0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Samson S-Patch Plus Reviews

4.5 stars based on 31 customer reviews
Questions about the Samson S-Patch Plus?

Questions about the Samson S-Patch Plus?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Carson McClain

    New to patch bays? Have no idea what half-normal, normal, or thru mode are? There are diagrams on top of the Samson S-Patch Plus that help you learn as you go! Plus, it's simpler than setting up many patchbabys because it provides switches right on the front! Whatever level your experience, the S-Patch Plus will be a huge asset as your studio grows.

  • from February 16, 2017

    Excellent

    Excellent for patching in compressors, series 500 gear and many other front end gear. Very easy to figure out and route.

  • from Columbiana, OH December 28, 2016Music Background:
    Assistant Engineer Wall of Shadows Studio and Session Bass Player.

    Quality!

    I had a DBX PB48 in my home studio. After several durability issues with it, and after a recommendation from a friend, I purchased the Samson. I'm not looking back either!

    Although the cost of the DBX and the Samson are very close, there is no comparison in the quality between the two units. The Samson smokes the DBX hands down.

    Everything on the Samson is much higher quality over the DBX.. I don't get any of the weird cross talk issues with the Samson that I did with the DBX. Granted is was barely audible on the DBX but it was there none the less. I don't hear that with the Samson.

    This is the best 1/4" TRS Patchbay option at Sweetwater. The only way your going to get anything better is to go to a Switchcraft TT/DB25 style patchbay system. We have these at our main studio but to configure many pieces of outboard with quality DB25 snakes, be ready to invest several thousand dollars.

    The Samson is really the best option especially in your home studio. These hold up well in the professional setting as well. The friend that recommended the Samson to me is a Live Sound Engineer and has five of these units. He has only had very minor problems with them over the years and never had one go totally down. hat's with heavy every day live use.

    If that's not a great track record then I don't know what is. In other words you can't go wrong with them. I highly recommend this one!

  • from McHenry, IL May 21, 2015Music Background:
    Artist/engineer

    Solid

    Not too much to say about this except that it does what it's supposed to do, excellent build quality, solid.

  • from T May 6, 2015Music Background:
    Electronic Music / House Music

    best features for a 1/4 inch bay

    I own a high end TT 96pt patchbay, but needed to patch up all my analog synths and drum machines, for quick access routing. I bought one.... and now I have 3 and have completely removed the 96pt TT bay.

    The normal/halfnormal switches on the front face make this a genius piece of kit for the price. Build quality is solid as well.

  • from Phoenix, AZ October 15, 2014Music Background:
    Producer

    Simple and effective

    I am using this as a patch bay with my Universal Audio Apollo 16 and i cant hear any quality loss what so ever. Very high quality and built lock a rock.

  • from August 29, 2014

    The best 1/4" patch bay

    I have used Neutrik for a long time amongst others. This one is so solid and the sockets are very smooth. Highly highly recommended. Only downside is it's difficult to label. I just put blank rack panels above and below.

  • from May 9, 2014Music Background:
    Producer, mix engineer

    great patchbay

    If you need a patch bay this is it!!! The fact that you can access the controls in the front panel is very appreciated in the workflow. The built is very sturdy and is esthetically beautiful. Of course, the costumer service at sweetwater was excellent as always.

  • from San Francisco, CA March 28, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Solid patchbay

    I have it for couple of months, never had any issues with it. Solid build, and having normal/half normal/through selector on the front panel is a big big plus. Price is also great!

  • from January 23, 2014Music Background:
    DJ/Producer

    Great patch bay, great access to mode controls

    Great patch bay with easy access to normalising modes, absolutely perfect for my small studio setup. I highly reccomend it

  • from manheim, pa.USA August 5, 2013Music Background:
    30 yrs exp. in live sound & recording !

    samson s-point plus patchbay

    this samson patch bay is solid & doesn't have cheap jacks & switched just plug in 1 connector & you will be able to tell it's making tight connection ! i could actually hear a major difference from my other patch bay ! 3 yr. warranty as well ! i will be buying more !
    jeff kline

  • from COLUMBIA, MD July 8, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Mixing, Recording

    Useful and versatil

    This is a excellent patchbay, I have two of them and find it easy to connect my external compressors to any channel in my mix. I also use it as the intermediate point between my analog DAW outs to my summing mixer so I can connect gear (like bus compressors) before the signal being summed. I also like the flexibility of switching between Normal, Half-normal and Through Mode operation

  • from Albuquerque, NM May 1, 2013Music Background:
    Engineer and performer

    S patch is a go

    Great product and sales service! First buy from sweet water and will gladly give them my business again!

  • from LA, CA May 7, 2012Music Background:
    Engineer, Producer, Arranger

    Great little patch bay for the money

    Okay so I know you're probably thinking "Its a Samson, it can't be better than a DBX or Neutrik". I thought the same thing. I was recently setting up a studio for someone and they had both this and the Neutrik. I studied the two, test them out, and went with this one. Its a really solid patch bay and the convenience of the front panel switching is so awesome.

  • from Ninilchik, Alaska February 10, 2012Music Background:
    Studio Owner & Recording Engineer

    Great product, great price, great quality! Nuff Said!

    This patch bay will become the pride of any studio arsenal of audio hardware. It's not often I get to use these adjectives with much of today's mass produced audio signal products, but the Samson S-Patch Plus will impress every time. From it's quality of build and evident attention to detail and functionality, to it's up-front swiching capabilities and the accurate detent positioning and jack insert positive feel and friction -these units rock -really. None better at this juncture. Impressive!!

  • from Philadelphia, PA December 9, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Fantastic!

    This is a fantastic patchbay...couldn't ask for more!! The switches on the front make switching from fully normalled to half normalled fast and efficient. I'm actually about to purchase a few more of these very soon! Very satisfied with this unit!

  • from Melbourne, Australia October 27, 2011Music Background:
    Recording engineer

    Quality!

    Seriously this unit blows away many other patchbays on the market, great features with front panel switching and a good work horse for the studio! I bought 5 units!

  • from June 25, 2015

    Sampson Patchbay

    This is an excellent piece of hardware, well made, functional and at a very good price. I looked everywhere for this and sure enough Sweetwater (as expected) had it in stock and ready to ship

  • from Baltimore area, MD May 4, 2015

    Great patch bays

    I think these Samson S-Patch Plus bays are great. I have two of them. The three-position switches on the front (T, HN, N) are solid and easy to manipulate. Maybe someday I'll read something that will convince me I need the equivalent Switchcraft patch bays, but until then these are perfect. When I eventually convert to TT patch bays, then I probably will use Switchcraft TTs, since they're pretty awesome. For solid, dependable TRS patch bays with switches under each channel on the front, these are perfect for me.

  • from United States April 10, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Recording Engineer

    A Great Choice

    I researched all the patchbays in this general price range, and I chose the Samson based on two things: 1) the switchable normalling, and 2) great reviews online. Why pull out modules when you can flip a switch on the front panel? So much easier. The plugs feel solid on this unit. I'm very happy with my purchase.

    My only complaint, and this is pretty silly, but I would prefer black to the blue color. Whatevs.

  • from Fort Worth, TX February 22, 2013Music Background:
    Musician/recording engineer

    Great patchbay for the price

    I did not know what to expect buying a Samson product (I would normally NEVER buy any low end products like Samson, Behringer, etc), but this patchbay was a pleasant surprise. Works great, the switches on the front are a BIG help so I don't have to go behind the rack or completely remove the patchbay to change to half normal.

  • from United States February 20, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Producer

    Pure Convenience

    First off, I have to make this disclaimer -- As is the case with any extra paths added from the source to the destination, I will honestly say that I did an A/B comparison of:

    A. My Preamp directly to the Line-in (on my interface) &
    B. My Preamp & Line-In hooked up to the Patchbay THEN in.

    The direct connection sounded a bit more dynamic and cleaner. The little crackles in my voice and small details came through cleaner.

    I had to say that to begin with. This isn't a magic wiring solution. But that tiny loss of fidelity is the ONLY thing wrong with this (or any) patchbay. The Samson S-Patch is extremely versatile, attractive-looking, efficient, and well-constructed. If you have a limitation on inputs and want to do more with what you have, this is an absolute must.

    Eventually, when my studio is optimized (with a more expansive interface), I will have more things routed directly -- Send and Return configurations directly through the interface, etc etc. But I will DEFINITELY still have this patchbay hooked up and have some Ins and Outs set aside for it. Reason being, this is one of the greatest ways to experiment with sound and set up creative new configurations.

    If you have an old reverb unit lying around, a distortion pedal, a delay somewhere in your closet, a compressor you don't really use, etc. hook them all up to this patchbay and set yourself free from port-limitations! Wire this to that, to that, to that, and experience the closest thing to software plug-ins in the real world.

    It's not a magic cable-routing solution, but it will preserve 98% of your signal's quality while allowing you to send anything anywhere.

    I give it my seal of approval, this patchbay has a permanent place on my rack. :)

  • from AUstin TX November 16, 2012Music Background:
    Engineer / Producer

    Best Patch Bay for the $

    Got one of these and was so impressed bough another, now getting 2 more and replacing all my old bays.

  • from egypt August 15, 2011Music Background:
    recording engineer, Pro musician, Composer & Arranger

    Why go Back Ze Rack

    nothing much to say. its a patchbay. BUT ITS SIMPLY AWESOME. i didn't go back my rack since i got 2 of these.

  • from Ft. Worth, TX, USA May 13, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    The best 48-point patchbay available!

    I waited for several weeks for this unit to come back into stock because I wanted it specifically. The NORMAL/HALF NORMAL/THROUGH switch on the front of the unit makes this worth twice what they ask for it! So much easier if you have dynamic routing needs! Highly recommended!

  • from Southern California January 30, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist recorder, writer, musician

    Solid, Useful Piece of Kit

    Just got this from Sweetwater and finished wiring everything in and run sum test signals

    This is a solidly made patchbay that passes the signals without any added noise which is, of course what a patchbay should do!
    What makes this standout for me is the switching between Normal, Half normal and Through for each pair on the front of the unit. Many other units necessitate pulling circuit boards and changing settings and then replacing.
    This is a nice simple to use patchbay that you can drop into your rack and not have to worry about.

  • from SF Bay Area March 6, 2017Music Background:
    Guitarist, synthesist, and DAW hobbiest

    Perfect Solution

    After setting up my new DAW 2.0 (starting fresh with new computer, software, and interfaces), I needed to re-think how I was connecting all the external synths & sound modules. I have far more stuff than my new Apollo 8p can connect to. It is too costly for me to buy another Apollo just so I can have everything connected, and too difficult to get behind the rack & swap out connections. So the obvious cost effective solution is a patch bay. The Samson is quite impressive for the simple device that it is. It is built like a tank with it's full metal casing - there is some weight to this small component. The front panel has a high quality gloss finish that fits in well with other high quality rack gear. The front toggle switches to change modes was the main selling point to me. Another brand had switches on top of the case...how is that helpful in a rack unit? Other devices need you to mess with the jacks to change modes - nah, not interested. I really have no complaints, but the only challenge with this device is there is really no space to label connections on the front panel. I am using the memory method for the time being what device is connected to what jacks.

  • from abuckfudge@yahoo.com September 24, 2012Music Background:
    Pro

    Quick Connections

    This thing is ideal for the home studio. It dosn't cost a fortune you don't have to to take it apart to change the cnfig. on it. The switches are on the front in stead of a different brands on the top so when you mount another peice of rack gear over it you can still shange it up as the switching is on the front Great Unit. Hell for that matter any studio.would be happy with quiet as Mouse or a patch bay should be!

  • from Karachi, Pakistan June 19, 2012Music Background:
    Composer/Producer/Engineer

    Surprisingly High End!

    I have seen many high end people recommending this gear. 48 TRS connecters in such a cool price make it winner for me. I m getting 2 more!

  • from Austin, TX April 23, 2016Music Background:
    Working musician

    Simple patchbay that works

    I have a small project studio and wanted to use my compressor for tracking and also as an insert in my pro tools rig. For tracking I wanted to be able to record a compressed track along with an uncompressed track. This is because I'm still learning about compression and don't want to screw up any overdub tracks. It's worked out fine. The switches on the front make is super easy to go from normalled, half normalled to thru.

    Learning about routing in patchbays can be a little daunting at first but has really paid off. The Samson S-Patch plus is able to do exactly what I need it to do.

  • from Sunny San Diego, CA April 8, 2015Music Background:
    Producer/Engineer/Musician

    Great Value!

    If you don't know how to solder or even if you do but just hate it immensely, this is a great alternative for a patchbay. Depending on your studio rack space can sometimes be at a premium so there are obvious advantages for the TT style bays, but I also hate soldering. I have quite a few of these now in my rack and they have worked out great. Setup is always easy, and the toggle switch for Normal/Half-Normal/Through on the front is quite handy.

    The only reason I gave it 4 stars is beacause of the space they give you for labeling your patch points, Samson doesn't really provide you with information on how best to label it, and traditional p-touch type adhesive labels are too wide and will partially cover up the jacks. This was unfortunately a very poor design choice.

  • from San Francisco, CA January 9, 2013Music Background:
    Producer

    You get what you pay for

    Works as advertised. Channels leak into each other very quietly. Ok if you don't care about that. Not ok for me.

Questions about the Samson S-Patch Plus?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway