rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Shure SRH1540 Closed-back Mastering Studio Headphones Reviews

5.0 stars based on 6 customer reviews
Questions about the Shure SRH1540 Closed-back Mastering Studio Headphones?

Questions about the Shure SRH1540 Closed-back Mastering Studio Headphones?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from usa September 13, 2015Music Background:
    songwriter

    Shure SRH1540 Headphones

    I had to wait a day to write this review because I was speechless. The headphones I have been using for the past five years were Shure SRH940's and they have been outstanding. The SRH1540 headphones really kind of blew my existing pair away with the flatness of response. I ABA'd them and can say it was almost eerie to hear that much more detail. The next step was to put them through the daily rigors of studio work. The result was very positive with everything at lower volumes. When I mix and master I use three mediums: headphones, monitors, and automobile. These headphones will definitely help me make everything sound better in the car which is always a goal. Quality and reliability can be found in every product made by Shure so pick up a pair of these if you are really listening.

  • from September 8, 2015

    Shure srh1540 studio headphones

    These headphones are so clean that I am blown away. I love the great confort of the ear pads. I can wear them all day long. For the price, they can not be beat!!!

  • from Berlin, VT February 25, 2015Music Background:
    Singer, DJ, audiophile, tech geek

    Absolutely fantastic cans for studio or on the go!

    Review of Shure's SHR 1540

    These are a fantastic headphone for $500. They are somewhat large, and do not fold down, but due to the aluminum head band and layered fiberglass ear cups they are very light. The build quality feels and looks super durable. The pads are filled with memory foam covered with Alcantara which feels like a velvety suede. They don't seem to get particularly hot either. They come with a solid carrying case, two sets of wires, a spare set of ear pads, and a 1/4" adapter. The wires do have to attach to each cup, and snap in via a Shure proprietary plug. I wish they had offered that in a universal plug, but it does snap in easily and will only break away if the tension was such that it could damage the phones. All in all the presentation, build quality, accessories and comfort are top notch, and worthy of a $500 set of cans.

    These cans are definitely designed for studio use and monitor mixing, but they kept the portable listener that wants the ultimate sound quality in mind. That is evident by the 46 OHM impedance and the slight warmth of the sound signature. I don't believe the user that demands an absolutely flat, analytic can with a perfectly neutral response would be satisfied. The highs absolutely sparkle, but are not forward set to the point of fatigue. The mids are rock solid and ever present. Bass is solid. You don't just get the thump from a kick drum, but also the leathery slap of the mallet against the skin. The pacing and accuracy of the bass is flawless. It's punchy from a non-bass head perspective, and absolutely plenty and fun for me. Bloat and distortion is zero. On literally every song I've listened to I've heard nuances that I had never heard before. The bass gives that impression you get from being inches from a high quality 18" powered sub. The bass hits, and you can hear the vibration of the decay so accurately. The response goes so low that some songs present bass notes that I didn't know we're on the mix on lesser cans. Soundstage and separation is absolutely impressive. You can hear a perfect Doppler effect as a sound streams from side to side. Everything has a palpable impact. I was so impressed on my initial listen that I kept getting goosebumps and catching myself chuckling in disbelief in awe of the amazing presentation of songs I had previously been bored with. I've been everywhere from Bocelli to Jay Z to Travis Tritt, to Skrillex, to BSB. It seems to work equally on all. For some it may not have enough impact on EDM bass wise. I will say that I don't feel like I'm getting every penny of the listed 99db spl listed with just an iPhone driving. I will be getting a DAC/AMP to bring them to the next level. All in all as near perfect of a set of cans as I could imagine. I actually doubt how much difference I'd be able to hear on a $2000 can. They are THAT good. I'd recommend these to anyone! I'd have to agree with the many, many rave reviews that have said you can't beat these for under $1,000.

  • from Brooklyn, NY December 21, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Record Label Owner

    Incredible Headphones!

    These are truly amazing headphones. I wanted to buy a pair of very high quality closed back headphones and these are perfect. I am the first to admit that I'm addicted to headphones and own AKG, Beyer, Sony, and Sennheiser cans. The sound is phenomenal, and they're very comfortable. I tried the MoFi headphones which also sound very good, but are very uncomfortable. The Shure 1540 are as good as it gets! I've been wearing them for hours on end and they're very comfortable.

  • from United States November 25, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Student

    Truly a premium product

    Disclaimer: I am in no way associated with Shure or any other company. My opinions are mine, and my own.

    Pro: Offering exceptional fidelity and comfort with a brilliant construction and thoughtful extras the Shure 1540 is a headphone that is not easily bested.

    Cons: With a rather steep price tag it can be a large pill to swallow for someone hesitant to take the leap.

    Overall: The new Shure closed flag ship is a major contender to the headphone market. I believe it to be one of, if not the best closed back headphone on the market. It brings superb comfort with an above average imaging and soundstage that makes it hard to put down. It is simply a joy to listen too.

    The Shure 1540 is the first headphone I have come across in my budding audiophile career that seems to check almost all the boxes. I have had the absolute pleasure listening to them. I have had friends listen to them (one who never seems to see the difference in my headphones). She instantly remarked when I took them out of the box “those look like really nice headphones.” A moment later I played a song and had her listen. Her comment was, “okay yeah these do sound really good.” I feel this puts these in a nut shell. The just sound and feel so right. I will break down this review into several topics. If you want a streamlined version I will have a numerical breakdown listed below (for those impatient readers!).

    Sound: The sound I can best describe as something like a Nike swoosh. It has a bump in the bass (but controlled) and a slight spike in the upper treble to give it some sparkle. It is, however, very close to neutral to my ears which is great as it allows me the EQ it to my personally needs relatively easily however my ideal sound is very close to its “normal” sound so I don’t really need to do much to it as far as EQ is concerned. I should also mention that I have been using the Fiio E17 with these. They do not require an AMP to be used, but they do scale up well.

    The overall sound isolation is good (rated at 15 db) which is about average. They leak little noise unless at dangerous volumes. This means if someone is singing along to your music with these on your head, turn the music down!

    Comfort: As you may already know after reading other reviews these headphones are extremely comfy. The ultra-plush ear pads have a slow recovery memory foam which molds to your head exerting just the right amount of force to create a good seal, but not too much to cause pressure points. This is vital for me as I wear glasses, and these are the first pair of headphones I have ever worn that don’t put pressure on them. It is truly remarkable. Furthermore these pads get even better, as they are covered in an Alcantara™ fabric. It is essentially extra durable synthetic suede which is very soft on the skin and breaths better than most other pads.

    Style: This is a less essential category but many people do care how their headphones look. They are simple, yet stunning. They have a very modern feel and the carbon fiber backing is a unique look. I personally like how they have a more understated design, but not simply boring. I think Shure did a good job in the department.

    Durability: These headphones are clearly built to last, as the premium price should indicate. They are made of aluminum, carbon fiber, and high quality plastic housing. There are hardly any moving parts, only part that moves is the adjustable headband, which is one of the smoothest mechanisms I have used (no clicking). This lack of moving parts means fewer things to easily break, like hinges. In addition the cable is replaceable and the pads. If they either wear out or some tragedy causes them to break then Shure is kind enough to provide you with spares of each, included with the purchase. If the headphones were not strong enough they come with a substantial carrying case which will protect these cans from most anything, although it is a bit bulky. In short these are meant to last

    Value: As I have stated this is a sizable purchase, however some things to consider are: They come with all replaceable parts which separately are expensive as well. It is logical to assume that this influenced the final price tag. Many people have grown used to buying Beats for 400, so in reality this is a phenomenal deal, as you get superior, well… everything in my opinion (yes I have listen to Beats, specifically the new studios). Sound is much better, comfort is better, build is better, and value is better. Having said this they are still a large purchase and are not suited for everyone. That is your decision to make as a consumer. I can say that if you have the budget these are well worth your time or interest.

    Sound: 9.5/10
    Comfort: 10/10
    Style: 9/10
    Durability: 9.5/10
    Value: 8/10
    Overall: 9.2/10
    Recommend: Yes

    Summary: These headphones are hands down the best that I have heard and currently own. The offer a superior imaging and sound stage for a closed back headphone, of which I have not experienced before. The sound is rich and supple making these a pure joy to listen to, which is good cause their comfort allowing me to listen for very long durations! I hope this review helps, feel free to comment and ask questions I will do my best and reply/ answer!

  • from Cincinnati, OH August 19, 2014Music Background:
    Bass player and erstwhile amateur recording engineer

    Nice Headphones for sure

    On general principles I don't award 5 stars to much of anything these days, but these headphones almost deserve that.

    I finally got tired of the weak bass on my studio's default ATH M40fs phones ( ihave about 8 of them) and broke down to buy a proper set. for my use in the control room.

    I have a great main monitor set -- Genelec 1032A's and a Genelec 1094A subwoofer -- which will blow the walls down if I let it. This rig is flat down to well below 20hz.

    When I tried the Shure phones for the first time, I was stunned to hear almost exactly the same frequency response and stereo image as I hear sitting in the sweet spot of my rig with the Genelecs. Bass as full and firm and I could ever wish for, and no detectable difference in the higher frequencies.

    I now have a set of phones that I can use for any purpose whatsoever. Enough said.

Questions about the Shure SRH1540 Closed-back Mastering Studio Headphones?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway