe Raposo
    from Dartmouth, Massachusetts September 2, 2013Music Background:
    Student

    Shure SRH440

    Great product, great sound, good price. Outstanding service and sales rep followup. Not to to crazy about the coiled cable but can live with it.

    Highly recommend Sweetwater for all you music gear needs. Great people to work with.

  • Greg Maroney
    from Wellsville, Pennsylvania, USA June 4, 2013Music Background:
    Pianist

    Shure SRH440 Headphones

    Very nice headphones. I purchased these to listen while recording piano. They are crystal clear, and there is no bleed over into the mix as they are closed back headphones. Comfortable to wear, and a great sound, all in all a great headphone.

  • Ross M
    from United States April 23, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Home Recording, Live Sound

    SRH440

    Solid set of headphones. Isolation and bleed seem great. Audio balance is awesome, seems relatively flat, nothing is too hyped or smoothed out. They can get uncomfortable if you wear them for an hourish, but that's really a trade-off for getting good isolation and low bleed, so I'm not bothered by it. Comes with a leather bag, and the 1/4" adapter is handy. Didn't think I would like the coiled cable, but it tangles less than straight cables, so I now prefer it. Exposed wires is a little sketchy, but I feel confident in these headphones holding themselves together for years to come.

  • Les
    from Northwestern Washington December 19, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, musical director, community theater

    Finally, headphones that work--and don't kill your budget.

    After seeing a set of $300+ Bose headphones disintegrate,and getting no satisfaction from the company, I decided to find headphones that delivered decent range, were simply designed, and had an easy-to-replace cable. The Shure SRH440 fit the bill, and quite nicely. I will get a second pair for the home studio.

  • Fritz Carney
    from United States December 7, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Bassist, Composer, Bandleader, ect.

    Shure SRH440 Headphones

    I was pleasantly surprised when I had to replace my Koss headphones with these headphones purchased strictly on brand name and cost. However, the

    Shure SRH440 headphone surpassed the broken phones by leaps and bounds. I didn't know my Fantom X8 would be panned with low notes on the left, mid notes in the middle, and high notes on the right.

    I also compared these phones with a lesser priced and more expensively priced Shure headphones, and the SRH440's sounded better to my ear than the $320.00 pair I tested at last year's NAMM Show!

    A great bargain for sure: no pun intended. ;-)

  • john haynie
    from florida July 27, 2012Music Background:
    decades of writing, performing recording

    Great phones

    Light and quiet ( for a no-bleed recording). Frequency response is very good. Comfortable. Great price for a quality product.

  • Susan
    from St. Joseph, MI March 9, 2012Music Background:
    amateur singer/songwriter/musician

    Srh440 is great for noise cancellation

    I haven't been able to use this product a lot, but I really enjoyed it. I bought it as a gift for my fiancée and so when we were on a few trips, he brought his laptop so we could watch movies on the tourbus. He also brought a splitter and his new headphones. When I used them, I watched the whole show and then took them off. It was like a waterfall of bus noises hit my ears. I didn't realize how much noise it really blocked. Aside from that when I listened to music, I heard base tones I've never heard before in some of my favorite songs. Overall, these headphones are awesome.

  • Phil
    from Payson, Arizona February 14, 2012Music Background:
    Recording artist, former church sound man

    Wouldn't want to wear these all day

    I bought these for tracking vocals in the recording studio. Although I haven't used them for that purpose yet, I have tried them out for listening to music on my computer. The sound is what I would expect from Shure...that is great sound (good balance with lows/mids/highs) and I could listen to that sound all day. The reason I wouldn't like to wear these phones all day though is that they are a bit tight on my head. That's good for sound isolation, but a bit too much as the pressure gets to me after awhile. I think they will be great for tracking vocals. I have a pair of AKG K240 MkII phones for mixing, and those I could wear all day long, but since they are semi-open (giving even more faithful reproduction of the mix), they are not recommended for wearing when recording vocals, as the sound could be picked up by the very sensitive studio microphone. Overall, I definitely recommend these phones for the purpose mentioned above, and maybe they wouldn't be too tight for everyone, but just a word of caution if you plan to wear them for hours on end.

  • Gabriel Magno
    from Las Vegas January 5, 2012Music Background:
    45 years pro musician

    Pretty Good and Durable

    After two weeks, I can say it surpassed my older Sony headphones, which at the time were highly rated. I listened to several songs I was familiar with and with the Shure, I heard sounds I never heard before (especially on the high end). Things like triangles, brushes, tambourines, etc.). I didn’t give it 5 stars because of two things I feel could use improving.

    The cord feels heavy after a while, especially if you're recording something and standing up. The cups after about an hour did seem to put pressure around my ears, causing some discomfort. I know what you're saying "want some crackers and cheese with your whine?". But if consumers don't voice opinions, the manufacturers will feel all is okay. Would I recommend these. Absolutely. The overall sound spectrum is very well defined, and they appear to be well constructed...

  • Mike
    from Ohio December 19, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Musician

    The Best I've found

    Each person has different uses for headphones so, I will comment on my use only. I use these(I have four of them) for musician monitoring while tracking. These sound superb! They sound like a good studio monitor. That being said, means they sound flat with no hype. If you are looking for hyped up bass these are not it. These are flat with plenty of room left for EQing if needed. And Yes you can EQ these to get hyped bass if needed. These are the first set of cans I've found that a loud drummer said that at half volume he could hear everything perfectly.The outside isolation is also very good. The only reason I gave it a 4.5 rating instead of a 5 is that the only improvement might be the weight. They are a bit on the heavy side and extended use can get tiring. Overall, excellent quality and a great bang for your buck. You could compare these to an SM57 and likewise refer to these as a "Studio workhorse"/ $100 bucks and they just work great!.

  • Victor Calise Blanchard
    from Houston, TX USA February 8, 2011Music Background:
    Padwan Learner, Sound Engineer, Singer/Songwriter, Hobbyist

    Hell Of A Buy

    I received these baby's as a gift this past Christmas. I asked for them because they were recomended by my sales engineer here at Sweetwater. I am very pleased with the quality and durability featured by these headphones. I take good care of my equipment and I fully expect these will be around for another ten years before they wear out.
    I use these for recording and have experienced no bleeding or contamination of my tracking.
    The removable coil cord is great and would like to note that it is plenty long and just as rugged as the rest of the item.
    These come with a very nice carrying case as well. Sideways say I.
    I would not use these to recreationally listen to music, but I go to them every time I record and whenever a divice of mine needs monitoring and I don't have monitors handy. I think anyone would agree that these are great set of headphones for their price. I see no reason to drop them for anything more expensive, period.

  • myspace.com/THEREAL208
    from Nampa, Idaho July 30, 2010Music Background:
    Producer, Music lover

    Best Ive heard so far

    Best in class, compared these to others in this price range and glad I went with these very High quality materials, like the screw on 1/4 plug to avoid it popping off, Very clear and detailed sound I almost got the Dr.Dre Beats which are 300.00! those are very nice to listen to music (VERY Nice but hyped BASS good for bumpin but Im recording and need a FLAT freq. response so I get the best mix possible These are great and were recommended over the Sony 7506's and HD 280pros by Salesmen

  • John
    from May 6, 2016

    Solid phones when they work correctly

    I purchased 2 pairs of these headphones for my project studio last year. While I do like them over all as far as how they sound, I do have a couple small gripes about them.

    Upon receiving the two pairs, one of them had a left ear-cup driver issue the first week I had them. I was not sure if it was the Hossa headphone cable, the detachable headphone cable that comes them, or the phones themselves. After several recording sessions and constant issues with the left phone constantly cutting in and out, I narrowed it down to the headphones themselves. Sweetwater and Shure are taking care of the dead pair, but the first pair has been solid.

    The design of phones are the other small grip I have with them. Because they can be folded up for storage, taking them off your head with two hands is almost a must, or they tend to fold up on themselves.

    Sound wise, they are loud, crisp, and well worth the $100 price tag, although I think I will go with the Sony MDR-7506 next time.

  • LindseyP
    from December 21, 2015

    These things are LOUD!

    I like them enough that I "gifted" the first set and bought a second pair to replace them. Although the SRH440 has a high Ohm rating it is constructed to put out a high volume level at that rating. My phone has no trouble driving these and this set is yields the loudest response from my laptop. In my experience with these users should not need a headphone amp in any situation with these headphones.
    Other circumaural headphones in my possession include:
    CAD MH310,
    Audio Technica ATH-M45WH,
    Panasonic RP-HTX7,
    Bose AE2,

  • Chase
    from Louisiana November 11, 2015

    Great headphones

    Happy with my purchase. Sales rep from Sweetwater recommended them. Currently using them with my Roland TD-11k electric drum kit. Good bass, mids, and highs. I love LOUD, and the SRH440 can certainly handle being cranked up.

  • Tom O
    from Silver Spring, MD USA December 3, 2014Music Background:
    Part time pro musician

    Everything I wanted in a headphone set

    I have had mixed experience with headphones in the past, with most problems stemming from weak cable connections that resulted in intermittent cut-out of the sound. The Shure SRH440 seems to have a strong and well constructed cable connection that provides a strong and reassuring "click" when the detachable cable is plugged in. Sound quality is very good, allowing me to hear all the detail I need. The design allows me to hear enough of the surrounding ambient sound to hear others speaking in a normal voice when between takes. The fit is adjustable and comfortable. This is a workhorse headphone set that will not disappoint.

  • Ed Barnett
    from Colorado Springs May 7, 2014Music Background:
    Beginning podcaster. Vocal background.

    First real headphones

    Nice quality set. I appreciate quality materials and sturdy stuff. This head set is definitely that. As far as the sound, being new to this, I think it's great.

  • Christian Valle
    from NYC, USA October 18, 2013Music Background:
    Eletro-House Producer.

    Good sound

    Very clean, with good bass. Comforted level is ok.

  • Willy
    from United States January 30, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Hobbyist, Hardware Engineer

    Built like a tank!!!

    The only reason it's not 5 stars is because the're a little heavy, and the vinyl earpad covers can make you sweat...

    That said, they sound great to me, and the closed back design keeps things isolated in both directions... Like, there is no bleed between the headphones and the microphones during tracking, and they do a great job of keeping outside noises out of your ears...

  • Joshua Richard
    from Boston, MA USA July 30, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Great Headphones for cheap

    Detachable cable and bag are very convenient features. The bass response is that of a product worth much more than these cost!

  • Aaron White
    from Milwaukee, WI June 20, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Best set of CANS......

    Brandon Eden suggested these cans to me a few days ago and I am glad he did! The quality is amazing! The highs are perfectly balanced with the lows. The sound is crisp and clean and the more volume you add, the clearer they get. These are the BEST set of CANS you can purchase for the price. PERIOD.

  • Customer
    from February 13, 2012

    Shure SRH440

    I feel that this is quite a great set in terms of quality... Just not really comfortable with the padding... still trying to get used to it...

  • Clementina
    from Dominica August 4, 2011

    On-air Staff Satisfaction speaks volumes.

    My Staff has expressed tremendous satisfaction in the fit and clarity of sound of the headphones. I am so pleased with the purchase and appreciate the quality of service delivered by Sweetwater.
    Thanks to my Sales Engineer for his assistance and rapid response in meeting our need. I highly commend you, M.

  • Charlie Phillips
    from Jacksonville Florida USA June 15, 2011Music Background:
    Professor of Digital Media and Audio Recording State College.

    Great value for the price

    I ask my sales rep for a good pair of closed headphones. Steward said people were having great success with the Shure SRH440. I was amazed at the quality and sound of this headphone. It works great as a studio headset but did not believe Steward when he said that is would work as mix down/mastering headphones. I was pleasantly surprised. I have mixed a piano trio recital, live chorus concert and lots of electronic and blues/rock with them. There are outstanding for the money. I use them in my home studio a Presonus StudioLive 24.4.2 firewired to a IMac 7 using Apple Logic Pro 9. My near field speakers are Yamaha HS80M with sub woofer. The Shure matches beautifully with this system. I will be buying more for the studios.

  • Zo
    from Denver CO April 11, 2011Music Background:
    hobbyist

    They Are Nice

    I like the sound of these cans. They serve my purpose well, basic video editing and casual music listening. They are a bit heavy, don't feel that rugged, and the earpads harden and crack too easily. Will be looking to replace with the SRH840 pads soon.

  • Customer
    from March 18, 2010

    Nice!

    For $99 they're well worth it. Great for tracking. More detail and accuracy than I was expecting. I wouldn't use them for a final mix or real critical monitoring situations, but for general recording they more than suffice. I will be getting the 840's to pick up where these left off.

  • TJ
    from Kansas City, MO November 14, 2009Music Background:
    Guitar Hobbyist

    Great Product

    If your looking for a pair of headphones within a reasonable price range, these are definitely the one to purchase. I had bought the Sony MDR-7506 at first, and was not impressed! Really there is no comparison between the two. The Shure 440 are more durable and way better sounding without all the static background noise that you get with the Sony MDR-7506. Shure 440 is truly a great product!

  • Matty F
    from NYC January 27, 2015Music Background:
    Active musician.

    I Hate The Cord.

    I gave these phones 3.5 stars because of the ridiculous coiled cord. Its cumbersome, and because it's coiled, its constantly fighting you. Outside of being the most physically annoying phones I've ever owned, they sound great.

  • Beth
    from Mars and Beyond August 4, 2014

    Too Tight for Big Head

    Sound quality is very good. But they are so tight! I didn't think I had a large head, but well I guess I do. I am a woman, how big can my head be? People don't remark to me, Gee, You have a big head lady (to my face). Anyway, I can't stand it pressing on my head, and if you are sensitive to sound and everything else, as many musicians are, you may want another pair for the large headed.

  • Jesse
    from Northern MN July 22, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Recording engineer

    Pretty good.

    I bought 6 of these when I set up my studio several years ago. Overall, they work really well for the bands that come in. They get the job done. However, I have found that after long sessions, they tend to be uncomfortable. They are pretty durable. I have had to replace a couple of the 1/4 inch jacks because they came apart, but that's nothing. They've been dropped plenty of times, and they still work as well as they did the day I bought them. One of the biggest frustrations that I have had with these is that they creak a fair amount. It can be an issue for voice over work and lead vox. Overall, they are pretty good. The comfort issue and the creaks just get annoying after awhile. I haven't used others in the same price range, so I can't really compare them to what's out there.

  • The Weave
    from Foothills of The Ozarks February 15, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, 40 Year Musician

    Good Quality at a reasonable price

    Good Quality at a reasonable price. Works just fine for band practice and recording playback.

  • Customer
    from Louisiana January 19, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Sounds great, well made, worth the price!

    Sounds great, well made, worth the price!

  • E-man
    from Los Angeles, Ca September 4, 2011Music Background:
    Beginning Music Producer

    Not too crazy about them

    Bought these headphones because SHURE is a quality name that can be trusted and the reviews were good. Once I had them and started listening to my mixes I became disappointed. Mid frequencies were a little more present than preferred and muddied up the mix a bit. Disappointed at the headphones, I bought another pair around the same price (Sony 7506) and was glad I did. SHURE are still useful but not my go to headphones for clarity. My recommendation, go to a music store a listen to variety of headphone. Find the pair you're most comfortable with and buy it at Sweetwater!

  • Jansen Wilder
    from Singapore November 22, 2010Music Background:
    home Hobbyist.

    Decent stereo Image , punchy bass.

    It starts to get heavy after usage... The Mid range between 6 to 9 KHz is a little bright to my ears... very decent in stereo detail for its price. I sold it after 2 weeks of usage .... I guess that's why they had the SRH840.
    I replace the SRH440 with the ATH M50...huh... my ears feels better with the M50 somehow. My tip, always listen to headphones flat without eq and judge if they balance the frequencies in a song/track/mix, The SRH440 offers stronger bass I believe. But I prefer the M50 just slightly..price considered as well. Cool headphones for its price, ignore the SRH220 and grab the 440 directly if you need decent headphones.

  • Customer
    from September 11, 2014

    Great for Tracking

    These headphones are great for tracking and good for listening to music.

    As far as isolation goes, the SRH440's are fine. The headband doesn't squeeze your head as hard as other headphones, which is nice for comfort. The downside of this is that the seal between your head and the cup of the headphone won't be as tight, leading to some loss of low end, and also less isolation from outside sounds. I would not recommend these for live sound.

    I've seen a few reviews that state these are extremely flat headphones... which I don't really agree with. When compared to my HD280's (which do have a dip from 2.5 kHz to 12 kHz) these headphones have quite a lift in the high end, making them fairly bright. The high end lift is flattering to most music though.

    Definitely worth $99, but don't be afraid to look at other options in that price range. A headphone purchase should be based on the intended application, and the users preferences. If comfort and a brighter sound are important to you, these are great. If more isolation and something non-fatiguing during long sessions is important to you, I would look at the HD280's.

    The only thing that bugs me about Shure Headphones is that their spec sheets are weak and provide very little data. The frequency response is "10-22,000 Hz" but they don't tell you where the +/- 3dB point are in that frequency spectrum, making that spec completely useless.

  • steve sweat
    from March 28, 2012

    Sey Hey

    I wouldn't say these are accurate, but they are good

  • Customer
    from February 13, 2017Music Background:
    Studio Owner, Musician

    Good - But Not Accurate Enough for Studio Use

    I had purchased these Shure SRH440 headphones for artist cue and monitoring duty, however they did not work as well as I had hoped. Compared to my other studio sets (Beyer DT150, Sennheiser HD280), the Shures have exaggerated high and high/mid frequencies, to the point that I was getting complaints that the sound was too harsh at medium volume levels - and I agreed once I had a chance to compare. Geoff, my Sweetwater rep, was awesome; he allowed me to trade the 440's in for a pair of Sennheiser HD280 pros, no problem at all.

    Build quality, comfort, isolation etc. all good - just not accurate enough for the studio IMO.

  • Buck Whiteway
    from CT December 22, 2014Music Background:
    Songwriter, guitar and piano

    Decent Headphones

    I bought the Shure headphones as an extra pair for recording. They're fine. I also have a pair of Sony MDR 7506 which are a good pair and my main headphones are Focal Spirt which are excellent and sound very much like my Focal Solo6.

  • John K. Blossom
    from Springfield, MA November 2, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    OK, I guess.

    Fits well. Sound is good. But one of the earphone covers has slipped off and it's very difficult to put back.

  • John Volz
    from Dayton, OH June 8, 2016Music Background:
    20 Years live player in band

    SRH440 SHURE Headphones

    I was not completely sold on the bass level and tonal quality of these headphones after purchasing. For $99 however, I couldn't have expected too much and I was going to live with the quality as I am not using them for recording purposes at the present. Just play back and listen for the most part. However, the right earphone has since gone out since I purchased a month or so ago, so I need to have these replaced.

  • Rick Williams
    from August 24, 2015

    Shure SRH440

    Like the headphone, fit and sound reproduction but really dislike the coiled headphone cord. Would not purchase this item again with the coil cord.

  • Soundview
    from Florida June 1, 2013Music Background:
    Location audio & video

    I LOVE Shure products, but not these

    I've got three pair of $100 cans-Sony, Sennheiser, these Shures. My favorite of the bunch is the Sony for most listening, and the Senni's for isolation when recording live concerts. The Shure's have the least pliant ear pads and I had to put gaffer's tape on one of the pad covers to keep it from coming off-repeatedly. I'd like softer pads that don't come off. 'Nuff said.

  • Cheney Haycraft
    from West Salem, IL January 7, 2013Music Background:
    Recording engineer, amateur videographer.

    Good phones for the money.

    Bought these to have another set of headphones when tracking, as well as having another source to reference mixes on. Work fine for what I wanted them for. Can get uncomfortable after having them on for awhile, but that's not really a big deal. Flatter in the highs than the Sennheiser's I own.

  • Mutley58
    from Lancaster, PA USA November 11, 2012Music Background:
    Home Recording Engineer

    Adequate but not great

    Needed another set of headphones for additional musicians & tracking use in the studio and thought I'd give these a try. I can't say I really like how these fit, feel or sound. I find them to be uncomfortable after a short period of time. The plastic shell enclosing the drivers has a weird resonance when tapped & I think it makes them sound boxy. They don't seal as tightly or prevent sound leakage as well as the Sennheiser HD280's do (which are the same price) so I never use them for vocal tracking. Being able to replace the cable is a nice feature and is the main reason I thought to try them. For the money Sennheisers or Sony's are a better choice.

  • Kathleen
    from United States April 26, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Not What I Expected

    I was disappointed by these Shures. I've used Sony MDR 7506's before, and it just seemed that nothing stuck out well with these phones. They were also too big for me, even adjusted as small as they go, so if you have a small head think of another option. Because of this they felt very uncomfortable. I guess it depends in what you're looking for in a set of headphones, but I like to hear the beat. These didn't give me that, so I returned them. Since the Sony's are out of stock, I will try the Sennheiser Pro's. For someone else these may be perfectly fine though; this is just my experience.

  • Baron Fuselier
    from US December 7, 2010Music Background:
    Lead engineer at SOL Studios.

    Great sound but feel cheap.

    they sound ok but they feel really cheep like a pair of $19 radioshack headphones. i bought these cause the isolation rating was 3db higher than the 7506, and hd280. witch it was not by much but it was. i will be sending mine back to get a pair 7506, or hd280.

  • Menton J. Matthews III
    from Chicago, IL June 20, 2011Music Background:
    Musician.

    Not SHure enough

    At first they do not sound all that bad, and don't feel all that bad as well, but after about an hour of wearing them, and hearing your mix you have worked up in them, I have to say they are useless in almost everyday. To be honest they truly give me headaches, they REALLY hurt after having on on for more then an hour, and the sound… no so much.

Questions about the Shure SRH440 Closed-back Studio Headphones?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway