0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 2

Seymour Duncan SPB-3 Quarter Pound P-Bass Pickup - Black Reviews

5.0 stars based on 14 customer reviews
Questions about the Seymour Duncan SPB-3 Quarter Pound P-Bass Pickup - Black?

Questions about the Seymour Duncan SPB-3 Quarter Pound P-Bass Pickup - Black?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Some where in Vermont April 11, 2017Music Background:
    Working band

    SPB-3 quarter pound pickups

    It's like having a new set of vocal cords but for your bass. Very Beefy with lots of growl, the tone is really good too. If you have a in expensive bass and want to up grade give these a try, and a high quality set of strings like Ernie Ball Colbats or D'addario NY XLs. This combination will WOW THE H*** OUT OF YOU!!!! Sounds very high end.

  • from Vermont March 31, 2017

    Seymour Duncan SPB-3 Pickups

    These pickups have brought my Fender Squier Classic Vibe P-Bass to a whole new level. WOW folks!!! These guy's ROCK HARD!!! For the price you pay you get a whole lotta great tone and power! I also bought the Jazz bass pickups for another bass because I was so impressed!

  • from June 28, 2015Music Background:
    30 year veteran

    Nice Pickup

    Very nice pickup with balanced tone and high output. Would definitely recommend it to upgrade your Pbass. And the service at Sweetwater is second to none.

  • from March 17, 2015

    Awesome!

    I bought these for an '04 Indonesian made Squier Affinity P-Bass that had been sitting in the previous owner's closet for a few years. The stock pickups were very low output so I wanted something to bring this bass to life. These did it! The QP's are much louder and have way more clarity. Each note has a clear "bassy" tone to them....this is with a set of $10 nickel rounds that I had laying around just so I could hear what the QP's would sound like after I installed them. Definitely has that classic P Bass sound with a punch you in the chest oomph to them. The tone control can now dial in a wide range of tones from Jamerson thump to Duff McKagan attack.

    Installation was a breeze. Very clear and concise instructions from SD. The only thing that I needed to supplement was the supplied foam...it wasn't thick enough to give the pups enough height (I set them up 1/8" from the bottom of each string)...but that wasn't any problem b/c I just added the foam from the original pups.

    I play in our church praise & worship band. We play a range of music from modern CCM to classic hymns with an occassional rock tune thrown in to wake everyone up. The QP's can handle everything I've thrown at them.

    I've got a set of GHS Pressurewounds going on next. I'm expecting with the addition of quality strings, the QP's will sound even better!

    Overall these are outstanding pups and I am very happy that I decided to go with these!

  • from Newton,NJ January 29, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great

    This pickup is load, has punch , good mids highs and lows, and the price is right.

  • from Los Angeles, CA December 2, 2014Music Background:
    blues bassist for 50 lonnnnngggg years!!

    Seymour Duncan Basslines SPB-3 Quarter Pound pick-ups

    I don't know much about tone but I thought these beefed up everything. Made my cheap bass sound more expensive!!

  • from Bonita, ca July 24, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyst

    Great P Bass Pickups!!

    By far, bright and powerful sound! I get a lot of lows but with that crisp bright sound, perfect for Rock (punk rock, hardcore, metal, classic).

  • from Grand Rapids, Mi USA May 20, 2014Music Background:
    Intermediate Player

    Excellent upgrade to any Precision Bass!

    This is simply the greatest sound that you can achieve with a Precision Bass. I was na´ve to the fact that this pick up was at the heart of some of my favorite bass tones, and I'm elated to have discovered I could have the same setup. This pickup has a very distinct midrange boost, and works better with rosewood fretboards to maintain a deeper tone that might be diminished if lighter woods are used. Overall, it was a fantastic upgrade with a simple setup and wonderful result.

  • from Louisvill, KY May 8, 2014Music Background:
    Bass player for 30 years.

    Great Sound and Punchy!

    Have a Squire Precision bass and replaced the stock pickups with these and have no regrets!! They sound amazing!

  • from Fort Wayne, IN May 1, 2014

    Better than $140 Fralin p-styles

    I recently purchased a Fender Nate Mendel P-Bass. I typically always swap out my guitars and basses for aftermarket pickups with either Lindy Fralin or Jason Lollar pickups I was going to put Lindy Fralin pickups in this. Much to my surprise there were Seymour Duncan quarter pound pickups in the bass. These things sound great! I have never thought much of Duncan pickups. Figured they were just mass produced and not good. I was wrong. I feel embarrassed now for having spent so much on boutique style pickups when these are a third of the cost and still made in the USA. I highly recommend these. These sound great with any style of music. Wither it's metal, jazz or country. I tip my hat to the engineers at Seymour Duncan.

  • from Martinez, CA January 11, 2013Music Background:
    Professional Novice

    Can't be Beat

    I was content thinking that this pickup would be good for rock and only rock. I was so wrong! This thing is AMAZING for slap and if you dial back the tone knob, you get smooth and slightly growly blues/jazz tones. Surprisingly versatile, extremely punchy and tight. Great pickup for just about frankly anything. My luthier said that this pup is TWICE as hot as the stock one in my 2006 MIM Standard P Bass. If you want super duper silky smooth, maybe this isn't the perfect one, but I'm surprised that thing thing can go from Ace of Spades to Dazed and Confused and vice versa with some overdrive and the twist of a knob. I'd like to thank my sales engineer Mark Chapman for being always friendly and helpful. Sweetwater is the best in the industry because of people like him.

  • from Findlay, Ohio September 25, 2011Music Background:
    Active, gigging bassist, home recording, live sound engineer

    Tone Monsters!

    I just completed an installation of these amazing pickups into my 2004 Squire P-Bass special and WOW!!! They are very powerful, clear, and punchy. Bass response is deeper and more defined than the stock pickups and they growl nicely when driven hard. They fit perfectly in my bass with no modifications but I did shield all of the routed cavities in the body of my bass before mounting/ wiring them. These pickups are dead silent (no hum) which is exactly what I was after. I have used DiMarzio pickups in another one of my basses (Jazz Bass) but I like these Seymour Duncan's MUCH better! These pickups sound great for rock-style licks but are also very good for slap due to their responsive nature. I will definately stick with Seymour's pickups from now on!

  • from United States December 20, 2014Music Background:
    Bass player. I,m pretty good I think. Well I try anywhy!!

    SPB-3 QP

    Real nice! Much higher Output!!

  • from Monterey Bay, CA U.S.A. May 25, 2012Music Background:
    extreme hobbyist,playing40+years

    maybe to hot!

    a good step from the Squire P-bass stockers. Research shows that correct pots will help as well.

Questions about the Seymour Duncan SPB-3 Quarter Pound P-Bass Pickup - Black?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway