0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
February Giveaway

Shure SM58S Vocal Microphone with On/Off Switch Reviews

4.5 stars based on 46 customer reviews
Questions about the Shure SM58S Vocal Microphone with On/Off Switch?

Questions about the Shure SM58S Vocal Microphone with On/Off Switch?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Oregon December 26, 2016

    Shure SM58S Microphone

    Sweetwater's Service is great and the shipping is really quick compared to other companies I have ordered from. The last two orders, I ordered on Monday morning and the order was on my front porch on Friday morning that same week. It's really nice to not have to wait 2 weeks to receive your stuff. The Shure Microphone works great and it is really nice to have an on/off switch on the mic for when you aren't using it or you have a feed back problem. I have other Shure mics and they all work good. They pick up sounds better and sound better than other brands I have used.

  • from Leesburg VA September 28, 2016Music Background:
    Jazz, blues, rock

    The standard

    Reliable, clear, much prefer the one with the on and off button.

  • from TN January 4, 2016Music Background:
    Southern Gopsel Musician

    SM58S

    I needed another mike for our Jam Session, so I went with the standard that has been around for years and everyone knows delivers.

  • from United States April 3, 2015

    Nice Mic

    I had a Shure mic in the sixties, and when I purchased this one I was not disappointed, still a great sound.

    Sweetwater is my choice for any gear I need.

  • from WA USA January 26, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Shure SM58S Mic

    The product arrived fast and packed very professionally. They also inclusive catalogue for their store and many other flyers inclusive. I am very satisfy with the stuffs I have ordered and will for sure ti buy fron here again. The reasons I gave 5 stars because of the packing and well organised materials inside the box. As compared to other companies..this is marvellous with the 1st look when I received the package.

  • from Michigan October 31, 2014

    Shure SM58S

    You can't go wrong with this mic.

  • from morristown,tn. September 30, 2014Music Background:
    live sound

    shure sm58s microphone

    the shure sm58s has a very clear natural sound (we love them)

  • from Oviedo, FL July 24, 2014

    True and tried reliability

    Industry standard lives up to it's reputation.

  • from United States June 20, 2014Music Background:
    Lifelong musician. Presently Choir and music director at Silo

    Perfect microphone for our small portable music ministry

    I confess that I was "Blown Away" by the quality of sound from our new SM58. We used it at a school reunion inside the school cafeteria. With no effects, run through a Mackie 1202 VLZ Pro mixer to SRM450 active speakers. It most definitely out-performed our more expensive condenser microphone used at the save event. It also does amazingly well at home miking a cello, run through a small Europort EPS500MP3 with a wee bit of reverb.

  • from Orlando,FL June 1, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Semi-Pro Musician

    Best Mic for my band

    I've actually been using these for 20 years and just picked up another one at Sweetwater.
    We use them for all the vocals as well as miking our guitar cabs and snare drum. We even use them for special purposes like recording from a cell phone or a special kind of speaker.
    It's always clear. Thanx

  • from United States May 2, 2014Music Background:
    55 yrs 41 years as a professional singer and flute player.

    THIS MIC IS AMAZING

    THIS MIC IS AWESOME!!! It delivers the sound that I want. Very smooth sound. Makes my voice sound even better than it already is. No hissing,can't hear when I touch it,and only wants to pick up what I am doing and nothing else. I LOVE IT! For the price,you are getting the best quality,

  • from Chester, TX May 2, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    A Versital Mic That Works Very Well

    This is my first and only microphone purchase. I use it for home recording combined with other modest equipment. Seems to be quite durable & routes authentic sound production through my Roland amplifier. For one "C-note," I can't complain.

  • from Fontana, CA December 26, 2013Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician, and Old Man

    Either These or Audix OM2

    Almost got the Audix OM2 for our female vocals, but in the end, the SM58 did it's traditional marvelous job. Used a Soundcraft mixer that has a swept MID-cutoff. That help with female vocals. They sounded rich, and sweet. This mic is rugged. Its Inerds are pneumatically mounted. Very little handling noise. Great mic, great durability.

  • from New Britain, CT December 8, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Beautiful!

    Had to replace identical mic cuz I lost my other one after 15 years service. The new one is even better! Warm sound, reliable. I got the one with the on-off switch - very helpful and not difficult to find or flick on and off like some mics.

    Great buy!

  • from Danville, CA August 19, 2013Music Background:
    singer in a rock-n-roll band

    Workhorse Microphone

    My first mic with an on/off switch - I love it!! Of course, the mic itself is your typical 'workhorse' of a microphone - nothing fancy, but does the job well, and will continue for many, many years. Can't go wrong with this mic for vocals in my rock band!

  • from Texas panhandle May 29, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, and I play in church.

    Outstanding Microphone!

    This is the best microphone I have ever owned. The cardioid pattern keeps out unwanted, and/or ambient noises while the intended vocals are reproduced as clear as a bell. The gain this microphone is capable of is just about perfect. There is a reason the SM58 is the best selling microphone in the world. The addition of an on/off switch really puts this mic over the top as one of (if not) the best values in microphones on the market today. For vocals, and even some instrument use, you can't go wrong with this one.

  • from Dalton, GA April 11, 2013Music Background:
    teacher/performer

    great customer service

    Many thanks to the staff. They were very helpful with the equipment I needed (shure microphones) and it was delivered promptly.

  • from Detroit December 25, 2012Music Background:
    DJ

    Nice investment for a novice.

    I needed a back up mic to go along with my DJ rig. I already have a wireless mic product by Shure. I'm pretty confident that this mic will fill the for my main mic in case I need it. The Shure product stands the test of time!!!

  • from Iowa December 4, 2012Music Background:
    Weekend musician for 30+ years

    Sweetwater is definitely SWEET

    Warp speed on response and shipping! Now my first place to shop for gear.

  • from San Diego, Ca. USA August 10, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist on anything with keys or strings.

    Shure SM58s

    These history of these mikes speak for themselves. The real story here is Sweetwater's outstanding service, advice, and people. All have been 5.0 for me and my music needs.

  • from Ebina, Japan June 17, 2012Music Background:
    Home Studio Guy

    Why pay more?

    The SM58 is famous for its use in live stage work, and for good reason: good sound, legendary durability, and good off-axis rejection. But I'd like to tell a story about the SM58 in a recording setting. I have a Neumann TLM-193 and a Blue Spark, and I'm always striving to get the best sound out of them, you know... "that" sound. The other day, I listened to a song by a fellow home studio recordist, a very talented 19-year-old. The whole production was outstanding, and it was the first time this guy had included vocals in a song. "Your vox sound fantastic," I said to him. "What mic are you using?" "An old SM58." "The piano sounds great, too, is that a vst or a real piano?" "Real. I mic'ed it with the same SM58." "And the violin?" "Same SM58."

    So, he was getting at least the same (if not better) results from an SM-58 run through an el cheapo ART tube pre-amp as I was running my precious Neumann through a much more expensive front end. Of course, skill has a lot to do with sound quality -- but this kid has no real technical recording knowledge. He just pointed the mic at the source and moved it around until it sounded good. And in any case, if it really is all about skill, why spend more than the cost of an SM58, especially if it's this versatile?

  • from Traverse City, MI June 8, 2012Music Background:
    Live gigs, recording, basic PA services

    Great versatile mic!

    The same bomb proof reliability and flexibility the 58 is famous for with athe addition of a handy switch! Perfect for using the 58 as the lead mic for vocals or a speaking gig.

  • from U.S.A. May 15, 2012Music Background:
    novice musician and producer

    The Difference Is In The Quality

    I have 2 other mics that look like the SM58, but they sure don't sound like the SM58. The difference is definitely in the quality of this Shure product. I'm happy!

  • from New Orleans, LA. March 30, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Singer

    Love it!

    I just simply love it. It's my best purchase on wireless microphone to date.

    Actually, I love buying all of my equipment through Sweetwater. I have been an active customer for a few years now. Thanks Sweetwater.

  • from Brighton,Ont. Canada March 1, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Shure SM58S

    This is the second one that I have owned. I find them to be excellent for what I use it for. Like the on/off switch.

  • from marianna, arkansas December 2, 2011Music Background:
    i have writen and recorded several songs have played country music for over 60 years

    the shure sm58s mic

    i have used shure mics for over 60 years i still have my first shure mic and it still works fine the sm 58 s as far as im concernd is best on the market

  • from December 2, 2011

    Shure sm58s

    This microphone has always been an excellent choice for musicians and now it's even better with the off/on switch. Lots of bang for the buck.

  • from Antioch, CA October 14, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Shure SM58S

    Excellent mic! Bought it for our grandson - a talented young man.

  • from February 3, 2017

    Best in price range

    Great for band vocals

  • from North Carolina July 13, 2016

    Shure SM 58

    These microphones are outpstanding in every way. A lot of bang for the buck. The only thing that would make to them better is if they were wireless and we purchased these due to budget constraints.

  • from July 14, 2015Music Background:
    Self taught musician and noise maker

    SM58S

    I bought them because reliability. I have two of them and they are still in good condition but my daughter is in the band so I bought them.

  • from April 21, 2015

    Wireless sm58

    Works great. Very light. Uses aa batteries. Good Mike.

  • from CT October 10, 2013Music Background:
    Ministry singer & songwriter

    Always a great dependable mic!

    As always a great dependable mic!

  • from Indianapolis January 24, 2016Music Background:
    Semi-Pro

    A True Classic

    You can't go wrong with a proven design like Shure SM58. My son needed one for his music studies and wanted one with a switch. The SM58S is just what he needed.

  • from April 16, 2015

    Bluegrass band

    This is a perfect mic for a bluegrass band. Durable, clear, responsive and doesn't get overwhelmed by banjos in the background like a lot of others.

  • from Winchester,Ky October 13, 2014Music Background:
    Old dance band singer and guitarist

    Head and shoulders better

    This mic is head and shoulders better than the comparable mics that I have been using. I get the same volume level at about half the volume setting on my P.A. The built in pop shield works great also. For the money,I don't think that you can beat the Shure SM58. Oh,and too,since I don't have a sound man,the off on switch on the SM58S is worth the little extra cost. If you need to mute the mic,you just flip the switch as opposed to having to get to the board and turning down the volume.

  • from South Carolina August 4, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Shure SM58S

    Bright, accurate voice representation. Performance measured up to expectations set in the like reviews.

  • from Cape Girardeau, MO June 25, 2014Music Background:
    Singer

    Superb item

    A great microphone. So good that I bought a second one. And service is the best. Thank you!

  • from Cape Girardeau, MO June 25, 2014Music Background:
    Singer

    Superb item

    A great microphone. So good that I bought a second one. And service is the best. Thank you!

  • from Claremont, NH June 3, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer

    Great Product

    Very good price for a great product

  • from Nokomis Florida February 19, 2013Music Background:
    Electronic musical inovations

    Great sounding mic

    We got the sound we wanted for our meetings. Everyone sounds great with great pickup. Very pleased. Thanks for Sweetwater. .

  • from Crescent City, CA June 10, 2012Music Background:
    enthusiast

    A good work horse

    I have already dropped it a few times, and it still works great. I also found I get a great bass response when I place it inside my cajon.

  • from Lafayette,Co USA January 2, 2012Music Background:
    singer songwriter

    SM58S still the champ

    Still the best mic for the money

  • from January 27, 2016

    Mic

    Great for practice. Haven't performed with it yet

  • from Southern California October 15, 2015

    Shure SM58S

    I've only used it once since I got it. It sounded great but the on/off switch feels really sloppy. I have other Shure mics with on/off switches that have a very positive feel to them. The switch on this Shure mic does not feel like it engages or disengages properly. It just kind of loosely slides. I don't expect it to actually click when moving it from one position to the other but until I plugged it in and used it, I wasn't sure it actually worked. So for that reason I gave it 3.5 stars.

  • from irving, TEXAS October 13, 2014Music Background:
    making music for over 40 years. sing in a rock band.

    NICE

    Really nice microphone. I sing for a rock n roll band, and found that this works quite a bit better than my Sennheiser that I've used for years. Very affordable too. It would be difficult to find a better, new microphone as reasonably priced as this one. It's a good buy. I'm happy with it.

Questions about the Shure SM58S Vocal Microphone with On/Off Switch?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway