rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Gibson Acoustic SJ-200 Standard - Vintage Sunburst Reviews

5.0 stars based on 8 customer reviews
  • from Angola, In. July 12, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Musician

    Warm and Bold

    I went to Sweetwater to try out a different guitar, but, This vintage sunburst j-200 was love at first sight ! When I strummed my first chord my wife could tell by the smile on my face that this baby had just found a new home ! I have other great guitars, but there is a sound you can only get from a j-200. I couldn't resist taking this to my acoustic solo gig the first night, and thanks to the Ellipse Aura pickup system it sounded great through the P.A as well ! Looks, Feel, Tone, it's got everything you could want !

  • from Georgia June 19, 2014

    PERFECTION!!

    Can't take my eyes off of it since I took it out of the box. Absolutely stunning. If you think she looks beautiful in the pictures, wait until you wrap your little nose pickers around her neck. She is not only impressive with her looks, but with an amazing tone that is second to none. The warm, rich sound is like nothing you will EVER get from another guitar. The only down side to this purchase is that I should have made it years ago. Don't waste your time or money on another guitar. If you think you can't afford it, save. It will be WELL worth every dime you spend on her. If you want something cheap and quick, go to the trailer park and pick up a skanky guitar there. If you want something more beautiful and perfect than you could ever imagine, wait. Don't buy another acoustic just to "get by". Save every dollar you can digging ditches to get one. You won't ever be disappointed.

  • from Colorado Springs, CO December 27, 2013Music Background:
    Former paid picker It pays better as a hobby.

    Just Perfect

    I just received mine this morning and had to put it down for a few minutes to write this.

    The fit and finish on this guitar is flawless. I would expect nothing less from an instrument in this category and it delivers with no reservations.

    The unplugged tone, to my ear, is the best I have ever experienced. The lows that come out of this guitar vibrate right through me while I am playing and yet it sounds perfectly balanced with no lack of mids or highs. Whether strumming open chords, finger picking or flatpicking up the neck it is a pleasure to play.

    The nut is a bit wider than I am accustomed to but I have already made that adjustment and am missing fewer strings now. It sounds great plugged into my PA rig and I think with a little time to dial it in it will sound even better.

    This is the most I have ever spent on a guitar but it is worth every penny and I would do it again in a minute.

  • from Charlottesville, Va. USA October 21, 2013Music Background:
    Song Writer, Musician

    The Best Guitar Ever.

    First I want to thank SweetWater Sound for doing an excellent job in taking and processing my order..thank you. I will purchase all my gear from you from now on. My brand new Gibson SJ200 Standard guitar is everything I thought it would be and more. No complaints at all.
    Thank you Gibson and Thank you SweetWater Sound.!!

  • from Destin, FL USA September 27, 2013Music Background:
    muso

    6 stars.

    No hype to this review. I own plenty of guitars, many of them Gibson and this J200 wins the prize. The gutiar is beyond beautiful in every way but most importantly, plays and sounds huge. Yes, this guitar is loud but it's also crisp and well balanced, very well balanced. The fishman Ellipse Aura is exceptional. Take to a trusted luthier and get the guitar setup. No matter how expensive, the guitars are still made in a factory.

  • from Hurricane, West Virginia June 17, 2013Music Background:
    Southern / Bluegrass Gospel

    Worth Every Dollar!

    I have always liked the deep tone my Martin D-35 produced. After reading many reviews and doing a lot of "soul searching" I decided to purchase the Gibson J-200 Standard.
    I had always wanted a jumbo bodied guitar and a vintage sunburst finish. All I have ever owned were "blonde, dreadnought" style guitars.
    When I opened it up for the first time, it was a beautiful site. And when I played the first note on it and heard the low tone it produced, I was blown away! This thing sounds awesome to say the least and so easy to chord. Right away I knew I had made the right decision. If anyone reading this is thinking about purchasing this guitar, you will not be sorry.
    And the folks at Sweetwater had this at my door less than 48 hours after I placed the order. And they followed up with a phone call wanting to know if I had received it and was pleased.
    Since then I have ordered another item from Sweetwater and in less than 10 minutes Ryan Murray was calling me to thank and confirm my order, then called back the next day wanting to know again if I had received it. Talk about great customer service!!
    You will not be sorry with ANY transaction you do with Sweetwater...and THANK YOU Ryan Murray. I hope to make a trip to your store in the future to look around and to meet you in person.

  • from SC February 7, 2013Music Background:
    NOVICE

    GIBSON J200

    GREAT GUITAR, NO FLAWS,CLASSIC LOOKS,PLAYS GREAT AND LOUD

  • from New Holstein, Wisconsin June 11, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist playing over 35 years

    Just A Beautiful Guitar

    Beautiful guitar but like other Gibson's the action is way to high. I called them and they said, it is the sellers responsibility to have the guitar setup. My Martin's came playable right out of the box. I love this guitar but it does not fret nearly as good as a Martin so it spend most of the time in its case.

Questions about the Gibson Acoustic SJ-200 Standard - Vintage Sunburst?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway