rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

PreSonus StudioLive 24.4.2AI Digital Mixer Reviews

4.0 stars based on 17 customer reviews
Questions about the PreSonus StudioLive 24.4.2AI Digital Mixer?

Questions about the PreSonus StudioLive 24.4.2AI Digital Mixer?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • David Castro
    from Round Rock February 5, 2017Music Background:
    Audio Engineer, House of Worship

    All in one Amazingness

    Buying this mixer was definitely two steps in the right direction. It has just been an amazing mixer with all its amazing features and its flexibility at an affordable price. Seeing how digital will definitely be in the future of pro audio, this a great way to get your feet wet in the world of digital mixers. I bought this for my church and I've never regret replacing our old allen and heath gl2200 mixer. Don't get me wrong that was a great mixer but it could never do as much as this mixer can. I can mix, I can mix from my iPad, I can record and mix at the same time... its just so OP in the amount of things this mixer can do.

    Every channel (24 channels) has its own fat channel including sub groups (4), auxes (10), fx channels (4) not to mention the stereo buss. Each fat channel contains a low cut, gate, compressor, limiter and EQ. The possibilities are insanely endless.

    I can definitely hear a huge difference in quality of audio with this mixer than with the gl2200. Everything sounds more clear and transparent and can easily be molded using the tools you are given. I don't hear electronic noise or white noise for that, everything is just clear and as loud as you want.

    I don't think I can ever go back to an analog mixer since I've been memorized by this product. I was kind of skeptical from the beginning if this mixer would be worth it and it has already paid for itself in what it can do for me. I would highly recommend looking into these mixer if you're looking for an upgrade thats worth it.

    The only downside to this mixer is that the 16 and 24 channel versions don't come with mute groups. I really wish I could've been given a few mute groups. I was really looking forward to muting people. :(

    Thats the only downside though. Everything else is simply amazing.

  • CDH
    from TX November 20, 2016

    Great value and function

    Great unit. Easy to use.

  • Ben
    from Scottsdale, AZ October 10, 2016Music Background:
    Lead Singer + Amateur live sound and recording engineer

    Very Excited

    This is the third StudioLive that my church has gotten, the first was a first gen 24 channel, the second a AI gen 32 channel, and now for our third stage we bought this 24 AI. The workflow of this mixer is by far the best I've worked with and I'm excited to use all of the wireless capabilities that it comes with!

  • DAVE MARTINTONI
    from STAUNTON, IL November 3, 2015Music Background:
    35 YEARS LIVE SHOWS , 5 YEARS STUDIO

    PRESONUS RAWKS

    THANKS AGAIN TO MY SALE TECH,WAYNE DAVIS, MADE THIS HAPPEN FOR ME,I HAVE OWNED A PRESONUS STUDIOLIVE FOR ABOUT 10 YEARS,DECIDED TO UPGRADE TO THE NEW 24 CHANNEL, ITS AWESOME,SOUND QUALITY, EFFECTS,ETC ETC,,ARE FANTASTIC,,SO USER FRIENDLY, THANKS AGAIN WAYNE AND SWEETWATER, YOU GUYS ARE THE BEST!!!!!!!

  • Customer
    from April 17, 2015Music Background:
    A former bassist, now the

    PreSonus StudioLive 24.4.2AI

    This board never ceases to amaze me. I use it at my church and assigning personal monitors is a breeze, sound is awesome and the learning curve was painless.

  • Joseph Brown
    from West Hempstead, NY October 6, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, bass, soundman, and recording

    StudioLive 24.4.2AI

    Great up grade from my old 16.4.2 (needed more channels for recording). And has more power/punch. In the studio or out on our gigs works excellent. The built in wifi or with a router works great. Fast shipping and excellent service and updates from Zach Neels as always.

  • Marvin Graves
    from Cortez, Co. USA June 26, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer & Musician

    Does what it says and more

    This mixer is incredible! I've only had it a month and am still learning all of the things it can do. I have had Peavey and Behringer mixers in the past and they were okay but the technology in the StudioLive AI is incredible! I am in the process of a new project and this mixer is working flawlessly.

  • Tom Miller
    from Baltimore, MD and Raleigh, NC June 2, 2014Music Background:
    Full time mobile recording and drummer

    Solid and sounds great!

    Owned the 16.0.2 for a few years and upgraded to this model a couple months ago, with the massive SKB hard case. I'm glad they didn't change too much as the work flow is very similar. I did notice the recording quality improved. It's a hair better, not that it was bad before. Coming from someone that has been on board with Presonus since the Firepod era, they have come leaps and bounds. And if I had to compare it to my Apogee Duet, which I've used just about every day, the 24AI holds it's own in that department. I use this mixer for mobile recording work, and often run sound at the same time. The audio quality is a little more HD, that's all I know how to describe it. Last week this mixer did 3 things at once. A big band that I regularly work with wanted to record the show for a live album, run a PA for vocals/monitors, and provide a separate hands on mix for a live radio broadcast. Imagine doing that with a traditional set up! Now I need to re-think my contract agreements as I am doing three separate duties at once! Thank you again for my longtime rep AJ Becerra and putting up with me asking questions about the features for months leading up to the purchase. That is the Sweetwater difference.

  • Rick
    from Elverson, PA USA April 5, 2014Music Background:
    Music Director

    Let them eat cake!

    We picked up this console for our church after a partial roof collapse turned us into a mobile church for a while. Our two sound techs were proficient on our A&H analog console, but with all the processing "in the box", this just made far more sense. Besides, I had owned the original SL24.4.2 so I was comfortable with it. Taking the leap of faith from analog to digital via the StudioLive series is a piece of cake. Our techs took to it immediately. The learning curve was measured in minutes.

    Sonically the console is excellent. The preamps are clean and uncolored. There is plenty of headroom throughout the console - you really have to work hard to get distortion in the signal. Of course, all the processing is amazing. Our sound techs shape each instruments' sound by starting with the Presonus presets. They're very usable. A few tweaks from there and you're good to go.

    If you're not sure which way to go, talk to your Sweetwater guy. Our rep, Tim Harrington, walked us through the entire process and has always taken great care of us. The service and tech support at Sweetwater are unmatched in the industry.

    This console was perfect for us. If you're taking the first step into digital mixing, this console is perfect. You will not regret the purchase for a moment. With all the processing power you can have your cake - and it's so easy to use you can eat it too,

  • Jersey Jonny
    from New Jersey USA April 4, 2014Music Background:
    20 years live sound engineer

    Even better than the original

    I was an early adopter of the original StudioLive mixers and absolutely fell in love with the sound quality, speed, and capabilities for the price. I'm glad I did because they just got better and better.
    I'm glad to be an early adopter of this one. They kept everything that I liked about the originals and made it better.
    It sounds better thanks to what they did in the programming (it was not a change of A/D-D/A converters, contrary to popular thought). The top sounds much smoother and the bottom end feels much fuller.
    I really like the modification they made to the fader locate operation. I find moving faders to be little more than a convenience on any mixer under 32 channels.
    The additional effects busses are a godsend and now I can send reverb to in ears with a different mix than I need for the mains. The effects themselves are very serviceable and I can get really good results out of them.
    The dual Fat Channels are freaking great! Love it when I've got multiple instruments on the same channel or I have to A/B some changes that I made to the channel.
    The card slot even with FireWire as a standard is absolutely awesome. I've heard that there will be a Dante card eventually and I hope they will do the same with the Presonus Ai Speakers (which I also own) so I can have a complete Cat5 solution.
    I love that I don't have a doctorate in networking to get the wifi and the SL Remote and QMix apps working. Just log in the the router and tell the system what the device can do. Dead simple! And the apps work just as well as the previous version.
    Recording is still dead simple with the included Capture and Studio One Software. Multichannel playback is a button press away. It integrates perfectly with my Windows 8 computer via thunderbolt and hopefully soon via Dante.
    Durability seems equally on par with the previous models and they've even added the little plastic strips on the faders to keep crud out of the inner workings.
    For a small single operator like me it is everything I need and many more things I never thought I needed. Presonus turned a home run into a grand slam for me with this mixer

  • Yan
    from NY USA November 20, 2014Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    I'm almost happy!

    I use my 24.4.2AI for FoH and I happy with it. My previous miwer was 24.4.2 and no I can enjoy two more FX, A/B comparison, mute groups, Onboard LAN/Wi-Fi. So far everything works absolutely great!!!
    What does not allows me to feel completely happy? It's annoying noise of cooling fans. It's really loud and disturbing. This noise doesn't allow me to use new mixer in my recording studio :( And my previous one, 24.4.2 did not have any fan and I did not have any problems with cooling and with noise. Hope that Presonus will resolve this issue and start to put more quite fans or decrease RPM of existing.
    And this is my only complain.
    Everything except this is just great!!!

  • Lintz Studio
    from Rapid City, SD April 16, 2014Music Background:
    Recording and Live Sound Engineer, Musician

    Impressed

    Have only done 2 events so far. Channels and routing have been fully what I expected. Recording software has worked great live. Very low CPU load. Fit and function of the control surface is better than I expected. It has been surprisingly easy to navigate the mix layers, and the dedicated controls on the surface are instrumental in staying on top of the mix. American made is a huge plus. Company with a good track record, should be around to resolve any issues that come up.

  • Trevor
    from Georgia January 29, 2017Music Background:
    Sound Engineer

    Not the best computer-console relationship

    Caveat: I've used the 32.4.2AI, but I own the first version of this board, not the AI. I've been using it for 4-5 years. The console itself is pretty good, but as soon as they upgraded to the new AI board, Presonus stopped updating their capture and control software for the non-AI board. That shouldn't be a problem for AI owners, but it should say something about Presonus' mindset towards supporting products once they release a new version. I have also worked on the AI 32-channel board, and it's not bad, but again, the computer interface is buggy, and if you don't have the sample rates synced properly, you might lose the recording. Final comment: if Behringer had their X32 out when I bought this, I would have bought that instead.

  • Lennie King
    from Laurel, DE May 31, 2017

    24.4.2 noise

    I bought this device so that i would not have to keep patching in and out all the time. The main concern I have is the popping and clicking that I get from this unit regardless If Im stand alone or in a DAW. I have trying every possible Freq 44.1/16,24 48/16,24 and still pops and clicks.

  • Customer
    from January 5, 2017

    Great Function, Poor Reliability

    We initially loved this mixer, but the first one we got had a bad screen. So we returned it and got a new one that immediately came with some bad mic preamps. Around and around this goes. The quality of these units is the pits. Be sure you can be without your mixer while they fix it!!!

  • Trevor Williams
    from Ball Ground, GA June 18, 2017Music Background:
    Sound Engineer

    Update: I will never buy another Presonus product again

    I posted a review a while back, but now I am completely floored. I've had the classic version of this board for 5 years (and of course I can't leave a review on it since it's been discontinued), and if the past is anything to go on, then in a couple more years this board will be a paperweight. I updated Universal Control two weeks ago right before a church service, boy was that a mistake. Not only did the update not work with this board, but it uninstalled the drivers and I lost the ability to record! Finally, two weeks later, I found all the archived software on Presonus' site and got everything back up and running.

    Well, when I say up and running, their new iOS apps are only for the new control software, and they have pulled their old app from the App Store, so now I have a stage full of musicians that can't control their monitor mixes. Thanks Presonus for disabling one of your selling points.

    So why should I spend a couple more thousand dollars on a new Presonus board when their track record would make it unusable in three or four years? Save your money and buy one of the new Behringers.

  • Adam
    from June 7, 2014Music Background:
    Live sound engineer

    Lacks in almost everything

    This is by far, the worst digital board have mixed with.
    Unintuitive, slow peq led view
    No geq link, just copy
    Geq not working on bus groups
    No matrices
    Low quality effects and no channel returns, it goes directly to LR
    No moving fader, analog gain buttons
    Small display
    Very little configurations options
    Ipad control only with installation of software on laptop. WTF.

    Is this mixer for real?!
    Sound quality is the only good thing about this thing, but it ain't dazzling either.
    Get yourself a Behringer x32, it's one of the fastest boards to learn, fun to operate, sounds clean and has all the features a professional board needs for %99 of the events. Both not rider friendly though.

Questions about the PreSonus StudioLive 24.4.2AI Digital Mixer?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway