0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Samson SR850 Semi-open Studio Headphones Reviews

4.5 stars based on 12 customer reviews
Questions about the Samson SR850 Semi-open Studio Headphones?

Questions about the Samson SR850 Semi-open Studio Headphones?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from July 6, 2016

    Samson SR850 Headphones

    Awesome sounding headphones actually recreate's a closersounding mix that I get on my near field monitor .
    Much better than my closed studio headphones which now reside in the closet.

  • from Ohio January 24, 2016

    For the price... you can not beat these cans.

    For the price... you can not beat these cans. Hands Down. Spend over $150 or get these. I have listened on many headphones in the $100-$150 range mostly and these are far better sounding as far as stereo imaging and thick bass. Waaaaay more comfortable so don't let the headband fool you.. it molds to your head and the cups are huge so that's always a plus.The semi-open design makes it nice for extended listening times. Late-night guitar and synth sessions last longer with these on. I notice a big difference there for sure. And to compare, I have recently heard akg k240 and did not like the sound as much. I have the closed sony mdr7506 headphones, and they fatigue fast and make my ears sweat. Samson has the perfect balance here at a perfect cost. My friend purchased a pair and broke the headband within 6 months. He's very rough on gear. Type to take the headphones off with one hand... but that's the only drawback I would see someone having. Not enough to dock stars, because he went to the store, compared more, and still bought another pair... They are that good...

  • from SoCal December 28, 2015Music Background:
    Retired Pro

    Great headphones

    Great headphones! I just paid a hundred dollars for another set that were great and used by a lot of different people but man, I like these better at half the cost. You can't go wrong with these. They sound great I know you'll like them, nice wide frequency response! Save some money! I could have got two pair for the price of the other ones. Really Great! Can't say enough about them.

  • from Hartford City, Indiana May 8, 2013Music Background:
    Multi-Instrumentalist / Songwriter

    Professional Choice

    As a recording musician, I must have accuracy and HQ sound, so I always choose the semi-open back headphones. I've used ones that cost several hundred dollars and got the same quality that I found in these. The Samson SR850 is a professional choice at an affordable price......period!

  • from Vegas Baby! June 9, 2012Music Background:
    Mixing and Mastering Engineer

    This may be the best 60 dollars you'll ever spend!!!

    First let me say that these are my first pair of professional reference headphones so do your own research and please consider every option before making your final purchase! OK firsts things first,these are very comfortable! Ive had them on for about an hour now and i can see myself wearing these for another 2 or 3 hours easily! Second Thing, the sound! wow! i actually had low expectations because these look like AKG knock-offs, and we all know how look-a-likes can be, but, let me tell you,these are in a league of there own considering the price to performance ratio! they sound absolutely great! they sound like true studio monitors you wear on your head! once broken in, you might not wanna take them off! everything is very well balanced! Nothing seems hyped. the sound stage is huge! i feel like I'm in the mix and not just listening to it. The stereo field is super accurate! they do have a lot of audio bleed but by these being semi-open back headphones, that's how that amazing sound stage is achieved. They have a very natural sound witch is always a good thing because its nothing worse then feeling all boxed in when your listening to earphones.Ive been doing production and engineering for the last 10 years (mixing and mastering engineering for the last 4 years of that time) and i do critical listening everyday (and i do mean everyday) on nothing but my studio monitors so i think i know a thing or to about great sound and sonics so believe when i say that these may absolutely be your best option for professional reference headphones for 60 dollars PERIOD! If you do decide to make these your choice, you will NOT regret it!

  • from Miami, FL January 10, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Headphones!!

    Excellent frequency response!! Excellent value!! 100% recommended!!

  • from September 17, 2014

    Quite great for this price

    I am really happy with these. Bought it for my digital piano, totally worth it. But if its plainly about listening to songs, iPod with its new earphones are better still anyday. But you would need the iPod with it of course :). So ask me? Yes,I tried using my older iPod earphones with my digital piano, sounded horrible.

  • from san jose, ca January 18, 2014Music Background:
    rockstar

    best 60 buck headphones

    I play heavy stadium guitar through headphones and often give headphone "concerts" at work or jam sessions I have home studio with reference monitors and numerous Sony, Sennheiser and Audio Technica headphones these are almost as good after break in, not quite as clear as the high end twice the price others but a million times better than all the other 50 mm neomydium cheapies anywhere near this price range and can take high volume , also open design allows me to write songs play and sing without getting rigged up. after a friend killed my Sennheiser 380's with insane volume I now take these and leave expensive phones in my studio, comforatable don't pinch ears, lightweight

  • from December 8, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Musician

    Samson SR 850 Studio Headphones - s emi open

    Bought these a few weeks ago.. Great mostly for the money ( writing off the top of my head here so please ).. Studio as they say aptly named great for studio. work Like I said great bang for the buck.. Sound is midrange as the price but for midrange these are great.. Surprising bass for midrange also. Seem to be durable but i believe these also have the 2 year guarantee if it is different I will try to post..

  • from K.C.MO. USA January 22, 2013Music Background:
    40 years of rock and jazz on a Strat I got in 1972

    Headphone monitoring on stage

    Before I was playing through a Fender Super champ as a floor monitor, and now with these headphones I no longer have issues with other people on stage hearing too much of my guitar. My next investment will likely be a mustang floor pedal system, so I can get the same amp modeling as before. I am about to buy another set of phones for my bass player, son.

  • from SF, CA December 16, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist, home studio recorder

    Very surprising quality for the price.

    I bought these because I wanted a more durable pair of headphones that didn't hinge. They definitely fit the bill in that regard, as they automatically adjust to my ears but stay snug without having to adjust them. I feel like if I drop these they won't break. The cord is also nice and thick - less easy to get tangled.

    I was very pleasantly surprised by the sound for the price. They have better high range detail than the Sennheiser and Audio Technica cans in the same price range, but not so much that things sound tinny or breathy. It's just enough that you can hear things like fretting, breaths, and fingering in wind and string instruments much more clearly, but no more than is necessary. (Listening to Tori Amos' Night of Hunters with all its wind fingering is really a joy now.)

    Bass sounds good. Not too boomy or muffled, but not too depthless either.

    Mid-range is SLIGHTLY lacking, but not really enough to complain about. Turning up the volume slightly resolves that.

    Unless you have more demanding needs, I'd recommend these, especially if you want a durable pair. They sound very open and detailed, but rich at the same time.

  • from Seattle, WA USA September 21, 2012Music Background:
    Serious hobbyist/semi-pro

    Good for big heads?

    This is my first pair of studio headphones. I'm very happy with the workmanship and the sound quality, but the fit isn't too great. I have a narrow head, and the headphones won't quite shrink down to a good fit. They clamp pretty tight, too.

    We'll see if they "wear in." If not, I'm a bit worried I won't be able to wear them for long stretches.

Questions about the Samson SR850 Semi-open Studio Headphones?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close