0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Seymour Duncan SL59-1 Little '59 Humbucker Strat Pickup - White Bridge Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Seymour Duncan SL59-1 Little '59 Humbucker Strat Pickup - White Bridge?

Questions about the Seymour Duncan SL59-1 Little '59 Humbucker Strat Pickup - White Bridge?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from January 20, 2017

    little '59 is a little monster!!!!!

    I bought this pickup for my 1995 strat plus.I replaced the lace sensor pick ups with Fender custom shop Texas specials but the bridge pickup was really thin sounding, plus the 60 cycle hum was not helping when I played in a bar with neon signs.I put this little '59 in and WOW!! it was like night and day.it really is loud .it sounds great no hum and not at all thin its.a very fat sound.it also works good when using the middle pick up too now I have the best of both worlds, my Texas specials in the neck and middle and that little monster in the bridge The Seymour Duncan Little '59 is just what I needed thanks Sweetwater!!!!.

  • from Michigan December 22, 2015

    Pretty Awesome

    I really like it. Made me want to play the strat again! It'll never make your guitar sound like a Les Paul with P.A.F's, but it does make your strat sound cool. I was really surprised how it handled some of the higher gain stuff I play. Definitely cool, and definitely worth checking it out.

  • from Columbus, Ohio USA December 15, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, Recording Artist

    Seymour Duncan SL59-1 Little '59 Bridge Pickup

    this is absolutely the BEST single coil sized humbucker I've ever heard! It makes my amp sing and really brings out that tube tone I've been searching for. Very defined, can hear every note in a full chord with heavy overdrive distortion. Strong and powerful sounding, yet maintains loads of character and articulation. Totally in love with the sound of this awesome pickup!

  • from February 12, 2017

    First humbucker

    I had been wanting to replace the bridge pickup in my #2 Strat for some time. I have a set of Texas Specials in it, and the TS bridge pickup can be a bit shrill. I had the TS bridge pickup removed and the Little '59 installed, along with a coil tap. I had my first gig with this new configuration this past weekend, and I was very pleased with the results. The Little '59 output was a great match for the neck & middle Texas Specials, complimenting their tone without overpowering them (which could possibly occur with a hotter bridge HB). Using the coil tapped bridge along with the middle pickup didn't have 100% of the snap of 2 out of phase single coils, but it wasn't too bad either, actually better than I expected. Of course the fat HB tones of the Little '59 were very welcome, especially when using an overdrive pedal through my Mesa Express. BTW I have my Strats set up with a volume, master tone and neck/bridge blender, and this particular Strat is a rather bright sounding, so there were times I found it useful to roll back the master tone slightly when using the bridge HB. All in all I am very happy with the tone options the Little '59 provided.

  • from Rockford, IL January 28, 2016Music Background:
    50 years in cover bands & recording bands

    Little 59 Humbucker Pickup

    I couldn't use the bridge pickup on my Custom Shop Strat. Just too noisy. Too much hum. Miles Nielsen recommended this pickup so I bought it from Sweetwater and installed it myself. Immediately discovered there was no hum and the pickups were hot, bright and expressive. The pickups are so bitey that I hardly need to use my Wampler distortion pedal except for the super heavy stuff. I play with Bun E. Carlos so I have to have something that cuts through his cymbals and these SL-59s do the TRICK!

  • from San Francisco, CA December 22, 2014

    Sounds like an SG!

    Okay, maybe not, but it definitely has that humbucking tone I was looking for. With just a hair more top end I'd give it a 5, but I still give my Fender Jeff Beck's an edge when it comes to arpeggiated chord picking.

    Still, I like it a lot more than the Hot Rail it replaced. That was super hot, but just didn't have the top end I wanted with my current setup. Went into a Japanese 85' Johnson J-Station.

    In the grand scheme of things, I'm very happy with this pickup. It pretty much delivers on what the name promises..

  • from PIttsburgh area April 18, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist/band musician

    Does the job

    Great pickup. Gets rid of that thin 'ice pick' bridge pickup tone and replaces it with a nice solid one. Absolutely no hum (as expected). Took a little tweaking of heights with the other single coils to get everything balanced, but it can be done. Pay attention to the wiring diagram on Seymour Duncan's sight. Wiring DOES depend on what other pickups you have installed.

  • from East Coast June 25, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Sounds very good

    It works good to give more edge to your Strat sound. I wired it straight up without any coil split and position 4 still has quackiness, it is just beefier.(also looses the noise cancelling) It isn't really a true paf sound, but if you take it as its own pickup you will find it to be a nice sounding pickup. I am very happy with it and I can cover most styles with my strat now. As always Sweetwater is tip top, shipped fast, no problems.

Questions about the Seymour Duncan SL59-1 Little '59 Humbucker Strat Pickup - White Bridge?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway