rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Korg SP250BK Reviews

4.5 stars based on 11 customer reviews
  • from Kansas City, MO April 27, 2012Music Background:
    Experienced guitarist/drummer, recording engineer

    Bar none, best DP in this price range.

    I have been looking hard for the last year in search of a digital piano for my studio that plays great, has keys that feel good under the fingers, and simply has an amazing piano tone. All the other bells and whistles like zoning, built in synths, etc. were second on my list below the piano sounds. The SP250 is exactly what someone in my position needs. I have gone through countless music stores trying every Yamaha, Casio, Williams, and Kawai I could find, and I kept gravitating toward the Casio PX330 for the longest time. the piano sounds were really good, keys were weighted well, but the on board speakers were worthless and the keys felt VERY plastic-like. The Yamaha P95 was close with almost as good piano sounds, better feeling keys, but much less features and no 1/4" mono outs.
    I was walking through a guitar center a few weeks ago and found this one sitting right on the floor on it's included stand and everything. I sat down, and immediately loved what I heard. The speakers are above and beyond any piano under $1,000, the keys feel great with the matte finish on the black keys, and white keys that are smooth but still feel really good. And the weight in the keys is just right. Korg got that right for sure, they aren't light at all but definitely not as heavy as say the PX330.
    Most of the sounds are quite good, but the pianos especially are killer, with or without headphones. If you are looking for a practice or studio piano that has great feeling keys that you can pair up with a computer and use software pianos, this is what you need. You won't get a better feeling/playing piano anywhere near this price.

  • from United States February 12, 2012Music Background:
    professional pianist

    Fabulous

    I would strongly recommend the SP-250 either for small professional gigs or as a substitute for a home's spinet/studio piano (plus other great instruments.)

    1. Its built-in amplifier and speakers provide volume adequate for cocktail lounge or party gigs in good-sized rooms (e.g., 30 feet x 30 feet), even with a few dozen people talking.

    2. The keyboard action is fabulous--the keys in no way restrict me from playing with as much nuance as I can muster.

    3. The sounds (piano, organ, electric piano, etc) are very good, far better than any of the Casio and Yamaha portables. No, it doesn't equal my Kawai KG7 (concert grand piano) but it sounds, as another reviewer said, as good as a fine spinet/studio piano.

    4. Yes it weighs around 42 pounds, but it's compact in size enough that I'm able to carry it where it needs to go, including up a flight of stairs. Carrying its 42 pounds is far more worth it to me than carrying the Casio's 18 pounds.

    5. It looks very professional. Not weird. It exudes quality.

    6. I have had it for a couple years and had no problems with it. It's been perfect.

  • from Hazleton, PA May 23, 2011Music Background:
    fomer Military musician, hobbyist

    Great Piano

    I just took delivery of my new SP250. I couldn't be happier. I have spent alot of time on various digital pianos in entry to pro level price ranges. This has all of the features I need and a few to spare. I love the stereo outs as well as the dual headphone jacks for student/teacher. The feel is very natural and the pedal is sturdy. The details are exceptional. Felt pieces on the stand to avoid scratching wood floors and to stop sliding on carpet as well as a notched pedal to keep it in place. I would buy again and will recommend to anyone. Also, the on board speakers are loud and clear.

  • from SC, USA April 18, 2011Music Background:
    Recording and Live engineer, Musician, Hobbyist

    Amazing!

    I recently bought this for your church and the sound is just amazing so realistic. It is worth getting it.

  • from Southwest Louisana August 6, 2010Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Singer, Worship Leader and Teacher for over 10 years.

    This is a STEAL!!!

    I am a Musician, and at one of the Churches I played at, they had this very model. I fell in love with this awesome piece of machine! I logged on to Sweetwater.com just to see what the price was. When I seen this price, WOW........I immediately called and placed my order along with a piano bench (the one with the leather cushion) and a travelling case. I have this in my bedroom and I recommend this to you or your Ministry or class. ORDER YOURS TODAY!

  • from September 20, 2012

    Korg 88-key digital piano

    Got it for our church. Love the sound! Love the feel of the keys. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • from Kansas City, MO March 11, 2010Music Background:
    Pro Musician and Recording Engineer

    This Is Proof that Korg's SV-1 Keyboards are Way OVERPRICED!

    One of my students recently purchased this keyboard over a Casio and a Yamaha. I was blown away at this keyboard for the price, especially since I once purchased the SV-1 73. This seems to be pretty much the same keyboard with action and pianos - both acoustic and electric Just needs a few more effects options.. Yes, the organ patches are just as bad as the SV-1, but everthing else is great. If only the wood grain top was red like the SV. I would gig with this keyboard in a heartbeat. Great keyboard and very good price. Korg needs to work on their organs patches in all their keyboards. I recommend this keyboard to EVERYONE!

  • from Portland, Orygun November 8, 2011Music Background:
    Hobby Rock n Roller

    My Favorite Piano

    This is the portable piano that I've been looking for! The sound is just what I wanted and the portability is perfect. I set up my Korg SP250, Hammond Sk1 and Gaia SH01 and can kick out any tune that gets requested.
    Thanks for the tip, TJ! I'll keep coming back!

  • from Portland, OR October 18, 2011Music Background:
    Former Pro/Current Hobbyist

    Wonderful sound

    Got my SP250 today! Thanks for the recommendation, TJ !!!!

    The piano sound is great! Just what I've been looking for.

    Can't wait to try it out at our next jam night!

    My only suggestion would be to move the on/off button from the front of the unit to the top, maybe near the volume slider Current position seems awkward.

  • from Los Angeles, California May 24, 2010Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great!

    I bought an SP250 to use primarily for stage. I was looking for an 88-key controller that feels good, with at least decent piano sounds, without paying for other bells and whistles I didn't need (sequencers, audio recording features, etc). The SP250 fits the bill very well.

    Most importantly, it feels really good. As a lifelong keyboard player, I'll say that I'm very comfortable playing it. The acoustic pianos are good and responsive, and with the velocity curve set to 2/3, they perform smoothly and predictably. Smooth sound, not canned or pinched like a lot of these types of keyboards are. I don't spend much time with the electric pianos, so I don't have much to say about them, except to say that the wurli is only fair. It's usable, but not so good, really. Indeed, a wurli sound was a prerequisite for me in buying this keyboard, so I'm glad there's one at all. Also glad I've got a 200A in my studio for when I need one for realz, though : )

    I like the built in speakers. They sound good, and having them makes it so that I can set it up in the house between gigs, and always have a 'piano' to hop to quickly when the mood strikes.

    As for gigging, the SP250 fits into a 'slim' case very well, and in general it's reasonably compact. But it's not what I'd call 'light'. It's not nearly as heavy as some other behemoth controllers I've used in the past from Yamaha and Kurzweil, but I suppose that's the tradeoff for good piano action: It's gonna be hefty.

    Overall, I'm super-happy about this one.

  • from Boston, MA July 27, 2006Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Excellent Overall

    My main board is a Kurzweil K2500XS, but that's not typically kept in my home. So until I inherit my grandpa's Steinway, I needed something to play at home and to begin teaching my 2-year old son Piano.

    After discussing the options w/Sweetwater, I bought the Korg SP250 digital piano.

    Especially for the price, you get an EXCELLENT machine!

    Most importantly it sounds GREAT and feels REAL.
    The piano sounds (there are 9 in all) are quite rich and sound good through the built-in speakers.

    Notable initial reasons for purchase were that it included the stand, speakers, sustain pedal (that doesn't slide around because it's attached to the bottom of the stand) and sheet music holder. So it doesn't look so bad in the dining room (though I'm sure the Steinway will look 100x better).

    I can't emphasize enough how happy with it I am...and my son enjoys showing me where middle C is.

Questions about the Korg SP250BK?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway