0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 2

Roland SP-404SX Performance Sampler Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Roland SP-404SX Performance Sampler?

Questions about the Roland SP-404SX Performance Sampler?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from April 12, 2016

    Beware the volume knob

    This is the gift that keeps giving, i like having an input running and being able to mute the input and the effect you put on it keeps going, best quality of it by far. Built like a tank, but the volume knob will get messed up if you don't treat the unit right like me, I had it in my back pack alot and it knocked the volume potentiometer loose, however i replaced the potentiometer and it works like a charm.

  • from March 18, 2016

    Just get one.

    Can be used as a stand-alone recorder! Record in .wav or .aiff directly to SD-card without any dumb proprietary nonesense. Apply effects to live external inputs. All hardware based. Stop reading and get one jackass!

  • from SF Bay Area October 8, 2015Music Background:
    Hacker

    My SPaceship

    No links allowed. Pfft. Well just search YouTube for "Xema Technical 404" - that is my review, forever, and the only one you need. And thank you, Roland. SP Love Forever ya'all.
    PS: I wish reverse and mark worked like they did on the 404. But it has other redeeming qualities. We'll call it even.
    Monkey out.

  • from United States May 17, 2012Music Background:
    Padawan Learner, Hobbyist, Lrycist

    Totally Functional

    For my purposes, this piece is absolutely a great addition to my rig. I have been able to do some impactful things with it and have only had it for a short time. The best part of the SP-404SX is it's simplicity. It is, to me at least, a capable performance tool, that I have been using for groove production and creative exploration. The effect selection is superb - I have found a unique use for many. I AM ALL ABOUT BATTERY POWERED EQUIPMENT! I enjoy playing with and will likely continue to make great use of this machine in the future.

  • from Loveland, CO USA July 26, 2011Music Background:
    song writer

    great for kids

    I am using the sp-404sx with our "joyful noise makers" group. The kids ranging from 5 to 15 years old can play amazing rythyms while the other kids play violins, guitars, ukes, keyboards, chimes and sing vocals. my wife and i developed the program for kids at every skill level and the sp-404sx is the perfect way to sync the songs with loops that are always timed correctly and sound great! We have sampled sounds using the mic and combined them with internal sounds supplied with the sampler. Battery operation allows us to set up our groups anywhere without worring about finding power outlets.

  • from at the top of the equator October 10, 2009Music Background:
    street music

    definitely a upgrade

    there are a couple of things that is definately a upgrade. for one thing the time stretch appears to be better, you now have pattern copy and sample copy, which will save a lot of time. there is now secure digital vs compact flash, true 16bit linear sampling which make it easier to drag and drop wave files on your media card, which should of been on the sp 555 unit. the sequencer has a swing function. the idea machine is pretty much the same as the 404 but it definitly is a vast improvement.

  • from Brazil April 9, 2010

    Great all-around sampler

    It maybe not as good as the MPC1000, but this tiny sampler is full with awesome features that will last you a life time. For anyone who is either getting into sampling or, even the pros for that matter who are looking for a portable alternative: I don't think this little device should be out of anyone's musical reach, independently of what kind of music you play; It's packed with features that will keep you occupied and in "aw" for a while. It might be lightweight weight but it packs a heavy punch.

  • from Chicago, IL. July 25, 2013Music Background:
    Engineer

    Roland SP-404

    This is a nice portable unit I haven't used it much since I've had which has been about a month but it's easy to use a little tricky to edit samples and sync your beats to the metronome but its just takes a getting use to!

    Some down sides are; you don't have a dedicated song mode style pattern to make your songs!

    The RCA in's & outs; I'd prefer 1/4 inch but with the unit being so small it's make sense to have RCA!

    But overall it's a nice starter sampler to experiment with and use as a second machine if you're a serious beat maker!

Questions about the Roland SP-404SX Performance Sampler?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway