0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

Roland SPD-SX Sampling Percussion Pad Reviews

4.0 stars based on 14 customer reviews
Questions about the Roland SPD-SX Sampling Percussion Pad?

Questions about the Roland SPD-SX Sampling Percussion Pad?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Aaron Rom

    This is a great addition for any drummer looking to incorporate electronic drums into their acoustic kit. It takes everything that was great about its predecessor, the SPDS, and improves upon it. You get more memory, increased USB functionality, better display, and great feeling pads. Roland had a winner with the SPDS, and the new SPDSX is even better!

  • Alex Hernandez
    from Houston, TX January 24, 2017

    Hands done the BESSST!!!

    Hands down the bed sampling pad. Has great presets, but there computer software makes editing and adding sounds and stems so easy! Any drummer that wants to expand there drumming THIS IS A MUST!

  • Customer
    from October 20, 2016Music Background:
    Touring Musician

    Great Product

    Best sampler on the market

  • Nathan Dikes (Craig's dad)
    from Spokane, WA October 28, 2015

    You have made the father of a drumming machine son really proud

    My son has been drumming since 7 yo. He is 16 now, self motivated and loves to drum. He worked hard this summer and wanted to upgrade his drum kit. He didn't make quite enough. So he went on to Sweetwater.com and spoke with some of his instructors to decide what would compliment his kit. He did his research. He decided on the Roland SPD-SX and so far, we are all impressed with its functionality and how much it adds to his repertoire. He loves speed metal mostly. But this has added so many new options. I can't thank Nathan, what we consider our personal sales engineer, enough for his assistance, encouragement and guidance in each of the purchases we have made from Sweetwater.com. We understand there are options to purchase equipment out there. You all just seem to make it fun, cost effective and part of the team in helping a young drummer improve on his gig. Thank you.

  • Neil Davis @ Bossdog studios, live sound production
    from Olympia Washington June 18, 2015

    SPX-SX

    sounds great easy-to-use setup it works

  • Michael
    from Phoenix Az April 13, 2014Music Background:
    Musician Drummer and Percussion

    Roland SPD-SX Sampling Percussion Pad

    I must say the Roland SPD-SX is a amazing Instrument, not only a great Percussion Pad but a Fantastic sampler which is very user friendly. What is even more impressive is the great Staff at Sweetwater. I have been a client of David Mikautadze for more than four years and in that time I must say David has been there for me when ever I decided to purchase or ask advice about any product that Sweetwater carries. It's great to know that if you have a problem the Staff at Sweetwater in all departments are great to work with before the sale as well after which is even more important to me. That's why I consider them to be the number one on my list for all my Music needs.

  • John p fry
    from Nashville tn January 24, 2014Music Background:
    pro drummer

    perfect

    What a great sampler , I have never used one before and I find this unit very easy to use and lots of fun also. it adds so many things to my td-30 drum kit Never have to worry about being board I'm always finding new things to sample and ways to use them . I said it once and I'll say it again , I LOVE YOU ROLAND thanks for great products

  • brandon wheelock
    from Vista, CA January 1, 2013Music Background:
    musician/recording hobbyist

    so much fun

    so much cool stuff to do with this. your own samples and then easy transfer makes creating unique and cool sounds a breeze. the effects really turn it up for the live game.

  • Tony Benson
    from Ames, IA March 26, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Live Sound Engineer, Recording Engineer, Drummer.

    Awesome Drum Pad

    I bought the SPD-SX as an upgrade for an older SPD-S. I've used a drum pad as part of my live kit for at least seven years and I went with the SPD pads because I absolutely have to have the ability to load my own samples. So far the SPD-SX is performing great. The pads do have a slightly spongier feel than the SPD-S, but It didn't take too long to get used to. I really like the ease of the metronome feature and the expanded size of the sample memory. It's easy to program, and the sample management software (Mac & PC Compatible) makes it a snap to get your own sounds loaded into the unit and assigned to the pads of your choice. I knocked off a half a star because of the power cord. I'm just not a fan "lump-in-the-line" power cords. Overall though the unit is everything I expected.

  • Dave P
    from Poconos January 4, 2017Music Background:
    drummer

    Steady User of the SPD-SX

    Sturdy. You can indeed hit it with sticks, unlike another reviewer said.
    Edit your samples in Audacity or ProTools etc... Drag and drop them via the Roland s/w. Yes, the s/w feels more like a Roland in-house tool for testing. Indeed the s/w has its quarks, but suffices.

    I just wish I could tell what pad has what on various single shot/drops. A personally find the UI display crappy.

    It does what it sets out to do though, and is works great for longer samples/play-alongs.

  • MOHAN NARAYANAN
    from Oklahoma, OK December 6, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Roland SPD-SX

    The item is good. But not user friendly. The company should provide us some detailed video on the settings and all, so that new user can learn how to use this. Now, it is just like "a dog got a full coconut and it can't eat".

  • Todd
    from Warsaw, In April 2, 2012Music Background:
    Bar/party band

    Easy to use and can sample any sound bytes

    I use this as an accessory to my V Drums for live shows. This is the missing link. The only reason I didn't give this a five star rating is the controls are near the playing surface, which is a little intimidating if you're playing hard and want to strike a sample to play, I usually assign them to the top row so I strike with the side of the stick to play. I also purchased the MIDI cable to connect my Roland TD-10 and can play the sampled bytes by striking a V Drum pad or rim. (I'm surprised their isn't a shatterproof cover that folds down over the controls, one bad hit and it would be game over).

  • David Alexander
    from Newtown Square, PA USA December 1, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great

    I just received my SPD-SX and I am very pleased out of the box. The onboard sounds are great and the sampling capability should meet most player/composer needs. It is light weight, yet very sturdy. The pads are soft gum, quiet and have a nice feel. I have feeling I will have to work very hard to exceed the capability of the unit. Clearly I will need to leverage external storage at some point.

    My only reason for giving 4 stars versus 5 is ease of use and control layout. This is not to suggest that the product is not easy to use, but I think we have become very use the Steve Jobs/Apple model of simple, easy and intuitive. For example, I immediately was looking for a start/stop button. I pushed start, but it controlled the click track.

    My comments are meant not to discourage people from purchasing the product, but rather to encourage Roland and other companies to aspire for amazing simplicity and ease of use.

    With said, I think Roland has set the new standard in this category and I imagine Alesis and Yamaha will not be far behind.

    Thanks to Ryan Murphy and the team at Sweetwater for the great customer service!

    Peace, love and drums! David

  • rich
    from seattle August 4, 2013Music Background:
    producer

    ok hardware, terrible software

    If you want to buy this because it has more memory or looks better than the SPD-S, then go ahead. On the other hand, if you want this because of the "software" that supposedly makes managing the samples a breeze, forget it. The software is so painful to use that it only makes the SPD-SX marginally better than the SPD-S at best. Completely rigid sample requirements (must be 44.1khz 16bit, and even then sometimes it is picky), defensive user interface ("are you SURE you want to do what you just tried to do?" on almost everything you try to do, even de-assigning a sample for example), clunky previewing of samples (you can preview a single sample but not a pad where you layered two samples?), lack of any batch operation (like clear sample assignments on all pads for example), just to mention a few things that come to mind right away. There isn't a better peer to this on the market that I know of, and its very cool on many levels, I just wish the software was more modern and much more friendly for setting up lots of new kits quickly. The process can be so slow that it gets quite tedious clicking "yes i am sure i want to de-assign this sample" over and over. All that being said, the SPD-SX is still far better than other attempts in this space. The software team could benefit from expanding their usability tests to include making bulk operations faster and more convenient. The faster it is to make vast amounts of new patches, the better value the SPD-SX offers. A big software UI upgrade would be great!

  • pud
    from San Francisco, CA September 30, 2013Music Background:
    Drummer

    Brilliant device but very fragile

    I'm a heavy-hitting drummer and moved to the SPD-SX as my primary instrument. I love being able to load-in drum samples -- rock sounds, hip hop sounds, dubstep sounds, any sounds I want. It's really great.

    However, I've had 2 units die while on stage. The rubber pad on top came undone on both units (I ended up having to duct tape it down). Then the little LED covers in the rubber get lost under the rubber, causing the whole thing to get lumpy and mis-trigger. I had to carefully shake the loose parts out of the device. Then later, one of the pads stopped responding so I had to re-assign pads mid-gig. Then eventually, the whole unit died while on stage (happened twice, one time on stage in front of 800 people - I had to beat-box the rest of the set (true story)).

    If you buy this, 1) play it lightly. Don't use mallets or heavy sticks. 2) Get the an extended warranty (usually that's a waste of money, but not with the SPD-SX -- it will end up breaking if you play it like a real drum set most likely).

    Pros:
    - Good computer software for loading in samples via USB
    - Easy to program
    - Responsive pads
    - Activity lights on pads are a nice touch
    - Huge 2GB memory -- you'll never run out of space
    - Real-time effects knobs are awesome, a game-changer (envelope filter!)
    - The stand (sold separately) is great. I play it standing up.

    Cons:
    - Fragile, will break
    - Rubber pad comes undone with normal usage & is hard to re-attach
    - Built-in sounds are not good (you'll want to buy/load in your own samples)
    - I wish the volume knob were bigger/easier to see like the effects knobs

    I'm getting a third unit (third time's a charm?) and will try playing it more lightly. If it fails again, I'll take a look at the Yamaha DTX-MULTI 12 (which looks like better hardware, but only 64MB of memory and no real-time effects knobs).

    I've also had an Alesis SamplePad. It's great and indestructible, and uses external memory (so you can have unlimited samples). It's also a lot less expensive. But the SamplePad doesn't have polyphony -- if you hit 2 pads at the exact same time, only one of them will play. Which makes it pretty much unusable as a primary instrument (it may be okay as just an add-on to your regular drums). I wish Alesis would make a unit with polyphony and more pads.

    Still, I'm gonna try the SPD-SX again. Really, the only thing keeping me away from the Yamaha, is the Yamaha's lack of real-time effects knobs. I didn't think I'd need those, but turns out they're crucial if you play any kind of dance music (crank the envelope filter, then slowly decrease, then - BAM! turn off the filter for the DROP, crowd goes wild).

    I hope Roland is reading this and improves this device, which has a ton of potential.

Questions about the Roland SPD-SX Sampling Percussion Pad?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway