0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Novation 25 SL Mk II Reviews

2.5 stars based on 7 customer reviews
  • Just added 25 SL to my Sl 61. sold my MPK25 for good
    from South West USA November 5, 2010Music Background:
    Accredited, & Published writer, producer, lyricist.

    Top Shelf

    Wow! I've been writing music for TV and Producing artist for 6+ years, and this is the 1st game changer i've found since I ditch Microsoft and went to Mac. If your's doesn't work, get a mac.

    Cause of this piece, the 25 & 61 Sl MKII, I'm heading back to the stage for a decade or so of live performance.

    Thanks Novation.

    Macbook Pro Uni 17, 8gig ram, Logic 9, Ableton, Reason/Record 5 plus+++++++

  • d.h.hermansson
    from Jersey August 3, 2012Music Background:
    Classically trained musician

    Ok with Logic Pro 9

    No problems with Logic Pro - automap works fine. I use it for composing and arranging. Italso works well with Abelton, but I don't do live performances, so thatis based more on play than work.

  • Keyboarder
    from Seattle, WA USA October 10, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great Product for Reaper and Camel Audio

    First lets clear up some misunderstanding about this product. All the negative reviews on here are obviously from users who did not take the time to read the installation guides and google the fixes on forums for their particular DAW and Plugins. I was able to setup my system with Automap in about 2 hours. I have helped friends setup Logic, Pro Tools and Cubase in about the same amount of time.

    I mainly use Reaper and Camel Audio products with this 25 key controller in a mobile setup. I also was able to map ImOscar 2 and all my Arturia soft-synths. They all work the way I want now and all it took was some tweaking. Now I am spending more time writing music and enjoying my soft-synths.

  • Joe
    from Colorado May 1, 2011Music Background:
    Transcription, Jazz Composition, Section Arranger

    The Worst

    I have had this thing for approx. 8 months. The physical keyboard itself is not bad however the Automap software continues to crash Logic Pro 9. It is completely unreliable and I have worked with this unit until my last nerve was gone. Think twice before purchasing this unit. I retired this qwerky thing forever. Oh, and I agree completely with the next to nothing Novation customer service. It is supposed to be a good match with "Live" well not for me it isn't.

  • unsatisfied customer
    from Chicago August 25, 2010Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/Pro Musician

    AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE

    I bought this keyboard a little over a year ago to integrate into my studio. I have been troubleshooting ever since and it has never worked properly. I have worked with various other keyboards, DAW's, and professional grade studio equipment and rarely encounter an issue. This particular unit is terrible. The keyboard quality is great. Too bad the software doesn't work. Automap is terrible, doesn't function properly and even cuases issues with Pro Tools when the plug-in's are wrapped with automap. I hate this product and I spent a good amount of $ on it.

  • Russ Ravella
    from Arizona August 24, 2010Music Background:
    Musician, Composer

    Really REALLY BAD!!!!!

    The physical keyboard itself is ok. A little "cheap" but ok. What's bad is it literally doesn't do what Novation advertises. The other review on this website speaks pretty poorly of it and I have to say, I think the guy was being gracious. But what's really REALLY bad is the customer service. Its almost unbelievable - its almost sadistic. They absolutely, totally ignore everything you tell them. Its the old "presumption of ignorance on the part of the customer" thing. Even after you finally think you've got their attention, they'll just tell you to do what you just finished telling them you tried that doesn't work. They didn't even bother to read what you wrote them (over and over and...). And, they actually don't understand their own product - especially the software. You should literally ignore everything in their product descriptions and the videos on their website. Its as if they're describing some other product made by some other company. I have a lot of experience with this kind of hardware and software and after hours and hours and hours of wasted time, I can tell you some of it works and some of it doesn't. Its amazing...

  • Miles Biddulph
    from SLC August 2, 2010Music Background:
    songwriter, producer

    Not what I thought

    The software does not work very well. Automap is not intelligently laid out -- you'll just have to reassign everything yourself.... which would be fine if the "learn" button always worked, but it doesn't. Right now I just want to assign one fader to the volume of a track so I can ride the volume on the fader, but it is not even able to do that. I end up just not using this thing -- what a waste of money.

Questions about the Novation 25 SL Mk II?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway