0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Korg SP-280 Digital Piano with Speakers - Black Reviews

4.0 stars based on 14 customer reviews
Questions about the Korg SP-280 Digital Piano with Speakers - Black?

Questions about the Korg SP-280 Digital Piano with Speakers - Black?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Derrick
    from Key Largo Florida February 28, 2016

    Great Digital Piano !!!

    I love it !!!! The feel of the keys are sick !!! I used to buy all my online gear from Sam Ash but after a few screw ups by them switched toi Sweetwater best change I ever made !!!

  • Mick Seven
    from New York April 12, 2013Music Background:
    professional musician on side (lawyer by day)

    Excellent Digitial Piano

    unlike the previous reviewer, I am actually a professional and not using this as a midi controller. First of all, it is not a grand piano with "hammer" action. I paid $560 for mine and it is an excellent apartment digital piano for someone that does not want a console.
    2nd, the speakers are better than any thing else in its price range- forget about 22 watt speakers vs 6 or 8 watt speakers the sound is clear.
    Piano sample- it sounds natural and pleasant unlike an electronic sounding Casio. Is it Ivory? No? It is very good though.
    The bottom line is if you are looking for something $500-$600 all in one unit and not a console than consider this.

  • Pete
    from Tennessee August 19, 2015Music Background:
    String player Dixieland and bluegrass

    Korg SP-280

    Easy to assemble (by my self) and after a quick read of the manual -played thru the sound options A-ok The overall sound is great for the money--The only addition would be some rhythm beats.

  • Andrew Magrisso
    from NY, United States December 15, 2013Music Background:
    Acoustic Pianos

    Good, but Rich is right.

    Everything has been really said already about this piano, however I'd like to note that the speakers in this model are very nice. It sounds great for $699. The feel of the keys is somewhat sluggish when it comes to very fast repetition. I haven't exactly pinpointed what happens, but you do lose a keystroke somewhere.

    The touch can be set from 1-3 (1 being "lightest", which is the equivalent of an action with very low resistance). Even set to 3, which is the max, the piano does have a poor mid-range. When I say poor mid-range, I actually mean it's more or less about 4 magnitudes of volume, as opposed to a natural feel of striking a hammer as hard as you can against a string.

    If you aren't looking to replace a grand piano, this is an excellent entry-level piano, especially compared to buying an acoustic upright. This is probably not the choice for the stage ever..although the included pedal has rubber feet that seem like they might grip a floor, but it's a trick. The stock damper pedal included is just about unusable if you have a heavy foot, as the pedal likes to fly. When the pedal is not flying, it is capable of half-pedaling, which is actually very easy to use.

  • Doug F.
    from Texas July 5, 2013Music Background:
    Part time performer and writer

    Excellent bang for the buck keyboard

    I've owned several keyboards over the last 30 years from cheap home units to high end Korg synth's. I'm using this as a home keyboard for writing and simple playing pleasure and not for gig's.

    I'm really pleased with the accurate piano, electric piano, and organ models the SP-280 covers. The keyboard feel is very good, if a slight bit sluggish on key rebound. Overall quality is excellent, especially for the price range. I have demo'ed several Yamaha's in this range but the Korg edges them out with a better keyboard action and more accurate modeling. The SP-280 doesn't have 600+ patches, but it does a superior job on what it has. The on board speakers are surprisingly loud and produce fairly clean, useful tones. Their low end range is a bit weak for an 88 key, but outputting in addition to them into a bass or keyboard amp makes it gig-able.

    As for the first reviewer's complaints about not having any "decent dynamic control when playing quietly", they should have read the manual. By simply holding the Touch key and pressing the Up value key once, you increase the key sensitivity above default levels dramatically. You just need to remember to do this each time you power up.

  • STEVE FAHL
    from LOVELAND COLORADO March 13, 2016

    KORG SP 280

    THIS IS A NICE CHEAP LIVE PERFORMANCE BOARD, IT IS DESIGNED SO YOU CAN BE PLAYING PIANO AND EASILY SWITCH TO AN ORGAN LEAD AND THEN EASILY SWITCH BACK TO PIANO WITH STRING FOR THE ENDING. THIS BOARD IS NOT INTENDED FOR PICKY CLASSICAL PIANO PLAYERS, MIDI WORK, ARRANGING, OR TOURING PRO'S, THIS IS A NICE CHEAP LIVE PERFORMANCE OR HOME USE BOARD WITH THE MOST COMMONLY USED INSTRUMENT SOUNDS I HAVE BEEN PERFORMING AND RECORDING FOR 30 YRS, GOOD JOB KORG WITH A NICE CHEAP LIVE PERFORMANCE BOARD.

  • Mark
    from Bay Area, CA June 28, 2015Music Background:
    Drummer, Teaching Artist, Performing Arts Administrator

    Excellent second keyboard for our two theaters!

    I am a Recreation Coordinator and I manage several youth and teen performing arts programs (musicals, youth musical festivals, concerts in the park, etc). I have fallen in love with the Korg brand and our contract artists, staff, and youth participants sing their praises! We have two Korgs; the SP-280 and one that is a few trims up from that. Sturdy, reliable, realistic feel, and great sound. I am purchasing one for my family based on buying it at work!

  • Ben Baldwin
    from NC USA May 26, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great product and service

    My keyboard arrived in a timely fashion and I was fully updated on it's shipping details, etc. without having to go looking for updates. My Korg SP-280 is very nice and everything works perfectly.

  • Music & Design
    from Queens, NY October 31, 2013Music Background:
    Music Corporation

    Great Keybaord

    awesome keyboard, nice touch and looks great.

  • Lola Ellenberger
    from MI August 8, 2013Music Background:
    Church pianist, have piano and organ at home

    Korg keyboard

    I really likes the sound options, key action was also good. The sound was not enouogh for the size of the church, but connected to the sound system made a grea t difference.

  • Steve Nanny
    from Marshall, TX May 9, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist, playing guitar for over 40 years

    Very nice keyboard

    I bought this to teach myself how to play. I can play a little, took lessons years ago but forgot most everything. Some of it coming back as I sit and play more. The ease of playing and the sound is great. I have a real piano, Baldwin upright, but this Korg is just what I wanted for the different sound capability and features it offers. I have owned inexpensive smaller keyboards but they don't come close to this sound.

  • Dennis Adams
    from Northeastern California April 16, 2013Music Background:
    Semi Pro musician

    Excellent with Limits

    All the voices are excellent, except for the electric piano voices. They are not what I expected. They are good, just not great. This is a great entry level Korg. If I had it to do over again, I'd buy the more expensive model SV-1. Oh, well, live and learn.

  • Rich
    from SF Bay area March 29, 2013Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Didn't live up to my expectations

    The idea of this piano is great. Built-in speakers, built-in sounds, built-in stand. Unfortunately, if you have an expectation of reasonable dynamic control and come from a grand piano, spend more money on something better. I'll start with the MIDI control issues. I thought I could use it as a reasonable priced controller for my Ivory II sounds. For me, it was impossible to get any decent dynamic control when playing quietly (or even how I normally play on my grand). I inspected the MIDI velocities and can see when playing anything quiet, it always comes out at 1. Play slightly harder and it jumps up to about 32. Getting anywhere in between was an impossible feat. You also can't press a note down and get a velocity of 0 like a real piano or higher quality controllers and the key needs to go all the way down to sound a note. This is not at all how a piano action works; apparently there is no hammer to throw in this action although the marketing says "Natural Weighted Hammer Action." Seems misleading. The same problem exists at higher velocities also but it's most problematic when playing gently (try Moonlight sonata, for example). For a beginner, this piano is probably just fine. For me, it's unusable.

    Second; the internal sounds: They are not very good (nor do the speakers sound good to me) and the dynamics of the internal sounds is totally different than when playing through MIDI. There seems to be a huge gap in the lower velocity range when using the internal sounds. All in all, it doesn't work for me. Maybe for someone learning who doesn't mind pounding on the keys it would be OK.

    Third; the built-in stand: definitely not something you want to setup and take down often as it is very time consuming. It's also tricky to get it to sit flat on the floor without rocking. Mine had a bent leg and that didn't help.

    The good aspects? It's a complete system on it's own. If you don't mind the sound quality and dynamics limitations then it could be right for you. It's not terribly expensive. Not for the pros. I wish I had more good things to say :(

  • A. Alt
    from November 21, 2013Music Background:
    Playing piano for 1.5 years

    Commonly used keys loosened within first 30 days

    Sounds pretty good, but the simulated weighted keys don't feel very close to a real acoustic.

    The big problem for me was that within the first 30 days, the more commonly used keys started to loosen up, and produced a clackety noise greater than what one might expect from a digital piano. I prefer all my keys the same level of tightness.

    Fortunately Sweetwater gave me a no-hassle refund when I returned the unit. Thanks, Patrick!

Questions about the Korg SP-280 Digital Piano with Speakers - Black?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway