rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

SKB 1SKB-AV8 Reviews

4.0 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the SKB 1SKB-AV8?

Questions about the SKB 1SKB-AV8?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Sean Hearn
    from Fayetteville, Arkansas June 29, 2011Music Background:
    Mobile Entertainer since 1987

    SKB Rack is Primo!

    4 bolts and it was installed and ready. Very solid! Exactly as described!!!

  • Rodney
    from October 15, 2010

    Amazing item!

    Just what I needed! Works perfect and sames tons of desk space.

  • Justin Arrigo
    from Boston MA June 11, 2010Music Background:
    Sound and Light Designer, DJ, Magician!

    SKB Shelf

    This rack shelf is awesome. I use a Dennon DN-HC 4500 controller along with Virtual DJ on a laptop. This shelf mounts right above my mixer, and allows you to access the laptop with ease. You can move the shelf closer to you in order to access your keyboard with out having to stretch, and when you are done, it is easilly pushed back into place. It also fits perfectly inside my rack, and closes without a problem (although racks do differ, and this will not fit inside all racks when closed). Previously I was using an Oddessy laptop stand, and I was happy with it, until I got this piece, now I will never use a stand again. I reccommend this to anyone who DJ's with a laptop. The only thing that would make this better would be a small slide out mouse shelf, but honestly, with Virtual DJ, everything is controlled from the Denon unit, so it isnt even really an issue. The service from Sweetwater pretty sweet too. When I called and ordered, it was out of stock, and the gentleman told me to give him a few minutes, he called me back in 10 minutes and told me he was able to aquire one, and it would ship out that day, I received it 2 days later. Awesome service, and an awesome product! Get this shelf, and then thank me after!

  • Sudzz
    from New England April 30, 2010Music Background:
    DJ

    Nice Shelf!

    I bought this to use on my Gator slant top rack and it fits and works perfectly so this is a "universal" product.

    I was surprised at how well it's made - very solid - and no slop at all in the hinges.

    Highly recommend to anyone looking for a laptop shelf for their rack!

  • James
    from Richmond, VA, USA February 8, 2012Music Background:
    Sound Engineer (FOH)

    Good.. but

    I really like the way this integrates my laptop into the full setup. I am not using it this shelf with a DJ mixer, however, and had to drill holes in my Yamaha's rack ears to get it to fit on (so, you might want to check the equipment you have below it, you will need space to mount this shelf- 2 rack spaces I believe).

  • John Nobert
    from Mexico, MO USA November 26, 2010Music Background:
    Mobile DJ/Karaoke Host

    Just have to love SKB

    I bought one of these for my SKB slant top case to avoid using a separate table for my laptop. It works great! We fabricated a wing for mouse use which can be used on either side of the shelf.

    The carpeted top on the shelf is susceptible to high temps. The glue on mine failed and I replaced it with rubberized shelf covering.

    I will be getting another one which will install on my Gator rolling rack.

  • Mark
    from West Michigan July 20, 2013Music Background:
    Weekend Warrior

    Okay..

    This only works on an SKB case with a large lid, or a GigRig. I wanted to use it with an old SKB 12U case, but the shelf doesn't fold down tight enough to close the lid on the case. My shelf seems to have had the felt glued with extra air bubbles included between felt and shelf, not certain why. Doesn't seem like a feature to me. The felt is peeling already. It holds a laptop, that's about it.

  • Scott Masters
    from Sherman Oaks, CA September 9, 2011Music Background:
    Disc Jockey

    SKB Laptop Shelf (1SKB-AV8)

    When I opened the box to reveal my SKB laptop shelf I was pleasantly surprised! It was more heavy duty that I expected, especially the hinges. Unfortunately, my pleasant surprise was short lived. The indoor/outdoor carpet that is on top and around the sides of the shelf was glued on very poorly. It had some bubbles on the top where the glue hadn't adhered to the carpet, and the sides were worse peeling up everywhere. I spent an hour removing the hinges and re-glueing the carpet to the sides. Also, there's a ledge that sticks up slightly to keep your laptop from sliding forward. It's just part of the metal shelf bent up. If you don't have a case on your laptop, it's most likely going to scratch it to a degree. It should be carpeted or have some sort of soft material going across it. Lastly...The screw holes at the base of the unit that attached to the rack were off! My bottom screw holes were off by an 1/8 of an inch. I had to re-drill the holes in the stand to make them larger, then repaint them. Nightmare!

Questions about the SKB 1SKB-AV8?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway