0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale! Ends Today

Shure SM57 Dynamic Instrument Microphone Reviews

4.5 stars based on 121 customer reviews
Questions about the Shure SM57 Dynamic Instrument Microphone?

Questions about the Shure SM57 Dynamic Instrument Microphone?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from December 5, 2016Music Background:
    Someone who sings regularly

    Best

    Best mic for instruments and singing

  • from November 28, 2016

    Fantastic for my recording

    This was perfect for recording placed a few inches from my amp! Captured the sound perfectly!!!

  • from miami, FL October 27, 2016Music Background:
    MUSICIAN PRODUCER

    ALWAYS THE BEST !!!

    AWESOME MIC FOR MY GUITAR CAB,RECORDING OR REAMPING....ALWAYS THE BEST

  • from Oregon July 28, 2016

    Classic

    There is a reason the SM57 have a re held with such regard. Awesome mic for a great price.

  • from utah June 6, 2016Music Background:
    musician, recording artist, hobbyist

    Great mic

    Great mic, stands up to its reputation, very warm natural sound, captures what its pointed at pretty well cutting out rest. Love it.

  • from Colorado April 21, 2016Music Background:
    8+ years as a musician and audio tech.

    Great microphone

    This is a great microphone it captured the natural tone that my cannonball saxophone produces. I'm very pleased with the quality of this microphone. I recommend it 100%. It's a 5 star from me.

  • from Missouri February 12, 2016

    The industry standard

    I got this to mic up my 6505 mini running into the matching 2x12 cab loaded with Greenbacks.
    I knew what i was getting before i even ordered this.
    Looking forward to getting my hands on a rinbon to pair with the 57.
    Props to my rep Stephen Oppenheim....

  • from Alexander City, AL January 9, 2016

    Best instrument mic out there!

    Go ahead, spend a thousand bucks. You still will not purchase a better sounding, more dependable instrument mic than an SM57. Just bought this one to use with my new Fender Bass Breaker 45 and it is perfect for getting that sweet rich tone to the mixer! Thanks Shure!

  • from Hudson, Fl January 5, 2016

    Shure SM57

    Needed another SM57 bought at a great price. I have used this model mike for well over 30 years with absolutely no problems. A great vocal, instrument and road worthy tool.

  • from January 3, 2016Music Background:
    Live Sound Tech/ Instrument Player

    Awesome Product

    I own multiple Shure products and the sm57 meets the standards of Shure Products. I use it to mic my Marshall and works like a charm. Use it all the time. Amazing.

  • from Easton, Pennsylvania December 29, 2015Music Background:
    Former professional musician. Now Senior Pastor.

    Shure SM57. Great Mic.

    I have been using Shure Mics for over 40 years because they are the best all around live sound mics. The SM57 is great for miking guitar amps and snare drums. My rep at Sweetwater is very professional and knowledgeable about the gear he sells. I like dealing with the same sales rep on all of my purchases. The shipping is always very fast. I am a very satisfied repeat customer. I highly recommend the Shure SM57 mic and I highly recommend Sweetwater for all your gear purchases.

  • from Milwaukee November 28, 2015Music Background:
    Live sound at festivals, miking difficult instruments.

    Amazing that this is is still the go-to mic for so many applications!

    They've been making these for how many years? And they are still the best at what they do? Anyone who has more than 10 minutes behind a board knows this mic. I would not be without one, or two, or three. It's great for micing a fiddle, uileann pipes, flutes, acoustic guitars, banjo, mando, or whatever is on stage. Seriously, what more do you need to know? I'm really amazed that this is still the one everyone is talking about. Just buy one or more. I have yet to hear about anyone who is disappointed in this. I just wish I could get the same performance in a mic that is small enough for a Celtic harp. Now that would be killer.

  • from NYC November 24, 2015Music Background:
    40-yr semi-pro (now semi-retired)

    All You Need in Utility Microphones.

    All gigging musicians need a couple of SM-57s in their gig bags. This is the do-it-all utility microphone that is just as happy sitting in front of an acoustic guitar or fiddle as it is stuffed in a high-pressure isolation box with a crazy-loud speaker blaring into it. You can drop them, bang them, rain on them, beer on them - and they still work. All this and more for around 100 bucks? It's amazing when you consider that's roughly what we were paying for these in the 1970s - I think maybe the first one I purchased in '76 was $80 -but whatever. And the SM-57 is not just for live work - you can use them for almost anything you can think of in the studio with great results. Some of my favorite pro recordings were done not with $12,000 ribbon mics - but with $100 SM-57s. And the Shure company is as good as it gets- they've literally pioneered how audio is captured. What a great AMERICAN company.

  • from USA November 24, 2015Music Background:
    I produce various types of music ranging from death metal to dubstep. Guitarist, vocalist, drummer, DJ

    THE Legendary Utilitarian Dynamic Microphone

    This is my go-to microphone for screams. The polar pattern/freq response on this mic is amazing for the price and great for drums, vocals, guitar cabs, and a number of other sources. If you've never owned a microphone, start with this one. If you've owned a microphone, get this one.

  • from September 4, 2015Music Background:
    Audio Engineer - 10 years

    My favourite for acoustics

    This is still my go to mic for acoustic recording. Sounds great and takes away the harshness of acoustics and removes some unwanted low end because its dynamic. Price is great for people on budgets!

  • from July 14, 2015

    Clean

    I recently started using this mic for my amp at my church, and I love the sound quality it produces. It is not too expensive, designed well, and sounds great! I recommend this to anyone!

  • from Dayton, Ohio July 10, 2015Music Background:
    Guitarist, Classic Rock & Smooth Jazz

    Work Horse

    Bought this at Gearfest for an awesome deal. Plan to go next year. You won't be disappointed. The mic is a work horse of the recording industry.

  • from Nebraska May 9, 2015Music Background:
    semi professional

    One mic does it all

    If I had to use one microphone for vocals and instruments it would be the Shure SM57. Whether on a budget or not, best microphone for all around use live or in the studio. For my money and sound, this one can't be beat.

  • from Mississippi April 2, 2015

    Durable

    I've had one for over 30 years, used for voice and amplifying acoustic guitar, still works like new. My favorite mic.

  • from Virginia January 28, 2015Music Background:
    45 years since I cut my first record

    Still a classic

    After reading an article of the five essential Micah the pro engineers had.. Almost all has the SM 57 in their cabinet.. A virtual versatile work horse of a mic...

  • from Denver, CO January 19, 2015Music Background:
    Professional

    To Rule Them All

    It's glorious and everybody knows that. I've used mine for vocals, guitar amps, snare and attack-side kick drum micing, bass guitar, horns, live, in studio; pretty much everything. It's not always the most defined when capturing a sound (as in a condenser will beat it in a nuance competition), but it's always full and present. Maybe the word is darker.

    That, and it's sturdier than anything else in your entire life for an extremely affordably price tag. They're standard. So buy some.

  • from December 25, 2014Music Background:
    Eng. and musician

    Cost praise

    Used them for years. Excellent mic. I have stuck with them because of their quality and because they are a good company. Their prices remain the same over the years and they don't decieve the buyer with short cuts. Great company, great buy...

  • from December 8, 2014Music Background:
    Seventy years, former pro, now retired.

    Very directional

    This is a great little mic, seems to be well built. I use it in conjuction with a voice mic, the former being used for an acoustic guitar.

  • from Nappanee,IN November 29, 2014Music Background:
    live, and studio

    SM57

    Used for vocals. For my voice exaxtly what the doctor ordered!! Thanks Matt! !

  • from Marseilles, IL November 19, 2014Music Background:
    Sound Engineer

    Excellent Mic!

    What can anyone say about any of the Shure microphones except Wow?! The best mic hands down.

  • from August 31, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Musician.

    Shure SM57, The standard!

    Being known as the standard microphone for snare drums and for guitar amps, I thought it would have a great sound. When I got it, I was blown away by how good it is! My snare drums sounded better than my triggered sound, which was amazing by itself, now is even better! My guitars sound really clear and heavy thanks to the SM57. Also, with the right pop filter, it can sound awesome in vocals too! High quality mic!

  • from El Segundo, CA August 28, 2014Music Background:
    Band-leader, songwriter, engineer

    Thanks Tony Dayton Sweetwater Rep!

    Thanks, Tony, I would have never known how good this was for recording guitars!

  • from Logansport ,in July 5, 2014Music Background:
    30 plus years in music.

    SM 57

    I'm a drummer I have tons of my SM57, of coarse I love my Shure sm57 especially during Gear fest.

  • from USA July 4, 2014Music Background:
    Audio Engineer

    Why are you reading reviews...just buy one

    It is an industry standard for a reason. If you look long enough you can definitely find mics that sound better for whatever your specific purpose is. but you won't find them that can sound as good on as many things at this price point. Everyone who records or does live work should have 3 in their closet.

  • from Clifton Park NY May 9, 2014Music Background:
    40 years playing guitar and 30 years with live sound

    Shure sm 57

    the industry standard for guitar cabs and for a $100.00 you can't beat it . I have 2 or 3 of these and i think they have to be 25 years old and been thrown around a bit but they keep working .

  • from MI, USA April 16, 2014Music Background:
    Singer, Songwriter, Recording Artist

    Truly a Must Have!

    This is a studio work horse and an extremely versatile instrument mic.
    It is the best dynamic microphone in its class for this price. I use it for recording acoustic guitars. I was surprised at how well it captured the natural sound. I now know why most studios have at least one. It's very durable and is equally great for miking amps. Overall you cannot go wrong getting one of these good mics. The SM57 does need a bit more gain as it tends to be a little quiet. I have recently acquired several Shure dynamics and this seems to be the case with all of the models I own. I haven't had a single problem with it. Really, you need two!!

  • from Lacombe Louisiana March 26, 2014Music Background:
    Church worship leader

    Shute SM57

    Using it to mic a guitar amp. What can I say it sounds great.

  • from United States December 17, 2013Music Background:
    Recording & Live Engineer

    THE Microphone

    I keep several SM57's on hand on the road & in the studio. They are excellent on snare, toms, & electric guitar. If I'm in a pinch I also know that I can throw a 57 on almost any source and it will sound good. It's the best "do it all" microphone there is.

  • from Chicago, IL October 14, 2013Music Background:
    Producer, Mixing/Recording Engineer, Pro Musician

    GO TO

    lets just say I own 9 of them they are solid as ever. With right preamps eq and some out board gear and even plugins. you can make up some very cool tones, it is my Go to on a lot of thing cymbals,drums guitars, vocals, bass you name it. If you have a great signal chain running through this thing you will be in awe on how much you can really get out of this guy. Some say they have moved on from the hype of this mic but this mic in every instance an with the right application is golden. this little fella has aided in some of the greatest tones, sounds, that's we have all seeked after.

  • from Aurora Ill July 21, 2013Music Background:
    live sound engineer.

    Great microphone

    The Shure sm57 is a great microphone for picking up instrumental music. It is very rugged and will give the user years of use. It's one of those microphones every one who does anything with sound should have.

  • from South Elgin, Illinois July 19, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Mic

    Great mic to use for guitar cabs or drums. It works for anything that needs miking.

  • from Zionsville, IN July 19, 2013Music Background:
    Live Sound Technician

    Absolutely brilliant.

    I've used SM57's in studio and in concert. These things rock. Sounds great on snare, toms, horns, vocals (with a windscreen, of course), guitar cabs, latin percussion, and a great deal of other instruments. They're practically indestructible, so I'm not too worried about anything happening to them at a gig. These are my go-to mics for micing horn sections in big bands. Nothing beats them for the price.

  • from June 26, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist unless you count the $200 or so I've made in 30 years

    I just keep coming back

    Not sure why anybody would have to read reviews of a mic this legendary, but here's my input. For recording vocals, I keep experimenting with large diaphragm condenser mics. I've tried everything from a cheap Rode to an outrageous Neumann. I start off loving what I believe to be a "wider, more open, more natural sound" but still end up spending hours and hours in mixdown tweaking the vocal track with plug-ins. For one thing, I don't have a good room for vocals (it's just an untreated extra room in my house), so the generous pickup pattern on those mics works against me. Recent example, I had sung about 10 takes into a Blue Spark on my latest song and had spent most of a day comping them into one track and then trying different compressors, EQs, reverbs, etc. As often happens, the end result was unsatisfactory, and in fact, I had reached a point where I just kept making it worse. I had a new SM57 I'd bought with the intention of miking my guitar amp instead or using the emulated out (turns out it DOES make a big difference, but that's another story), so while taking a frustrated break from the mix I looked over at the Shure and the light bulb came on over my head. In about three minutes, I had it replacing the Blue on my vocal stand, with a pop filter about an inch and a half in front of it. First thing I noticed in my headphones was that I could crank the input up on the 57, because the tight cardioid pattern was rejecting all the awful ambience in my untreated room -- not just unwanted reflections, but car noise, jet noise, neighbor noise... I live in a very loud spot near an air base. Anyway, having that kind of gain on the input gave me a real dose of confidence; I could hear my voice really clearly in the cue mix. I hit record and sang the song once straight through. I felt really good about it, and when I played it back, I STILL felt really good about it. In fact, all I did (besides delete the other 10 takes) was adjust the tuning on about three individual words (being able to hear myself so well helped me tremendously in staying on key note after note) and run a subtle delay as a send effect to fatten the track up. No compression or EQ needed in post (had some in the front end chain), and no comping or additional takes required! I love the sound of this track, and amazingly a week later, I'm still loving it -- which is rare... I usually hate the sound of my vocal track more and more as time passes. So, the SM57 has once again become my first choice for lead vocals (I've bought and sold many over the years), and that's not even discussing how much better my amp sounds going through the Shure than it did coming out of the "emulated" jack. Obviously, if you're doing live work, you should already have a whole box of these, but my long-winded point here is, if you've got a room that you don't particularly want coloring your tracks, I highly recommend this mic for recording work as well, especially if you're singing any genre of rock music and/or intend to get a little loud.

  • from Tulare CA April 30, 2013Music Background:
    Recording engineer

    SM 57

    Blown away...no. I wouldn't expect any less. I have owned several 57s . They are the industry standard and are a reliable choice for the working studio professional. And they are a great choice for home recording.They are versatile and can be used for all studio and live applications.

  • from Ocala, Florida USA April 29, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Shure is an old Standard for Mic's

    Great traditional microphones with Shure Quality, can't beat a SM57.
    I have two of them for live recording for Yamaha Tyros 4 keyboard.
    All from a great supplier "Sweetwater". Mic's do an excellant job, light weight and a great price.

  • from FL April 12, 2013Music Background:
    Guitarist

    Needed Work Horse

    It has been said before, and I will restate it. Every studio needs a Sure SM 57. I like to mic the amp. It is excellent for that. I also like to use it on acoustic guitar. I point it at the end of the fretboard, but you can change it around to get different colors of sound. It also works great with classical guitars. It is a solid workhorse in the studio, be it home, or professional. You cannot beat the price. I have been using it through the new Aphex Project Channel. I have also used it through a 1818VSL using Auria on the iPad. It just works.

  • from Fort Wayne, IN April 12, 2013Music Background:
    car singer

    Love this Mic!

    Totally Awesome-made my horrible voice louder!

  • from Houston, TX April 11, 2013

    Perfect.

    No wonder why this is the undustry standard... produces perfect sound for recording and live gigs. Picks up everything you want out of an amp.

    I play an American Strat through a Blues Junior (NOS) and this mic captured all of my tone.

  • from United States March 20, 2013Music Background:
    Home Studio, Singer Songwriter, Hobbyist

    Just what you expected

    Throw it on a snare drum and your cabinets. This is the mic that all your favorite albums were recorded with. It you need to spend more, consider that the problem may be your mixing. Simple, cheap, built well.

  • from Orlando, FL January 2, 2013Music Background:
    local band, played shows, record stuff at home, hobbyist mostly

    its a standard for a reason

    Not much to say about these mics. They are a standard for a reason. I love mine. Every one that does any kind of guitar recording should have at least 1 of these. I record my own stuff at home, and the only limits to my recording capabilities are my own abilities. Great mic.

  • from AR, USa December 26, 2012

    Oh the excitement...

    My grandson was thrilled with the microphone I got him for Christmas.
    He said he had done lots of research before requesting this specific one and it was the best. He assured me that this microphone would be the only one any aspiring musician would need. I bragged repeatedly to everyone about the good service and free shipping. He said he had ordered from "Sweetwater" numerous times and had never been disappointed. I gave him the catalog that came with the microphone, knowing that their would surely be something else he needed sometime in the near future. Thank you for a good buying experience. P.S. He was delighted with the stand adapter and zippered carrying case that came with the microphone.

  • from Mahwah, NJ USA November 27, 2012Music Background:
    Sound provider

    Shure SM57

    Best mic for Tabla Indian insturment

  • from Wildwood, NJ July 9, 2012Music Background:
    Recording engineer, Live Sound engineer..

    SM57

    just awesome! equaled to the customer service this company provides

  • from New York June 21, 2012Music Background:
    Engineer, musician, builder of electronic devices.

    Does this really NEED a review?

    This mic has been a staple in the recording industry for over 30 years now. Is it the best sounding mic in the world? Clearly not, but what it does, it does well and it's built like a tank! There is no one that has listened to music in the past few decades that hasn't heard one of these on a snare drum somewhere. If you're doing live sound, or studio recording you are OBLIGATED to have at least one in your mic locker... so get 2 now!

  • from Maryville, TN June 8, 2012Music Background:
    Decades of recording

    NOTHING beats the '57!

    If you're micing a guitar cab, it has to be the '57! EVERY mic review says "with a little work, it can sound like an SM57" Just start with the real deal.
    Even so, these mics are great for LOTS of other things: drums, horns, vocals, etc., even used in tandem with other specialy condensers. I've got LOTS of great mics that have their own special uses, but the '57 is ALWAYS used somewhere. Everyone needs at least a couple of them.

  • from Akron Ohio April 30, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Super Mic

    I'm a sax player. Been using my trusty SM58 for 30 yrs plus, and was time to upgrade. It deserves 5 stars! The difference was amazing, especially in the mid-range, clearity and dynamics are great, and it was crisp through the full range of the horn. Should have done this years ago. What a awsome mic. for the money.

  • from March 21, 2012

    Standard or a reason.

    Amazing mic for a variety of uses. I can't say anything more than what's already been said.

  • from demotte in usa January 26, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    the shure sm57

    this mic works great not any feed back,picks up loud& clear.built really solid too. thanks

  • from Central Illinois September 14, 2011Music Background:
    Working musician, live sound engineer for 35 years

    Shure SM-57s for mic'ing guitar amplifiers

    If there's a better way to mic a guitar amp, it's gotta cost more! These things just work - from moderate to high SPLs, right up against the speaker grille, these workhorse mics faithfully get your guitar tone into the house system. With one of these in its face, my Princeton Reverb can fill up any venue, and any sound guy can tell you that an SM57 will ALWAYS work just fine with any amp. Makes the Dobro and the J-45 sound great, too, on acoustic gigs.

  • from Monticello, IN July 30, 2011Music Background:
    Songwriter/Home Recordist

    Best All-around Mic

    Thanks to the special deal at Gearfest on these mics I now have 2 more. The SM57 is a workhorse. From micing guitars to vocals to drums and percussion they do it all.

  • from Texas June 24, 2011Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter and Studio Owner

    If I Could Go Back In Time.....This Should Have Been My First MIc!

    I've been seriously recording music for the last 7 years...and tinkering around with recording on old 4 tracks for many years before before that. I purchased a pair of SM57's to use on snare since I've read so many times that the SM57 was used to record snare on so many classic albums. Somehow, against all odds, I've managed to never use a SM57 in my lifetime. I used SM58's for live vocals many times (I never cared for the muddyness) and the beta58 which was not a match for my vocals at all. Because of these experiences, I never really wanted to buy Shure microphones. The only other Shure mic that I own is an SM7 which is an absolutely fantastic mic in every regard. Anyway back to the SM57...it arrived in the mail...I hooked it up to a very clear, neutral, and natural pre (focusrite isa) so I could just hear the response of the mic....I tried some vocals first...WOW!!!! I recognized the classic sound immediately from old albums. The SM57 rolls off the unusable lows but retains warmth, it has an unbelievably SMOOTH and musical midrange, and the highs are smooth and present without making your ears feel like they are being stabbed by large daggers (like every cheap Chinese condenser I've ever heard). Honestly, the SM57 fits my vocals better than the majority of the far more expensive mics that I own. I'm not knocking Neumann because they obviously make fantastic microphones, but I'd rather use the SM57 for vocals than my TLM103. Does it matter that the specs on the SM57 are less impressive the TLM103...nope....it only matters how the mic handles the task that you throw at it. The SM57 chops off more lows and highs, but it sure does sound good doing it. Next I grabbed an old Gibson Southern Jumbo acoustic and started strumming away....the mic was 12 to 18 inches away and pointed in the vicinity of the 12th fret.....again, I immediately recognized this sound from classic albums....it's a very nice, smooth and forgiving midrangy sound that sits really well in a dense mix. If i was going to fingerpick, I'd prefer the Neumann, but the SM57 does a surprisingly respectable job on that as well. I can't wait to try these on snare and guitar amps where they have the most proven track record. In closing, I am absolutely shocked at how great this mic is! I'm even more shocked that it only costs 99 bucks. I finally get why some people are so into Shure microphones. If I could go back in time, I should have purchased this as my first microphone (actually I should have gotten a pair of them). A person could record a whole album with just SM57's and it would sound darn good. Anyway, if you're just starting out, BUY THIS MIC!!!!!! It is far better than a condenser if you are working in an untreated space because it has a tight cardioid pattern that rejects most room noise and other problems. If you have a cheap preamp and are having trouble getting enough gain to this mic (or even if you're not), buy a Cloudlifter by Cloud Microphones, it uses phantom power to generate up to 25 db of super clean FET pre-preamplification...that gives any old dynamic or ribbon mics low noise and high gain and interfaces them perfectly with modern recording systems. If you're thinking (just as I was a week ago) that this mic is far too common and old to sound as good as some people say...You are wrong...just buy one...it's only 99 bucks new or around 50 used. They are built like tanks to boot. Good Luck and Happy Recording. I wish I would have read this review 15 years ago:)

  • from May 2, 2011Music Background:
    Producer, Engineer, Writer, Composer

    The best

    It's the classic mic. Every studio should have several!

  • from February 8, 2009

    you need it if you want to record

    its a 57. what can i say, you need it to start recording. any profesinal studio has at least 5. and beginer as one. dont go with a condenser if you are just starting off. just put this sucker off center to the cone and you will get exacctly what the guitar amp sounds like. run it thru a tube pre it will give u troouble standing up its so good.

  • from Parkersburg, WV October 28, 2008Music Background:
    Musician, recording engineer

    Got to have it.

    The most used and versitle mic. Can be used on every thing. Drums, guitar amps and even vocals. Carry it on your person as a mugging deterent. Crack muggers upside the head, block bullets and sword attacks with it. Put a long mic cable on it and use it as a grappeling hook or a boat anchor. No matter what you use this for or how you treat it at the end of the day when you are back in the studio to record that elusive hit song this mic will work and sound great. I was going to say that every studio should have 2, but I'm thinking I would like to have 4 or maybe 6.

    note: Don't try using this as a boat anchor....really!....it's not heavy enough! :)

  • from Gilbert, AZ September 30, 2008Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer

    Your first mic. Period.

    If you are into studio recording and you don't own an SM-57, you are missing out. These mics are cheap and can be used to record anything. Vocals might need a pop filter and a little EQ, but that's not too much to ask for such an affordable, durable, and universal microphone. Every home studio should have at least a couple.

  • from USA September 15, 2008Music Background:
    Recording Engineer and Musician

    SM57

    Clearly the reasons should be obvious. An industry standard that has been used by practically everyone in the business for years. This mic is nothing but practical.

  • from Little Rock, AR USA September 13, 2008Music Background:
    Student

    If You Can Only Afford One Mic Get This One!

    This is my first real mic, so I don't have much experience with others. But, I can tell you that when I record with this mic the recording sounds the same as the live source, which is exactly what I wanted from my first mic (besides affordability!)

    So I say, if you're getting your first mic and you want something that sounds great on everything and is actually affordable then get this mic!

  • from Virginia July 25, 2008Music Background:
    active musician/singer

    SM57

    I use the sm57 on vocal (with windscreen) and guitars. It is really hard to beat. I've tried other high priced mics that sound good but i seem to always come back to the 57's. Very warm/clear sound for vocals. I have seen them being used for vocals by many popular singers including Elvis. They knew what a good thing was. Treat yourself and buy!!

  • from Dallas TX November 24, 2007Music Background:
    Audio Engineer

    The One Mic Wonder

    I've always known this mic was great, and have often used it for drums and guitar. But today I was in a session and the ONLY condenser I had brought started doing some goofy things. So I busted out a good old 57, and recorded all the vocals, harmonies, and guitars with it. And it heres the kicker... it sounded AMAZING. Not just GOOD, but it blew me away. It DID take work though. For use on vocals you really have to crank up your upper mids (3k or so) to clean it up, roll off some lows, and maybe add a dash around 100Hz for some extra body. I used it through an LA-610... for money, it doesn't get any better than that. Don't buy into all the imitations out there. there are some good mics, but this is a workhorse.

  • from Miami, FL October 30, 2007Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Drummer

    This is it.

    Listen kids...the SM-57 microphone has been around forever, and it's been used by everyone.

    You can use them on virtually anything with great results (that is...if you know how to play your instrument, write good music and put the microphone in the right place!)

    And guess what - you can pick one up for less than $100!

    You could get a set of 12 for less than the price of 1 "Rolls-Royce" condenser mic and be set for life.

  • from Arcata, CA, USA October 2, 2007Music Background:
    Playing the fool, and bass since 1964

    Shure SM57: The "Semper Virens" of Microphones

    I bought a pair of SM57's in 1974. They were the lead singer's mics, and when the band split up, I kept 'em. They got stuck in a suitcase with a bunch of cables until I got a gig with a disco band in '78. The lead singer would twirl it around (ala Roger Daltry) and I'm sure he hit the stage with it at least once.

    In '84, I drug them back out, and used them in a bunch of different jazz bands. They became horn mics. (Fabulous tenor sax mic.)

    Then I lost one, and the one I had left turned out to be a really great live string bass mic. I rolled it inside a piece of foam and stuck it in between the legs of my bridge. (Make sure you deal with the feedback.) Turned out it worked really good on cello live, too.

    Then, in '94, (after I got clean and sober) I produced a live album and we used it with my piezo on my stand-up bass going into an ADAT. When we mixed down the tracks, I begged the guy to kill my piezo channel, but he liked the edge on my solos. (He's a rock player, no offence) but, it ruined the tracks. (The 57 sounded much better by itself.)

    About eight years later (2004) after I "retired" (or, got to fat to want to carry a $10,000 instrument into a restaurant only to make enough money to buy my girl friend a meal,) I decided to find out what recording on a computer was like.

    So I drug out my SM57 again and used in on bass, nylon string guitar, and some vocal overdubs. The client on the vocals asked me to do it again with a pop filter (hey, how I was I supposed to know, I'm a bass player) He was right, and, I've noticed you really have to pay attention to the "proximity effect" with these mics. It doesn't just get boomier, it gets... compressed, sort of.) It's probably why they sound good on electric guitar amps, off axis.

    Anyway, a friend of mine (who is a real sound guy) was storing my stuff for me, and when I went to pick it up, he offered to trade me his brand new 57 for my old one, which didn't make sense because his new one (same exact mic) sounded EXACTLY LIKE my old one. And I couldn't figure it out until recently, since I've started really getting into recording and reading what engineers always say about microphones.

    This one recording guru says: "My favorite microphone ever made is the Shure SM57. It's rarely ever "genius" but it never ever totally sucks. You can point one in the general direction of a sound and you'll get a pretty decent representation of that sound that can be recorded and pounded to death later."

    I realize now, that my friend just wanted to have a 57 that looked "that old" because... it would make him look like he'd been "that smart", for "that long". (It's got some major rust on the screen and the grey part on the barrell has worn off where it slides into the stand adapter.

    Anyway, I nixed the trade. The memories alone would make me keep it, even if it didn't sound so good. This mike will be making someone else happy long after I'm long gone.

    Buy five, (trust me.) You won't be sorry.

  • from NJ October 18, 2006Music Background:
    home recordist

    A classic

    I got this mic back in 1997, and I still use it on every session. At this point, I am only using it on guitar cabinets. I used to use it close up on snare, but I now only use 3 mics on a drum kit, so it doesn't get used in that application anymore -- but it does a decent enough job on snare.

    Combined with a 421 or a Royer 121, you can get some really nice guitar sounds happening. My 57 seems to have gotten better with age. Since mine is now almost 10 years old, it's hard to say whether a brand new one will have the same magic...but there is a good chance it will. I don't honestly know how you could NOT have at least one of these laying around. A great mic to have around...

  • from san Leandro Ca September 11, 2006Music Background:
    recording enginer w/ BA

    the cornerstone

    IF YOU DON'T HAVE ONE OF THESE AND YOUR IN AUDIO, WELL YOU SHOULD NOT BE IN AUDIO. IF YOU GOT ONE, GET SOME MORE CUZ YOU'LL SWEAR BY THEM, ESPECIALLY IF YOU DO LIVE SOUND. THEY WORK GOOD ON EVERYTHING AND TAKE A BEATING. WHEN DECIDING WHAT MIC TO USE WHEN RECORDING, I ALWAYS TRY THE 57 ALONG WITH ALL THE OTHERS AND IT IS USALLY ONE OF THE TOP 3 PICS. SWEET MIC AND FOR THE PRICE PICK UP 2

  • from Chicago, Illinois June 21, 2006Music Background:
    Freelance guitarist & studio musician

    The All Time Best Electric Guitar Mic!

    I've had the opportunity to hear this mic in several different live musical settings and I'm always pleased with the way the 57 represents the sound coming from my speaker(s). It's a very accurate mic and I know that my sound from the stage will most likely be the same as the PA mix.

  • from November 5, 2016

    tried and true

    this mic was lined up with a shure SM58, encore blue, and shure super 55 and a single track was recorded. the track for the SM57 was nearly identical to the two lesser mics and gave the super 55 a run for it's money.

  • from March 23, 2016

    A must have.

    A classic, great on electric guitars and drums.

  • from fort wayne,indiana January 28, 2016Music Background:
    live sound engineer

    shure it is

    greatness needs no review. as with all Shure audio professional products ruggedness,performance and quality have made the SM57 a choice of engineers and music professionals the world over

  • from Long Beach, NY January 10, 2016

    CLASSIC MICROPHONE

    What can I say. I must have owned at least five of these since I began making music 40+ years ago. I bought this as a Christmas present for my son, to close mic a snare drum on one of his kits. He said it's the best present he got. Need a microphone to reinforce the sound of your snare drum? You use a SM57, that's what you do. However, the usefulness of this workhorse doesn't end there. I've also used it for other parts of the drum kit, various percussion reinforcements, vocals and as a guitar cabinet mic, (all with wonderful results). You've probably heard this microphone on more recordings than any other mic. If you could own only one microphone, the SM57 would be a very, very wise choice.

  • from Houston TX August 24, 2015Music Background:
    Studio Dude

    Super mic

    Love this thing. I use it to mic my guitar amp, Acoustic guitar and snare, HOWEVER, You can use this mic for ANYTHING! This thing is a Work horse in my studio. Always trust worthy. I would recommend this mic to everyone... as I am doing right now!
    So bust out yo wallet man and buy 1000 of these things right now!
    You will love them as long as you know what you're doing.
    I hate when people say, "you lied to me man." Nope, you just don't know what you're doing.
    You have to learn how to be badass before ARE badass. lol.
    Buying a piece of 2000.00 dollar equipment and slapping it in your signal chain won't make your mic sound badass unless you know what you're doing.

    Here's how you use this mic:
    Buy this mic... learn how to use it... and then rock everyone's faces off... become a rock star... then take over the world and join the Illuminati or something. That's the order.
    Anyway.... good mic. Buy it!

  • from tonysan@yahoo.com August 24, 2015Music Background:
    Amiture having fun

    Very nice Mic

    Service from Sweetwater is fantastic to start with, from ordering to receiving of the merchandise. The mic is a very well balanced in the hand, a nice smaller foot print than most. Of course this does not matter if the quality of the sound is poor. Well the SM57 delivers in the sound totally. I'm no expert but have been using mics for years in shows at the club house and also at home. I found the SM57 to have a full body sound. Don't know how else to say it. I purchased three of them and all three worked perfectly. Used them in a show this weekend with a cast of over 30 and the audience enjoyed the fine sound quality. One mic was dropped and worked perfectly afterwards. For the price you can not go wrong.

  • from Oklahoma City, OK February 26, 2014Music Background:
    Percussionist. God gave me the gift of Rhythm.

    Shure SM57...Enough said

    I suppose there may be a higher quality microphone for my purposes on stage, but I haven't found it. However, I'm not willing to pay $500.00 for a single mic. I'm a percussionist, and have several things I have to amplify; from conga drums to bongo drums, to my hand-held percussion items,the Shure SM57 has served my needs faithfully for decades now.

    The mic is made to the highest physical standards, meaning it is rugged and able to take set-up and tear-down on a regular basis, and still perform like the day it arrived from Sweetwater. The SM57 is also made to the highest electronic standards, meaning it picks up what I want it to pick up, and leaves to ambient clutter where it belongs.

    I recommend the Shure SM57 mic to any percussionist or musician who needs to mic an instrument and wants the highest quality professional microphone on the market at a more than fair price.

  • from Charleston SC July 20, 2013Music Background:
    weekend warrior since forever

    The Shure SM57

    What can you say about an industry standard?
    This is the third one I have owned. The first two I am sure are still functioning beautifully for whoever it was that swiped them from me.
    This one I'm going to hang around my neck.

  • from MI February 24, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great little mic!!!

    Very well made, rugged enough for lots of use. Great sound for this price range. You really cannot go wrong with this. Every studio, large or small should have one and its affordable. It does not break up easily and its what I use to mic my tube amps. You do have to use more volume to mic guitar. It may just capture the sound you are looking for in your recordings.

  • from Manchester, NH February 12, 2013Music Background:
    Engineer

    SM57

    It's a 57... It sounds great!

  • from South Carolina January 25, 2013Music Background:
    Play for Enjoyment, Gear Head

    SM57

    You know what you are getting with this. Not the best at anything, but very good to great at just about everything you stick it in front of with proper positioning and EQ. Sweetwater's service, as usual, was excellent.

  • from I can see for miles, Indiana July 21, 2012Music Background:
    Semipro

    Sm57

    The industry standard workhorse. If you're not using one of these, chances are you're using a clone of it. Try this mic with your favorite ribbon for a great composite sound. I've also had great results with this and a Neumann Tlm.

  • from van nuys, ca June 21, 2012Music Background:
    studio owner/pro musician

    a must have mic

    if you record live music at all-you need this. snare drum, electric guitars, etc... there always "new and improved" b.s. products out there. this is a proven, time tested weapon of choice for many of my studio friends. Just ask Mick and Keith. (rolling stones for you new guys)....

  • from summerfield, florida April 23, 2012Music Background:
    musician

    mic

    its everything i thought it would be

  • from United States March 19, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, Live Sound Engineer

    Great, and versatile

    This is a great microphone- My favorite for snares, and great for guitar cabs, too. I often use it to mic acoustic guitars, and in a live setting, it gives a great tone, with less feedback problems than any other microphone I've used. But the biggest surprise for me was that I preferred it for vocals over the SM58- I found that for darker voices, this brings out the high end and gives a more crisp sound. Built like a rock, too, it's been used and abused on gig after gig, and just keeps kicking.

  • from Wapakoneta, OH February 8, 2012Music Background:
    Worship Leader, Pro Musician, Singer/songwriter

    Can't Go wrong

    Just a great mic to have. Affordable, great balanced sound. I've used it on amp cabs, snares and vocals and it works great for all of it.

  • from Boston, Mass USA December 21, 2011Music Background:
    Student

    Standard

    First mic i ever owned. One of those mics you will see everywhere. Its a standard in any studio. Sounds good (not spectacular but good) on everything. Well worth the price.

  • from United States September 30, 2011Music Background:
    Recording student

    Everything it's supposed to be.

    A classic for a reason. Hard to go wrong with this. Get one.

  • from Nottingham, MD September 19, 2009Music Background:
    Professional Musician and Music Educator.

    SM-57 a must have but even better is the G-5790

    G-5790 is a SM-57 shaped on a 90 degree angle. Gets in tight to a snare drum with out getting in the way. Great on amps too. Worth the extra 50 bucks! Get a G-5790

  • from February 16, 2017

    Classic

    Classic sm57. If its not broken dont fix it, this mic hasn't changed and doesn't need to. Durable and gets whatever you put in from of it through the speakers. A must have for anyone in the audio industry.

  • from Dallas Metro plex area May 31, 2016Music Background:
    Stage and studio

    sm57

    I used this mic in 1972 as a vocal mic on stage and I always liked it better than the Sm58. The quality of the sound was a little better (at least to me) than the sm58.

  • from December 29, 2015

    ready to use

    its ok for record

  • from Grand Junction, CO October 29, 2015Music Background:
    Musician/Home Recording

    Shure SM57

    The standard of Dynamic Microphones. Couldn't be without one.

  • from Honolulu, Hawaii July 27, 2015Music Background:
    Pop, soul, jazz, country, rock.

    Dynamic sound at an affortable price

    Used it for the first time in a live performance and was amazed by sound it produced as a mic to guitar amplifier. For the price, you can't go wrong as an option item for any venue of performance. The clarity and pitch at low and high volume is acceptable and the design is just small enough that the audience would barely notice it.

  • from nj September 23, 2014Music Background:
    rec engr

    awesome sound pickup

    great for instruments, ok for vocals.

  • from Santa Barbara, CA July 8, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Shure SM57

    Great mic - already put to good use for both vocal and amp cab. A little funny that the end piece spins, but that's just the way they make 'em.

  • from United States July 6, 2014Music Background:
    Home Studio Enthusiast/Hobbyist

    SM57

    Picked up two SM57s at Gearfest. Great buy for a staple mic. It's pretty much as advertised. Does what it does well, and is reliable/durable.

  • from Brazil April 4, 2014

    Classic dynamic

    It's simply a classic. Just right for the snare and cabinets. Works nice on rock vocals also.

  • from WilkesBarre Pa March 23, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Shure SM57

    This mic is surely an industry standard which explains why it's around for so long. It's just awesome. Excellent customers service from SweetWater also.

  • from Asheville NC January 23, 2014Music Background:
    30 years of noodling

    Lives up to the hype

    This was my first mic purchase, and im very happy with it, I got it to record acoustic guitar by sitting as close as I could to it on a mic stand pointed at the sound hole of my guitar. works great and sounds great. I've also recorded distorted,overdriven electric guitar by pointing it at the speaker grill, that sounds great too. you can tell its a les paul when you listen to the recording. Im very impressed and i wish i hadnt waited so long to get started. Get one , you deserve it.

  • from NY, NY USA November 11, 2013Music Background:
    Professional Musician & Recording Engineer

    The time-tested workhorse of the mic world

    Let's face it. Whether you are a budding engineer or a seasoned pro, you should have at a least a handful of these mics. I've found success using it with a myriad of instruments and speakers cabinets for both stage and studio. I've also witnessed these mics take abuse in live performances, yet they continue to do their duty faithfully. There is serious bang for your buck with this mic.

  • from Peoria IL October 7, 2013Music Background:
    Home recording

    Kindaofa no brainer...

    Basic work horse mic for home studio for me. Rugged, inexpensive and easy to use. Very dependable. These are so afordable that you can buy several for multiple micing solutions. This mic is used on counless recordings...good enough for David Gilmour, good enough for me.

  • from October 24, 2012Music Background:
    Live sound engineer

    Great all purpose Mic

    Used it on Drums, Guitar, Accoustic, Banjo, it is a great all purpose Mic

  • from Fort Wayne, IN October 12, 2012Music Background:
    Music Educator, Semi-Pro Jazz Clarinetist

    Review Of Shure SM57 Microphone

    I am a clarinet player. The SM57 works well since it brings out the beauty of my instrument and seems to take out a little of the shrillnes of very high clarinet notes while bringing out the lows. I noticed an improvement in sound the first time I used it. It was well worth the price.

  • from west lafayette, indiana March 30, 2012Music Background:
    live sound for 25 yrs, hobby recording

    sweet clarity

    I'm not sure what I can say that hasn't been said. Thankfully I've not tested the robustness of this Mic but its performance is great and worth probably twice its price. I'm using it on a grand piano and find I can get great response across the whole board with careful placement. It's clarity and tone are far better than most "piano mics" I've used. My other typical use is on a violin. Positioned above (pointing down toward the openings), I have never heard a microphone reproduce this instruments tone any better. Well worth the money.

  • from Metro-Detroit, MI USA November 28, 2011Music Background:
    Musician, Disc Jockey, Live Sound Engineer

    Consistent Workhorse

    The Shure SM57 delivers a consistent sound that many sound engineers know well. There are many good alternatives to this mic, but sometimes it seems that I just need the consistent sound of an SM57. It is recommended to have a few of this in your mic locker or studio or live work.

  • from Norman, OK October 10, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist/Recording Musician

    Quality and Bulletproof

    This microphone could survive the apocalypse and sound just as good. People typically use them for recording snares and guitars, but they do well with vocals, depending on your voice (like all microphones.) If you don't have the money for a $400 condenser microphone, this will probably work for you. The Shure SM57 picks up my vocal dynamics fairly well, picking up my deep end as well as it picks up my higher ranges, so I have no complaints. However, do note that you will be shipped the Shure-SM57-LC. This means it does not come with a microphone cable, so I took off one whole star because I had to go buy a mic cable as soon as my shipment arrived. Naturally, it isn't made clear that you are buying the LC version, so just be aware.

    That being said, it's always a good decision to pick up this microphone. It's reputation is well deserved.

  • from So Cal September 1, 2011Music Background:
    Living room musician

    A classic

    What's to say? This is a classic all purpose mic that will please. Yes, you can spend hundreds or thousands to fulfill the audiophile need for perfection, but if you're looking for an all-around general purpose mic that sounds rich, this is it.

    The main reason I purchased this mic is because of a veteran audio engineer friend who told me to get it. I trusted his advice and now I know to trust it in the future.

  • from Virginia August 29, 2011Music Background:
    hobbyist

    great bass amp mic

    i bought this mic after reading reviews for miking bass amps. if you dont have a bunch of money this mic can fill in where DI'ing fails. you can choose the 57 or the 58.

  • from Mena, AR July 28, 2011Music Background:
    Percussion and audio engineering

    Great on cajon

    Love the 57. I recently obtained a great full sound while recording a cajon when using an EV 122 on the back and the SM 57 on the front

  • from Mount Prospect, IL September 16, 2008Music Background:
    Engineer

    Renaissance Mic

    This mic has every attribute you could possibly want in a piece of gear. Its an incredible value, its virtually indestructible, and---oh yeah--it sounds great! Every studio I've worked in has at least 3 of these. Its the perfect mic to get your studio going because it can be used on anything and sounds pretty damn good on anything. Everyone know its great for snare and guitar, but I'd easily take one of these or an SM58 over those cheapy large diaphragm condensers if I'm recording vocals. No studio is complete without a 57.

  • from Greensboro, NC January 21, 2008Music Background:
    Hobbyist? Aspiring musician?

    Square One

    I've just recently started building a home studio, and this has been my first real mic. I'm SO very glad I did the reaserch and came out with this instead of Guitar Center's "Let me sell you this AMAZING MXL Mic Starter Pack! Only $85! Buy it! BUY IT! BUY IT NOOW!"

    All of you who have been out to GC know what I'm talking about. You walk in and say, "I'm looking for a microph-" "OH! HERE"S the thing for YOU! MXL 990/991!!!!! DO IT!"

    Alright, most of you are not that stupid, but three months ago I was! ALMOST bought it. Almost. Then I read up at places like tweakheadz.com (great site) and came out with this. It is such a good starting point. I've been using it for acoustic, electric, vocals, etc. Give it some attention in editing, and it can sound amazing!

  • from Denver, CO USA April 5, 2007Music Background:
    Recording engineer, musician

    SM57 mic

    i think this mic is a must for every musician and engineer, it is tough as hell and can be used on practically anything

  • from Lexington, Ky February 28, 2007Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, pro musician, and Independant producer.

    What can I say...

    The 57 is a traditional utility mic. It's not made to make anything pop or stand out. It just is what it is. A trusted workhorse mike that gives great results especially when blended with other mics of better tonal quality.

  • from Nashvile, TN September 12, 2006Music Background:
    Recording/Mix Engineer

    I Mean, C'mon, it's a 57

    So it's the Shure SM57. It's a great mic that works for pretty much everything. Almost every snare and electric in the past... long time... have been recorded with this. Great for live too. It handles pretty much anything you can throw at it and has a little midrange bump for that grit you been longing for.

  • from pittsburgh, pa November 24, 2011Music Background:
    just for fun

    home recording

    the new microphone helped out a lot with my home recording of my son's band. it helped minimize feedback in the monitoring systems.

  • from Bellingham, WA July 15, 2006Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician/recording engineer

    Everybody's got at least one, don't you?

    Studio and live sound staple. I have three, maybe four of these. I'll probably pick up a few more in my lifetime. I mostly use them on guitar cabs, snare and toms. They are as tough as nails and just keep doing the job.

    Honestly, there's nothing really exciting about an SM57, they're just there, they always work and they sound good. I've picked other more "exotic" mics for guitar cabs and drums, but for some reason I keep coming back to them.

  • from St. Louis MO July 8, 2006Music Background:
    Live and Recording Engineer and student

    A druable reliable microphone found everywhere in the world.

    I have used many SM57 microphones in my life, and see them everywhere. They wear really well, and when they do get broken, can usually be fixed, or replaced at any pro audio store. They work well and last a long time, but they dont sound great. They are good but not as good as my Audix i5 that i recently bought. I've been using my i5 for everything i use to use my 57 for, and it has been working out better than i thought it would.

  • from Portland, Oregon January 25, 2016Music Background:
    Singer,songwriter,guitar player,

    My New Shure 57 Mic

    Have heard SO much about this mic. Finally had little extra $ to purchased one. I don't know, it just doesn't scream out at me, for some reason. It does what I want it to, that is to record my acoustic guitar. O well, I ain't sending it back.

  • from nc, usa August 1, 2005

    The most trusted mike in the biz

    toured three years with 5 57's.one for lead and 4 for backup singers two bose 800 and a shure vocalmaster not one problem not one.

  • from San Diego, CA USA September 1, 2004

    Sound Manager/SilverFlair Entertainment

    If it was legal to marry a microphone, I would have little baby 57's running all around. Go with the $1500.00-$2000.00 mic's if you wish, but if you want the best of the best, get the SHURE SM57. Can't beat them on snares, overhangs, Piano, and in some situations can do a great vocal pick-up. (If the U.S. President uses it there must be something good about it) SM57's are like a dream come true to me. Hope they will be with you.

  • from SoCal March 1, 2004

    A Must Have...

    Every studio needs at least a couple Shure SM57's. Simply great on snares, toms - even as overheads (if you're on a budget!). Countless recordings have been made through the years with a '57 draped (hanging by the cable), against the grille cloth of guitar amps, and it also does an impressive job on acoustic guitars and vocals.


    Last year, on a location gig, I realized I had left the overhead condenser pair back at the studio (2-hours away!), so out came a pair of 57's doing duty as drum overheads. People still comment on the depth and clarity of the cymbals on that project. Hard to figure...


    If you're reading this and already own '57's; you know it's all true. If you are looking to buy - buy 2...you'll use them, and they'll serve you well for years. Sure = quality, performance & reliability, remember that.

Questions about the Shure SM57 Dynamic Instrument Microphone?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway