0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
February Giveaway

Shure SM58 Handheld Dynamic Vocal Microphone Reviews

4.5 stars based on 137 customer reviews
Questions about the Shure SM58 Handheld Dynamic Vocal Microphone?

Questions about the Shure SM58 Handheld Dynamic Vocal Microphone?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Carson McClain

    This is the mic I will be using after the nuclear holocaust happens because it will be one of the only things left on earth that still works.

  • Jeff Barnett

    Years ago, I was driving a pickup truck over-loaded with gear down a Texas highway en route to a gig. We hit a bump, our mic case flew open, and two SM58's bounced onto the pavement going 65 MPH. Amazingly, not only did the mic's still work, but their sound wasn't affected one bit (the grille, on the other hand...). Almost every gigging musician has a story like this, and that's part of what makes the SM58 an enduring classic!

  • from Herrin Il February 14, 2017

    Stage gear

    I have been using the SM58 for 40 years you can always count on them industry standard for the money you can never go wrong

  • from Georgia February 10, 2017Music Background:
    4043572678

    Shure SM58 Mike

    This is the best microphone that we have ever used!!!

  • from Tucson, AZ February 7, 2017

    Tried and True

    You really cannot beat the SM58, like the SM57 on guitars and snares - the SM58 is "that" sound on live vocals.

  • from February 6, 2017

    Great mic for a great price!

    The old standby comes thru again! We have several of these and can always depend on them!

  • from Houston Area February 3, 2017Music Background:
    40+ years of playing

    The solid SM58 Performer

    Shure has been making these mics for years and there're still the best. They are rugged and built to last. Sweetwater will get 'em to you quick.

  • from New York January 13, 2017Music Background:
    Teacher, Producer, Vocalist, Keyboardist, Bandleader, Sideman

    the reigning monarch of live vocal production for 50 years

    If you want better, you have to leave this price category completely. Buy one now and if no one steals or loses it you will be using it when you are an old person.

  • from January 12, 2017Music Background:
    Sipny the music duo.

    Goodness of sm 58

    I have bought a couple of sm58 s twenty two years back.Still I use them as my personal mics on regular basis.Still works as new.I cant imagin how to perform without my sm 58.Most precious equipments of my soundgear are my Shure sm 58 mics.Thanks Shure for your great product.

  • from January 12, 2017Music Background:
    Sipny the music duo.

    Goodness of sm 58

    I have bought a couple of sm58 s twenty two years back.Still I use them as my personal mics on regular basis.Still works as new.I cant imagin how to perform without my sm 58.Most precious equipments of my soundgear are my Shure sm 58 mics.Thanks Shure for your great product.

  • from Green Bay January 9, 2017

    Sm58 a classic

    Our church was looking for a new vocal mike. I picked the sm58 based on previous experiences. It was a great choice as a new addition to our selection. Sounds great with vocals and instruments.

  • from Houston Area January 5, 2017Music Background:
    40+ years of playing

    Very good Mic

    Shure has been making these Mics for many years, which have become the "standard" for all other mics. These mics are dependable, and durable. They are the most used through out the music industry. Sweetwater will get them to you quickly and will arrive in excellent condition. Two great companies team up to bring a fantastic product.

  • from Texas December 24, 2016

    SM58 Never Fails

    There is literally no way to go wrong with this mic. Such a classic standard that works great for everything. I put a foam cover over the top of it and use it for singing live, and have even used it for recording some studio vocals before. Such a durable mic can go anywhere.

  • from California November 28, 2016

    Classic!!

    What can be said about these that hasn't already been said? They are reliable, dependable work horses that do their job, as always. A must in anyone's mic locker. Others knock them down, unfortunately, but these are where it all started! Highly versatile, and useful for miking instrument cabs, too!

  • from GA November 22, 2016

    Shure SM58

    The Shure SM58 mics are the same dependable workhorse stage mics that they have been for years now. I am predictably well pleased with them.

  • from The South November 10, 2016Music Background:
    sorted

    what works matters

    I have used SM58'S since they were first offered. For live performance their duribility and cost are unbeatable.

  • from salisbury md October 18, 2016Music Background:
    band dj trivia host

    shure sm 58

    great performance microphone highly reccomend for live music or mc jobs cant beat the best

  • from Georgia October 15, 2016Music Background:
    Band and Disc Jockey

    Shure SM58

    What an awesome microphone!!! I plan on buying two more of these to mic each section of our group.
    Clean, clear, dynamic sound.

  • from San Antonio tx September 22, 2016Music Background:
    Performer teacher keyboards vocal

    Shute sm58 mic

    Everything they said lab out this mic is true great sound.

  • from Champaign, IL September 16, 2016

    Bulletproof!!!

    This mic is as amazing as it has always been! What more can I say?

    Sweetwater was very good with exchanging the model with the switch for this one when I ordered the wrong model by mistake. The model with the switch has a very loose and clumsy, non-recessed switch. So make sure you order this one (unless you really need a switch).

  • from Leander TX September 7, 2016Music Background:
    Pro Drummer, 51 years

    Great Mic

    It's a Shure, need I say more...

  • from September 5, 2016

    Cool

    The mic arrived on time and in good condition....works great, enjoy using it

  • from Binghamton, NY August 29, 2016Music Background:
    musician/teacher

    Member of Your Road Crew(even if you don't have one)

    Like Leo Fender's Am Stnd Telecaster, some things are so classic, built like a brick, dependable, has THAT sound, and was/is more worthy than any frills or developments would provide. Used everywhere and for anything it is the first responder to your PA sound. It doesn't matter what your preference or collection of microphones on stage or in the studio, for the price it is worth carrying a box of SURE SM's for any needs. In short, does the job, simple and dependable, can pound nails, and cheap.

  • from Decatur, IN July 25, 2016Music Background:
    Semi-Pro FOH, HOW

    Oldie But Goodie

    From small to national stages, you'll see SM58s everywhere -- wired and wireless -- from local to A-list performers. I can't think of a more versatile microphone out there. I've mixed folks on Sennheisers, Audio-Technica, Audix... and I keep coming back to the Shure SM58. While other microphones may sound better for each individual, I haven't found anything else that works great on everyone. These things can be EQ'd to sound exactly how you want it to. Need more hi-fi air? ...believe it or not, the 58 will do it... they take EQ that well.

  • from Athens, Ga. July 17, 2016Music Background:
    Degree in theory & composition have toured with both national acts and my own band for decades.

    A must have

    I still have several from the late 70's that work night after night. I primarily use on for flute and backup vocals, but a must have for any studio. And for the money is the least expensive truly professional mic that has become the most widely used mic on earth.

  • from Indiana July 15, 2016

    Fantastic

    I have been a SM58 user for many years and love the deal I got.

  • from June 28, 2016

    Shure SM58

    I bought a couple of these microphones from Sweetwater and I am truly amazed at the sound quality - best mic I ever owned.

  • from June 24, 2016Music Background:
    I am a am a amateur guitar player, just enjoy country music.

    HAPPY CAMPER

    I am very pleased with the product, I am not a professional just a person who enjoys my guitar and have entertained my neighbors and my cat. I hate to borrow so I invested in my own microphone. Happy camper gladI did.

  • from nj June 1, 2016

    Shure SM58

    a workhorse mic that will last a long time. my band and my son's band rehearse using these (2) and they always deliver strong, clear vocals, no distortion, clean punch. you just can't beat the quality for the price.
    i've dropped & bumped - a strong reliable product.

  • from May 18, 2016

    It's a great mic

    Does its job one of the best

  • from May 10, 2016

    Nothing to see here.

    The 58 is the industry standard for a reason. Best sounding, most durable live mic in the business. You can spend more, but I doubt you will get more anywhere near the price-point. Get it and put your name on it, 'cause you are going to have it for life.

  • from April 27, 2016

    Shure SM58

    Always dependable, durable microphones. The SM58 has always been well known through the entertainment business as one of the best.

  • from Texas April 13, 2016Music Background:
    Prosumer

    A workhorse!

    What can you say about a legend! I have 3 of these and am always happy to use them for a variety of purposes.

  • from Houston Area April 12, 2016

    Solid Mic

    Still the best mic for most anything.

  • from Jasper, AL April 5, 2016Music Background:
    guitar, drums, vocals, bass

    Great Mic

    It was on a great deal with extended 0% financing and a cable and stand... What more could you ask for?

  • from Knoxville March 30, 2016

    Thank you Sweetwater!

    I bought this microphone for my friend's wedding singing, and it was exactly as I expected. I read so many reviews before choosing this, since it was the first time to buy a microphone. The delivery was great, and I especially thank Nick for helping me out about making such a satisfactory choice!

  • from fort wayne,indiana January 28, 2016Music Background:
    live sound engineer

    industry standard

    i have been using sure mics for over 35 years, they have proven their audio engineering standard status since early radio and tv. everybody in these professions knows they have proven their quality and performance

  • from NYC November 24, 2015Music Background:
    40 years semi-pro now semi-retired

    Another

    Kiddos - if you're just getting going in the biz - this is all you need in a vocal mic. Read all the comments - they are superlative because this $100 microphone is literally all you need to reinforce live vocals, do broadcasting of voice, and even record your voice. And same as the SM-57, you can put an SM-58 to work miccing an amplifier or an acoustic guitar with equally good results. Of course there are "better" microphones out there - but there is no better cost-to-value, and you're going to pay 200-400 more for single-digit improvements in the response or the feedback control. Secondly there's nothing any more rugged or dependable - you could use your SM-58 to jack up your band truck if you needed to and it would still work at your gig that night. Finally - the SM-58 is produced in the USA by one of our greatest audio pioneers and a true American treasure - the Shure company. You'll see this mic on practically every live stage, everywhere, as well as in the studio. Several of my favorite LPs were recorded with SM-58s, not $12,000 ribbon mics as you might expect. Just a great, great product. Love the SM-58.

  • from temple ga. October 20, 2015Music Background:
    i have had a band for years (southern tradition)

    shure

    this mic is just what i need i have used these mic's for years and they are great thanks sweetwater for all the deals and equment its great

  • from Sacramento, CA October 16, 2015Music Background:
    Musician and audio engineer for over 40 years

    Authentic Shure quality

    The SM58 no longer needs reviews. It is one of the most established and ubiquitous mics of all time due to its solid professional build quality, proven sound and stage performance characteristics. I bet 98% of all soundcos have at least one and perhaps half a dozen.
    I bought another SM58 from Sweetwater because of the tremendous amount of counterfiet product in the secondary and auction markets. The fakes are terrible in quality but are purposely designed to be as identical to the authentic item as possible. Shure is not the only mic company to be a target of counterfieters. All users should educate themselves about this problem.
    There are others, but Sweetwater is a totally reliable provider of genuine products and one of the best sources anywhere for pro audio products and service.

  • from WA September 10, 2015Music Background:
    pro

    SM58, always great

    not much to say, a rugged mike, Sweetwater was on time, packaged well.

  • from Baltimore, Md September 4, 2015Music Background:
    Musician, Sound Engineer

    The Standard; The Shure SM58

    Our choir team had a mic (SM-58) finally fail at a concert recently. Actually, the threads in the housing had gotten worn and could no longer support the weight of the mic. Even in this condition it still worked with some discreetly applied duct tape. However, I realized it was time to upgrade and retire this workhorse which never failed for over 20 years. I did a little researching for a replacement but kept coming back to the realization that there really was not a better vocal mic in that price range or outstanding quality anywhere. The new SM58 is fantastic! (And, it so much more ascetically pleasing than duct tape). Thank you Sweetwater for once again going beyond and above the call of excellence!

  • from July 14, 2015

    Mic Review

    Have used this type of mic since 1974 and have never been dissappointed. The price you had at the show could'nt be beat.

  • from July 11, 2015

    microphone

    seems to work pretty well for my use.

  • from Bloomington, IL July 11, 2015Music Background:
    Solo performer - singer/songwriter

    Best price ever.

    Bought this during Gear Fest at a really good discounted price. Everybody knows how much of a standard the SM58 is for live performance. Mine sounds just great for vocals and harmonica in my solo shows....even better I think than the $150 EV N/D 967 that I had been using for several years. Very pleased.

  • from July 7, 2015

    Way to go!

    This mic is simply great. The outside is durable and doesn't come apart. Except when you unscrew it. Buy this mic because it is made of metal. The sound quality is perfect and it is not too heavy. I highly recommend this mic.

  • from Dallas, Texas June 28, 2015Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter-Classic Country Music Entertainer

    Giving good review...

    Everything I expected and more! Thank you Sweetwater for your promotions and low price's The candy is good too! Thanks again!

  • from June 27, 2015Music Background:
    guitar and 5 string banjo player

    Shure sm 58 microphone

    excellent product fast and efficient service/ will definitely purchase fro Sweetwater in the future

  • from Winter Park,FL June 19, 2015Music Background:
    Blues, Jazz and R&B musician and soon to be Full Sail Recording Arts graduate

    Workhorse Mic

    You really can't go wrong with an SM58. It sounds great and it's tough as nails. And at $109.00 for Mic, stand and cable it's a fantastic deal. Sweetwater Rocks!!

  • from Ohio June 2, 2015Music Background:
    Classic rock, drums and guitar

    Great Mic

    I've owned one for about 20 years, wow didn't realize it had been that long. But I've never had a problem with mine, always works and still sounds great. I liked it so much I purchased one for my girlfriend. My friend has purchased 7 or 8 other cheaper mics, since I bought mine. I love it.

  • from June 2, 2015

    SM58

    It's t best mike Love it

  • from Westfield, MA May 22, 2015

    Solid

    Great mic...........industry standard, you can't go wrong in this price range .......

  • from Boston, MA May 20, 2015Music Background:
    Done pretty much anything and everything in (Rock/Pop) music--I toured, I recorded in big studios, played to over a thousand fans--played every club in NYC and Boston, until rap came along and that fizzled my career.

    Shure SM58

    This is a great microphone for my voice. I have tried every microphone on earth when recording (for two decades) and playing live. This is the mic that I rely on for both.

    I would like to have an on/off switch which this S58 does not have. Perhaps that was an error on my part not ordering the exact S58 mic that I am used to.

  • from April 10, 2015

    Shure Bet !

    Can't miss /Great mic

  • from Junction,Tx March 11, 2015Music Background:
    Gigging musician

    Shure SM58

    Great microphones. Clear and clean vocals. They seem tough enough, but I've only had them for a bit, so I'll give them 4.5 stars. I'm sure they are worth the five.

  • from Eugene OR February 2, 2015Music Background:
    arranger, composer, pianist

    The tried and true SM58

    There are better mics out there for those willing to spend the money: handheld condensers, boutique dynamics that soar into wide ranges and provide outstanding performance. But it's hard to find a better all-round vocal mic for a hundred dollars; the 58 provides an even, accurate performance throughout its range and remains a staple in everyone's bag of mics for this reason. I heard an old adage once: 'Nobody every got fired for bringing an SM58 to a session." With the 58, you know what you're getting, and it's provided an upgrade to our practice sessions when we brought it in to replace another mic we were using. If you're low on cash but need a professional mic for practice, performance or even recording, get this----especially if you're struggling along with really cheap mics. You'll be instantly glad that you did.

  • from RI January 26, 2015Music Background:
    Professional teacher and musician.

    Delivers!

    As prom8sed, this mic delivers. Great dynamic range. Could use a tiny bit more on highs.

  • from Bloomington, Indiana December 29, 2014Music Background:
    Live Music Enthusiast, Hobbiest

    The Standard for Performance and Durability

    Nearly every musician/performing artist knows that Shure SM58 mics have set the bar by which all other vocal mics are measured, it's that simple. Dependable professional performance for years and years of service... day in day out... gig in gig out!

  • from Nappanee,IN November 29, 2014Music Background:
    live, and studio

    SM 58

    Freakin'awesome mike, spit om Matt!!

  • from Charlottesville Va. September 24, 2014Music Background:
    Performer and teacher.

    Great mic

    I just volunteered to teach music at my kids school and we needed equipment. You can't beat this mic for the price so I got six plus stands and carrying case. They are good for vocals as well as picking up an instrument plus it is droppable...I mean durable . That is an important quality when kids are using them!

  • from United States September 15, 2014

    Great Mic

    I worked in the news industry for several years where these were the standard... and again getting my hands on one of these has been a great experience.

  • from TX September 4, 2014Music Background:
    Gospel Singer/church music leader

    just ok

    Wasn't quite what we were expecting. Don't pick up as good as our others.

  • from East coast summers, Nation Wide winter August 22, 2014Music Background:
    sound and lights rentals

    Most reliable Shure sm58

    We own over a hundred sm58s, They are accepted on all riders, great price's good sound reproduction, and definitely road worthy. mike

  • from Florida July 23, 2014Music Background:
    In past live band. Now hobbyist and solo preform

    Shure Sm58 is a winner.

    I've had what I consider pretty good mikes. This Sm58 put them all
    to rest for live performance.

  • from Payne ohio July 8, 2014Music Background:
    Pro-musician

    Shure all the way

    I have used shire for over 30 yrs an never had a failure!
    Best bang for the buck!

  • from United States July 5, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    smooth vocal

    im not a singer but the 58 helps smooth out my vocals

  • from July 1, 2014

    Workhorse

    This thing always delivers. I use it for recording vocals for music and a podcast talk show. Great for both.

  • from Bronx, NY, USA June 30, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Durable

    This mic is built like a tank. It will not break. Sound quality is really good. Highly recommended.

  • from Radford, Va. May 19, 2014Music Background:
    About 40 years of gigging, 15+ running a recording studio, live sound.

    No brainer!

    Just needed one more of these classic live vocal mics to fill up the mic case. There are other reasons why this is the go-to live vocal mic globally that I don't need to go into, but any of these I have had, I still have and use, and some are so old, I can't even remember how long ago I got them.

  • from April 25, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    The SM58 Still Stands Up

    This mic stands the test of time and still sounds great. Many have testified to the 58s rugged design and great noise cancelling ability. This one worked perfectly right out of the box and sounds great - exactly as I expected. I have no reason to think it wont serve for many years to come.

  • from Florida April 15, 2014Music Background:
    Teacher

    SM58 mics

    These mics were just the right price for our needs and very durable for use with elementary students.

  • from Marina, ca April 8, 2014Music Background:
    Artist, producer, and engineer

    Made my performance compelling!

    I did a rap performance and I felt like I was able to get my message across with great vocal mid presence

  • from Ludington, MI March 25, 2014Music Background:
    Occassional performer, Folk/Old Time/60s-70s Rock

    Always a good choice

    Such a stable, dependable and durable mic - this is my third SM58, added to the two I purchased and have used since 1998

  • from Ontario, CA March 19, 2014Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    The Work Horse

    There is no other vocal mic that has better feedback rejection. I have had really good luck with SM58s for reliability and quality. I have had several other brands that last me 5 - 6 years and then I have some sort of malfunction. I have 58's that are 20 years old and still sound great.

  • from January 28, 2014

    Good Mic!

    I'm a new singer, and I like this Mic a lot! Good sound, easy to use, and feels very rugged. My only complaint is it seems you have to be pretty much touching the mic with your lips. I'm sure this is by design to prevent feedback, etc.

  • from Marseilles, IL January 7, 2014Music Background:
    Sound Engineer

    Par Excellence

    Shure mics are the industry standard. I've used these mics for 10 plus years and they have never failed to work. These mics are all but bullet proof.

  • from November 1, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Standard Work Horse Microphone

    Talk about the SM58 it is quite obvious. Use another mic for live gig it is a waist of time.

  • from Georgia September 28, 2013Music Background:
    h0obbyist

    Great mics

    Mics performed perfect. It was great not to get any handling noise like I got with cheaper mics.Paul

  • from stoutsville Ohio USA July 19, 2013Music Background:
    bands n personal home recording gear

    reflection on sure 58 purchase

    Mic giving great performance with no complaints. Fine price AT SWEETWATER

  • from Fort Wayne In. July 19, 2013Music Background:
    Lead vocals and rhythm guitar church praise team

    A great vocal mic on a budget

    I've been told that the sm58 was a great vocal mic. I lead our churches praise team. We had an outdoor service and I was very pleased with the sm58.

  • from South Elgin, Illinois July 19, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Mic

    Great mic for Vocals

  • from South Chicagoland June 24, 2013Music Background:
    Pro singer and guitarist since 1979

    Stick with the original

    I bring this mic to church rather than sing through a "Beta" mic. It is the mic I spent the last 35 years singing into and nothing can match it or even come close. Of course in the studio I use a capsule mic, but the 58 is the only mic I will sing through.

  • from Fort Wayne June 15, 2013Music Background:
    Voice

    Perfect for the job

    I was using a condenser mic for some voice work I was doing. I decided to try the SM58 and was blown away by the difference. It was exactly what was needed for that particular job.
    When it's said that you can eat this mic and not get 'plosives they are not kidding, you can get right up on it and talk away. I'll be adding a couple more of these to my mic locker.

  • from Delaware May 23, 2013Music Background:
    Live sound , recording, Pro musician, guitar tech,Blues , classic rock guitarist

    Industry standard SM58 & SM57

    Its not called the Industry standard for nothing, Every sound company rely on them not just because its a road worthy mic. They work well and sound good. Don't make the mistake and go beta, its not the same mic at all. For live use, there are mic's that have more power and claim more gain before feedback, but you just end up turning the channel trin down lower. I'm a firm believer of using all the same mic's. with all 57 and 58's you'll get less bleed over and phasing problems. Like with most music gear Tube guitar amps included, NOS tubes etc. They got it right the first time around. as the saying goes , if it ain't broke , don't fix it.!

  • from Crofton, MD May 14, 2013Music Background:
    Vocalist, amateur performer

    Great with a Bose PA

    When used with a Fender Passport Pro PA I thought it picked up too much sibilance or breathiness. I like the Shure 55 or Super 55 for a more mellow sound. But with the Bose L1 Compact the Shure SM 58 sounds great, just like I do in my head!

  • from Calhoun, GA USA April 21, 2013Music Background:
    Recording and Live Engineer

    Shure SM58

    Awesome mic for the money.

  • from Long Island, New York March 18, 2013

    SM58 Shure - is nice!

    Speaks for itself......loud and clear

  • from GOTHENBERG, NE USA March 12, 2013Music Background:
    LEAD SINGER-SONGWRITER

    THERE IS A NOTICEABLE DIFFERENCE IN CLARITY

    WE HAVE BEEN USING AUDIO-TECHNICA BRAND MIC'S (THEIR HIGHER END BRAND) FOR A COUPLE OF YEARS....
    WE'VE KNOWN SHURE MIC'S FOREVER......THOUGHT I WOULD SEE IF I COULD NOTICE A DIFFERENCE......THERE IS A NIGHT AND DAY DIFFERENCE IN CLARITY...REPOSNSE.....AND THEY DO NOT POP AS MUCH. BUY THESE AND SAVE YOURSELF SOME GRIEF!!!

  • from Honolulu, HI January 30, 2013Music Background:
    Gigging Musician, Singer, Producer

    Not to be overlooked

    Great mic, gets the job done. I had one as a workhorse mic for years, until one day I forgot it at a gig. To replace it, I picked up a Beta 58a. While I was amazed by the feedback rejection and extra crispness of the Beta, I have to say that I miss the SM58. It was just so easy to sing intoif the performance is there, the SM58 will capture it without getting in the way. Every sound man and singer should have at least one.

  • from Huntsville Alabama January 19, 2013

    Classic Microphone

    Yes, there are "better" microphones for vocals. You will be hard pressed to find something that sounds as good and tolerates abuse so well. So many out there that sound techs know how to use them whereas the "holy grail" microphones not so much. A wonderful idiot resistant microphone.

  • from South Georgia January 16, 2013Music Background:
    Sound / Parent of vocalist

    Solid Mic

    Just what I expected from a mic with a long running and great reputation.

  • from DeKalb il. December 26, 2012Music Background:
    Recording an live sound engineer

    Sm58

    Does this mic really need any more reviews?
    Sturdy as a brick and actually useable!
    I've heard of people taking the mic off of a stand in a live set-up, using it to hammer in an exposed nail on the stage, and then put it right back up on the stand for the following show. The thing can take a beating. I believe the durability tests that Shure put this mic through involved dropping it out of a multi-story window.
    And as far as sound quality goes, It's useable! Not great, but certainly not bad. I know singers who refuse to sing through anything else, on stage or recording. As a previous reviewer stated, If the performance is there, this mic won't get in the way.
    In my opinion if you're involved in live sound OR recording, you should have at least one of these.

  • from Mahwah, NJ USA November 27, 2012Music Background:
    Sound engeerer

    The Shure SM58

    The stage mic for vocals

  • from Highlands, Texas November 20, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound

    Still the best!

    Sturdy and dependable as always!

  • from Anchorage, AK USA October 18, 2012Music Background:
    Pro

    like an old shoe....

    I'm not going to tell you this will get you a record deal. I'm not going to tell you that you'll look good posing with it. I'm not going to tell you it's the big deal. I'm not going to tell you that this is the one just so you can tell everyone you own one. .....that said- I am going to tell you, like the geyser in yellowstone, it's old faithful. When you grab it, it's always there, always the same, always reliable, always sounds great, always WORKS. Face it, we all have a lot to worry about- gate, equipment, dates, on and one...but one thing you'll never have to think about is your mics. Can you place a value on that? Get it. Go for what works..always works. Don't reinvent the wheel

  • from San Antonio October 17, 2012Music Background:
    Keyboard and leading small choral group

    Shure Mics

    Great microphones! We always use Shure - they're as reliable as a good truck.

  • from Swarthmore, PA September 25, 2012Music Background:
    Musician.

    Classic

    THE classic live vocal mic. Inexpensive, tough as nails, and best of all sounds GREAT.

  • from San Diego September 12, 2012Music Background:
    Live

    Its a 58! Nuf said

    It came new. What else needs to be said about an industry standard mic? Its a work horse.

    Yo send me some candy!

  • from Anaheim.CA August 17, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Works Great

    My brother recommended it for live performances. He's a sound engineer and he was right!

  • from Mahomet, Illinois August 6, 2012Music Background:
    NA

    Excellent microphones

    The Shure sm58 mics are truly excellent quality I purchased them for use in our church and they replaced some cheaply made mics we had been using for some time. These will last longer and perform better I am certain.

  • from July 21, 2012Music Background:
    Rockabilly

    Gotta Love It!!

    Classic clean and simple, these suckahs last forever!

  • from July 21, 2012

    The Best

    GREAT MIC!!!! Very good price! GREAT SERVICE!!!!

  • from Chicago, Illinois July 20, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Shure SM58

    Takes abuse well. When you yell in to it, it doesn't talk back. When you smack it with a drum stick and knock it off the stand, it doesn't take a swing back at you. It just lays there waiting for you to pick it up. I LIKE it! No dents, no bruises, just performance.

  • from United States July 20, 2012Music Background:
    hobbity-bobbity

    SM = single mic

    If you can only buy 1 mic, buy this one. Although known primarily as a live vocal mic, it can be used to do just about anything in a pinch. If I would have bought one of these instead of the $30 special when I first started recording I would have saved myself a lot of grief. I have 2 now -- YAY!

  • from Cable, WI July 19, 2012Music Background:
    Senior Pastor

    Great Mic

    This is the industry standard for this type of mic

  • from June 26, 2012

    Good, dependable, and tough.

    Good, dependable, and tough... all at a reasonable price.

  • from OH June 23, 2012Music Background:
    musician/singer hobbyist

    SM58

    great name with Shure, good bundle price with Sweetwater, includes on-off switch! Recommend

  • from United States June 5, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, Vocalist

    Most Excellent Standard

    Excellent response and the ONLY mic I use for live gigs.

  • from St. Louis, MO May 31, 2012Music Background:
    Live Performer

    Good All Around Mic

    Great little mic. Good tone and true sound. Can't go wrong for the price. I'll pick up a few more just to have them for live performances.

  • from May 30, 2012Music Background:
    Live sound, and recording studio work.

    GREAT!

    Great service and sound. Quality products with perfect price. Couldn't be better. :)

  • from Cole Harbour Nova Scotia Canada May 29, 2012Music Background:
    50 year entertainer/studio Bass Player

    Best LIVE Stage Mic..

    If I was ordering this mic again I would consider the SM-58S Model..I have several SM-58 mics. I use them in the Studio and in Live Stage applications....

  • from April 30, 2012

    adequate

    so far everything works-that is all the matters

  • from February 23, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Great product as usual.

    The Shure SM58 is a dependable and proven item that I continually choose to meet my needs.

  • from I live in a van down by the river February 13, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Part Time Musician

    Muddy

    I had one and dumped it shortly after. Cheap. You get what you paid for. Why drive a Pinto when you can own a Cadillac? Spring for the Shure Beta 58A instead and you'll be a whole lot happier.

  • from Kalamazoo, MI February 9, 2012Music Background:
    Worship Coordinator

    A real workhorse

    This mic measures up to it's reputation. You could hammer nails in with this thing and it would still give you great sound quality. We use only these mics on our worship team and they stand up to the test. You can't beat these microphones, especially if your on a budget.

  • from Florence, CO January 24, 2012Music Background:
    Pastor since 1987

    Tried and True SM58

    Always excellent and very reliable.

  • from Colorado Mountains January 20, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    SM58

    Only issue is that there is no on/off switch. Great Mic

  • from Kumasi Ghana January 18, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Mixer

    Must Have Live Mic

    Lead vocalist in my live band drops expensive wireless mics for these 58s.

  • from Canton, IL USA January 2, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Student

    Clear Voice

    Wow! I recorded a friend, who wants to be a big time Christian artist, and when I went to edit the recordings, they were sooooo clear! I used an SM57 for his acoustic guitar. Smartest desicion I made. WOW!

  • from san luis obispo Ca. December 18, 2011Music Background:
    singer songwriter performer

    love SM58

    I love the classic Shure SM58 mic, great live mic!
    stvincentfolk.bandcamp.com

  • from New York November 16, 2011Music Background:
    Student,Music Producer

    Great Mic

    I use the SM58 for voice-over and vocals. Adds warmth to the vocals

  • from Toms River, New Jersey October 6, 2011Music Background:
    Went to Juliard for awhile for guitar but switched to Bass :)

    My New Shure 58's

    I've been playing with Bands a long time now and I had ONE Shure 58
    but I did at one time have a high impedence rig. Anyway, I finally got sold on the 58's with my new Berhringer package. I really am Blown away with 3 Shure 58's and stands through that particular PA is incredible! I'm really Happy now! Thanx Sweetwater.

  • from July 26, 2011

    What can I say?

    Rock solid.

  • from Pennsylvania July 22, 2011Music Background:
    play for the fun of it.. at least i sound good to myself.. :)

    shure sm58 mic

    The mic is great, Has a great sound. I use it thru my amp and use a harmonizer while i play keyboard.

  • from Columbia city, Indiana July 22, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Shure is nice!

    You know what we all want, good price, reliability, and great quality. Then you buy it from Sweetwater for no hassle service.

  • from Bergen County, NJ, USA December 29, 2010

    Best Mic In The World

    I have literally used my SM58 as a hammer. This thing is a tank. But durability is meaningless if the mic doesn't sound good. No need to worry about that, because this thing sounds like a dream. Most of my band members prefer the Beta 58, which I understand because the Beta has a hotter output. However, this mic is so versatile that I wouldn't trade this for any other dynamic mic at this price range.

    Except maybe the SM57.

  • from Covington, GA December 7, 2010Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer.

    Can't beat it...LITERALLY

    Durable. Dependable. Dynamic.
    One thing though, $99.00 is not a sales price. Everywhere you look, almost everyone sells this mic for $99.00. I purchased 8 of them over the last five years, and they have always been $99.00 new. The benefit with ordering from Sweetwater is that there is no shipping fee and depending on what your order is and where you are located, no sales tax.

  • from NY, NY USA November 4, 2010Music Background:
    Live Sound.

    Amazing Mic for an amazing price.

    You get much more than what you pay for with this mic. The sound quality is amazing!

  • from NJ May 21, 2010Music Background:
    Piano player, singer/songwriter

    Best Live Mic

    I've been using this mic for 4 years and it has never disappointed me. It is about the most used live vocal mic and is amazing. It has amazing clarity and works great. If you take care of it it never breaks and it always a great addition to any live system.

  • from Colorado May 4, 2010Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Guitarist and recording Musician

    30 Years and still Rocking

    I have used a lot of different mic's over the past 30 years and only my Shure Sm57's and 58's are still delivering while the others have had to be repaired several times. By far both the 57 and 58's have stood the test of time through live gigs and studio work for me, they have been dropped, soaked and beaten and have not quit on me yet. In fact I'll be adding a few more to my new home studio. If you want great quality and durability then you have to own a couple if these, I swear they won't let you down

  • from Kansas October 21, 2008Music Background:
    semi pro musician

    Great Microphone

    I have used this mic for over 25 yrs. and, never had a problem. All the vocalists in my band use these mics and, also never a problem. what more can be said, It's like an old friend always there for ya.
    There may be other mics that will perform as well as the 58 and, it may be only a personal preference but, the 58 has always come through.

  • from Ireland October 13, 2008Music Background:
    Home Recording

    Sure SM58

    Thye Sure SM56 was great in the 1970's that was 30 + years a go. Time has moved on. Try the sure beta 87 and listen !!!

  • from Garland,Texas USA September 20, 2008Music Background:
    Songwriter / Bassist / Vocalist / Hobbyist / Student / Home Recordist

    SM58 A solid 10!

    I have bought this mic cause of all the greats that use this it. I listen to bands like Staind, Slipknot, Stone Sour, The Misfits (W/ and w/o Danzig), and tons of other metal and hard rock and grunge bands. I love it's durability, sound, and more importantly the price. How can you NOT own a Shure SM58 or SM57 and call yourself a studio???
    This mic is tailor made for metal growling vocalists and the pop-py princesses that we all love to hate.
    And none of it would be possible without a SM58 a staple in my mic closet, in my arsenal, and in my sound. Pick one up and see why it is the undisputed king of live vocals. I DARE YOU to disagree that this mic DOESN'T pay for itself.

  • from Campbellsville, KY April 10, 2007Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Solid workhorse

    The SM58 is a legend in the live sound industry. It's reptuation is not without merit. It's solid, reliable and can double as a hammer when necessary. It's cheap, every live sound pro should have several standing by at all times.

  • from Washington D.C. October 4, 2006Music Background:
    Live sound engineer

    Best budget dynamic microphone on the planet!

    This Microphone is built!
    Shure Brothers out did themselves when they came up with this little gem, If you are a stage performer, or just a hobbyist and have a budget to stick to, you wont go wrong owning this piece of equipment.
    I have seen this microphone thrown, dropped, stepped on, driven over and even dropped in a toilet. The darn thing just keeps on working.
    And if it stops working for what ever reason, The people at Shure will do everything in their power to get you on the road again!

    If you are looking for a great priced, Awesome sounding, road worthy microphone, look no further, this microphone will become a family heirloom you give to your children's children.

  • from New Jersey, USA September 20, 2006Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician

    You may not have thought of this reason to buy an SM-58

    The SM-58 is too well known as an industry workhorse to need further elaboration here. However, I saw an article in Acoustic Guitar magazine some time back that pointed out an important reason for owning one that hadn't occurred to me.

    Their point: Because the SM-58 is so popular, most venues use them. Which means that unless you bring your own microphone to every gig, sooner or later you are going to have to use an SM-58. So you might as well get started right away in learning how to sound good through one.

  • from san Leandro Ca September 11, 2006Music Background:
    recording enginer w/ BA

    YOU MEAN YOU DON'T HAVE ONE YET?

    AGAIN LIKE THE 57 YOU GOTTA HAVE THESE. GOOD MIC CLEAR AND TAKES A BEATING. TO SUM THIS MIC UP I WILL PUT IT OUT THERE... SO YOU ALL KNOW OF U2 THE BAND. EVERY SINGLE SONG RECORDED WITH THAT BAND THEY USE A 58 ON THE VOCAL. NONE OF THESE 50000DOLLAR TUBE MICS, SIMPLE 58. WHY? BECAUSE IT WORKS AND ALWAYS GIVES THAT SAME LOVABLE SOUND SO MANY ARE USED TO HEARING .

  • from Bellingham, WA July 15, 2006Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician/recording engineer

    I keep coming back to it

    I've given other microphones in the same price range, (and even some that are pricier) an honest test drive, but I just keep coming back to my SM58. Some of the competitors have a lot more definition and are more sensitive, etc. - but to a fault. I can get right up on this mic and sing as loud as I can and it doesn't get harsh like my other mics do. So, until I find something I like better (and I doubt I will), I will keep on using my SM58.

  • from Bedford, England April 12, 2006

    SM58 - great all round mic

    The Shure SM58 is one of the most recognisable microphones in the world – and for good reason. It is the main stay of many a hire companies microphone hire stock, including mine. Practically unbreakable, and if you do manage to drop it from a high stage / skyscraper, you can also buy a replacement pop shield. Very suited to rock, or other musical styles that need powerful vocals. Make sure your singers lips are touching the pop shield to get the best results, though, unless they have very good mic technique. The proximity effect (increase in bass when you sing or talk close to the mic) makes this important. If the singer is a foot away from an SM58, the chances are they will sound thin, and you will also have gain before feedback issues...


    Sonically the response has a nice presence peak in the upper mid range, but the top end rolls off quickly after that. Opinion is split about whether that is a good or a bad thing – it helps keep a lid on feedback, but it doesnt sound as hi-fi as some other mics. I have had some singers complain that their vocal top end is not quite right - sometimes asking for more top end. I guess they are used to the sound of expensive condenser mics on their recordings. My solution is normally to give them another mic, like a Beta 58, or Beta 87a maybe, rather than use EQ. If you A/B test an SM58 verses these mics it will always lose. But it can still be a better mic in some cases, such as when you are looking for a cardioid rather than hyper-cardioid response (the SM58 has a cardioid response, which means it has a wider pickup pattern at the front). But most vocalists will be more than happy with the sound the SM58 gives.


    The SM58 also does a pretty good job on drums (not really bass drum), and other loud things like guitar cabs. It uses the same capsule as the SM57, one of the best mics for guitar cabs.


    In conclusion, yes there are a lot of mics that sound better, and some of these are quite a bit cheaper – but ask yourself the question are they as durable as an SM58, and if you are a professional, will your clients want to use a mic they have never heard of?


    Take care,
    Justin Miller

Questions about the Shure SM58 Handheld Dynamic Vocal Microphone?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway