rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Shure SRH240A Closed-back Headphones Reviews

4.0 stars based on 15 customer reviews
Questions about the Shure SRH240A Closed-back Headphones?

Questions about the Shure SRH240A Closed-back Headphones?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Shane Hodge
    from San Diego, CA March 20, 2013

    great investment

    Price plus accuracy gives this 5 stars.

  • Tyler
    from Florida January 23, 2013Music Background:
    Sound design

    Shure SRH240A

    You could not get better headphones for the price. I spent 140 for my old pair that broke and I believe that these are much . At the price they are the best.

  • Mark Koffer
    from Idaho January 3, 2013Music Background:
    Voiceover talent

    Shure SRH20A Headphones

    Got them for my grandson to "graduate" him off of ear buds. His dad can't seem to get him off the i pod. He says best thing he got for Christmas. Just what he wanted. His old music sounds sooo much better. great price for a starter set of phones.

  • Alex Dickson
    from Lawton, OK USA September 3, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist working to pro

    Best I've EVER HEARD

    I've listened to quite a few different headphones from ear-buds to headsets mainly for consumer listening purposes, but I've tried a couple for music creation purposes and NOTHING compares to the quality of these for the price. After you try these nothing else will sound as good anymore LOL I'd also like to say, Thanks again, Mr. Jason Koons

  • Mick Wingert
    from Burbank, CA April 3, 2012Music Background:
    Pro VO talent

    Great headphones

    I am a voice actor who is putting together my own recording space. I was really impressed by the clarity and fidelity of these headphones. The sound was crisp and clear and just what I needed to judge the sound of the room with great accuracy.

  • Roger Lichtsinn
    from Fort Wayne, IN January 20, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Shure SRH240A Headphones

    Highly Reccomend! I have searched and tested many headphones and these were of the best. I will be back for another pair very soon!! Thanks Sweetwater!

  • Paul
    from Colorado June 25, 2013Music Background:
    Live Sound and Recording engineer

    Fantastic

    I did a bit of research before picking these headphones from the others in its price range. I'm totally happy with these. Great sound, nice isolation. Recorded a band live in a noisy restaurant, I could hear all the detail I needed from the mixer.

  • Tyler
    from Ballwin, MO USA August 18, 2012Music Background:
    Computer Musician, Hobbyist

    These are great!

    Just got these today, and I am already loving these headphones! I got these guys for on the go recordings, and I have faith that these guys will do the trick. High, mids, and lows all sound great. You won't regret these headphones!

  • Craig
    from NW Ohio March 11, 2017Music Background:
    40+year keyboard musician, arranger, composer

    Great Phones, except...

    I purchased a pair of these about 1.5 years ago. These phones are reasonably comfortable when worn for long periods and have the typical great Shure sound. Now for the "except". I was rather surprised to find that when using the phones, if you move about much at all, you will notice the plastic portions of the frame creaking and cracking rather loudly. More than enough to be a distraction. Since I am a keyboard player, there is plenty of upper body movement and head movement to create this condition while playing. So, if you're using these phones for critical listening or the occasional mixdown, these should be fine. But beware, and try them out first if you're a performing musician using them for monitoring.

  • Dave
    from Ft. Wayne February 17, 2014Music Background:
    Producer/DJ

    Wonderful

    For the value, these are great headphones.. the bass could be a tad louder but the things sound great.. i use them in my amateur studio and to play out... they work very well.

  • Sister Kay Kay, SSS
    from Waterville, ME USA March 29, 2012Music Background:
    Music Minister & songwriter who records my own demos

    Nice headphones

    The headphones look good & fit well. I was suspicious of the thin wires, having experienced theose airline & other cheap headphones crack up after a few times of use. But I notice from the catalog that all seem to have thin wires, even the high end phones as also some Yamaha phones that I use to practice the big organ in Chapel--and they have to be over 20 years old! So far so good with these; here's hoping. The service was great, as also the advice from the Sales Engineer, Charlie Davis.

  • Vinny L
    from New York January 13, 2012Music Background:
    Musician and audiophile.

    Very pleased!

    Excellent headphones. Great clarity and very comfortable. Used daily with an iPod. The have an excellent range; nice booming bass and super crisp highs. Awesome headphone, especially for the price.

  • Ernest Buckley
    from Brooklyn, NY June 10, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Flimsy Design but decent sound

    I purchased these headphones for my son to use when he played his keyboard but he also got a pair of Beats from a relative so the Shure 240As took a back seat and were designated to family use and occasional studio use. These phones have a nice sound which is really surprising for the price but what annoyed me to no end was that the plastic head band makes a cracking noise whenever you move so if you record with them, you`re going to hear the headphones crackling… this is really awful. But again, good overall balanced sound and for this price… and comfortable. I would not depend on these for mixing because they do tend to lean on the bright side for my tastes but they are a good for pure listening.

  • Customer
    from Muncie, IN November 15, 2013Music Background:
    Student, Recording Engineer, Musician

    Good for price

    They are great for the price, but they could be better. I have a small dip behind my ears where my jaw bone is so they are not very tight on the ears and there is some sound leakage (they sound better if you press them against your head.) They are good quality and accurate, but I think the design could be better. The double cable is a little annoying too. I wish it had a removable cable, the left ear stopped working today and I am assuming it is a cable problem.

  • Moore Huffman
    from Los Angeles, CA November 12, 2015Music Background:
    Tracking engineer and sound designer.

    Terrible headphones

    Working in studios my whole life I've used a lot of headphones, and have owned a lot as well. These are terrible headphones all around. They are particularly bad for tracking because they don't sit snug against your ears, and so you get a lot of bleed as a result. When it comes to tracking, I'll sacrifice comfort over mix bleed any day. The SRH240A is really lacking in low end to my ears as well. I'm not a bass junkie either. I like a nice honest balanced headphone. The low end in these is a joke.

    If you want really good tracking headphones in a similar price range I would recommend the Sennheiser HD205II. They sound way better, and they are super snug on your ears which is of course what you want for tracking.

Questions about the Shure SRH240A Closed-back Headphones?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway