0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

Seymour Duncan SPH90-1b Phat Cat Pickup - Nickel Bridge Reviews

4.5 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the Seymour Duncan SPH90-1b Phat Cat Pickup - Nickel Bridge?

Questions about the Seymour Duncan SPH90-1b Phat Cat Pickup - Nickel Bridge?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from WV September 23, 2016

    Phatty Boom Boom

    Swapped out a Humbucker in a Les Paul Jr. with this guy and it sounds amazing. Very bitey when overdriven and crystal clear when clean. For a P90 there is little to no hum. Great pickup.

  • from metro Detroit September 13, 2016Music Background:
    former gigging guitarist, now a hobbyist. day trippet was a hit when I started

    lubs me some phat cats

    My wife gave me a PRS SE for our anniversary a few years ago. I love to play the guitar I didn't dig the tone. The stock h'buckers were pretty good but not great. They were an average med output pup. One day I reached the point that I needed to do something. I ordered a Phat Cat set and dropped them in. In a word, awesome. They are like a pretty girl who can kiss you as well as bite. Very articulate, clear and touch sensitive. They "behave" really nicely with pedals. I A/B'd it with my early 60's ES125TCD loaded with P90's. They held their own quite well.

    A bit of advice. When you change your pups to these beauties. Change your volume pot to a 250k pot and change the cap to a .047. It really increases the usable tonal range. Smooth creamy jazz to screaming rock.

  • from Tejas August 19, 2016Music Background:
    Former weekend warrior, home studio enthuiast

    Phat Cat Coolness!

    So, I had bought a neck Phat Cat a while and put it in a Tele build, and it didn't do much for me. As it sat in the closet, I also had a Les Paul Studio Faded I had ended up with in a Craigslist trade. I own several nice Les Pauls, and the Studio didn't get much (any) playing time. I loved the neck and the overall feel of it, but the humbuckers in it sounded like junk. I put it on Craigslist, and after a few weeks, I couldn't even give the poor thing away. I have always liked the sound of P-90's in a Les Paul, but didn't want to change up my good ones, so I thought I would buy a bridge P/C and put both of them in the Studio.

    That was one of the best ideas I've had in a long time. That little Studio came alive when I plugged it into my Twin Reverb with a Tube Screamer in front of it! I love it! Great growling mids and screaming highs and no "muddiness" in the neck position. These things snarl when pushed and clean up to a very tasty vintage single coil sound when backed off just a little. Just what a P-90 Les Paul should sound like.

    These pickups turned a dud into a stud! If you've been thinking about trying these in a Les Paul, I recommend it. That lowly little Studio guitar has become an absolute gas to play! I might even go rogue and put a set in one of my nicer LP's at some point, but this one has me covered for now!

  • from Modesto, CA February 27, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Awesome as usual

    Great addition to my epiphone sg. Seymour Duncans have never let me down, and these phat cats are no exception...clear and articulate distorted and clean:) Thanks again Nate Edwards, and Sweetwater staff, you guys are top notch!!!

  • from January 9, 2015

    Favorite pickups ever!

    I love traditional p90s and I love these! They aren't exactly the same as traditional Gibson p90s but the get the job done. I'm very pleased with the tone of these pickups. Very transparent and responsive to touch and volume. Most versatile pickups I've played.

  • from March 31, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Amazing

    Swapped out Gibson Classic 57s (which replaced the original stock Pus) for the Phat Cats in my '91 Epiphone Sheraton. Finally have the sound I've been searching for -- punchy, articulate, full of growl and bite.

  • from Fort Worth July 28, 2016Music Background:
    Intermediate guitarist

    Just what I was looking for

    I replace my neck PU with a Phat Cat and I liked it so much that I also replaced my bridge (PAF) with one as well. It really was the tone I was looking for in my LP. A great PU that combines single coil clarity with humbucker fat tones.

  • from Memphis, TN September 20, 2013Music Background:
    Multi instrument musician

    Gold cover Phat Cats

    I had to wait a few weeks for these with gold covers but the wait was well worth it. I have a lefty Epiphone Emperor II 'Joe Pass' which was rather lifeless compared to a few of my other guitars. The guitar itself is very well made, very playable and well worth the money I paid 10 years ago. But the sound was disappointing. I happened to look at Scotty Moore's guitars on-line one day and noticed his ES295 with P90s so I asked about the Seymour Duncan 'Phat Cats' pickups. Once installed, they gave my Epiphone a whole new sound and brought it back to the top of my guitar list. The overall sound is now bright, almost jangly and very well defined. The sound is crisp and in the bridge position it could hold its own in a rockabilly band. In the neck position, it is a solid rhythm sound. The only down side is the hum that is characteristic of the single coil but with both pickups in use, the hum is cancelled and it sounds great. This was well worth the investment and the wait and the guitar is now a lot of fun to play again.

  • from Portland OR November 22, 2015

    Big Sound

    Installed on a Epiphone Les Paul Junior. Has a huge sound though my Marshall 100w amp. Perfect upgrade for this guitar that was cut out for a Humbucker style pickup. The black surround did not fit as the front side has a arched shape to it but had another with a flat edge. Me thinks Seymore Duncan should supply both so that's was a 1 star reduction. Looks and sound great!

  • from Illinois February 16, 2014Music Background:
    Hobby player of 20 yrs

    Great Tone

    I replaced the stock pups in my 2010 Gibson SG standard with
    these. Couldn't be happier. I use that guitar just for playing old
    Sabbath tunes and now it does the job perfect.

  • from Ohio April 7, 2017

    Not what I expected

    I put a phat cat neck position in my guitar and love it. Thought a bridge position would add to the magic but found it thin and lacking lows and mids. Taking it out the first chance i get and putting the humbucker back in.

Questions about the Seymour Duncan SPH90-1b Phat Cat Pickup - Nickel Bridge?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway