0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

ART SLA-2 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the ART SLA-2?

Questions about the ART SLA-2?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from October 7, 2015

    Bass Players

    I know there are hundreds of bass players who use a Tech21 SansAmp or similar to improve their sound.
    If you do you are are likely inserting it between your bass and a typical bass guitar amp...if its any good it could cost a bundle.Think about it, The SansAmp has an XLR output to go to the board either live or in the studio where it is the only source used for the recording.
    The Sans Amp is a preamp....for live all you need is a good power amp. Why not bridge the Art SLA-2 into mono...that gives you 560 RMS...that's real watts...not the published BS the bass amp companies give you....peak watts or blah blah watts.
    In short you save a bundle and improve your sound quality by not going from pre amp to the basses preamp to amplifier.
    It's a no-brainer....better sound...more power...cheaper price!

  • from Eastern North Carolina February 20, 2013Music Background:
    professional sound recording for media

    Impressive Amp

    I am rebuilding the AV system for a small congregation and I needed an amp to replace a cheap one mounted underneath the podium. I chose this one because of the whisper quiet fans so that I would not have to rewire all the speaker cables by placing the amp in the back. The sound is very clean and with the changes in mikes, mixer and amp I have members who have difficulty hearing telling me they can actually hear the presentation better. The four separate or ganged channels is a great feature.

  • from Yuma, Az. October 17, 2012Music Background:
    Sound & Multimedia Ministery

    ART SLA-2 Amplifiers

    We purchased 2 of the ART SLA-2 Amplifiers and are exceptionally happy with the product and the whole Sweetwater experience. The amplifiers replaced two older amplifiers which were old and out dated. I love the size of the SLA-2's and their weight is much better than their predecessors. Excellent customer service, delivery and products. We will most definitely be return customers. Thank you Sweetwater we are so happy we found you and your products,

    Sincerely Yours
    The Hope Center

  • from Jupiter, FLorida June 18, 2012Music Background:
    Sound Engineer and Pro Musician

    Great Piece of Gear

    I provide audio visual to companies and was tired of hauling a ton of equipment.Thinking outside the box, and with the help of the Sweetwater staff, I bought the ART-SLA-2 to be a single space amp to provide power to my 4 space rack. A six channel mixer, effects unit and power conditioner fill out the rack. A week after it arrived I used in for the first time. Load in and out was a breeze and the unit performance was incredible. I can only imagine what it sounds like when actually used for what it was designed for. Something I plan to try with my next purchase.

  • from St. Louis, MO USA August 25, 2011Music Background:
    Guitarist

    Very satisfied

    I purchased this amp to monitor my vocals/instrumentation in a live environment. I know this amp in descriptively intended to use in a studio environment but I needed a powerful 1U amp and thought I'd give it a try. I've had it in service well over a year now and I have been totally impressed with this amp. So much so that I am getting ready to purchase another one. I cannot find one thing yet to knock about this amp.

  • from Temple, TX October 28, 2007Music Background:
    Home recording guru - ha, ha

    Bought two

    Bang for the buck, awesome. We bought one for the office boardroom speakers - liked its reliability and low noise so much I added one to my studio to drive my Avantone secondary mix monitors. Whisper quiet, easy as it can get. Only takes one rack space.

  • from Chicago, IL January 9, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Singer, Recording Engineer

    Very Nice

    I had called Sweetwater to inquier about a similar power amp and my rep suggested this one. (Thanks TJ) The other amp had a fan (A little noisy for a controll room) and this one doesn't. I'm using it to power an old pair of NS10's. It's clean and quiet!

  • from Brooklyn, NY, USA January 17, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, tech, recordista

    Not really "silent"...

    In it's first use, in a dark club powering a couple Marshall 4x12's, it was tremendous. But I live in an apartment with thin walls, and don't run high levels, much less even own a guitar amp. When I powered the amp at my home workstation with vintage NFM's, I was like, "Oh no!" Same type of fan noise that I've banished gear for, plus a high C-C# whine to boot.
    I'm not really conscious of it when listening to normal program, but it interferes with critical low level listening calls, and if I'm recording with a live mic fuggedaboutit. Killing the speakers anyway...It bugs me more just having it in the environment - if there's nothing playing just turn it off. Someday I'll get a room for it.
    The speakers DON'T have the low hiss floor they used to - and I AM hearing much more "vintage" sound than with the preceding amp (um...AV receiver). Only other thing to "whine" about is the knob markers don't match - seem to be a notch or two apart!

Questions about the ART SLA-2?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close